DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the claim listing filed on October 24th, 2025. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Savic et al. (US Pat No. 10091295 B1, hereinafter referred to as Savic) and further in view of Kashyap et al. (USPGPUB No. 2023/0359582 A1, hereinafter referred to as Kashyap).
Referring to claim 1, Savic discloses an integrated circuit (IC), comprising {“iCNA 700” (see Fig. 7, Col 14, lines 28-34) that includes integrated circuit implementation “system-on-chip (SoC), application-specific integrated circuits (ASICs)” (Col 3, line 41)}:
an application accelerator circuit {“’hardware accelerator’ broadly refers to any hardware that performs “hardware acceleration” to perform certain functions faster and more efficient”, see Figs. 2 and 3, Col 3, lines 45-47} configured to detect an IO transaction {“performance metrics such as latency, IOPS (Input/Output Operations Per Second), and other performance [detection] measurements”, see Figs. 2 and 3, Col 10, lines 42-44; another IO transaction type “The second API for management and orchestration services allows [I/O transactions] new services (e.g., data deduplication, data compression, data encryption, etc.” (Col 8, lines 17-19)} related to an application program executing on a processor {processors “distributed compute elements 252, 262, and 272”, see Figs. 2 and 3, Col 10, lines 42-44}, and to perform a function {among those IO transactions produce/perform a function “implement functions for generating and managing metadata”, see Figs. 2 and 3, Col 8, lines 28-30} of the application program based on the IO transaction {“which is used for handling scale-out aspects … and/or run management and orchestration services [of the application program]”, see Figs. 2 and 3, Col 8, lines 28-32}.
Savic does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the application accelerator circuit configured to interface between a host executing an application program and a first input/output (IO) device, and wherein the application accelerator circuit comprises discrete logic configured to detect an IO transaction of the application program based on one or more of an address and an identifier of the IO transaction, and to perform a function of the application program based on detection of the IO transaction and configurable rules: wherein the IO transaction comprises one of an IO transaction issued by the application program and an IO transaction directed to the application program.
However, Kashyap discloses wherein the application accelerator circuit configured to interface between a host {“accelerators 842”, (see Fig. 8 [0085]) interfacing to host “host interface circuitry” (see Figs. 7a, 7B, 7C, and 8, [0082], last sentence)} executing an application program {“ a host connected via a host interface, VM or [software/hardware] container executed by processor”, see Fig. 8 [0025]} and a first input/output (IO) device {“remote direct memory access (RDMA)-enabled NIC, SmartNIC, … data processing unit (DPU), or [input/output] edge processing unit ”, see Figs. 1 and 8 [0018]}, and wherein the application accelerator circuit comprises discrete logic {“ System management can initiate a new or another transaction from the worker nodes”, see Figs. 4 and 5 [0052], last sentence} configured to detect an IO transaction {“manage storage transactions”, see Figs. 6 and 8 [0058], last sentence} of the application program based on one or more of an address {“transmitted into packets, that include destination and source addresses along with network control information and error detection hash values”, see Figs. 6 and 8 [0059], last sentence} and an identifier of the IO transaction {identifier “using information stored in a ternary content-addressable memory (TCAM) tables”, see Figs. 6 and 8 [0061], 1st sentence}, and to perform a function {a plurality of functions “packet parsing (parser), exact match-action (e.g., small exact match (SEM) engine or a large exact match (LEM)), wildcard match-action (WCM), longest prefix match block (LPM), a hash block (e.g., receive side scaling (RSS)), a packet modifier (modifier), or traffic manager (e.g., transmit rate metering or shaping)”, see Figs. 6 and 8 [0061], last two sentences} of the application program based on detection of the IO transaction {“ can implement access control list (ACL) or packet drops [transactions]” based on detection as claimed, see Figs. 6 and 8 [0061], last sentence} and configurable rules {configurable rules “packets to identify packet processing rules and next hops”, see Figs. 6 and 8 [0061], 1st sentence}:
wherein the IO transaction comprises one of an IO transaction issued by the application program {“[application memory controller to generate and issue commands to memory 830.” see Figs. 6 and 8 [0086]} and an IO transaction directed to the application program {“ may cancel a transaction and notify [directed to the application program] the worker nodes to abort the operation”, see Fig. 4 [0052], last two sentences}.
Savic and Kashyap are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, method and systems for handling PCIe devices.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of before him or her, to modify Savic’s “iCNA 700" (see Fig. 7) incorporating Kashyap’s “accelerators 842” (see Fig. 8, [0085]).
