DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
In response to communication filed on 07/07/2026, applicant amends claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 10, 11, 15, 16, and 19. The following claims, 1-23 are presented for examination.
2.1 Applicant’s arguments, pages 7-11, filed 07/07/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-23 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (1) Claims 1, 10, and 19: Simotas fails to disclose, teach, and/or suggest "after receiving, by the computing system, the message from the management system indicating that the management system has changed the configuration of the security mechanism to permit connectivity between the user device and the accessory device, transmitting, by the computing system and to the user device and the accessory device, connectivity information for establishing a connection between the user device and the accessory device," as recited in amended claims 1, 10, and 19.
The cited limitations require that the connectivity information is transmitted to both the user device and the accessory device after the message from the management system is received. The cited sections corresponding to transmitting connectivity information to the source device and the target device (e.g., paragraph [0109], paragraph [0126], and paragraphs [0177-178]) either occur before (e.g., such as with cited sections paragraph [0109] and paragraphs [0177-0178]) receiving the message from the management system (e.g., paragraph [0125] and paragraph [0128]) or do not disclose transmitting connectivity information to the target device (e.g., such as with cited section paragraph [0126]).
(2) Claim 7 and 16: Simotas fails to disclose, teach, and/or suggest "the message from the management system indicates that the management system has further changed the configuration of the security mechanism to permit connectivity between the user device and the second accessory device," as recited in claims 7 and 16.
These cited sections of Simotas disclose a method of connecting a source device to a specific target device based on the association of target devices to hotel room numbers and validated pairing codes. However, the cited sections of Simotas do not disclose that, after connecting the source device to a specific target device, the source device is configured to connect to a different target device.
(3) Claim 22: Simotas fails to disclose, teach, and/or suggest "validating, (1) by the computing system and (2) based on the request to connect with the accessory device, the accessory device" as recited in claim 22.
this is disclosing validating the request based on the user device. Simotas does not disclose validating the request based on the accessory device.
In response to applicant’s arguments, (1), Simotas discloses “after receiving, by the computing system, the message from the management system indicating that the management system has changed the configuration of the security mechanism to permit connectivity between the user device and the accessory device (control server 306 may then update its databases 369 and send database changes 370 to the local proxy server 305. Upon reception of the database changes 373, the local proxy server 305 constructs or updates network filtering rules 376 for control and sessions protocols used in content casting sessions. (0125),
transmitting, by the computing system and to the user device and the accessory device, connectivity information for establishing a connection between the user device and the accessory device (The construction or updating of the network filtering rules 376 may be followed by the local proxy server unicasting association acknowledgements 379 to the source device 303" (0126, Figure 3B, 379, source device, target device) (allowing the local proxy server 240 to relay the multicast response message 420 , the target device 230 can be discoverable by the source device 210 only if the target device 230 is associated with room 101 and the source device is also associated (after its registration) with room 101, thereby ensuring that a guest can only discover and pair his source device with target devices in his guest room. … is not allowed (i.e. is associated with a different guest room). 0177-0178)
In response to applicant’s arguments, (2), Simotas discloses that, after connecting the source device to a specific target device, the source device is configured to connect to a different target device (notify the control server 306 of the successful association between the source and target devices 366. The control server 306 may then update its databases 369 and send database changes 370. Upon reception of the database changes 373, the local proxy server 305 constructs or updates network filtering rules 376 for control and sessions protocols used in content casting sessions. (0125)) (0105 - maintain an association of the target devices to hotel room numbers (or in the alternative exemplary embodiment, the local proxy server may also maintain an association of the target devices to hotel room numbers) (0119 - where it is checked against the target device-room mapping table by reading a hotel administration database 346).
In response to applicant’s arguments, (3), Simotas discloses validating the request based on the accessory device (0089 - manages the authorization process to allow a source device to gain access to media playback devices in a guest room, receive requests (via the proxy server 305) from source devices requesting permission to access the media playback devices in a guest room and using an appropriate registration/validation mechanism allow the control server to decide which source devices can access the media playback devices).
Upon further consideration, the rejection of claims 1-23 is set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-11, 14-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Simotas et al. (US2019/0182300 1, publish date 06/13/2019) (on applicant’s IDS filed 11/08/2024).
