DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to amendments filed on December 19, 2025.
Amendments filed on December 19, 2025 have been acknowledged and considered.
Claims 1, 3, 5, 11 and 18 have been amended. Claim 13 has been canceled.
Response to Amendment
Applicant's Remarks, filed December 19, 2025, has been fully considered and entered.
Accordingly, Claims 1-12 and 14-18 are pending in this application. Claims 1, 3, 5, 11 and 18 have been amended. Claim 13 has been canceled. Claims 1 and 11 are independent claims. In light of applicant amendments, the objection to the abstract for exceeding 150 words in length, and the claim objections of claims 5 and 18 because of informalities have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-11, filed December 19, 2025, with respect to the amendments of independent claims 1 and 11 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Argument 1: Applicant argues on pages 9-10 of Applicant Arguments and Remarks "The Office Action goes on to attempt to describe the "Device Identifiers 1017" of Guerrero as allegedly being the "unique identifiers of physical devices in a subsystem of the load control system" that are populated in the local instance database, as claimed... However, Guerrero specifically discloses that the above-referenced Device Identifiers 1017 (e.g., "Load 1" and "Keypad 1') are separate and distinct from a unique identifier (UID) 1019 (e.g., described as a serial number) of a physical device installed in the system... Therefore Guerrero fails to disclose "populating the template identifiers of the local instance database with unique identifiers that uniquely identify physical devices installed in a subsystem of the load control system" as recited in claim 1, or similar subject matter as described in claim 11."
Response to Argument 1: Examiner respectfully disagrees. The argued-amended claim limitation requires populating the template identifiers of the local instance database with unique identifiers that uniquely identify physical devices installed in a subsystem of the load control system. Guerrero paragraphs [0008-0011] disclose that "a building control system is provided for configuring and deploying electronic devices installed in a building... a load controller adapted communicate with the plurality of electronic devices via a space network to control an operation of at least one load installed in the space… The load may comprise at least one of a lighting device… The plurality of electronic devices may comprise at least one of a control device, a user interface, a touch screen, a keypad, a switch, a dimmer, a control panel, an occupancy sensor, a light sensor, a relay". Examiner interprets these devices as physical devices.
Further, Guerrero paragraphs [0274, 0295-0298] disclose that a room configuration file [e.g. instance database] can be created for each deployed room by combining together the map file, logic file, settings file and template manifest file extracted from a selected template file. Where If there are device identifiers (displayed as a “Template Identifiers” in FIG. 16 for clarity) in the template file that match to device identifiers in the map file of the selected room, then the template identifier and template Type will be populated for that match, where the map file describes and identifies the physical devices or units installed in the room, and where the device identifier is used to tie a physical device (identified by a UID 1019) defined in the map file to a logical device described in the logic file.
Thus, as seen in Fig.16, the devices correspond physical devices, where even when multiple devices of the same type exist (e.g. Keypad), the Device Identifiers are unique (e.g. Keypad 1, Keypad 2). Examiner interprets Guerrero’s device identifiers as unique identifiers.
Thus, by matching device identifiers in the template file with the device identifiers in the map file as part of applying a template to a room, it is populating template identifiers of the room configuration file [e.g. instance database] with device identifiers [e.g. unique identifiers] that uniquely identify physical devices installed in a subsystem of the load control system. See rejection below.
Furthermore see Guerrero [0268] “The Device Identifier object is used to uniquely reference each device”
Therefore, the Examiner has determined that this argument is not persuasive.
Argument 2: Applicant argues on page 10 of Applicant Arguments and Remarks "Guerrero also fails to disclose "creating a local instance database at a local processor device that corresponds to the template database configured for the area type" and as recited in claim 1, or similar subject matter as described in claim 11."
Response to Argument 2: Examiner respectfully disagrees. Guerrero paragraphs [0266, 0276, 0291, 0298] teaches that a user can create a template for a particular room type, and after creating the template the room can be deployed, where a room configuration file is created [e.g. local instance database] for each deployed room, where the room configuration file [e.g. instance database] can be created for each deployed room by combining together the map file, logic file, settings file and template manifest file extracted from a selected template file [e.g. template database], where the setting file can contain a plurality of subparts or subsections, such as room info, which contains information on the room as a whole and may contain the Room Type.