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide an endpoint switch that can communicate with worker nodes using a reliable transport protocol and the endpoint switch can maintain connection state information for packet communications to or from the worker nodes (Kashyap [0014], 2nd sentence).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Kashyap with Savic to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
As per claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and Kashyap discloses wherein the function comprises processing a subsequent entry of a submission queue {processing via “include descriptors that reference data or [subsequent entry] packets in transmit queue 606”, see Figs. 6 and 8 [0066]} of the application program, and wherein the application accelerator circuit is further configured to:
format the subsequent entry {“packet may be used herein to refer to various formatted collections of bits that may be sent across a network”, see Fig. 3 [0041]} of the submission queue as a message {“Computation 304 can provide the summation into a [message] packet and send the packet upstream to an upstream switch”, see Fig. 3 [0044], last sentence};
transmit the message to the IO device {“data slots in buffers 326 using counters or registers to determine when an aggregation is complete”, see Fig. 3 [0040], 1st sentence};
and writes a completion transaction {“To drain the list of completed slots, buffer management 308 can cause transmission of a packet with the data from a slot and generate (e.g., by packet replication) a second packet that is recirculated”, see Fig. 3 [0040], last sentence} to a completion queue of the application program {“[application specific] Descriptor queues 620 can include descriptors that reference data or packets in transmit queue 606 or receive queue 608”, see Figs. 6 and 8 [0066]; such descriptor queue including completion descriptor “To drain the list of completed slots, buffer management 308” (see Fig. 3, [0040], last sentence)}.
Referring to claim 8, Savic discloses a system {“computing system having a converged infrastructure that is implemented using distributed compute element”, see Fig. 1, Col 3, lines 63-65}, comprising:
a host device configured to execute an application program {“transparent to the host application server node”, see Fig. 2, Col 8, lines 20-23}; a memory device {“Flash-based NAND storage 740”, see Fig. 7, Col 14, lines 39-41}; an input/output (IC) device {“various components of the CIDS 280 environment (e.g., HDDs, SSD, SAN, etc.)”, see Figs. 2 and 3, Col , lines };
` and a distributed services platform {“implemented using distributed compute elements to provide a distributed storage system,”, see Fig. 2, Col 6, lines 10-12} comprising one or more integrated circuit (IC) devices {“plurality of application server nodes 250-1”(see Fig. 2, Col 6, lines 25-27), where each “server node 250” is an integrated circuit device “iCNA 700” (see Fig. 7, Col 14, lines 28-34) that includes integrated circuit implementation “system-on-chip (SoC), application-specific integrated circuits (ASICs)” (Col 3, line 41)}, wherein the distributed services platform comprises:
an application accelerator circuit {“’hardware accelerator’ broadly refers to any hardware that performs “hardware acceleration” to perform certain functions faster and more efficient”, see Figs. 2 and 3, Col 3, lines 45-47}:
and a system-on-chip comprising a processor {“system-on-chip (SoC)” (Col 3, line 41)}, memory encoded with an application program {“translating block level calls to disk from a file system of the OS to an internal addressing scheme of the [memory encoded] flash NAND 740.”, see Fig. 7, Col 14, lines 40-41} that comprises instructions that, when executed by the processor {processors “distributed compute elements 252, 262, and 272”, see Figs. 2 and 3, Col 10, lines 42-44}, cause the processor to perform a first function {among those IO transactions produce/perform a function “implement functions for generating and managing metadata”, see Figs. 2 and 3, Col 8, lines 28-30}, a host interface configured to interface with the host device {host interface “a first API (application programming interface) to the host application server nodes 250 which enables the host application server nodes 250”, see Figs. 2 and 3, Col 7, line 66 though Col 8 line 1}, a memory controller configured to interface with the memory device {“FTL controller 75”, see Fig. 7, Col 14, lines 38-41}, an offload engine configured to perform a function {“offload network processing functions … to the [offload engine] compute elements 252”, see Figs. 2 and 3, Col 8, lines 1-5} of one or more the host device and the application program {“processing functions and storage processing functions”, see Figs. 2 and , Col 8, lines 1-4}, a processor {“PCIe interface 760 provides an interface that enables the SoC 710 to communicate” (see Fig. 7, Col 14, lines 42-44) and additional processing by converting PCIe and SAS “the storage interface adapters 277 comprise PCIe-to-SAS host adapters, which enables the storage media node 270-m to be connected to one or more DAEs 278 using corresponding SAS connectors 279” (Col 6, line 67 through Col 7, line 3.}, and an interconnect configured to interface with the host interface {interconnect “data to and from persistent storage elements of the respective data storage arrays 273 using appropriate storage interfaces,” (Col 9, lines 12-17) those storage interfaces by “various storage interface protocols” (Col 8, lines 8-12) interfaces “{host interface “a first API (application programming interface)” (see Figs. 2 and 3, Col 7, line 66)}, the memory controller, the offload engine, the processor, and the application accelerator circuit {“second API for management and orchestration services… to be implemented by the compute elements 252… in real-time”, see Figs. 2 and 3, Col 8, lines 8-12};
wherein the application accelerator circuit is configured to detect an input/output (lO) transaction of the IO device {“performance metrics such as latency, IOPS (Input/Output Operations Per Second), and other performance [detection] measurements”, see Figs. 2 and 3, Col 10, lines 42-44; another IO transaction type “The second API for management and orchestration services allows [I/O transactions] new services (e.g., data deduplication, data compression, data encryption, etc.” (Col 8, lines 17-19)} that relates to the application program, and to perform a second function based on the detected IO transaction {“ metadata allows multiple copies of data to be created (e.g. active, backup, and compliance copies) and provide information as to the locations of such copies. Further, metadata provides the ability to create [subsequent IO transactions] workflows around stored content and share the stored content appropriately [to a particular IO device or storage]” (see Figs. 2 and 3, Col 8, lines 49-54)}.
