DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 5/31/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koyama (US 20160039522).
Regarding claim 1, Koyama discloses an aircraft lavatory monument (10F), comprising:
a first lavatory (28A) comprising a first door (34 near 28A) providing access to the first lavatory from an aisle (aisle outside of 34) of an aircraft (¶ 0055; see Fig. 1-2 and 25-28);
a second lavatory (28B) proximate the first lavatory, the second lavatory comprising a second door (34 near 28B) providing access to the second lavatory from the aisle of the aircraft (see Fig. 1-2 and 25-28); and
a movable wall (38) disposed between the first lavatory and the second lavatory (see Fig. 1-2 and 25-28),
wherein, in a first position (standard position shown in Fig. 25; ¶ 0160-0172), the movable wall separates the first lavatory from the second lavatory providing privacy therebetween (see Fig. 25), and
wherein, in a second position (non-standard position shown in Fig. 27-28; ¶ 0160-0172), the movable wall is translated toward an outer wall (16, 20) of the aircraft lavatory monument thereby combining the first lavatory and the second lavatory (see Fig. 25-28; ¶ 0160-0172).
Regarding claim 2, Koyama discloses wherein the movable wall is translated toward the outer wall of the aircraft lavatory monument by:
translating the movable wall in a first direction (direction toward 14) toward an interior (interior near 14) of the aircraft (see Fig. 26);
translating the movable wall in a second direction (direction toward 20) perpendicular to the first direction toward the outer wall of the aircraft lavatory monument (see Fig. 26); and
translating the movable wall in a third direction (direction toward 16) opposite the first direction in order to stow the movable wall within the aircraft lavatory monument adjacent to the outer wall of the aircraft lavatory monument (see Fig. 25-28).
Regarding claim 3, Koyama discloses a first rail (one of 5040), wherein the translating in the first direction and the third direction is via the first rail (see Fig. 26).
Regarding claim 4, Koyama discloses a set of second rails (a set of another of 5040), wherein the translating in the second direction is via the set of second rails (see Fig. 26).
Regarding claim 5, Koyama discloses wherein the movable wall is coupled to the first rail (see Fig. 26 and 39; ¶ 0074, 0160-0172) and wherein the first rail is coupled to the set of second rails (via 38; see Fig. 26 and 39; ¶ 0074, 0160-0172).
Regarding claim 6, Koyama discloses a latching mechanism (40), wherein the latching mechanism is configured within the movable wall (¶ 0074, 0166; see Fig. 39) and wherein the latching mechanism comprises:
a handle (4004); and
at least one pin (4002), wherein the at least one pin is coupled to the handle and wherein, responsive to the handle being articulated, the at least one pin is configured to either lock the movable wall to at least one of a ceiling (24) or a floor (26) of the aircraft lavatory monument or unlock the movable wall to at least one of the ceiling or the floor of the aircraft lavatory monument (¶ 0074, 0166; see Fig. 39).
Regarding claim 7, Koyama discloses a first fixed panel (24), wherein, in the first position, the movable wall is temporarily coupled to the first fixed panel (¶ 0074, 0166; see Fig. 39).
Regarding claim 8, Koyama discloses a second fixed panel (26), wherein, in the second position, the movable wall is temporarily coupled to the second fixed panel (¶ 0074, 0166; see Fig. 39).
Regarding claim 9, Koyama discloses wherein the movable wall comprises a female interface component (lower end of the end section of 38 or upper end of the end section of 38 defining the space holding 4004; ¶ 0074, 0166; see Fig. 39) that interfaces with at least one of a first male interface component (4002) on the first fixed panel (¶ 0074, 0166; see Fig. 39) or a second male interface component (4002) on the second fixed panel at a given time (¶ 0074, 0166; see Fig. 39).
Regarding claim 10, Koyama discloses an aircraft (¶ 0055), the aircraft comprising:
an aircraft lavatory monument (10F), the aircraft lavatory monument comprising:
a first lavatory (28A) comprising a first door (door near 28A) providing access to the first lavatory from an aisle (aisle outside of 34) of the aircraft (¶ 0055; see Fig. 1-2 and 25-28);
a second lavatory (28B) proximate the first lavatory, the second lavatory comprising a second door (34 near 28B) providing access to the second lavatory from the aisle of the aircraft (see Fig. 1-2 and 25-28); and
a movable wall (38) disposed between the first lavatory and the second lavatory (see Fig. 1-2 and 25-28),
wherein, in a first position (standard position shown in Fig. 25; ¶ 0160-0172), the movable wall separates the first lavatory from the second lavatory providing privacy therebetween (see Fig. 28), and
wherein, in a second position (non-standard position shown in Fig. 27-28; ¶ 0160-0172), the movable wall is translated toward an outer wall (16, 20) of the aircraft lavatory monument thereby combining the first lavatory and the second lavatory (see Fig. 25-28; ¶ 0160-0172).