Based on the broadest reasonable interpretation, the Examiner interprets Guerrero's template file and configuration file (each consisting of a collection of files), as a template database and an instance database respectively. This is consistent with the Specification paragraph [0052] "The local instance of the template database may be stored as a local instance database or other dataset on the local processor device 162. Though the local instance database or template database may be described herein as a database, it is clear that the data being configured and/or stored therein may be stored in another form or dataset.". Thus, the terms "template database" and "instance database" can be a dataset or another form (e.g. template file / configuration file).
Thus, based on a template for a particular room type, a room configuration file [e.g. local instance database] is created. Thus, Guerrero teaches creating a local instance database at a local processor device that corresponds to the template database configured for the area type. See rejection below. Therefore, the Examiner has determined that this argument is not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guerrero (US Patent Application Publication No. US 20230161307 A1), in view of McCormack (US Patent Publication No. US 8271442 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Guerrero teaches a method comprising: receiving, at a local processor device, a template database configured for an area type in a load control system, wherein the template database comprises a plurality of template identifiers labeled with corresponding device names for devices identified for the area type, and (See Guerrero [0008, 0011] “a building control system is provided for configuring and deploying electronic devices installed in a building. The system comprises a space control system adapted to be installed in a space located within the building comprising: a plurality of electronic devices; and a load controller adapted communicate with the plurality of electronic devices via a space network to control an operation of at least one load installed in the space… The system further comprises at least one memory that stores a plurality of templates [e.g. template database] each template comprising a plurality of template identifiers each associated with at least one setting… and for a device identifier that matches a template identifier of the selected template, deploy the at least one setting associated with the matched template identifier to the space control system to control the electronic device associated with the matched device identifier according to the deployed setting [Thus, the template database comprises a plurality of template identifiers labeled with corresponding device names for devices identified for the area type]… wherein each template further comprises a device type associated with each template identifier” See also Guerrero [0266, 0285-0287, 0292] “a user can create a template for a particular room type [Thus, a template database configured for an area type] using the building control application 500 [e.g. load control system] and apply such template to similarly situated rooms… The user may enter a name for the new template in field 1101, such as for example “Small Conference Room”, and press the Save button 1102. This causes a new Template File to be created. [e.g. template database].. a Template File 1010 is created using the data from the Room Configuration File 1000. Namely, the new Template File 1010 comprises the Logic File 1006, the Settings File 1008 [Thus, generated], and the Template Manifest File 1009… After the Template File 1010 is created, the Room Configuration File 1000 may be updated to include the Template Manifest File 1009, which may be sent to the room load controller 102 for informational purposes to identify which Template File 1010 is applicable to that room… Pressing Share template data button 613 [e.g. request] allows the user to share the template of the current room. As a result, the Template File 1010 can be transmitted to the building control application 500 running on another user communication device 401 a-n, the control processor 420… if the user wishes to apply the Small Conference Room template to Room 0002, the user can confirm that the Device Identifiers 1017 in that room match to the Device Identifiers 1017 (also referenced as Template Identifiers for clarity) used in the Small Conference Room template. [Thus, receiving, at a local processor device, a template database configured for an area type in a load control system, wherein the template database comprises a plurality of template identifiers labeled with corresponding device names for devices identified for the area type]”
Examiner notes that a database can be a file. Examiner interprets “template database” as a template file.)