Savic does not appear to explicitly disclose an input/output device configured to interface with a remote IO device; wherein the application accelerator circuit comprises discrete logic configured to monitor messages exchanged between the application accelerator circuit and the IO device and to detect a first IO transaction of the application program based on one or more of an address and an identifier of the first IO transaction;
Furthermore, Kashyap discloses input/output device {“accelerators 842”, (see Fig. 8 [0085]) interfacing to host “host interface circuitry” (see Figs. 7a, 7B, 7C, and 8, [0082], last sentence)} configured to interface with a remote IO device {“remote direct memory access (RDMA)-enabled NIC, SmartNIC, … data processing unit (DPU), or [input/output] edge processing unit ”, see Figs. 1 and 8 [0018]};
wherein the application accelerator circuit comprises discrete logic {“ System management can initiate a new or another transaction from the worker nodes”, see Figs. 4 and 5 [0052], last sentence} configured to monitor messages exchanged {“Computation 304 can provide the summation into a [message] packet and send the packet upstream to an upstream switch”, see Fig. 3 [0044], last sentence} between the application accelerator circuit and the IO device {“data slots in buffers 326 using counters or registers to determine when an aggregation is complete”, see Fig. 3 [0040], 1st sentence} and to detect a first IO transaction of the application program {“manage storage transactions”, see Figs. 6 and 8 [0058], last sentence} based on one or more of an address {“transmitted into packets, that include destination and source addresses along with network control information and error detection hash values”, see Figs. 6 and 8 [0059], last sentence} and an identifier of the first IO transaction {identifier “using information stored in a ternary content-addressable memory (TCAM) tables”, see Figs. 6 and 8 [0061], 1st sentence};
Savic and Kashyap are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, method and systems for handling PCIe devices.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of before him or her, to modify Savic’s “iCNA 700” (see Fig. 7) incorporating Kashyap’s “accelerators 842” (see Fig. 8, [0085]).
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide an endpoint switch that can communicate with worker nodes using a reliable transport protocol and the endpoint switch can maintain connection state information for packet communications to or from the worker nodes (Kashyap [0014], 2nd sentence).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Kashyap with Savic/Kutch to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Claims 2, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Savic and further in view of Kashyap in view of Biederman et al. (USPGPUB No. 2024/0111691 A1, hereinafter referred to as Biederman).
As per claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and Kashyap discloses wherein the function comprises one or more of controlling an IO device to perform a subsequent IO transaction {“starting sequence number and increase sequence numbers for subsequent packets”, see Fig. 4 [0048], 1st sentence}:
loading a receive queue of the application program {“ Receive queue 608”, see Figs. 6 and 8 [0066]};
loading a submission queue of the application program {“ Transmit queue 606”, see Figs. 6 and 8 [0066]};
processing a subsequent entry of the submission queue {processing via “include descriptors that reference data or [subsequent entry] packets in transmit queue 606”, see Figs. 6 and 8 [0066]};
generating an application-specific completion descriptor based the IO transaction {“[application specific] Descriptor queues 620 can include descriptors that reference data or packets in transmit queue 606 or receive queue 608”, see Figs. 6 and 8 [0066]; such descriptor queue including completion descriptor “To drain the list of completed slots, buffer management 308” (see Fig. 3, [0040], last sentence)};
Neither Savic or Kashyap appear to explicitly disclose assigning a timestamp to the IO transaction and performing a transaction- level analysis based on the IO transaction and the timestamp.
Furthermore, Biederman discloses assigning a timestamp to the IO transaction {“[assigned timestamp] precise time is communicated by IEEE1588”, [0101]} and performing a transaction-level analysis {“may use [transaction-level] two-way latency measurements, that are divided by two to determine one-way latency”, see Figs. 5 and 6, [0065], 2nd sentence} based on the IO transaction and the timestamp {“information in the TPTs 116a, 116b”, see Fig. 5, [0065], 1st sentence}.
