DETAIL ACTION
Notice to Applicant(s)
This application has been examined. Claims 1-20 are pending.
The prior art submitted on May 31, 2024 has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-12, 14-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thomas et al. (2013/0193907).
As per claim 1, Thomas et al. disclose a power management system for detecting a fault in a power network, the power management system includes a signal generator configured to transmit a test signal through the power network to a component (see at least the abstract); a receiver coupled to the power network and configured to receive a test signal response corresponding to the test signal; a memory storing a fault database (see at least paragraphs 0005-0007); and a processor coupled to the receiver and the memory, the processor configured to process the test signal response to detect a condition in the power network; compare the condition to a fault database; and initiate shutdown of the component or conditional operation of the component based on a severity assessment from the fault database (see at least figure 4; paragraph 0040).
As per claim 2, it is inherently that the test signal does not degrade the power network or the component (see at least figures 1 and 4).
As per claim 3, Thomas et al. disclose that the power network supplies direct current power from a direct current power supply to the component (see at least figures 1 and 4).
As per claim 4, Thomas et al. disclose that the signal generator includes a frequency modulated signal generator configured to generate a frequency modulated test signal (see at least paragraphs 0033, 0037).
As per claim 5, Thomas et al. disclose that the condition is at least a power supply fluctuation (see at least figure 4).
As per claim 7, Thomas et al. disclose that the fault database associates the condition with a physical characteristic of the power network (see at least figure 4).
With respect to claims 8-12, 15-18 and 20, the limitations of these claims have been noted in the rejections above. They are therefore considered rejected as set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, nowwitstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims , 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas et al. as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Channegowda et al. (2023/0062548).
As per claim 6, Thomas et al. disclose the claimed invention as discussed above except for the processor is further configured to execute a machine learning module to process the test signal. However, such limitation is well known and suggested in at least paragraphs 0005, 0017, 0036, 0041, 0042 of the Channegowda et al. reference. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Channegowda et al. into the system of Thomas et al. with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide the system with the enhanced capacity of using the machine learning module for accuracy process the test signal and detecting a fault in a power network.
With respect to claims 13 and 19, the limitations of these claims have been noted in the rejections above. They are therefore considered rejected as set forth above.
Conclusion
All claims are rejected.
The following references are cited as being of general interest: Ponnuvel et al. (2020/0117565) and Alla et al. (2021/0158634).
July 28, 2026
/TAN Q NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3661