wherein the template database comprises programming information for each template identifiers, wherein the programming information is configured to control at least one load control device to be installed in an area of the area type of the load control system; (See Guerrero [0008] “each template comprising a plurality of template identifiers each associated with at least one setting” See also Guerrero [0285] “Referring to FIG. 10B, a Template File 1010 is created using the data from the Room Configuration File 1000. Namely, the new Template File 1010 [e.g. template database] comprises the Logic File 1006, the Settings File 1008 [e.g. Thus, generating programming information], and the Template Manifest File 1009.” See also Guerrero [0276] “The Settings File 1008 [e.g. programming information] contains the settings and action parameters for each device in the room as configured by the user as discussed above with reference to FIG. 7. Each setting in the Settings File 1008 is associated with a Device Identifier 1017 [Thus, programming information for each template identifiers]. Referring to FIG. 10E, the Settings File 1008 can contain a plurality of subparts or subsections, such as File Info 1031, Room Info 1032, and Device List 1036… Room Info 1032 contains information on the room as a whole and may contain the Room Type [e.g. area type]. Device List 1036 may comprise Device Settings 1037 for each device in the Settings File 1008. Device Settings 1037 may contain generic device information capable of representing any device that can reside in the room [e.g. load control device to be installed in an area of the area type of the load control system]. Each Device Settings 1037 can comprise… device specific configuration or parameters… Device specific configuration for each device depend upon the device's Type and Subtype and may comprise initialization values for information that is owned by the devices. Examples include keypad tap time, load controller scene levels, dimmer mode, etc. [Thus, the template database comprises programming information for each template identifiers, wherein the programming information is configured to control at least one load control device to be installed in an area of the area type of the load control system]”)
creating a local instance database at the local processor device that corresponds to the template database configured for the area type, wherein the local instance database comprises the plurality of template identifiers and the programming information; (See Guerrero [0291, 0298] “after creating the template, the user may access a building control application 500 running on the control processor 420… once discrepancies are resolved or accepted, the room can be deployed by pressing the Deploy Selected button 1215. In response, the app 500 may create Room Configuration Files 1000 [e.g. creating a local instance database at a local processor device] for each deployed room and send these files to load controllers 102 of the respective rooms. The app 500 can deploy Room Configuration Files 1000 to each room one at a time, or it can send them to multiple rooms at the same time. For example, for “Room 0005”, the app 500 may create a Room Configuration File 1000 by combining the Map File 1004 for “Room 500” (as was updated by the user) together with the Logic File 1006, Settings File 1008 [Thus, comprises the plurality of template identifiers and the programming information], and Template Manifest File 1009 extracted from the “Small Conference Room” Template File 1010. [Thus, corresponds to the template database configured for the area type]”)
However, McCormack teaches creating a local instance database at the local processor device that corresponds to the template database in more details. (See McCormack Col. 8, lines 23-45 “Turning to FIG. 5 in more detail, the serialized data flows 216 may denote creating representations of the database tables 202 within the template files 214. Different database tables 202 may be associated with respective instances of properties 502 [e.g. template identifiers], which may indicate a type of the table. Examples of table types may include schemas for Contacts, Issues, Tasks, Assets, and Events, as defined in the context of database applications and products… The type properties 502 may be exported as part of the format of the template files 214, which the database management service 126 may use to instantiate the server-side database 128, as represented generally at 504. [Thus, creating a local instance database at a local processor device that corresponds to the template database]. More specifically, the database management service 126 may include a join/merge component 506 that receives and processes these type properties 502 as included in the template files 214. For example, the database management service 126 may receive a set of input files 214, and join these template files into a new or existing server-site database 128” See also McCormack Col. 9, lines 16-23 “The table type identifier or property 502 may be associated with metadata that allows the database management service to import the client table into the server database, and to merge or join tables in the client database into the server database… groups or communities of particular users or database applications may define these type properties as appropriate in different scenarios.”)
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Guerrero; which allow template files [e.g. template database] to be shared in order to create configuration files [e.g. database] using the template files, to incorporate the teachings of McCormack; which allows database template files to be shared between environments to instantiate a database based on a template file.
One would be motivated to do so to allow time saving, as templates are pre-designed structures, thus eliminating the need to build them/create database from scratch.
