Drawings
The drawings are objected to because they have elements shown in cross section which are not properly crosshatched. Insulating members shown in cross section should be properly crosshatched. See Figures 6 – 7 and 9 - 10. It is brought to applicant’s attention that the conventional crosshatch for insulating members shown in cross section consists of lines of two different thicknesses alternatively disposed. See MPEP 608.02.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 111430963 A (“Yu”)
Regarding claim 1, Yu discloses an electrical connector (1) for mating with a mating connector (2), comprising:
a first connection terminal (4) having a first end (right portion of 4, Fig. 4) and a second end (left portion of 4, Fig. 4) opposite the first end, the first end is electrically connectable to a mating end of a second connection terminal of the mating connector (4 connects to socket 5);
an outer housing (3) within which the first connection terminal is at least partially installed (see Fig. 4); and
an inner housing (the housing near the lead line of numeral 1 in Fig. 1) at least partially arranged within the outer housing (see Fig. 4), the inner housing is rotatable relative to the outer housing (3 is a rotating sleeve, see at least the abstract), the first end of the first connection terminal is positioned within the inner housing see Fig. 4) and electrically contacts the mating end of the second connection terminal (4 connects to 5) with the mating end rotatable relative to the first end (1 and 2 have cylindrical mating structures and thus are rotatable relative to each other at least until 1 is locked to 2 through 21 locking to 23).
Regarding claim 15, Yu discloses a connector assembly, comprising:
an electrical connector (1) including a first connection terminal (4) having a first end (right portion, Fig. 4) and a second end (left portion, Fig. 4) opposite the first end, an outer housing (3) within which the first connection terminal is at least partially installed, and an inner housing (housing near the lead line of numeral 1 in Fig. 1) at least partially arranged within the outer housing, the inner housing is rotatable relative to the outer housing (3 is a rotatable sleeve, see at least the abstract), the first end of the first connection terminal is positioned within the inner housing (see Fig. 4); and
a mating connector (2) matable with the electrical connector in a first direction (see Fig. 1), the first end of the first connection terminal is electrically connectable to a mating end of a second connection terminal (5) of the mating connector, the first end electrically contacts the mating end of the second connection terminal with the mating end rotatable relative to the first end (1 and 2 have cylindrical mating structures and thus are rotatable relative to each other at least until 1 is locked to 2 through 21 locking to 23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu in view of U.S. Pat. No. 12,322,903 (“Hung”).
Regarding claims 16 and 17, Yu discloses the mating connector (2) has a shell within which the second connection terminal is installed (5 is within a housing structure as in Fig. 2).
Yu does not clearly disclose the second connection terminal is connectable to a cable, and Yu does not disclose wherein the shell extends at least partially in a second direction different from the first direction, an extension direction of the cable is different from the first direction.
However, Hung teaches a socket connector (100), with a mating socket terminal (2) installed within a shell (1), the mating socket terminal is connectable to a cable (5), and wherein the shell extends at least partially in a second direction different from the first direction (the housing extends upward in a top direction and rightward in a rear direction, as seen in Fig. 1, and also see Fig. 8), an extension direction of the cable is different from the first direction (the cable extends laterally while the socket extends vertically).
It would have been obvious to provide the shell connectable to a cable as taught by Hung, because this allows the connector to fit within installation spaces where space along the mating direction of the connector is limited and a connection to the socket through the cable needs to be directed along a different direction in order to accommodate the installation space requirements.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 – 14 and 18 – 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 2, the prior art does not disclose or suggest the claimed electrical connector, wherein the first connection terminal is fixedly positioned relative to the outer housing and the inner housing is rotatable relative to both the first connection terminal and the outer housing, along with the remaining elements of the claim.
Regarding Claim 18, the prior art does not disclose or suggest the claimed connector assembly wherein the shell has a hollow plug-in portion extending in the first direction, the mating end of the second connection terminal is positioned at least partially in the hollow plug-in portion, the inner housing is positionable at least partially in the hollow plug-in portion with the mating end of the second connection terminal in electrical contact with the first end of the first connection terminal and the shell and the inner housing rotatable together relative to the outer housing, along with the remaining elements of the claim.
Yu teaches the terminal 4 within the housing, but the terminal is not fixedly positioned relative to the outer housing 3 because 4 is set to extend during rotation of housing 3, and furthermore the inner housing of Yu is not rotatable relative to terminal 4. In addition, neither Yu nor Hung teach the inner housing within a hollow plug-in portion of the mating connector shell, with the first end of the connection terminal, shell, and inner housing rotatable together relative to the outer housing.
The prior art, when taken alone, or in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/PAUL D BAILLARGEON/Examiner, Art Unit 2831
/renee s luebke/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2831