DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to Request for continued Examination filed on July 06, 2026.
Amendments filed on July 06, 2026 have been acknowledged and considered.
Claims 1, 7, 9-11 and 17 have been amended. Claim 13 was previously canceled.
Response to Amendment
Applicant's Remarks, filed July 06, 2026, has been fully considered and entered.
Accordingly, Claims 1-12 and 14-18 are pending in this application. Claims 1, 7, 9-11 and 17 have been amended. Claim 13 was previously canceled. Claims 1 and 11 are independent claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-11, filed July 06, 2026, with respect to the amendments of independent claims 1 and 11 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Argument 1: Applicant argues on Applicant Arguments and Remarks that Guerrero’s Device Identifies are entered by a user as null or default values that are modified during commissioning, and that nowhere in Guerrero are the Device Identifiers received via RF signals from physical devices installed in a subsystem, nor used for control based on the population of the template identifiers with the unique identifiers.
Response to Argument 1: Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant argument is directed only to the Device Identifiers 1017 and does not address Guerrero’s disclosure of unique identifiers (UIDs) that are received wirelessly from the in-room devices. Guerrero [0235, 0239-0241] discloses “The wireless network interface 302 may comprise a radio frequency (RF) transceiver configured for bidirectional wireless communication over a 2.4 GHz wireless network… the room network 110 can comprise a wireless network such as a wireless personal area network (WPAN)… the load controller 102 may pick the best channel and select a random personal area network (PAN) identification number (ID) that will be used for message exchange over the room network 110 [Thus, receiving radio frequency (RF) signals]… the in-room device will perform an association to that network, for example by sending a join request to the network coordinator [Thus, RF signals transmitted from the physical devices installed in the room]… each in-room device [e.g. keypads, occupancy sensor (i.e. input device), load controllers] may be assigned and/or associated with a unique identifier, such as a unique identification number (UID) [e.g. unique identifiers]… The load controller 102 may maintain an inventory of the various in-room devices in room 101 according to their unique identifiers, such as UIDs and/or Serial Numbers, in its memory 307 [Thus, receiving, at a local processor device, RF signals comprising unique identifiers from physical devices installed in a subsystem].”
Further, Guerrero teaches populating template identifiers of the instance database. See Guerrero [0295-0296] “If there are Device Identifiers 1017… in the Template File 1010 that match to Device Identifiers 1017 in the Map File 1004 of Room 0002, the Template Identifier and Template Type will be populated for that match [e.g. populating the template identifiers].” See also Guerrero 0274] “Device Info part 1016 containing information about the device, such as the Device Identifier 1017… a unique identifier such as a UID 1019 (which may be instead the serial number of the device)… The Unit/Device Identifier 1017 is used to tie a physical device (identified by a UID 1019 [i.e. unique identifier]) defined in the Map File 1004 to a logical device described in the Logic File 1006 [Thus, populated template identifiers are tied to the RF-received unique identifiers of the physical device]”
Tolhuizen teaches populating, at the local processor device, the template identifiers of the local instance database with the unique identifiers received in the RF signals in more details.
Therefore, Guerrero-McCormack-Reference3 in view of Tolhuizen teaches the argued claim limitations. See rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, “RF signals received by the at least one input device” lacks antecedent basis, as claim 1 recites the RF signals being received at the local processor device from the physical devices. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Dependent claim 18 is also rejected for depending on claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guerrero (US Patent Application Publication No. US 20230161307 A1), in view of McCormack (US Patent Publication No. US 8271442 B2), Tolhuizen (US Patent Application Publication No. US 20230161307 A1 -hereinafter Reference3).