Guerrero further in view of McCormack, [hereinafter Guerrero-McCormack] additionally disclose populating, at the local processor device, the template identifiers of the local instance database with unique identifiers that uniquely identify of physical devices installed in a subsystem of the load control system, wherein the unique identifiers comprise a unique identifier of at least one input device and at least one load control device installed in the subsystem, wherein the populating of the unique identifiers of the physical devices defines how the at least one load control device installed in the subsystem is controlled in response to the at least one input device installed in the subsystem; and (See Guerrero [0298] “The app 500 can deploy Room Configuration Files 1000 to each room one at a time, or it can send them to multiple rooms at the same time. For example, for “Room 0005” [e.g. subsystem], the app 500 may create a Room Configuration File 1000 by combining the Map File 1004 for “Room 500” (as was updated by the user) together with the Logic File 1006, Settings File 1008 [Thus, populating the template identifiers of the local instance database with unique identifiers of physical devices in a subsystem of the load control system], and Template Manifest File 1009 extracted from the “Small Conference Room” Template File 1010.” See also Guerrero [0266-0268, 0295-0296] “a small conference room may contain a single load controller [e.g. load control device], two lighting control keypads [e.g. at least one input device], and an occupancy sensor… The room configuration file may comprise a Map File (1004, FIG. 10A) that includes information regarding the particular devices… Each device entry may list one or more of the Device Name, Device Identifier, Device Type, Model, Serial Number, and the like… The Device Identifier object is used to uniquely reference each device… the user may select Room 0002, Room 0005, and Room 0007 as shown in FIG. 12 and then select the Small Conference Room template from menu 1203 to apply to the selected rooms… Referring to FIG. 16 , the selected Small Conference Room template will now appear in the Current Template field 1303. If there are Device Identifiers 1017 (displayed as a “Template Identifiers” in FIG. 16 for clarity) in the Template File 1010 that match to Device Identifiers 1017 in the Map File 1004 of Room 0002 [Thus, installed in the subsystem], the Template Identifier and Template Type will be populated for that match. [Thus, populating the template identifiers of the local instance database with unique identifiers that uniquely identify physical devices in a subsystem of the load control system]”
Thus, as seen in Fig.16, the devices correspond physical devices, where even when multiple devices of the same type exist (e.g. Keypad), the Device Identifiers are unique (e.g. Keypad 1, Keypad 2). Examiner interprets Guerrero’s device identifiers as unique identifiers.
Thus, by matching device identifiers in the template file with the device identifiers in the map file as part of applying a template to a room, it is populating template identifiers of the room configuration file [e.g. instance database] with device identifiers [e.g. unique identifiers] that uniquely identify physical devices installed in a subsystem of the load control system.
See also Guerrero [0275] “the Logic File 1006 defines the interactions of the various devices [e.g. at least one load control device and the at least one input device] by defining their bindings and configuration or the actions each device needs to perform [Thus, defines how the at least one load control device installed in the subsystem is controlled in response to the at least one input device installed in the subsystem]. Devices in the Logic File 1006 are referenced by their Device Identifiers 1017 such that the Logic File 1006 ties the Device Identifier 1017 to the logic to be executed by such a device. Accordingly, within the Logic File 1006, the Device Identifiers 1017 are used in defining inter-device relationships.”)
controlling, by the local processor, the at least one load control device in the subsystem according to the programming information and based on the unique identifiers of the physical devices that are populated with in the template identifiers of the local instance database. (See Guerrero [0008-0011] "The system comprises a space control system... a plurality of electronic devices; and a load controller adapted communicate with the plurality of electronic devices [e.g. at least one load control device] via a space network to control an operation of at least one load installed in the space... The system further comprises... a plurality of templates each template comprising a plurality of template identifiers each associated with at least one setting [e.g. programming information]... deploy the at least one setting associated with the matched template identifier to the space control system to control the electronic device associated with the matched device identifier according to the deployed setting [Thus, based on the unique identifiers of the physical devices that are populated with the template identifiers of the local instance database]… controlling the operation of the at least one load installed in the space changes at least one environmental condition in the building. The load may comprise at least one of a lighting device, a power device, a heating device, a ventilation device, an air conditioning device, a motorized shading device, a security device, an appliance, a door lock, an audiovisual device, an industrial device, and any combinations thereof. The plurality of electronic devices may comprise at least one of a control device, a user interface, a touch screen, a keypad, a switch, a dimmer, a control panel, an occupancy sensor, a light sensor, a relay, and any combinations thereof.”)
Regarding claim 2, Guerrero-McCormack teaches all limitations and motivations of claim 1, wherein the programming information comprises at least one of control settings, scene settings, or load control levels. (See Guerrero [0013] “the at least one setting [e.g. programming information] may be selected from at least one of a dimming level [e.g. load control level], a dimming curve, a timeout period, a lighting scene [e.g. scene settings], a sensor sensitivity setting, an on/off operation [e.g. control settings], a switch parameter, a calibration data, a fade rate, a fade time, and any combinations thereof.”)
