DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4 – 7, 9, 12 – 15, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Cella et al. US 2021/0360070 (hereinafter Cella).
Regarding claim 1, Cella teaches: a method, comprising:
receiving, by one or more processors, data relating to one or more pieces of building equipment ([0321] - - collecting sensor data);
analyzing, by the one or more processors using an artificial intelligence (AI) model, the data and identifying an issue relating to the one or more pieces of building equipment (0257] - - a component downstream to a valve is failing; control based on determination made by the AI system; [0014] - - machine learn models); and
generating, by the one or more processors using the AI model, one or more updated operating parameters for the one or more pieces of building equipment based on the analysis (0257] - - shut the valve in response to a component downstream to a valve is failing; control based on determination made by the AI system).
Claim 9 is substantially similar to claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons and rationale as above.
Claim 17 is substantially similar to claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons and rationale as above.
Regarding claim 4, Cella teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Cella further teaches: self-healing the issue with the one or more pieces of building equipment based on the analysis of the AI model ([0326] - - using models to predict mold-inducing states in a room, provide commands to control the HVAC system).
Claim 12 is substantially similar to claim 4 and is rejected for the same reasons and rationale as above.
Claim 20 is substantially similar to claim 4 and is rejected for the same reasons and rationale as above.
Regarding claim 5, Cella teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Cella further teaches: implementing at least one of one or more potential improvements ([0326] - - using models to predict mold-inducing states in a room, provide commands to control the HVAC system).
Claim 13 is substantially similar to claim 5 and is rejected for the same reasons and rationale as above.
Regarding claim 6, Cella teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Cella further teaches: the issue relating to the one or more pieces of building equipment includes issues in collecting information associated with the one or more pieces of building equipment ([0193] - - detect failure of a sensor; failure of a sensor is an issue in collecting information), the method comprising:
retrieving, by the one or more processors, second information associated with the one or more pieces of building equipment, wherein the second information corresponds to one or more points in time prior to the issue relating to the one or more pieces of building equipment ([0292] - - a machine learned model predicts a potential issue or classifies a current issue; the data used for predicting a potential issue is second information);
inputting, by the one or more processors, the second information into the AI model to cause the AI model to generate one or more predictions regarding subsequent performance of the one or more pieces of building equipment ([0292] - - a machine learned model predicts a potential issue); and
presenting, by the one or more processors, a user interface that includes an indication of the one or more predictions ([0326] - - display the analysis result to a human user).
Claim 14 is substantially similar to claim 6 and is rejected for the same reasons and rationale as above.
Regarding claim 7, Cella teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Cella further teaches the issue relating to the one or more pieces of building equipment includes the one or more pieces of building equipment performing at a level below a predetermined threshold ([0197] - - deltas in sensor measurements that are above a threshold; [0241] - - sensor measurements are outside of a tolerance threshold), the method comprising:
identifying, by the one or more processors using the AI model, one or more second pieces of building equipment to assist the one or more pieces of building equipment ([0257] - - shut a valve in an oil pipeline in response to a determination that a component downstream to the valve is failing); and
generating, by the one or more processors using the AI model, one or more updates to control strategies associated with the one or more pieces of building equipment to account for the one or more second pieces of building equipment ([0257] - - shut a valve in an oil pipeline in response to a determination that a component downstream to the valve is failing).
Claim 15 is substantially similar to claim 7 and is rejected for the same reasons and rationale as above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 10, 11, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cella et al. US 2021/0360070 (hereinafter Cella) in view of BEHBAHANI et al. US 2011/0046792 (hereinafter BEHBAHANI).
Regarding claim 2, Cella teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But Furusho does not explicitly teach: the AI model comprises a generative AI model.
However, BEHBAHANI teaches: an AI model comprises a generative AI model ([0104] - - generative large language model).
Cella and BEHBAHANI are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to processing data using AI models.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by Cella, and incorporating a generative large language model, as taught by BEHBAHANI.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to enable fast adaptation on challenging tasks, as suggested by BEHBAHANI ([0016]).
Claim 10 is substantially similar to claim 2 and is rejected for the same reasons and rationale as above.
Claim 18 is substantially similar to claim 2 and is rejected for the same reasons and rationale as above.
Regarding claim 3, Cella teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
But Furusho does not explicitly teach: the AI model comprises a generative large language model.
However, BEHBAHANI teaches: an AI model comprises a generative large language model ([0104] - - generative large language model).
Cella and BEHBAHANI are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor. They all relate to processing data using AI models.
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above method, as taught by Cella, and incorporating a generative large language model, as taught by BEHBAHANI.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to enable fast adaptation on challenging tasks, as suggested by BEHBAHANI ([0016]).
Claim 11 is substantially similar to claim 3 and is rejected for the same reasons and rationale as above.
Claim 19 is substantially similar to claim 3 and is rejected for the same reasons and rationale as above.
Conclusion
/YUHUI R PAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116