Claims 1, 10, 19:
With respect to claims 1, 10, 19, Simotas et al. discloses a method/computing system (media casting management, Figures 2 and 3A), comprising:
one or more processors (550, Figure 5); and
one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing computer-executable instructions that (non-transitory computer program having instructions, Claim 16), when executed with one or more processors of the computing system (300, 303), causes the one or more processors to:
receiving, by a computing system (305) and from a user device (303), an identifier of an accessory device (308) of a plurality of accessory devices (0068, Figure 1) and a request to connect with the accessory device ({0125] - "The source device may then request to pair 360 with an available target - device ... by sending a unicast message 363 to the local proxy server 305..."),
the request received by the computing system via a first network ({0071], [0072] - "... A mobile (source) device 210 is connected to the first wireless network 220 via a first Service Set Identifier (SSID1) which SSID1 is mapped to first Local Area Network (LAN1). LAN1 may be a first physical LAN or a first Virtual LAN (VLAN1221) dedicated to connecting source devices owned by hotel guests..."), connectivity between the user device and the plurality of accessory devices via the first network being restricted by a security mechanism ({0128] - "... a firewall 376 running at the _ local proxy server 305...") of a second network ({0072], [0073] -"... A first target device 230 is connected to a second wireless network 220 with a second SSID2 which is mapped to a second Local Area Network (LAN2222), LAN2 may be a second physical LAN or a second Virtual LAN (VLAN2222) dedicated to connecting target devices installed at hotel rooms");
transmitting, by the computing system, a message to a management system (306) of the second network to configure the security mechanism to permit connectivity between the user device and the accessory device based at least in part on the request and the identifier of the accessory device ({0125] -"... The local proxy server 305 may then notify the control server 306 of the a successful association between the source and target devices 366...");
receiving, by the computing system, a message from the management system indicating that the management system has changed a configuration of the security mechanism to permit connectivity between the user device and the accessory device ([0125] - ""... The control server 306 may then update its databases 369 and send database changes 370 to the local proxy server 305. Upon reception of the database changes 373, the local proxy server 305 constructs or updates network filtering rules 376 for control and sessions protocols used in content casting sessions” and [0128] - "Upon the successful new pairing of a guest device with MAC X and IP address Y for Room N, a rule allowing traffic from IP Y to all target devices in Room N on port e.g. 8009 is inserted in a firewall 376 running at the local proxy server 305..."); and
after receiving, by the computing system, the message from the management system indicating that the management system has changed the configuration of the security mechanism to permit connectivity between the user device and the accessory device (control server 306 may then update its databases 369 and send database changes 370 to the local proxy server 305, 0125), transmitting, by the computing system and to the user device and the accessory device, connectivity information (To facilitate pairing of source and target devices, the control server (or in an alternative exemplary embodiment, the local proxy server) 240 may also store an authorization code table: [0109] Room #, pairing code, 0108) for establishing a connection between the user device and the accessory device ([0126] - "... The construction or updating of the network filtering rules 376 may be followed by the local proxy server unicasting association acknowledgements 379 to the source device 303" (0177-0178, a target device 230 to be discoverable by the source device 210 by allowing the local proxy server 240 to relay the multicast response message 420 from VLAN2 to VLAN1. For instance, the target device 230 can be discoverable by the source device 210 only if the target device 230 is associated with room 101 and the source device is also associated (after its registration) with room 101, thereby ensuring that a guest can only discover and pair his source device with target devices in his guest room. … is not allowed (i.e. is associated with a different guest room).
Claims 2, 11, 20:
With respect to claims 2, 11, 20, Simotas et al. discloses wherein the method further includes validating the user device in response to receiving the request, wherein transmitting the message to the management system is based at least in part on the validating (0089 - manages the authorization process to allow a source device to gain access to media playback devices in a guest room, receive requests (via the proxy server 305) from source devices requesting permission to access the media playback devices in a guest room and using an appropriate registration/validation mechanism allow the control server to decide which source devices can access the media playback devices).
Claims 5, 14:
With respect to claims 5, 14, Simotas et al. discloses wherein the computing system is connected to the user device via a first network separate from the second network (0071-0073 - system 200 is shown only with a single source device connected to a first network and two target devices, connected to a second and a third network) (0128 - is inserted in a firewall 376 running at the local proxy server 305).
Claims 6, 15:
With respect to claims 6, 15, Simotas et al. discloses wherein the security mechanism comprises a firewall configured to restrict connectivity via the first network between the user device and the accessory device (0071-0073 - system 200 is shown only with a single source device connected to a first network and two target devices, connected to a second and a third network) (0128 - is inserted in a firewall 376 running at the local proxy server 305).
Claims 7, 16:
With respect to claims 7, 16, Simotas et al. discloses wherein the accessory device is a first accessory device arranged in a defined space, wherein a second accessory device of the plurality of accessory devices is arranged in the defined space, and wherein the message of the management system indicates that the management system has further changed the configuration of the security mechanism to permit connectivity between the user device and the second accessory device (notify the control server 306 of the successful association between the source and target devices 366. The control server 306 may then update its databases 369 and send database changes 370. Upon reception of the database changes 373, the local proxy server 305 constructs or updates network filtering rules 376 for control and sessions protocols used in content casting sessions. (0125)) (0105 - maintain an association of the target devices to hotel room numbers (or in the alternative exemplary embodiment, the local proxy server may also maintain an association of the target devices to hotel room numbers) (0119 - where it is checked against the target device-room mapping table by reading a hotel administration database 346).