Savic/Kashyap and Biederman are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, method and systems for handling PCIe devices.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of before him or her, to modify Savic/Kashyap’s device incorporating Biederman’s “NIC accessible portion 608” (see Fig. 6, [0067])
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide allow computing systems to utilize memory more efficiently than systems which do not use precise time. In addition and/or alternatively, by leveraging precise time, embodiments disclosed herein may provide better determinism than systems which do not use precise time along with leveraging precise time, embodiments disclosed herein may allow computing systems to utilize bandwidth more efficiently than systems which do not use precise time (Biederman [0015]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Biederman with Savic/Kashyap to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
As per claim 10, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated and Kashyap discloses wherein the second comprises one or more of:
loading a receive queue of the application program {“ Receive queue 608”, see Figs. 6 and 8 [0066]};
loading a submission queue of the application program {“ Transmit queue 606”, see Figs. 6 and 8 [0066]};
processing a subsequent entry of the submission queue {processing via “include descriptors that reference data or [subsequent entry] packets in transmit queue 606”, see Figs. 6 and 8 [0066]};
generating an application-specific completion descriptor based the IO transaction {“[application specific] Descriptor queues 620 can include descriptors that reference data or packets in transmit queue 606 or receive queue 608”, see Figs. 6 and 8 [0066]; such descriptor queue including completion descriptor “To drain the list of completed slots, buffer management 308” (see Fig. 3, [0040], last sentence)};
Neither Savic or Kashyap appear to explicitly disclose and assigning a timestamp to the IO transaction and performing a transaction-level analysis based on the IO transaction and the timestamp.
Furthermore, Biederman discloses and assigning a timestamp to the IO transaction {“[assigned timestamp] precise time is communicated by IEEE1588”, [0101]} and performing a transaction-level analysis {“may use [transaction-level] two-way latency measurements, that are divided by two to determine one-way latency”, see Figs. 5 and 6, [0065], 2nd sentence} based on the IO transaction and the timestamp {“information in the TPTs 116a, 116b”, see Fig. 5, [0065], 1st sentence}.
Savic/Kashyap and Biederman are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, method and systems for handling PCIe devices.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of before him or her, to modify Savic/Kashyap’s device incorporating Biederman’s “NIC accessible portion 608” (see Fig. 6, [0067])
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide allow computing systems to utilize memory more efficiently than systems which do not use precise time. In addition and/or alternatively, by leveraging precise time, embodiments disclosed herein may provide better determinism than systems which do not use precise time along with leveraging precise time, embodiments disclosed herein may allow computing systems to utilize bandwidth more efficiently than systems which do not use precise time ( [0015]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Biederman with Savic/Kashyap to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
As per claim 11, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated and Kashyap discloses wherein the second function comprises one or more of processing a subsequent entry of a submission queue {processing via “include descriptors that reference data or [subsequent entry] packets in transmit queue 606”, see Figs. 6 and 8 [0066]} of the application program, and wherein the application accelerator circuit is further configured to:
format the subsequent entry {“packet may be used herein to refer to various formatted collections of bits that may be sent across a network”, see Fig. 3 [0041]} of the submission queue as a message {“Computation 304 can provide the summation into a [message] packet and send the packet upstream to an upstream switch”, see Fig. 3 [0044], last sentence};
transmit the message to the IO device {“data slots in buffers 326 using counters or registers to determine when an aggregation is complete”, see Fig. 3 [0040], 1st sentence}; write a completion transaction {“To drain the list of completed slots, buffer management 308 can cause transmission of a packet with the data from a slot and generate (e.g., by packet replication) a second packet that is recirculated”, see Fig. 3 [0040], last sentence} to a completion queue of the application program {“[application specific] Descriptor queues 620 can include descriptors that reference data or packets in transmit queue 606 or receive queue 608”, see Figs. 6 and 8 [0066]; such descriptor queue including completion descriptor “To drain the list of completed slots, buffer management 308” (see Fig. 3, [0040], last sentence)}.
Neither Savic or Kashyap appear to explicitly disclose assigning a timestamp to the IO transaction and performing a transaction-level analysis based on the IO transaction and the timestamp.
Furthermore, Biederman discloses assigning a timestamp to the IO transaction {“[assigned timestamp] precise time is communicated by IEEE1588”, [0101]} and performing a transaction-level analysis {“may use [transaction-level] two-way latency measurements, that are divided by two to determine one-way latency”, see Figs. 5 and 6, [0065], 2nd sentence} based on the IO transaction and the timestamp {“information in the TPTs 116a, 116b”, see Fig. 5, [0065], 1st sentence}.