Regarding claim 11, Koyama discloses wherein the movable wall is translated toward the outer wall of the aircraft lavatory monument by:
translating the movable wall in a first direction (direction toward 14) toward an interior (interior near 14) of the aircraft (see Fig. 26);
translating the movable wall in a second direction (direction toward 20) perpendicular to the first direction toward the outer wall of the aircraft lavatory monument (see Fig. 26); and
translating the movable wall in a third direction (direction toward 16) opposite the first direction in order to stow the movable wall within the aircraft lavatory monument adjacent to the outer wall of the aircraft lavatory monument (see Fig. 25-28).
Regarding claim 12, Koyama discloses wherein the aircraft lavatory monument further comprises: a first rail (one of 5040), wherein the translating in the first direction and the third direction is via the first rail (see Fig. 26).
Regarding claim 13, Koyama discloses wherein the aircraft lavatory monument further comprises: a set of second rails (a set of another of 5040), wherein the translating in the second direction is via the set of second rails (see Fig. 26).
Regarding claim 14, Koyama discloses wherein the movable wall is coupled to the first rail (see Fig. 26 and 39; ¶ 0074, 0160-0172) and wherein the first rail is coupled to the set of second rails (via 38; see Fig. 26 and 39; ¶ 0074, 0160-0172).
Regarding claim 15, Koyama discloses wherein the aircraft lavatory monument further comprises:
a latching mechanism (40), wherein the latching mechanism is configured within the movable wall (¶ 0074, 0166; see Fig. 39) and wherein the latching mechanism comprises:
a handle (4004); and
at least one pin (4002), wherein the at least one pin is coupled to the handle and wherein, responsive to the handle being articulated, the at least one pin is configured to either lock the movable wall to at least one of a ceiling (24) or a floor (26) of the aircraft lavatory monument or unlock the movable wall to at least one of the ceiling or the floor of the aircraft lavatory monument (¶ 0074, 0166; see Fig. 39).
Regarding claim 16, Koyama discloses wherein the aircraft lavatory monument further comprises: a first fixed panel (24), wherein, in the first position, the movable wall is temporarily coupled to the first fixed panel (¶ 0074, 0166; see Fig. 39).
Regarding claim 17, Koyama discloses wherein the aircraft lavatory monument further comprises: a second fixed panel (26), wherein, in the second position, the movable wall is temporarily coupled to the second fixed panel (¶ 0074, 0166; see Fig. 39).
Regarding claim 18, Koyama discloses wherein the movable wall comprises a female interface component (lower end of the end section of 38 or upper end of the end section of 38 defining the space holding 4004; ¶ 0074, 0166; see Fig. 39) that interfaces with at least one of a first male interface component (4002) on the first fixed panel (¶ 0074, 0166; see Fig. 39) or a second male interface component (4002) on the second fixed panel at a given time (¶ 0074, 0166; see Fig. 39).
Regarding claim 19, Koyama discloses a method of converting an aircraft lavatory monument (10F) comprising a first lavatory (28A) and a second lavatory (28B) separated by a movable wall (38) to a combined lavatory configuration (non-standard position shown in Fig. 27-28; ¶ 0160-0172), the method comprising:
articulating a latching mechanism (40) positioned on an exterior edge (edge of 38) of the movable wall (¶ 0074, 0166; see Fig. 39) and accessible from an aisle of an aircraft (¶ 0055; see Fig. 1-2 and 25-28) from a first position (extended position of 4002) to a second position (retracted position of 4002) to unlock the movable wall (¶ 0074, 0166; see Fig. 39);
translating the movable wall in a first direction (direction toward 14) toward an interior (interior near 14) of the aircraft (see Fig. 26);
translating the movable wall in a second direction (direction toward 20) perpendicular to the first direction toward an outer wall (16, 20) of the aircraft lavatory monument (see Fig. 26); and
translating the movable wall in a third direction (direction toward 16) opposite the first direction in order to stow the movable wall within the aircraft lavatory monument adjacent to the outer wall of the aircraft lavatory monument (see Fig. 25-28).
Regarding claim 20, Koyama discloses articulating the latching mechanism from the second position to the first position to lock the movable wall in a stowed position (¶ 0074, 0160-172; see Fig. 25-28 and 39).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record in the PTO-892 form and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
McIntosh (US 20150096118) is directed to the state of the art as disclosing a modular lavatory system including fuselage (930), a first toilet (924), a second toilet (926), moveable structure (1008), first door (910), second door (912), and moveable partition (914).
/WILLIAM R KLOTZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3754
/DAVID P ANGWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754