DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
However, should applicant desire to perfect the priority claim, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 31, 2024 was filed on September 22, 2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
4. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Display device with bank opening separating color filter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1-3, 7-9, 12, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lu et al (US 2022/0165082 A1, hereafter Lu).
Regarding claim 1, Lu discloses a display device (Fig. 29; [0099]), comprising:
a display device (Fig. 4 30; [0055]) having a plurality of light emitting areas (Fig. 4 areas above 31; [0055]) and a non-light emitting area (Fig. 4 areas between 31; [0055]) between adjacent light emitting areas (two areas with 31 in Fig. 4) of the plurality of light emitting areas (areas above 31), and
a color conversion part (Fig. 4 50+90; [0048]-[0054]) overlapping (Fig. 4 50+90 above 30) with the display device (30),
wherein the color conversion part (50+90) comprises:
a first substrate (Fig. 4 50; [0048]) including a first surface (Fig. 4 bottom surface of 50) facing the display device (30), and
a color filter layer (Fig. 4 92; [0054]) on the first surface of the first substrate (bottom surface of 50) and including a plurality of color filters (Fig. 4 multiple 92), and
wherein the color filter layer (92) has a color filter opening (Fig. 4 area between 92) where the color filter layer (92) is removed (Fig. 4 there is a gap between 92 above area between 31) at at least a portion of the non-light emitting area (areas between 31).
Regarding claim 2, Lu discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein:
the color conversion part (90+50) further includes a bank layer (Fig. 4 91; [0054]) between the first substrate (50) and the display device (30), and
the bank layer (91) has an opening (Fig. 4 area occupied by 92) corresponding to a light emitting area (area above 31) from among the light emitting areas (areas above 31).
Regarding claim 3, Lu discloses the display device of claim 2, wherein:
the bank layer (91) contacts (Fig. 4) the first surface of the first substrate (bottom of 50) through the color filter opening (area between 92).
Regarding claim 7, Lu discloses the display device of claim 3, further comprising:
a filling layer (Fig. 4 40 above line; [0047] discloses 40 is multilayered) between the bank layer (91) and the display device (30).
Regarding claim 8, Lu discloses the display device of claim 2, wherein:
the bank layer (91) is removed (Fig. 4) from the non-light emitting area (area between 31) to form a bank opening (Fig. 4 71; [0049]).
Regarding claim 9, Lu discloses the display device of claim 8, further comprising:
a filling layer (Fig. 4 40 above line; [0047] discloses 40 is multilayered) between the first substrate (50) and the display device (30), and
the filling layer (40 above line) contacts (Fig. 4) the first surface of the first substrate (bottom surface of 50) through the bank opening (71) (40 in contact with 50 through opening 71).
Regarding claim 12, Lu discloses the display device of claim 9, wherein:
the filling layer (40 above line) includes a first filling part (Fig. 4 40 above line above 31) overlapping the light emitting area (area above 31) and a second filling part (Fig. 4 40 above line between 31) overlapping the non-light emitting area (area between 31), and
the second filling part (40 above line between 31) contacts (Fig. 4) the first surface of the first substrate (bottom of 50) (40 above line is in contact with 50 through opening 71, which is between 31).
Regarding claim 18, Lu discloses a display device, comprising:
a plurality of light emitting areas (Fig. 4 area above 31; [0055]) and a non-light emitting area (Fig. 4 areas between 31; [0055]) between adjacent light emitting areas (two areas with 31 in Fig. 4) of the plurality of light emitting areas (areas above 31),
a color conversion part (Fig. 4 50+90; [0048]-[0054]) overlapping (Fig. 4 50+90 above 30) with the display device (30), and
a filling layer (Fig. 4 40 above line; [0047] discloses 40 is multilayered) between the display device (30) and the color conversion part (50+90), wherein the color conversion part (50+90) comprises:
a first substrate (Fig. 4 50; [0048]) including a first surface (Fig. 4 bottom surface of 50) facing the display device (30), and
a bank layer (Fig. 4 91; [0054]) between the first substrate (50) and the display device (30), and wherein the bank layer (91) or the filling layer (40 above line) contacts (both 91 and 40 are in contact with 50) the first surface of the first substrate (bottom of 50) in the non-light emitting area (area between 31).
Regarding claim 19, Lu discloses the display device of claim 18, wherein:
the color conversion part (50+90) further includes a color filter layer (Fig. 4 92; [0054]) including a plurality of color filters (Fig. 4 multiple 92) on the first surface of the first substrate (bottom surface of 50), and
the color filter layer (92) has a color filter opening (Fig. 4 area between 92) in the non-light emitting area (areas between 31).