Savic/Kashyap and Biederman are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, method and systems for handling PCIe devices.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of before him or her, to modify Savic/Kashyap’s device incorporating Biederman’s “NIC accessible portion 608” (see Fig. 6, [0067])
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide allow computing systems to utilize memory more efficiently than systems which do not use precise time. In addition and/or alternatively, by leveraging precise time, embodiments disclosed herein may provide better determinism than systems which do not use precise time along with leveraging precise time, embodiments disclosed herein may allow computing systems to utilize bandwidth more efficiently than systems which do not use precise time ( [0015]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Biederman with Savic/Kashyap to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Claims 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, 12, 13, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Savic and further in view of Kashyap in view of Kutch et al. (USPGPUB No. 2021/0117360 A1, hereinafter referred to as Kutch).
As per claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated however neither Savic or Kashyap appears to explicitly disclose any limitation in this dependent claim.
However, Kutch discloses wherein the function comprises generating an application-specific completion descriptor based on the IO transaction {“NIM provides [application specific] auto-doorbell to supply empty Rx descriptors to NIC. At (2), NIC reads a descriptor from descriptor ring handler (DR_H). At (3), NIC receive”, see Fig. 23 [0188], 1st sentence}.
Savic/Kashyap and Kutch are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, method and systems for handling PCIe devices.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of before him or her, to modify Savic/Kashyap’s device incorporating Kutch’s “NIM” and subcomponent “PHY 4114” and “802” respectively (see Figs. 41 and 8a).
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide Faster path packets with lower latency access to the NEXT packet processing pipeline using offload engines available to process (Kutch [0163]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Kutch with Savic/Kashyap to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
As per claim 5, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated and Kutch discloses wherein the application accelerator circuit is further configured to perform an additional function of the application program {“utilize specific doorbell or completion queues or write-back descriptors” and perform additional functions “to be accessed by the NIC, or convert NEXT format descriptors to NIC specific format” (see Figs. 8b and 10, both cited from [0153]} based on the application-specific completion descriptor {“NIM provides [application specific] auto-doorbell to supply empty Rx descriptors to NIC. At (2), NIC reads a descriptor from descriptor ring handler (DR_H). At (3), NIC receive”, see Fig. 23 [0188], 1st sentence}.
As per claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and Kutch discloses wherein function comprises decoding a payload of the IO transaction {multiple functions such as “to be accessed by the NIC, or convert NEXT format descriptors to NIC specific format” (see Figs. 8b and 10, [0153]) as well as “determine which packet is to be transmitted and what NIC to use and what ring on the NIC to write a descriptor to” in response to doorbell updates, see Figs. 18 and 19 {0160} ; “NIM provides [application specific] auto-doorbell to supply empty Rx descriptors to NIC. At (2), NIC reads a descriptor from descriptor ring handler (DR_H). At (3), NIC receive”, see Fig. 23 [0188], 1st sentence}.
The 103 motivation for this dependent claim relied upon as recited in claim 4 above.
As per claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and Kutch discloses wherein the discrete logic is further configured {“one or more discrete or integrated NICs 1800.”, see Fig. 19 [0152], 2nd sentence} to perform the function based on programmable match-action tables {“[match-action tables] Mapping table can include a NEXT field information about corresponding NIC's descriptor field”, see Figs. 18 and 19 [0156]}.
The 103 motivation for this dependent claim relied upon as recited in claim 4 above.
As per claim 9, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated however neither Savic or Kashyap appears to explicitly disclose any limitation in this dependent claim.
However, Kutch discloses wherein the host device is configured to:
allocate a buffer for the application program in the memory device {two methods of buffer allocation “a subset of buffers is allocated to store only enqueue requests while another subset is reserved for only dequeue requests. Other ways for allocating the buffers, such as by core, by thread, by request type, by priority, service level agreement, etc., may also be used”, see Fig. 17, both cited in [0146]};
and configure a direct memory access (DMA) engine of the distributed services platform {“For a packet transmission, a [DMA engine] VNF or other VEE 2420 can prepare a packet for transmission”, see Fig. 24 [0212], 1st sentence} to write to the buffer {“update the Tx descriptor to point to a memory address of that packet in a buffer 2422”, see Fig. 24 [0212], 1st sentence};
and configure the application accelerator circuit to detect the lO transaction related {“[application accelerator circuit subcomponent] NEXT 2410 can be notified of the descriptor update by ringing a doorbell (e.g., tail bump)”, see Fig. 24 [0212], 2nd sentence} to the application program based on a destination addresses {“Setup of split of header from payload can utilize packet processing input-output memory management unit (IOMMU) [source/destination] Address Translation”, see Fig. 24 [0208], 2nd sentence} of a write transaction of the DMA engine {“Tx descriptor can indicate two buffers to DMA content from, including (1) packet header buffer (e.g., header (hdr) buffer 2414),”, see Fig. 24 [0213], 2nd sentence}.
