DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/30/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/03/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 13, 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Treeck et al. (DE 10149356 A1 – hereafter ‘356 and reference will be made to the enclosed translation).
‘356 discloses a method for establishing a colony of macrophytic organisms on a sea shore, lake or lagoon floor (Abstract) that includes the following limitations for claim 1:
“A method for electrochemical nutrient delivery in water”: ‘356 discloses providing nutrients to aquatic habitats by electrochemical means (page 3, first paragraph).
“deploying first and second electrodes within a water-based matrix”: ‘356 discloses deploying a first electrode (electrode 6) and a second electrode (electrode 4; Fig. 2) that are disposed in water, i.e. a water-based matrix (page 3, fifth paragraph; page 4, third paragraph).
“establishing a specified potential difference between the first and second electrodes”: ‘356 discloses establishing a potential difference between the two electrodes (page 4, third paragraph).
“the first electrode defining an anode in an electrochemical cell, and the second electrode defining a cathode in the electrochemical cell, with the water-based matrix providing an electrolyte for the cell”: ‘356 discloses that the first electrode is an anode (anode 6) and the second electrode is a cathode (cathode 4; Fig. 2; page 4, third paragraph). These electrodes are within water (page 3, fifth paragraph).
“at least one of the first and second electrodes comprise an inorganic nutrient”: ‘356 discloses that the second electrode includes an inorganic nutrient such as iron (page 3, second paragraph).
“the establishing of the potential difference comprises eliciting delivery of the inorganic nutrient via controlled electrochemical nutrient delivery (CEND) in a water-based matrix, including the inorganic nutrient.”: ‘356 discloses that a potential differences is established between the two electrodes which allows for the delivery of iron to the plants (page 2, second paragraph).
For claim 2, ‘356 discloses that the polarity of the two electrodes can be switched so that the cathode can become the anode and therefore the first electrode (page 3, second paragraph). This allows for the delivery of iron ions to the plants.
For claim 3, ‘356 discloses that the polarity of the two electrodes can be switched so that the cathode can become the anode and therefore the first electrode (page 3, second paragraph). This allows for the delivery of iron ions to the plants. The new anode would be covered with a plurality of the nutrients.
For claims 4 and 5, the nutrient is a metallic species such as iron (page 3, second paragraph).
For claim 13, ‘356 discloses controlling the delivery of the nutrient based on the material used by the anode (page 3, second paragraph).
For claim 14, the material for the electrode is being interpreted as an alloy (page 3, second paragraph).
For claim 18, ‘356 disclose reversing the polarity after a certain time (page 4, second full paragraph) which is being interpreted as establishing specified potential difference via a time-varying potential.
Therefore, ‘356 meets the limitations of claims 1-5, 13, 14 and 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Treeck et al. (DE 10149356 A1 – hereafter ‘356 and reference will be made to the enclosed translation) in view of Wang et al. (CN 114195266 A – hereafter ‘266 with reference made to the enclosed translation).
‘356 discloses a method for establishing a colony of macrophytic organisms on a sea shore, lake or lagoon floor (Abstract) that includes the following limitations for claim 20:
“A system”: ‘356 discloses providing nutrients to aquatic habitats by electrochemical means (page 3, first paragraph).
“a first and second electrodes configured for use in a marine environment”: ‘356 discloses deploying a first electrode (electrode 6) and a second electrode (electrode 4; Fig. 2) that are disposed in water, i.e. a water-based matrix (page 3, fifth paragraph; page 4, third paragraph).
“the first electrode defining an anode in an electrochemical cell, and the second electrode defining a cathode in the electrochemical cell, with the water-based matrix providing an electrolyte for the cell”: ‘356 discloses that the first electrode is an anode (anode 6) and the second electrode is a cathode (cathode 4; Fig. 2; page 4, third paragraph). These electrodes are within water (page 3, fifth paragraph).
“an excitation source electrically coupled with the first and second electrodes”: ‘356 discloses that the electrodes are connected to a DC power supply (page 4, second full paragraph).
“at least one of the first and second electrodes comprise an inorganic nutrient”: ‘356 discloses that the second electrode includes an inorganic nutrient such as iron (page 3, second paragraph).
For claim 20, ‘356 differs from the instant claim regarding a control circuit.
‘266 discloses a system for the denitrification of an artificial wetland (Abstract) that for claim 20 includes a computer that is connected to the electrodes and controls the potential applied to the electrodes and monitors the electrodes in real-time (page 3, fifth paragraph). This would result in the nutrient being delivered to the plants.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one for ordinary skill in the art at the time of the earliest effective filing date to include the computer of ‘266 within ‘356 in order to automate the control of the system. The suggestion for doing so at the time would have been to provide a visual presentation of the real-time monitoring data (page 7, seventh paragraph).