Regarding claim 1, Guerrero teaches a method comprising: receiving, at a local processor device, a template database configured for an area type in a load control system, wherein the template database comprises a plurality of template identifiers labeled with corresponding device names for devices identified for the area type, and wherein the template database comprises programming information for each template identifiers, wherein the programming information is configured to control at least one load control device to be installed in an area of the area type of the load control system; (See Guerrero [0008, 0011] “a building control system is provided for configuring and deploying electronic devices installed in a building… adapted to be installed in a space located within the building comprising: a plurality of electronic devices; and a load controller adapted communicate with the plurality of electronic devices via a space network to control an operation of at least one load installed in the space… The system further comprises at least one memory that stores a plurality of templates [e.g. template database] each template comprising a plurality of template identifiers each associated with at least one setting… and for a device identifier that matches a template identifier of the selected template, deploy the at least one setting associated with the matched template identifier to the space control system to control the electronic device associated with the matched device identifier according to the deployed setting [Thus, the template database comprises a plurality of template identifiers labeled with corresponding device names for devices identified for the area type]… wherein each template further comprises a device type associated with each template identifier” See also Guerrero [0266] “a user can create a template for a particular room type [e.g. area type] using the building control application 500 [e.g. load control system] and apply such template to similarly situated rooms” See also Guerrero [0285] “a Template File 1010 [e.g. template database] is created using the data from the Room Configuration File 1000. Namely, the new Template File 1010 comprises the Logic File 1006, the Settings File 1008 [e.g. programming information], and the Template Manifest File 1009” See also Guerrero [0276] “Each setting in the Settings File 1008 is associated with a Device Identifier 1017 [e.g. programming information for each template identifier]” See also Guerrero [0287] teaches that the Template File may be transmitted to the room load controller 102 (e.g. receiving at a local processor device].)
creating a local instance database at the local processor device that corresponds to the template database configured for the area type, wherein the local instance database comprises the plurality of template identifiers and the programming information; (See Guerrero [0298] “may create a Room Configuration File 1000 [e.g. local instance database] by combining the Map File 1004 for “Room 500” (as was updated by the user) together with the Logic File 1006, Settings File 1008 [Thus, comprises the plurality of template identifiers and the programming information], and Template Manifest File 1009 extracted from the “Small Conference Room” Template File 1010. [Thus, corresponds to the template database configured for the area type]… The Room Configuration File 1000 is transmitted and loaded to the load controller 102 installed [e.g. at the local processor device] in “Room 500” for instant configuration.”)
However, McCormack teaches creating a local instance database at the local processor device that corresponds to the template database in more details. (See McCormack Col. 8, lines 23-45 “Turning to FIG. 5 in more detail, the serialized data flows 216 may denote creating representations of the database tables 202 within the template files 214. Different database tables 202 may be associated with respective instances of properties 502 [e.g. template identifiers], which may indicate a type of the table. Examples of table types may include schemas for Contacts, Issues, Tasks, Assets, and Events, as defined in the context of database applications and products… The type properties 502 may be exported as part of the format of the template files 214, which the database management service 126 may use to instantiate the server-side database 128, as represented generally at 504. [Thus, creating a local instance database at a local processor device that corresponds to the template database]. More specifically, the database management service 126 may include a join/merge component 506 that receives and processes these type properties 502 as included in the template files 214. For example, the database management service 126 may receive a set of input files 214, and join these template files into a new or existing server-site database 128” See also McCormack Col. 9, lines 16-23 “The table type identifier or property 502 may be associated with metadata that allows the database management service to import the client table into the server database, and to merge or join tables in the client database into the server database… groups or communities of particular users or database applications may define these type properties as appropriate in different scenarios.”)
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Guerrero; which allow template files [e.g. template database] to be shared in order to create configuration files [e.g. database] using the template files, to incorporate the teachings of McCormack; which allows database template files to be shared between environments to instantiate a database based on a template file.
One would be motivated to do so to allow time saving, as templates are pre-designed structures, thus eliminating the need to build them/create database from scratch.
