DETAILED ACTION
The following is a non-final office action is response to communications received on 05/31/2024. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and addressed below.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 7 states disposed in the recess of on the inner side. The examiner believes the limitation should read: disposed in the recess . Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 & 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,364,594. The elements of the instant application are to be found in the Patent and therefore are anticipated. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the Patent and the instant application all recite the same basic structure with a permutation of similar elements throughout.
It is noted that the recesses of claims 1 & 10 in US 12,364,594 would inherently have openings on the inner and outer strut side, meeting the claim language of instant claim 1.
Claims 16-20 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 5, 7 & 15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,083,575. The elements of the instant application are to be found in the Patent and therefore are anticipated. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the Patent and the instant application all recite the same basic structure with a permutation of similar elements throughout.
Regarding Claims 16 & 20, patent claims 1, 7 & 15 recite the same limitations
Regarding Claim 17, patent claims 15 & 18 recite the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 18, patent claim 4 recites the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 19, patent claim 5 recites the same limitations.
Claims 16 & 18-20 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 5, 6, 16 & 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,023,241. The elements of the instant application are to be found in the Patent and therefore are anticipated. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the Patent and the instant application all recite the same basic structure with a permutation of similar elements throughout.
Regarding Claims 16 & 20, patent claims 1, 4, 16 & 20 recite the same limitations
Regarding Claim 18, patent claim 5 recites the same limitations.
Regarding Claim 19, patent claim 6 recites the same limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the plurality of spaced struts" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Girard et al. (US 9,744,031).
Regarding Claim 1, Girard teaches an implantable prosthetic valve assembly (100) comprising: an expandable frame (10) having a plurality of struts (15, 16, 41) that define an outer periphery of the expandable frame (10); a prosthetic valve (100) secured within the expandable frame by one or more sutures (101 in Fig 11a); wherein at least one of the plurality of struts includes a recess (33) on an inner side of the strut and a recess (33) on an outer side of the strut (as shown in Fig 8a, edge 33 is cut on both the interior and exterior of the strut); and wherein portions of the one or more sutures (101) are disposed in the recess of on the inner side of the strut and in the recess on the outer side of the strut (Fig 11a) without extending beyond an outer periphery of the strut (the portion of the suture that extends radially inward does not extend beyond an outer periphery of the strut).
Regarding Claims 2 & 10, Girard teaches wherein the recess on the inner side of the strut and the recess on the outer side of the strut are formed by a single recess (33) that extends around the outer periphery of the strut.
Regarding Claims 3 & 11, Girard teaches wherein the single recess (33) is a helical recess. As the sutures are sewn in a running stitch pattern (Col 20: lines 31-32) around the recess (33), the examiner interprets the recesses as being aligned in a helical pattern.
Regarding Claims 4 & 12, Girard teaches wherein the recess on the inner side of the strut and the recess on the outer side of the strut are two discrete recesses (on either side of the strut, the recesses are discrete).
Regarding Claims 5 & 13, Girard teaches wherein the at least one of the plurality of struts comprises an axially extending strut (Fig 11a illustrates strut 16 extending axially).
Regarding Claims 6 & 14, Girard teaches wherein the at least one of the plurality of struts comprises an angled strut (Fig 11a illustrates strut 16 extending at an angle).
Regarding Claims 7 & 15, Girard teaches wherein the at least one of the plurality of struts comprises an axially extending strut and angled strut (Fig 11a illustrates strut 16 extending axially and at an angle).
Regarding Claim 8, Girard teaches a prosthetic heart valve (100) and catheter assembly (Col 5: lines 30-32 and claim 6) comprising: an expandable frame (10) having a plurality of struts (15, 16, 41) that define an outer periphery of the expandable frame (10); a prosthetic valve (100) secured within the expandable frame by one or more sutures (101); wherein at least one of the plurality of struts includes a recess (33) on an inner side of the strut and a recess (33) on an outer side of the strut (as shown in Fig 8a, edge 33 is cut on both the interior and exterior of the strut); wherein portions of the one or more sutures (101) are disposed in the recess of on the inner side of the strut and in the recess on the outer side of the strut (Fig 11a) without extending beyond an outer periphery of the strut (the portion of the suture that extends radially inward does not extend beyond an outer periphery of the strut); and wherein the expandable frame is disposed and compressed inside a catheter (Col 5: lines 30-32 and claim 6).
Regarding Claim 9, Girard teaches wherein an outermost surface of the outer periphery is fully capable of contacting the catheter (as it is retained by the catheter) and further wherein the sutures (101) are spaced apart from the catheter (at least the sutures running radially).
Please refer to the following annotated figure in the rejection of claims 16-20:
Regarding Claim 16, Girard teaches an implantable prosthetic valve assembly (Fig 5a) comprising: an expandable frame (10) having a plurality of struts (15, 16, 41) that define an outer periphery of the expandable frame (10) having an outermost surface; a prosthetic valve (100) secured within the expandable frame by one or more sutures (101); wherein at least one of the plurality of spaced struts contains at least one pair of holes (shown) that passes through the at least one of the plurality of spaced struts and a recess (33) that extends between the at least one pair of holes (Fig 5a); and wherein a portion of the one or more sutures (101) is disposed in the recess without extending beyond an outer periphery of the strut (Fig 11a) (the portion of the suture that extends radially inward does not extend beyond an outer periphery of the strut).
Regarding Claim 17, Girard teaches wherein the at least one of the plurality of struts comprises an axially extending strut (Fig 5a & 11a illustrates strut 16 extending axially).
Regarding Claim 18, Girard teaches wherein the recess (33) is a rounded depressions (as shown).
Regarding Claim 19, Girard teaches wherein the recess (33) is an angular or polygonal depressions (as shown).
Regarding Claim 20, Girard teaches wherein the sutures (101) secure the prosthetic valve to the expandable frame without extending radially beyond the outermost surface of the outer periphery (the portion of the suture that extends radially inward does not extend beyond an outer periphery of the strut).
Conclusion
/BRIAN A DUKERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774