Savic/Kashyap and Kutch are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, method and systems for handling PCIe devices.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of before him or her, to modify Savic/Kashyap’s device incorporating Kutch’s “NIM” and subcomponent “PHY 4114” and “802” respectively (see Figs. 41 and 8a).
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide Faster path packets with lower latency access to the NEXT packet processing pipeline using offload engines available to process (Kutch [0163]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Kutch with Savic/Kashyap to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
As per claim 12, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated and Kutch discloses wherein the function comprises generating an application-specific completion descriptor based on the IO transaction {“NIM provides [application specific] auto-doorbell to supply empty Rx descriptors to NIC. At (2), NIC reads a descriptor from descriptor ring handler (DR_H). At (3), NIC receive”, see Fig. 23 [0188], 1st sentence}.
The 103 motivation for this dependent claim relied upon as claim 9.
As per claim 13, the rejection of claim 12 is incorporated and Kutch discloses wherein the application accelerator circuit is further configured to perform an additional function of the application program based {“utilize specific doorbell or completion queues or write-back descriptors” and perform additional functions “to be accessed by the NIC, or convert NEXT format descriptors to NIC specific format” (see Figs. 8b and 10, both cited from [0153]} on the application-specific completion descriptor {“NIM provides [application specific] auto-doorbell to supply empty Rx descriptors to NIC. At (2), NIC reads a descriptor from descriptor ring handler (DR_H). At (3), NIC receive”, see Fig. 23 [0188], 1st sentence}.
As per claim 14, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated and Kutch discloses wherein the application accelerator circuit is configurable to perform one or more of multiple functions of the application program {multiple functions such as “to be accessed by the NIC, or convert NEXT format descriptors to NIC specific format” (see Figs. 8b and 10, [0153]) as well as “determine which packet is to be transmitted and what NIC to use and what ring on the NIC to write a descriptor to” in response to doorbell updates, see Figs. 18 and 19 {0160}} based on the detected IO transaction {“NIM provides [application specific] auto-doorbell to supply empty Rx descriptors to NIC. At (2), NIC reads a descriptor from descriptor ring handler (DR_H). At (3), NIC receive”, see Fig. 23 [0188], 1st sentence}.
The 103 motivation For this dependent claim relied upon as claim 9.
As per claim 15, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated and Kutch discloses wherein the circuit comprises discrete logic is further {“one or more discrete or integrated NICs 1800.”, see Fig. 19 [0152], 2nd sentence} configured to {“PHY circuitry 4114 can include encoding and decoding circuitry (not shown) to encode and decode data packets”, see Fig. 41 [0303], 1st sentence} perform the function based on programmable match-action tables {“[match-action tables] Mapping table can include a NEXT field information about corresponding NIC's descriptor field”, see Figs. 18 and 19 [0156]}.
The 103 motivation for this dependent claim relied upon as claim 9.
Claims 16, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Savic in view of Kutch and further in view of Kashyap.
Referring to claim 16, Savic discloses a method, comprising: monitoring a channel {“storage communications network implemented using Fiber Channel-based network switches” (see Figs. 1 and 2, Col 1, lines 20-22) such as “implement a [channel] CE communications network to enable communication between the application servers” (see Fig. 2, Col 6, lines 39-41}, by an application accelerator circuit {“’hardware accelerator’ broadly refers to any hardware that performs “hardware acceleration” to perform certain functions faster and more efficient”, see Figs. 2 and 3, Col 3, lines 45-47}, based on a match-action function that includes a configurable input/output (IO) transaction pattern {among those IO transactions produce/perform a function “implement functions for generating and managing metadata”, see Figs. 2 and 3, Col 8, and a corresponding configurable action {corresponding actions “management and orchestration services allows [I/O transactions] new services (e.g., data deduplication, data compression, data encryption, etc.” (Col 8, lines 17-19)} that relates to the application program {“processing functions and storage processing functions”, see Figs. 2 and , Col 8, lines 1-4}};
and detecting an IO transaction of the application program on the channel that matches the IO transaction pattern {“performance metrics such as latency, IOPS (Input/Output Operations Per Second), and other performance [detection] measurements”, see Figs. 2 and 3, Col 10, lines 42-44; another IO transaction type “The second API for management and orchestration services allows [I/O transactions] new services (e.g., data deduplication, data compression, data encryption, etc.” (Col 8, lines 17-19)}, by the application accelerator circuit, based on the monitoring (“CE ports provides a data entry point and data exit point to and from the CIDS 280” for the claimed monitoring;
and performing the action of the application program, by the application accelerator circuit, based on the detecting {“ metadata allows multiple copies of data to be created (e.g. active, backup, and compliance copies) and provide information as to the locations of such copies. Further, metadata provides the ability to create [subsequent IO transactions] workflows around stored content and share the stored content appropriately [to a particular IO device or storage]” (see Figs. 2 and 3, Col 8, lines 49-54);
Savic does not appear to explicitly disclose monitoring a direct memory access (DMA) channel; and detecting an IO transaction of the DMA channel that matches the IO transaction pattern.