Guerrero further in view of McCormack, [hereinafter Guerrero-McCormack] additionally disclose receiving radio frequency (RF) signals comprising unique identifiers from physical devices installed in a subsystem of the load control system, wherein the unique identifiers comprise a unique identifier of at least one input device and a unique identifier of at least one load control device installed in the subsystem; (See Guerrero [0239-0241] “the room network 110 can comprise a wireless network such as a wireless personal area network (WPAN)… The wireless room network 110 may comprise a 2.4 GHz peer-to-peer radio frequency (RF) mesh network topology, where every in-room device may act as an “expander”, relaying wireless commands directly between the in-room devices… the load controller 102 may pick the best channel and select a random personal area network (PAN) identification number (ID) that will be used for message [e.g. receiving radio frequency (RF) signals] exchange over the room network 110. The load controller 102 will then establish the room network 110 and may then permit the other in-room devices to join the network 110… the in-room device will perform an association to that network, for example by sending a join request [Thus, receiving RF signals from the physical devices]… each in-room device [e.g. at least one input device and at least one load control device installed in the subsystem] may be assigned and/or associated with a unique identifier, such as a unique identification number (UID) [e.g. unique identifiers comprise a unique identifier of at least one input device and a unique identifier of at least one load control device]… The load controller 102 may maintain an inventory of the various in-room devices in room 101 according to their unique identifiers, such as UIDs and/or Serial Numbers, in its memory 307 [Thus, receiving, at the local processor device, the RF signals comprising the unique identifiers]” See also Guerrero [0266-0267] “a small conference room may contain a single load controller, two lighting control keypads [e.g. input device], and an occupancy sensor… the building control application 500 has discovered and connected to the load controller 102 installed in that room via Bluetooth connection”)
populating, at the local processor device, the template identifiers of the local instance database with the unique identifiers received in the RF signals from the at least one input device installed in the subsystem, wherein the populating of the unique identifiers of the physical devices defines how the at least one load control device installed in the subsystem is controlled in response to the at least one input device installed in the subsystem; and (See Guerrero [0268, 0274, 0295-0296] “ The room configuration file may comprise a Map File (1004, FIG. 10A) that includes information regarding the particular devices discovered as being connected to the load controller 102… The Map File 1004 contains data regarding all the hardware components (i.e., units and devices [e.g. at least one input device]) installed in a particular room 101, details of each of the hardware component, including the Device Identifier, Device Name, Device Type, Model, and a unique identifier that uniquely identifies the hardware components, such as the device's Serial Number, a UID, and the like [Thus, the map file comprises the unique identifiers received via the room network (e.g. received in the RF signals)]… The Unit/Device Identifier 1017 is used to tie a physical device (identified by a UID 1019) defined in the Map File 1004 to a logical device described in the Logic File 1006 … the app 500 will retrieve and compare the Map File 1004 of the selected room with the Template File 1010 of the selected template to match devices by Device Types, and within matched Device Types to match devices by Device Identifiers 1017… If there are Device Identifiers 1017… in the Template File 1010 that match to Device Identifiers 1017 in the Map File 1004 of Room 0002, the Template Identifier and Template Type will be populated for that match [Thus, populating the template identifiers, thus the populated template identifiers are tied to the RF-received unique identifiers of the physical device].”)
Guerrero lacks details regarding populating the template identifiers of the local instance database with the unique identifiers received in the RF signals.