Claims 8, 17:
With respect to claims 8, 17, Simotas et al. discloses wherein the defined space is a room or a set of rooms in a building (0105 - maintain an association of the target devices to hotel room numbers (or in the alternative exemplary embodiment, the local proxy server may also maintain an association of the target devices to hotel room numbers) (0119 - where it is checked against the target device-room mapping table by reading a hotel administration database 346).
Claims 9, 18:
With respect to claims 9, 18, Simotas et al. discloses wherein an access point is arranged in the defined space, and wherein the user device communicates with the computing system via the access point (0005 - where the user is expected to connect his networked device to the media playback device(s) located in his room) (0016 - Once paired, the user can cast content from his devices to the media playback device in his room) (0078 - Routers 260, 270 are connected to the Internet 280 for providing access to remote servers, to the cloud and to remote content and control resources).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 12, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simotas et al. (US2019/0182300 1, publish date 06/13/2019) in view of Straitiff et al. (US10686856 B1, patent date 06/16/2020). (on applicant’s IDS filed 11/08/2024).
Claims 3, 12:
With respect to claims 3, 12, Simotas et al. discloses wherein the request comprises private key information for establishing a secure connection between the user device and the computing system (0112 - be accessible using the Hyper Text Transfer Protocol Secure (HTTPS) protocol only at standard port 443) (0130 - Content casting is typically done using closed and potentially encrypted protocols proprietary of the target device).
Straitiff et al. teaches Media streaming (Figure 3), Communications between the PMS 314, the proxy server 312, and the media streaming device 318 may be encrypted (e.g., transport layer security secured protocols) (Column 10, lines 53-56)
Simotas et al. and Straitiff et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of media streaming/casting.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Straitiff et al. in Simotas et al. for wherein the request comprises private key information for establishing a secure connection between the user device and the computing system as claimed for purposes of media streaming devices may be securely accessed via an interface that unauthorized people cannot access. (see Straitiff et al. Column 7, lines 44-46)
Claims 4, 13:
With respect to claims 4, 13, Simotas et al. discloses wherein the private key information comprises a transport layer security (TLS) key and a transport layer security (TLS) key identity (0112 - be accessible using the Hyper Text Transfer Protocol Secure (HTTPS) protocol only at standard port 443) (0130 - Content casting is typically done using closed and potentially encrypted protocols proprietary of the target device).
Straitiff et al. teaches Media streaming (Figure 3), Communications between the PMS 314, the proxy server 312, and the media streaming device 318 may be encrypted (e.g., transport layer security secured protocols) (Column 10, lines 53-56)
Simotas et al. and Straitiff et al. are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of media streaming/casting.
The motivation for combining Simotas et al. and Straitiff et al. is recited in claims 3, 12.
Claim 21:
With respect to claim 21, Simotas et al. discloses further comprising: after receiving the identifier of the accessory device of the plurality of accessory devices (0068, The target device 130 is discoverable by the source device 110, Figure 1) and the request to connect with the accessory device ({0125] - "The source device may then request to pair 360 with an available target - device ... by sending a unicast message 363 to the local proxy server 305..."), validating, (1) by the computing system and (2) based on the request to connect with the accessory device, the user device, wherein the message is transmitted to the management system of the second network based at least in part on validating the user device (0089 - manages the authorization process to allow a source device to gain access to media playback devices in a guest room, receive requests (via the proxy server 305) from source devices requesting permission to access the media playback devices in a guest room and using an appropriate registration/validation mechanism allow the control server to decide which source devices can access the media playback devices).
Claim 22:
With respect to claim 22, Simotas et al. discloses further comprising: after receiving the identifier of the accessory device of the plurality of accessory devices (0068, The target device 130 is discoverable by the source device 110, Figure 1) and the request to connect with the accessory device ({0125] - "The source device may then request to pair 360 with an available target - device ... by sending a unicast message 363 to the local proxy server 305..."), validating, (1) by the computing system and (2) based on the request to connect with the accessory device, the accessory device, wherein the message is transmitted to the management system of the second network based at least in part on validating the accessory device (0089 - manages the authorization process to allow a source device to gain access to media playback devices in a guest room, receive requests (via the proxy server 305) from source devices requesting permission to access the media playback devices in a guest room and using an appropriate registration/validation mechanism allow the control server to decide which source devices can access the media playback devices).
Claim 23:
With respect to claim 23, Simotas et al. discloses wherein the connectivity information includes a pairing code (The association may contain (e.g. for a Google Chromecast device): [0106] Room #, Chromecast Host Name, Friendly Name, Network Interface, Pairing code, Status, 0105)(To facilitate pairing of source and target devices, the control server (or in an alternative exemplary embodiment, the local proxy server) 240 may also store an authorization code table: [0109] Room #, pairing code, 0108).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, (see PTO Form 892).
/HELAI SALEHI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2433
/JEFFREY C PWU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2433