For claim 21, ‘356 discloses that the anode has a linear configuration (page 4, second full paragraph).
For claim 22, ‘356 discloses that the cathode is a mesh (page 4, second full paragraph) that includes portions that would read on a square ring.
For claim 23, the anode is being interpreted as a rod (Fig. 1c; page 4, second full paragraph).
For claims 24 and 25, the anode (after reversing the polarity of the system) is covered with a metallic species such as iron (page 3, second paragraph).
For claim 26, ‘356 discloses that the electrodes are installed in a marine environment such as sea water (page 2, eight paragraph).
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Treeck et al. (DE 10149356 A1 – hereafter ‘356 and reference will be made to the enclosed translation) in view of Knipe et al. (US 2019/0309242 A1 – hereafter ‘242).
‘356 differs with the instant claims regarding the use of renewable energy sources.
‘242 discloses an electromethanogenic reactor (Abstract) that for claims 16 and 17 includes using renewable energy sources such as solar cells ([0038]) that are used to produces low cost electricity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the earliest effective filing date to include the renewable energy sources of ‘242 within ‘356 in order to provide a source of power that is abundant and inexpensive during peak hours ([0079]). The suggestion for doing so at the time would have been in order to provide a low cost power source ([0038]).
Claims 29-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Treeck et al. (DE 10149356 A1 – hereafter ‘356 and reference will be made to the enclosed translation) in view of Wang et al. (CN 114195266 A – hereafter ‘266 with reference made to the enclosed translation) and in further view of Knipe et al. (US 2019/0309242 A1 – hereafter ‘242).
Modified ‘356 differs from the limitations of claims 29 and 30 with regards to the renewable energy source.
‘242 discloses an electromethanogenic reactor (Abstract) that for claims 29 and 30 includes using renewable energy sources such as solar cells ([0038]) that are used to produces low cost electricity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the earliest effective filing date to include the renewable energy sources of ‘242 within modified ‘356 in order to provide a source of power that is abundant and inexpensive during peak hours ([0079]). The suggestion for doing so at the time would have been in order to provide a low cost power source ([0038]).
For claim 31, the energy source of modified ‘356 is fully capable of establishing a specified potential between the first and second electrodes using the renewable energy source without requiring the source of energy other than the renewable energy source.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-12, 15, 19 and 26-28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: For claim 6, the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest where the first electrode includes the step of changing an oxidation sate of the metallic species to elicit the electrochemical delivery.
Claim 7 would be allowable for the same reasons as claim 6.
For claim 8, the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest the step where the method includes monitoring an indication of growth of a photoautotroph in the water-based matrix; and in response to the monitoring: controlling a delivery rate of the inorganic nutrient by modulating the specified potential difference; and controlling cumulative nutrient delivery by establishing or adjusting a period of applied potential.
Claim 9 would be allowable for the same reasons as claim 8.
For claim 10, the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest a method where the water-based matrix comprises an open or coastal marine environment including an aquatic reservoir, or other body of water; and controlling delivery of inorganic nutrient via controlled electrochemical nutrient delivery (CEND) is based on a nutrient demand of a photoautotroph population of an ecosystem located in the aquatic reservoir or other body of water and to stimulate growth of or carbon capture via the photoautotroph population.
For claim 11, the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest a method that includes the step of the water-based matrix is within a flow-controlled hydroponic system or a raceway pond; and delivery of inorganic nutrient via controlled electrochemical nutrient delivery (CEND) is based on a specified target concentration of the inorganic nutrient in the water-based matrix and to stimulate growth of or carbon capture via a photoautotroph population in the water-based matrix.
Claim 12 would be allowable for the same reasons as claim 11.
For claim 15, the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest where the specified potential difference between the first and second electrode is less than five volts per cell pair.
For claim 19, the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest the step of controlling the time-varying potential at a specified pulse repetition frequency and a specified pulse width to define a program for eliciting delivery of the inorganic nutrient via the CEND.
For claim 27, the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest where the marine environment is defined by a growth cell isolated from the growth cells.
Claim 28 would be allowable for the same reasons as claim 27.
The closest prior art is Treeck et al. (DE 10149356 A1) which discloses a method for establishing a colony of macrophytic organisms on a sea shore, lake or lagoon floor), but Treeck does not teach or fairly suggest the limitations of claims 6-12, 15, 19 and 26-27.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nicholas et al. (US 2013/0164812 A1) discloses a system for processing biomass feedstocks.
/MICHAEL L HOBBS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799