However, Reference3 teaches the template identifiers of the local instance database with the unique identifiers received in the RF signals. (See Reference3 [0055, 0060] “The present invention will now be described in the specific example using ZigBee Smart Light (ZSL) lamps, both ZGP-capable and non-ZGP-capable, controlled by a remote control… Step 2… the ZGPD switch [e.g. the at least one input device installed in the subsystem] sends a Green Power Device Frame (GPDF) [e.g. RF signal] containing and/or allowing for derivation of information on the ZGPD switch, including, but not limited to the ZGPD's device address (SrcID) [e.g. unique identifier received in the RF signals from the one input device] and device type (DeviceID).” See also Reference3 [0069-0083] “Step 10… Creates a ZGPD Command Translation Table entry [1, Sec. A.3.6.2.2] for the local translation for the local ZSL endpoints (SrcID, CommandID→ZSL endpoint, profile, cluster, command/attribute?) [Thus, the received unique identifier SrcID is stored as content of the configuration entry (e.g. populating the template identifiers of the local instance database with the unique identifiers received in the RF signals from the at least one input device)” See also Reference3 [0090-0093] “Translating the ZGPD command to a ZigBee ZSL command (using the translation table… created/updated in step 10/11 above)… ZGP-capable devices… only execute ZGP commands [Thus, the populating of the received unique identifier defines how the at least one load control device is controlled in response to the at least one input device]” See also Reference3 [0143] “the ZGPD switch group ID is created proactively, before the ZGPD devices are added to the system. For example… an “empty” group ID (i.e. a group not yet controlled by any device) is created for each functionally separate entity, like zone, room, workplace, floor, etc. Subsequently, a simple pushbutton-based proximity- or proxy-based pairing… can be used to pair this proactively established, not yet controlled group to the controlling ZGPD [Thus, the placeholder is configured to be populated with the unique identifier received via RF signals from the physical device subsequently installed in that area])
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Guerrero-McCormack system to populate the identifier entries of the room configuration file [e.g. local instance database] with the unique identifier received via the room network from installed devices as taught by Reference3.
One would have been motivated to do to further achieve Guerrero’s goal of rapid configuration and deployment [Guerrero 0004], with a reasonable expectation of success because everything needed already exist in Guerrero: the load controller already received and stores the UIDs in memory 307 and the Map File already carries a UID field for each device entry and already contemplates automatic identifier assignment [Guerrero 0241, 0274, 0297], yielding predictable results.
Guerrero-McCormack further in view of Reference3, [hereinafter Guerrero-McCormack-Reference3] controlling, by the local processor, the at least one load control device in the subsystem according to the programming information and based on the population of the unique identifiers of the physical devices received in the RF signal that defines how the at least one load control device installed in the subsystem is controlled in response to the at least one input device installed in the subsystem. (See Guerrero [0298] “the Logic File 1006 and the Settings File 1008 extracted from the Template File 1010 are tied to the Map File 1004 using the Device Identifier 1017 such that the load controller 102 can extract the settings of a device from the Settings File 1008 [e.g. according to the programming information], determine the logic of the device from the Logic File 1006 and apply it to a uniquely identified device using the Map File 1004 that contains the Device Identifier 1017 linked to the Device UID 1019. [Thus, controlling based on the population, which is linked to the unique identifiers received in the RF signals]” See also Guerrero [0242] “in response to receiving a room occupied signal, the load controller 102 may turn the lighting load 106 on. [e.g. controlling, by the local processor, the at least one load control device in the subsystem]”)
Regarding claim 2, Guerrero-McCormack-Reference3 teaches all limitations and motivations of claim 1, wherein the programming information comprises at least one of control settings, scene settings, or load control levels. (See Guerrero [0013] “the at least one setting [e.g. programming information] may be selected from at least one of a dimming level [e.g. load control level], a dimming curve, a timeout period, a lighting scene [e.g. scene settings], a sensor sensitivity setting, an on/off operation [e.g. control settings], a switch parameter, a calibration data, a fade rate, a fade time, and any combinations thereof.”)