However, Kutch discloses monitoring a direct memory access (DMA) channel {“DMA operations. Next, P2PB component can register with the NEXT PFD it has been assigned to by a configuration utility (e.g., configured by system administrator). Registering with the NEXT PFD can include opening a [DMA] communication channel with NEXT PFD,”, see Figs. 19 and 29 [0238], 2nd and 3rd sentences};
and detecting an IO transaction of the DMA channel {“PHY circuitry 4114 can include encoding and decoding circuitry (not shown) to encode and decode data packets”, see Fig. 41 [0303], 1st sentence} that matches the IO transaction pattern {“[match-action tables] Mapping table can include a NEXT field information about corresponding NIC's descriptor field”, see Figs. 18 and 19 [0156]}.
Savic and Kutch are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, method and systems for handling PCIe devices.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of before him or her, to modify Savic’s “iCNA 700” (see Fig. 7) incorporating Kutch’s “NIM” and subcomponent “PHY 4114” and “802” respectively (see Figs. 41 and 8a).
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide Faster path packets with lower latency access to the NEXT packet processing pipeline using offload engines available to process (Kutch [0163]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Kutch with Savic to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Neither Savic or Kutch appears to explicitly disclose monitoring a direct memory access (DMA) channel between a host executing an application program and an input/output (IO) device.
However, Kashyap discloses monitoring a direct memory access (DMA) channel {“ quick UDP Internet Connections (QUIC), RDMA over Converged Ethernet (RoCE) [channels]”, see Fig. 8 [0094]} between a host executing an application program {“accelerators 842”, (see Fig. 8 [0085]) interfacing to host “host interface circuitry” (see Figs. 7a, 7B, 7C, and 8, [0082], last sentence)} and an input/output (IO) device {“remote direct memory access (RDMA)-enabled NIC, SmartNIC, … data processing unit (DPU), or [input/output] edge processing unit ”, see Figs. 1 and 8 [0018]}.
Savic/Kutch and Kashyap are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, method and systems for handling PCIe devices.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of before him or her, to modify Savic/Kutch’s device incorporating Kashyap’s “accelerators 842” (see Fig. 8, [0085]).
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide an endpoint switch that can communicate with worker nodes using a reliable transport protocol and the endpoint switch can maintain connection state information for packet communications to or from the worker nodes (Kashyap [0014], 2nd sentence).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Kashyap with Savic/Kutch to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
As per claim 19, the rejection of claim 16 is incorporated and Kutch discloses wherein the action comprises:
generating an application-specific completion descriptor based on the IO transaction {“NIM provides [application specific] auto-doorbell to supply empty Rx descriptors to NIC. At (2), NIC reads a descriptor from descriptor ring handler (DR_H). At (3), NIC receive”, see Fig. 23 [0188], 1st sentence}; and performing an additional action of the application program based on the application-specific completion descriptor {“utilize specific doorbell or completion queues or write-back descriptors” and perform additional functions “to be accessed by the NIC, or convert NEXT format descriptors to NIC specific format” (see Figs. 8b and 10, both cited from [0153]}.
As per claim 20, the rejection of claim 16 is incorporated and Kutch discloses further comprising: configuring the match-action function {“[match-action tables] Mapping table can include a NEXT field information about corresponding NIC's descriptor field”, see Figs. 18 and 19 [0156]}, by the host, to detect IO transactions of the application program {“PHY circuitry 4114 can include encoding and decoding circuitry (not shown) to encode and decode data packets”, see Fig. 41 [0303], 1st sentence}.
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Savic in view of Kutch and further in view of Kashyap and further in view of Biederman.
As per claim 17, the rejection of claim 16 is incorporated and Kashyap discloses wherein the action comprises controlling an IO device to perform a subsequent IO transaction {“content and share the stored content appropriately [to a particular IO device or storage]” (see Figs. 2 and 3, Col 8, lines 49-54)};
loading a receive queue of the application program {“ Receive queue 608”, see Figs. 6 and 8 [0066]};
loading a submission queue of the application program {“ Transmit queue 606”, see Figs. 6 and 8 [0066]};
processing a subsequent entry of the submission queue {processing via “include descriptors that reference data or [subsequent entry] packets in transmit queue 606”, see Figs. 6 and 8 [0066]};
generating an application-specific completion descriptor based the IO transaction {“[application specific] Descriptor queues 620 can include descriptors that reference data or packets in transmit queue 606 or receive queue 608”, see Figs. 6 and 8 [0066]; such descriptor queue including completion descriptor “To drain the list of completed slots, buffer management 308” (see Fig. 3, [0040], last sentence)};
Neither one of the group consisting of Savic, Kashyap, and Kutch appears to explicitly disclose assigning a timestamp to the IO transaction and performing a transaction-level analysis based on the IO transaction and the timestamp.