Regarding claim 3, Guerrero-McCormack teaches all limitations and motivations of claim 1, further comprising: determining a portion of the programming information identified by the template identifier corresponding to the unique identifier of at least one physical device of the physical devices in the subsystem; and (See Guerrero [0276] “the Settings File 1008 can contain a plurality of subparts or subsections, such as File Info 1031, Room Info 1032, and Device List 1036… Device List 1036 may comprise Device Settings 1037 for each device in the Settings File 1008… Each Device Settings 1037 can comprise a Device Identifier 1017 [e.g. portion of the programming information identified by the template identifier corresponding to the unique identifier of least one physical device of the physical devices in the subsystem], a Device Type, a Device Subtype (if any), and device specific configuration or parameters.”)
wherein controlling the at least one load control device in the subsystem comprises transmitting the portion of the programming information to the at least one physical device in the subsystem. (See Guerrero [0287, 0292] “After the Template File 1010 is created, the Room Configuration File 1000 may be updated to include the Template Manifest File 1009, which may be sent to the room load controller 102 for informational purposes to identify which Template File 1010 is applicable to that room… As a result, the Template File 1010 can be transmitted [Thus, transmitting the portion of the programming information to the at least one physical device in the subsystem] to the building control application 500 running on another user communication device 401 a-n [e.g. at least one physical device in the subsystem (Thus, controlling the at least one load control device in the subsystem)], the control processor 420… if the user wishes to apply the Small Conference Room template to Room 0002, the user can confirm that the Device Identifiers 1017 in that room match to the Device Identifiers 1017 (also referenced as Template Identifiers for clarity) used in the Small Conference Room template.” See also Guerrero abstract “The template can be applied another space control system by applying the settings in the template to electronic devices with matched device identifiers.”)
Regarding claim 4, Guerrero-McCormack teaches all limitations and motivations of claim 1, wherein the template database comprises a first template database, the method further comprising: receiving a second template database for the area type in the load control system, wherein the second template database comprises the plurality of template identifiers and updated programming information for the template identifiers; and (See Guerrero [0008, 0012] “each template comprising a plurality of template identifiers… The at least one processor may be adapted to deploy one or more of the templates to one or more of the plurality of the space control systems.” See also Guerrero [0288] “After creating the “Small Conference Room” Template [e.g. first template database], the user can then continue to configure other types of rooms in the same fashion as discussed above. For example, the user can configure and create a “Large Conference Room” Template and a “Huddle” Template [e.g. second template database]. These templates may be transmitted to the control processor 420” See also Guerrero [0293-0295] “The user can rename or edit existing templates… the user may create a new template [e.g. second template database] by pressing the Extract Template button… The user may enter a desired template name in the Template Name field 1412 and select the room [e.g. for the area type in the load control system] from which to extract the template from the Room Name list 1414, and then press the Extract button 1415. This causes the app 500 to create and save a Template Manifest File 1009 that references the Logic File 1006 and the Settings File 1006 associated with the selected room if these files are stored on the control processor 420.” See also Guerrero [0285] “the new Template File 1010 comprises the Logic File 1006, the Settings File 1008, and the Template Manifest File 1009. [Thus, the second template database comprises the plurality of template identifiers and updated programming information for the template identifiers]” See also Guerrero [0292] “The user may edit the configuration data of any room by pressing on any of the edit action buttons 1211. Referring to FIG. 13 , for example for Room 0002 [Thus, for the area type in the load control system], this will bring up a room edit popup window 1300 where a user may view and/or modify the room [Thus, to each of a plurality of local processor devices in the load control system to which the first template database was previously transmitted]. Specifically, the user may… select a different template [e.g. second template database] to apply via a drop down menu 1304.”)
updating the local instance database based on the second template database to update the programming information for the physical devices in the subsystem having unique identifiers with corresponding template identifiers having updated programming information. (See Guerrero [0287] “After the Template File 1010 [e.g. second template database] is created, the Room Configuration File 1000 may be updated [Thus, updating the local instance database based on the second template database] to include the Template Manifest File 1009 [Thus, to update the programming information for the physical devices in the subsystem having unique identifiers with corresponding template identifiers having updated programming information]… In addition, the Room Type object in the Room Configuration File 1000 may be populated with the template name selected by the user for the template.” See also Guerrero [0285] “The Template Manifest File 1009 defines which Logic and Settings File makes up the template, in this case Logic File 1006 and Settings File 1008.”)