Regarding claim 3, Guerrero-McCormack-Reference3 teaches all limitations and motivations of claim 1, further comprising: determining a portion of the programming information identified by the template identifier corresponding to the unique identifier of at least one physical device of the physical devices in the subsystem; and (See Guerrero [0276] “the Settings File 1008 can contain a plurality of subparts or subsections, such as File Info 1031, Room Info 1032, and Device List 1036… Device List 1036 may comprise Device Settings 1037 for each device in the Settings File 1008… Each Device Settings 1037 can comprise a Device Identifier 1017 [e.g. portion of the programming information identified by the template identifier corresponding to the unique identifier of least one physical device of the physical devices in the subsystem], a Device Type, a Device Subtype (if any), and device specific configuration or parameters.”)
wherein controlling the at least one load control device in the subsystem comprises transmitting the portion of the programming information to the at least one physical device in the subsystem. (See Guerrero [0287, 0292] “After the Template File 1010 is created, the Room Configuration File 1000 may be updated to include the Template Manifest File 1009, which may be sent to the room load controller 102 for informational purposes to identify which Template File 1010 is applicable to that room… As a result, the Template File 1010 can be transmitted [Thus, transmitting the portion of the programming information to the at least one physical device in the subsystem] to the building control application 500 running on another user communication device 401 a-n [e.g. at least one physical device in the subsystem (Thus, controlling the at least one load control device in the subsystem)], the control processor 420… if the user wishes to apply the Small Conference Room template to Room 0002, the user can confirm that the Device Identifiers 1017 in that room match to the Device Identifiers 1017 (also referenced as Template Identifiers for clarity) used in the Small Conference Room template.” See also Guerrero abstract “The template can be applied another space control system by applying the settings in the template to electronic devices with matched device identifiers.”)
Regarding claim 4, Guerrero-McCormack-Reference3 teaches all limitations and motivations of claim 1, wherein the template database comprises a first template database, the method further comprising: receiving a second template database for the area type in the load control system, wherein the second template database comprises the plurality of template identifiers and updated programming information for the template identifiers; and (See Guerrero [0008, 0012] “each template comprising a plurality of template identifiers… The at least one processor may be adapted to deploy one or more of the templates to one or more of the plurality of the space control systems.” See also Guerrero [0288] “After creating the “Small Conference Room” Template [e.g. first template database], the user can then continue to configure other types of rooms in the same fashion as discussed above. For example, the user can configure and create a “Large Conference Room” Template and a “Huddle” Template [e.g. second template database]. These templates may be transmitted to the control processor 420” See also Guerrero [0293-0295] “The user can rename or edit existing templates… the user may create a new template [e.g. second template database] by pressing the Extract Template button… The user may enter a desired template name in the Template Name field 1412 and select the room [e.g. for the area type in the load control system] from which to extract the template from the Room Name list 1414, and then press the Extract button 1415. This causes the app 500 to create and save a Template Manifest File 1009 that references the Logic File 1006 and the Settings File 1006 associated with the selected room if these files are stored on the control processor 420.” See also Guerrero [0285] “the new Template File 1010 comprises the Logic File 1006, the Settings File 1008, and the Template Manifest File 1009. [Thus, the second template database comprises the plurality of template identifiers and updated programming information for the template identifiers]” See also Guerrero [0292] “The user may edit the configuration data of any room by pressing on any of the edit action buttons 1211. Referring to FIG. 13 , for example for Room 0002 [Thus, for the area type in the load control system], this will bring up a room edit popup window 1300 where a user may view and/or modify the room [Thus, to each of a plurality of local processor devices in the load control system to which the first template database was previously transmitted]. Specifically, the user may… select a different template [e.g. second template database] to apply via a drop down menu 1304.”)
updating the local instance database based on the second template database to update the programming information for the physical devices in the subsystem having unique identifiers with corresponding template identifiers having updated programming information. (See Guerrero [0287] “After the Template File 1010 [e.g. second template database] is created, the Room Configuration File 1000 may be updated [Thus, updating the local instance database based on the second template database] to include the Template Manifest File 1009 [Thus, to update the programming information for the physical devices in the subsystem having unique identifiers with corresponding template identifiers having updated programming information]… In addition, the Room Type object in the Room Configuration File 1000 may be populated with the template name selected by the user for the template.” See also Guerrero [0285] “The Template Manifest File 1009 defines which Logic and Settings File makes up the template, in this case Logic File 1006 and Settings File 1008.”)