Regarding claim 20, Lu discloses the display device of claim 19, wherein: the bank layer (91) or the filling layer (40 above line) contacts (both 91 and 40 are in contact with 50) the first surface of the first substrate (bottom of 50) through the color filter opening (area between 92).
7. Claims 1-2 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yao et al (US 2025/0048895 A1, hereafter Yao).
Regarding claim 1, Yao discloses a display device (Fig. 1; [0048]) comprising:
a display device (Fig. 1 200; [0051]) having a plurality of light emitting areas (Fig. 1 area A; [0049]) and a non-light emitting area (Fig. 1 area B; [0049]) between adjacent light emitting areas (Fig. 1 area A) of the plurality of light emitting areas (area A), and
a color conversion part (Fig. 1 550+540+520; [0048]) overlapping (Fig. 1 550+540+520 over the 200) with the display device (200),
wherein the color conversion part (550+540+520) comprises:
a first substrate (Fig. 1 550; [0066]) including a first surface (Fig. 1 bottom of 550) facing the display device (200), and
a color filter layer (Fig. 1 540; [0048]) on the first surface of the first substrate (bottom surface of 100) and including a plurality of color filters (Fig. 1 541; [0058]), and
wherein the color filter layer (540) has a color filter opening (Fig. 1 542; [0058]) where the color filter layer (540) is removed (Fig. 1) at at least a portion of the non-light emitting area (542 within area B).
Regarding claim 2, Yao discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein:
the color conversion part (550+540+520) further includes a bank layer (Fig. 1 510; [0048]) between the first substrate (550) and the display device (200), and
the bank layer (510) has an opening (Fig. 1 area A) corresponding to a light emitting area (area A) from among the light emitting areas (area A).
Regarding claim 13, Yao discloses the display device of claim 2, comprising:
a second substrate (Fig. 1 100; [0048]), a plurality of light emitting devices (Fig. 1 200; [0051]) on the second substrate (100), and an encapsulation part (Fig. 1 300; [0048]) on the light emitting device (200),
wherein the bank layer (510) formed on the encapsulation part (300) further comprises a filling layer (Fig. 1 530; [0048]) between (530 between 510 and 550) the bank layer (510) and the first substrate (550).
Regarding claim 14, Yao discloses the display device of claim 13, wherein:
the filling layer (530) contacts (530 in contact with 550) the first surface of the first substrate (bottom of 550) through the color filter opening (area B).
8. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al (US 2022/0190045 A1, hereafter Lee).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a display device (Fig. 2 10; [0092]), comprising:
a display device (Fig. 2 100; [0094]) having a plurality of light emitting areas (Fig. 4 EA1-EA3; [0141]) and a non-light emitting area (Fig. 4 area between adjacent EA; [0142]) between adjacent light emitting areas (EA3 is adjacent to EA2) of the plurality of light emitting areas (EA1-EA3), and
a color conversion part (Fig. 2 CFL+PL) overlapping (Fig. 2CFL+PL stacked on 100) with the display device (100),
wherein the color conversion part (CFL+PL) comprises:
a first substrate (Fig. 4 PL) including a first surface (Fig. 4 bottom surface of PL) facing the display device (100), and
a color filter layer (Fig. 2 CFL; Fig. 3 CF1-CF3; [0159]) on the first surface of the first substrate (bottom surface of PL) and including a plurality of color filters (Fig. 3 CF1-CF3), and
wherein the color filter layer (CFL) has a color filter opening (Fig. 3 area occupied by BM1; [0122]) where the color filter layer (CFL) is removed (Fig. 4) at at least a portion of the non-light emitting area (area between adjacent EA).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 4-6 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu as applied to claims 3 and 9 above, and further in view of Choi et al (US 2015/0318447 A1, hereafter Choi).
Regarding claim 4, Lu discloses the display device of claim 3.
Lu fails to disclose at least two of the plurality of color filters overlap in the non-light emitting area to form an overlapping part.
Choi discloses at least two of the plurality of color filters (Fig. 1 182 and 183; [0063]); overlap in the non-light emitting area (Fig. 1 area above and under 170) to form an overlapping part (Fig. 1 190; [0063]). Choi is analogous to Lu in the field of display devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a similar configuration of color filters like Choi in the device of Lu where the overlapping part (located in triangular portion of trapezoidal shape of 92) overlaps the bank layer 91 (triangular portion of trapezoidal shape of 91) to improve device performance by reducing reflectivity of external light, as discussed by Choi ([0063]).