Regarding claim 5, Guerrero-McCormack teaches all limitations and motivations of claim 1, wherein the template database comprises association information that comprises associations between template identifiers in the template database, and wherein an association of the at least one input device with the at least one load control device is performed upon populating the unique identifiers of the at least one input device and the at least one load control device. (See Guerrero claim 9 “each template further comprises at least one inter-device relationship associated with at least two device identifiers [Thus, the template database comprises association information that comprises associations between template identifiers in the template database], and wherein the at least one processor is further adapted to: for at least two device identifiers that match two template identifiers, deploy the at least one inter-device relationship associated with the matched two device identifiers [e.g. at least one input device with the at least one load control device] to the space control system” See also Guerrero Fig. 16, [0296] “ If there are Device Identifiers 1017 (displayed as a “Template Identifiers” in FIG. 16 for clarity) in the Template File 1010 that match to Device Identifiers 1017 in the Map File 1004 of Room 0002, the Template Identifier and Template Type will be populated for that match.”
Thus, an association of the at least one input device (e.g. Keypad 1) with the at least one load control device (e.g. Load 1) is performed upon populating the unique identifiers of the at least one input device and the at least one load control device.)
Regarding claim 6, Guerrero-McCormack teaches all limitations and motivations of claim 1, wherein the programming information comprises at least one triggering event for controlling the at least one load control device, wherein the at least one triggering event comprises at least one timer event or an input received by the at least one input device. (See Guerrero [0269-0270] “Referring to FIG. 8 , there is shown an exemplary Configuration page 800 of the building control application 500 for exemplary “Conference Room 100A”, according to an embodiment. Clicking on the Load Controllers button 802, will display a Load Controllers page (not shown) displaying a list of load controllers 102 installed in the room 101. For each load controller 102, the user can view and/or configure applicable settings [e.g. programming information], such as but not limited to the sensors that are bound to the particular load controller 102, dimming properties, switch parameters, dimming curves, dimming scene configurations, or the like… dimming settings of a selected load controller 102, including viewing its calibration data for day time and night time, and configuring its minimum dimming level, maximum dimming level, fade rate, fade time, on fade time, and off fade time [Thus, programming information comprises at least one triggering event for controlling the at least one load control device]… to configure the parameters or settings of the sensors installed in room 101, such as occupancy and photo sensors 104-105 [e.g. input devices], and specify which load controller 104 or load controller zone the sensor is bound to. For example, for an occupancy sensor the user may specify the timeout parameter (the number of seconds [e.g. timer event] that must elapse before the sensor identifies the room as being vacant) [Thus, comprises at least one timer event], and for a photo sensor the user may specify the minimum change in light reading that must occur to trigger an immediate report of the current light level.”)
Regarding claim 7, Guerrero-McCormack teaches all limitations and motivations of claim 1, wherein the input received by the at least one input device comprises at least one preset for an occupancy or vacancy condition. (See Guerrero [0269-0270] “Referring to FIG. 8 , there is shown an exemplary Configuration page 800 of the building control application 500 for exemplary “Conference Room 100A”, according to an embodiment. Clicking on the Load Controllers button 802, will display a Load Controllers page (not shown) displaying a list of load controllers 102 installed in the room 101. For each load controller 102, the user can view and/or configure applicable settings, such as but not limited to the sensors that are bound to the particular load controller 102, dimming properties, switch parameters, dimming curves, dimming scene configurations, or the like… dimming settings of a selected load controller 102, including viewing its calibration data for day time and night time, and configuring its minimum dimming level, maximum dimming level, fade rate, fade time, on fade time, and off fade time… to configure the parameters or settings of the sensors installed in room 101, such as occupancy and photo sensors 104-105 [e.g. input devices], and specify which load controller 104 or load controller zone the sensor is bound to. For example, for an occupancy sensor the user may specify [e.g. preset] the timeout parameter (the number of seconds that must elapse [e.g. occupancy or vacancy condition] before the sensor identifies the room as being vacant) [Thus, comprises at least one timer event], and for a photo sensor the user may specify the minimum change in light reading that must occur to trigger an immediate report of the current light level.”)
Regarding claim 8, Guerrero-McCormack teaches all limitations and motivations of claim 1, wherein the programming information comprises at least one intensity level for controlling output of a lighting load. (See Guerrero [0013] “the at least one setting [e.g. programming information] may be selected from at least one of a dimming level [e.g. intensity level for controlling output of a lighting load], a dimming curve, a timeout period, a lighting scene, a sensor sensitivity setting, an on/off operation [e.g. control settings], a switch parameter, a calibration data, a fade rate, a fade time, and any combinations thereof.”)