Regarding claim 5, Guerrero-McCormack-Reference3 teaches all limitations and motivations of claim 1, wherein the template database comprises association information that comprises associations between template identifiers in the template database, and wherein an association of the at least one input device with the at least one load control device is performed upon populating the unique identifiers of the at least one input device and the at least one load control device. (See Guerrero claim 9 “each template further comprises at least one inter-device relationship associated with at least two device identifiers [Thus, the template database comprises association information that comprises associations between template identifiers in the template database], and wherein the at least one processor is further adapted to: for at least two device identifiers that match two template identifiers, deploy the at least one inter-device relationship associated with the matched two device identifiers [e.g. at least one input device with the at least one load control device] to the space control system” See also Guerrero Fig. 16, [0296] “ If there are Device Identifiers 1017 (displayed as a “Template Identifiers” in FIG. 16 for clarity) in the Template File 1010 that match to Device Identifiers 1017 in the Map File 1004 of Room 0002, the Template Identifier and Template Type will be populated for that match.”
Thus, an association of the at least one input device (e.g. Keypad 1) with the at least one load control device (e.g. Load 1) is performed upon populating the unique identifiers of the at least one input device and the at least one load control device. See also Guerrero [0275] “Device specific logic defines the inter-device interactions within the room, which may define the input device that can affect the device [Thus, an association of the at least one input device with the at least one load control device is performed upon populating)
Regarding claim 6, Guerrero-McCormack-Reference3 teaches all limitations and motivations of claim 1, wherein the programming information comprises at least one triggering event for controlling the at least one load control device, wherein the at least one triggering event comprises at least one timer event or an input received by the at least one input device. (See Guerrero [0269-0270] “Referring to FIG. 8 , there is shown an exemplary Configuration page 800 of the building control application 500 for exemplary “Conference Room 100A”, according to an embodiment. Clicking on the Load Controllers button 802, will display a Load Controllers page (not shown) displaying a list of load controllers 102 installed in the room 101. For each load controller 102, the user can view and/or configure applicable settings [e.g. programming information], such as but not limited to the sensors that are bound to the particular load controller 102, dimming properties, switch parameters, dimming curves, dimming scene configurations, or the like… dimming settings of a selected load controller 102, including viewing its calibration data for day time and night time, and configuring its minimum dimming level, maximum dimming level, fade rate, fade time, on fade time, and off fade time [Thus, programming information comprises at least one triggering event for controlling the at least one load control device]… to configure the parameters or settings of the sensors installed in room 101, such as occupancy and photo sensors 104-105 [e.g. input devices], and specify which load controller 104 or load controller zone the sensor is bound to. For example, for an occupancy sensor the user may specify the timeout parameter (the number of seconds [e.g. timer event] that must elapse before the sensor identifies the room as being vacant) [Thus, comprises at least one timer event], and for a photo sensor the user may specify the minimum change in light reading that must occur to trigger an immediate report of the current light level.”)
Regarding claim 7, Guerrero-McCormack-Reference3 teaches all limitations and motivations of claim 1, wherein the RF signals received by the at least one input device comprises at least one preset for a scene, an occupancy or vacancy condition, or a daylight level received by the at least one input device. (See Guerrero [0242, 0270] “the load controller 102 can keep track of the occupancy and vacancy messages received from each occupancy sensor 104 [e.g. RF signals of the at least one input device comprising an occupancy or vacancy condition] in an occupancy table and maintain the current state of each occupancy sensor 104 (i.e., occupied or vacant)… for an occupancy sensor the user may specify the timeout parameter… and for a photo sensor the user may specify the minimum change in light reading that must occur to trigger an immediate report of the current light level [e.g. a daylight level received by the at least one input device].”)