Regarding claim 5, Lu and Choi disclose the display device of claim 4, wherein:
the color filter opening (area between 92) is defined by an edge of the overlapping part (Choi 190) (edge of overlapping part in 92 in contact with edge of 91).
Regarding claim 6, Lu and Choi disclose the display device of claim 4, wherein:
the bank layer (91) includes a first bank part (triangular portion of trapezoidal shape of 91) that overlaps the overlapping part (triangular portion of trapezoidal shape of 92) and a second bank part (rectangular portion of trapezoidal shape of 91) that does not overlap (rectangular portions of 91 and 92 do not overlap) the overlapping part (triangular portion of trapezoidal shape of 92), and
the second bank part (rectangular portion of trapezoidal shape of 91) contacts the first surface of the first substrate (bottom surface of 50) in the non-light emitting area (areas between 31).
Regarding claim 10¸ Lu discloses display device of claim 9.
Lu fails to disclose at least two of the plurality of color filters overlap in the non-light emitting area to form an overlapping part.
Choi discloses at least two of the plurality of color filters (Fig. 1 182 and 183; [0063]) overlap in the non-light emitting area (Fig. 1 area above and under 170) to form an overlapping part (Fig. 1 190; [0063]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a similar configuration of color filters like Choi in the device of Lu where the overlapping part (located in triangular portion of trapezoidal shape of 92) overlaps the bank layer 91 (triangular portion of trapezoidal shape of 91) to improve device performance by reducing reflectivity of external light, as discussed by Choi ([0063]).
Regarding claim 11, Lu and Choi disclose the display device of claim 10, wherein:
the color filter opening (area between 92) is defined by an edge of the overlapping part (Choi 190) (edge of overlapping part in 92 in contact with edge of 91).
12. Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Choi.
Regarding claim 15, Yao discloses the display device of claim 14.
Yao fails to disclose at least two of the plurality of color filters overlap each other in the non-light emitting area to form an overlapping part, and
the color filter opening is defined by an edge of the overlapping part.
Choi discloses at least two of the plurality of color filters (Fig. 1 182 and 183; [0063]); overlap in the non-light emitting area (Fig. 1 area above and under 170) to form an overlapping part (Fig. 1 190; [0063]). Choi is analogous to Yao in the field of display devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a similar configuration of color filters like Choi in the device of Yao to improve device performance by reducing reflectivity of external light, as discussed by Choi ([0063]).
Regarding claim 16, Yao and Choi disclose the display device of claim 15, wherein:
the filling layer (530) includes a first filling part (Fig. 1 530 within area A) overlapping the light emitting area (area A) and a second filling part (Fig. 1 530 within area B) overlapping the non-light emitting area (area B), and
the second filling part (530 within area B) is in contact (530 is in contact with 550) with the first surface of the first substrate (bottom of 550).
13. Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Choi.
Regarding claim 17, Lee discloses display device of claim 1, wherein:
a light blocking layer (Fig. 4 BM1; [0100]) is between the color filter layer (CFL) and the first substrate (PL).
Lee fails to disclose at least two of the plurality of color filters overlap in the non-light emitting area to form an overlapping part, and a light blocking layer overlaps the overlapping part.
Choi discloses at least two of the plurality of color filters (Fig. 1 182 and 183; [0063]) overlap in the non-light emitting area (Fig. 1 area above and under 170) to form an overlapping part (Fig. 1 190; [0063]), and a light blocking layer (Fig. 1 170; [0063]) overlaps (Fig. 1) the overlapping part (190). Choi is analogous to Lee in the field of display devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a similar configuration of color filters like Choi in the device of Lee where the overlapping part is under the light blocking layer BM1 to reduce reflectivity of external light to improve device performance, as discussed by Choi ([0063]).
Conclusion
14. The following art made of record and not relied upon is pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Lu et al (US 2021/0397806 A1) discloses a display device with an opening in a bank layer and color filters separated by the bank layer
Kim et al (US 2022/0173168 A1) discloses a display device with overlapping color filters in contact with a bank layer
Kim et al (US 2021/0399068 A1) discloses a display device with overlapping color filters not in contact with a bank layer
Jo et al (US 2022/0013587 A1) discloses a display device with overlapping color filters in contact with a bank layer
/MICHAEL B SUN/Examiner, Art Unit 2892
/KHIEM D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892