Regarding claim 9, Guerrero-McCormack teaches all limitations and motivations of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, at the local processor device, discovery messages from the at least one input device and the at least one load control device that include the unique identifiers of the at least one input device and the at least one load control device in the subsystem of the load control system; and storing the unique identifiers in memory. (See Guerrero [0240-0241] “ the load controller 102 may pick the best channel and select a random personal area network (PAN) identification number (ID) that will be used for message [e.g. discovery messages] exchange over the room network 110. The load controller 102 will then establish the room network 110 and may then permit the other in-room devices to join the network 110… Other load controllers in the room 101, such as load controller 122, may act as routers by routing messages between in-room devices [e.g. receiving discovery messages from the at least one input device and the at least one load control device], taking part in re-broadcasting messages, and notifying the network manager in cases of interference detection. Load controllers that are not network managers may discover and synchronize with the network manager and act as trust centers for newly joining devices… The load controller 102 may maintain one or more room data files 330 (FIG. 3 ) in its memory 307 including information about the discovered in-room devices of the room control system 100 and their configuration… each in-room device [e.g. at least one input device and the at least one load control device in the subsystem of the load control system] may be assigned and/or associated with a unique identifier, such as a unique identification number (UID) [Thus, include the unique identifiers of the at least one input device and the at least one load control device in the subsystem of the load control system]… The load controller 102 may maintain an inventory of the various in-room devices in room 101 according to their unique identifiers, such as UIDs and/or Serial Numbers, in its memory 307 [Thus, storing the unique identifiers in memory].”)
Regarding claim 10, Guerrero-McCormack teaches all limitations and motivations of claim 9, further comprising: transmitting, in response to a triggering event, a triggering message configured to trigger the discovery messages, wherein the discovery messages are received in response to the triggering message. (See Guerrero [0240] “ If a network is available and permits devices to join it [e.g. in response to a triggering event], the in-room device will perform an association to that network, for example by sending a join request to the network coordinator and receiving a join confirmation message from the network coordinator [e.g. a triggering message]. According to an embodiment, the in-room device will undergo a security procedure for authentication. If authentication is successful, the in-room device can start acting as an end device. Other load controllers in the room 101, such as load controller 122, may act as routers by routing messages between in-room devices, taking part in re-broadcasting messages [e.g. configured to trigger the discovery messages, wherein the discovery messages are received in response to the triggering message]”)
Regarding claim 11, Guerrero-McCormack teaches all of the elements of claim 1 in method form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 1 applies equally as well to those elements of claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, Guerrero-McCormack teaches all of the elements of claim 1 in method form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 1 applies equally as well to those elements of claim 12.
Regarding claim 14, Guerrero-McCormack teaches all of the elements of claim 1 in method form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 1 applies equally as well to those elements of claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, Guerrero-McCormack teaches all of the elements of claim 8 in method form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 8 applies equally as well to those elements of claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, Guerrero-McCormack teaches all of the elements of claim 1 in method form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 1 applies equally as well to those elements of claim 16.
Regarding claim 17, Guerrero-McCormack teaches all of the elements of claim 4 in method form. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 4 applies equally as well to those elements of claim 17.
Regarding claim 18, Guerrero-McCormack teaches all limitations and motivations of claim 7, wherein a second database is transmitted to each of the plurality of the local processor devices in parallel. (See Guerrero [0298] “The app 500 can deploy Room Configuration Files 1000 [e.g. second database] to each room one at a time, or it can send them to multiple rooms at the same time [Thus, in parallel]. For example, for “Room 0005”, the app 500 may create a Room Configuration File 1000 by combining the Map File 1004 for “Room 500” (as was updated by the user) together with the Logic File 1006, Settings File 1008, and Template Manifest File 1009 extracted from the “Small Conference Room” Template File 1010… The Room Configuration File 1000 is transmitted and loaded to the load controller 102 [Thus, the second database is transmitted to each of the plurality of the local processor devices in parallel] installed in “Room 500” for instant configuration.” See also Guerrero [0233] “The load controller 102 can further comprise a processor 301… the processor 301 can include one or more microcontrollers, RISC processors, video processors, or related chip sets.”)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OSCAR WEHOVZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2161
/APU M MOFIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2161