Furthermore, Biederman discloses assigning a timestamp to the IO transaction {“[assigned timestamp] precise time is communicated by IEEE1588”, [0101]} and performing a transaction-level analysis {“may use [transaction-level] two-way latency measurements, that are divided by two to determine one-way latency”, see Figs. 5 and 6, [0065], 2nd sentence} based on the IO transaction and the timestamp {“information in the TPTs 116a, 116b”, see Fig. 5, [0065], 1st sentence}.
Savic/Kutch/Kashyap and Biederman are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, method and systems for handling PCIe devices.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of before him or her, to modify Savic/Kutch/Kashyap’s system incorporating Biederman’s “NIC accessible portion 608” (see Fig. 6, [0067])
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide allow computing systems to utilize memory more efficiently than systems which do not use precise time. In addition and/or alternatively, by leveraging precise time, embodiments disclosed herein may provide better determinism than systems which do not use precise time along with leveraging precise time, embodiments disclosed herein may allow computing systems to utilize bandwidth more efficiently than systems which do not use precise time ( [0015]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Biederman with Savic/Kutch/Kashyap to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
As per claim 18, the rejection of claim 16 is incorporated and Kashyap discloses wherein the action comprises processing a subsequent entry of a submission queue {processing via “include descriptors that reference data or [subsequent entry] packets in transmit queue 606”, see Figs. 6 and 8 [0066]} of the application program, including:
formatting the subsequent entry {“packet may be used herein to refer to various formatted collections of bits that may be sent across a network”, see Fig. 3 [0041]} of the submission queue as a message {“Computation 304 can provide the summation into a [message] packet and send the packet upstream to an upstream switch”, see Fig. 3 [0044], last sentence};
transmitting the message to the IO device {“data slots in buffers 326 using counters or registers to determine when an aggregation is complete”, see Fig. 3 [0040], 1st sentence};
and writing a completion transaction {“To drain the list of completed slots, buffer management 308 can cause transmission of a packet with the data from a slot and generate (e.g., by packet replication) a second packet that is recirculated”, see Fig. 3 [0040], last sentence} to a completion queue of the application program {“[application specific] Descriptor queues 620 can include descriptors that reference data or packets in transmit queue 606 or receive queue 608”, see Figs. 6 and 8 [0066]; such descriptor queue including completion descriptor “To drain the list of completed slots, buffer management 308” (see Fig. 3, [0040], last sentence)}.
Neither one of the group consisting of Savic, Kashyap, and Kutch appears to explicitly disclose assigning a timestamp to the IO transaction;
and performing a transaction-level analysis based on the IO transaction and the timestamp.
Furthermore, Biederman discloses assigning a timestamp to the IO transaction {“[assigned timestamp] precise time is communicated by IEEE1588”, [0101]} and performing a transaction-level analysis {“may use [transaction-level] two-way latency measurements, that are divided by two to determine one-way latency”, see Figs. 5 and 6, [0065], 2nd sentence} based on the IO transaction and the timestamp {“information in the TPTs 116a, 116b”, see Fig. 5, [0065], 1st sentence}.
Savic/Kutch/Kashyap and Biederman are analogous art because they are from the same problem-solving area, method and systems for handling PCIe devices.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of before him or her, to modify Savic/Kutch/Kashyap’s system incorporating Biederman’s “NIC accessible portion 608” (see Fig. 6, [0067])
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide allow computing systems to utilize memory more efficiently than systems which do not use precise time. In addition and/or alternatively, by leveraging precise time, embodiments disclosed herein may provide better determinism than systems which do not use precise time along with leveraging precise time, embodiments disclosed herein may allow computing systems to utilize bandwidth more efficiently than systems which do not use precise time ( [0015]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Biederman with Savic/Kutch/Kashyap to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 10/24/2025 have been considered but deemed moot in view of the new ground of rejection(s).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references indicative of current state of the art regarding claim 1’s “application accelerator circuit”, “IO transaction”, or “discrete logic”: US 20240386015 A1, US 20110113210 A1, US 20220358240 A1, US 20170091246 A1, US 7724956 B2, US 20210004374 A1, US 9733914 B2, and US 20230367815 A1.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/C. B./
Examiner, Art Unit 2184
/HENRY TSAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2184