Regarding claim 8, Guerrero-McCormack-Reference3 teaches all limitations and motivations of claim 1, wherein the programming information comprises at least one intensity level for controlling output of a lighting load. (See Guerrero [0013] “the at least one setting [e.g. programming information] may be selected from at least one of a dimming level [e.g. intensity level for controlling output of a lighting load], a dimming curve, a timeout period, a lighting scene, a sensor sensitivity setting, an on/off operation [e.g. control settings], a switch parameter, a calibration data, a fade rate, a fade time, and any combinations thereof.”)
Regarding claim 9, Guerrero-McCormack-Reference3 teaches all limitations and motivations of claim 1, wherein the received RF signals comprise discovery messages from the at least one input device and the at least one load control device that include the unique identifiers of the at least one input device and the at least one load control device in the subsystem of the load control system; and the method further comprises: storing the unique identifiers in memory. (See Guerrero [0240-0241] “the in-room device will perform an association to that network, for example by sending a join request to the network coordinator [e.g. discovery messages]… each in-room device may report its serial number to uniquely identify itself to the load controller 102 [e.g. discovery messages that include the unique identifiers]… The load controller 102 may maintain an inventory of the various in-room devices in room 101 according to their unique identifiers, such as UIDs and/or Serial Numbers, in its memory 307. [Thus, storing the unique identifiers in memory]”)
Regarding claim 10, Guerrero-McCormack-Reference3 teaches all limitations and motivations of claim 9, further comprising: transmitting, in response to a triggering event, a triggering message configured to trigger the discovery messages, wherein the RF signals comprising the discovery messages are received in response to the triggering message. (See Guerrero [0240] “If a network is available and permits devices to join it [e.g. in response to a triggering event], the in-room device will perform an association to that network, for example by sending a join request to the network coordinator and receiving a join confirmation message [i.e. RF signals] from the network coordinator [e.g. a triggering message]… each in-room device may report its serial number to uniquely identify itself to the load controller 102 [e.g. discovery messages that include the unique identifiers]” Thus, the RF signals comprising the discovery messages are received in response to the triggering message
Regarding claim 11, Guerrero-McCormack-Reference3 teaches all of the elements of claim 1 in method form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 1 applies equally as well to those elements of claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, Guerrero-McCormack-Reference3 teaches all of the elements of claim 1 in method form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 1 applies equally as well to those elements of claim 12.
Regarding claim 14, Guerrero-McCormack-Reference3 teaches all of the elements of claim 1 in method form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 1 applies equally as well to those elements of claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, Guerrero-McCormack-Reference3 teaches all of the elements of claim 8 in method form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 8 applies equally as well to those elements of claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, Guerrero-McCormack-Reference3 teaches all of the elements of claim 1 in method form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 1 applies equally as well to those elements of claim 16.
Regarding claim 17, Guerrero-McCormack-Reference3 teaches all of the elements of claim 4 in method form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 4 applies equally as well to those elements of claim 17.
Regarding claim 18, Guerrero-McCormack-Reference3 teaches all limitations and motivations of claim 7, wherein a second database is transmitted to each of the plurality of the local processor devices in parallel. (See Guerrero [0298] “The app 500 can deploy Room Configuration Files 1000 [e.g. second database] to each room one at a time, or it can send them to multiple rooms at the same time [Thus, in parallel]. For example, for “Room 0005”, the app 500 may create a Room Configuration File 1000 by combining the Map File 1004 for “Room 500” (as was updated by the user) together with the Logic File 1006, Settings File 1008, and Template Manifest File 1009 extracted from the “Small Conference Room” Template File 1010… The Room Configuration File 1000 is transmitted and loaded to the load controller 102 [Thus, the second database is transmitted to each of the plurality of the local processor devices in parallel] installed in “Room 500” for instant configuration.” See also Guerrero [0233] “The load controller 102 can further comprise a processor 301… the processor 301 can include one or more microcontrollers, RISC processors, video processors, or related chip sets.”)
Conclusion
/OSCAR WEHOVZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2161
/APU M MOFIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2161