DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application claims priority to the 63/470,549 provisional application filed 02 June 2023. The priority claim complies with all applicable rules and regulations. Therefore, the claims have been examined using an effective filing date of 02 June 2023.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 23 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments that “the Office Action is incorrect in construing the L2 Roaming Query of Unnimadhavan as the recited ‘Layer 2 (L2) look-up message’" of amended Claim 1”, stated on page 8 and similar arguments on page 10, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
A “Layer 2 (L2) look-up message” is not a standard message type in any communication protocols. Furthermore, the original disclosure of the instant application does not provide an explicit definition for the message. Therefore, the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) of a “Layer 2 (L2) look-up message” is a layer 2 message that looks-up, requests, or otherwise queries for something.
Applicant states the L2 look-up message “refers to the process of finding a MAC address or endpoint location within a local network segment or domain” on page 8. However, the original disclosure of the instant application does not explicitly define the message to refer to “the process of finding a MAC address or endpoint location within a local network segment or domain” or disclose anything regarding a MAC address. Furthermore, it is unclear as to how a message can refer to a “process”.
Unnimadhavan discloses an L2 roaming query message. Using the BRI of the message, Unnimadhavan’s L2 roaming query message teaches the L2 look-up message element.
Therefore, the Office action is correct in construing the L2 Roaming Query of Unnimadhavan as the recited ‘Layer 2 (L2) look-up message’ of amended claim 1.
Also note Mishra et al. (US 2014/0023074 A1), cited in the Relevant Prior Art section below, discloses switching the message may for example, be accomplished with a special instruction that indicates that the routing should be cancelled and a Layer-2 lookup should be used. Since the destination MAC is not overwritten, the result is that the message is switched to the MAC address of one of the routers at the Layer-2/Layer-3 boundary with the original VLAN tag on it (Para. 49).
Mishra’s “special instruction” that indicates a Layer-2 lookup should be used could also be considered an L2 lookup message.
In response to applicant’s arguments that “L2 roaming query of Unnimadhavan is triggered when the client connects to the new network device, not ‘in response to a roaming request’ while the device is currently associated with another access point as in amended Claim 1”, stated on page 8, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
Narasimhan discloses client 310 roams to a new location and decides 360 to initiate Fast Transition (FT) to another network device, such as access point 325 (Fig. 3B, el. 360; Para. 75). An authentication request 362 is sent by client 310 and received by access point 325 (Fig. 3B, el. 362; Para. 77). A re-association request 366 is sent by client 310 at time point t20 and received by access point 325 (Fig. 3B, el. 366; Para. 79).
Unnimadhavan discloses in STEP 230, the client device associates with the second network device, wherein the client device may have just roamed from the first network device—roaming request-- (Fig. 2B, el. 230; Para. 40). In STEP 235, when the client device connects with the second network device for the first time, the network device is configured to determine whether other network devices in the same secondary network (e.g., IP subnets) as the secondary device have client information for the client device, wherein the network device may broadcast an L2 roaming query to other network devices in the same secondary network (Fig. 2B, el. 235; Para. 41). In STEP 245, the L2 roaming query has failed, and only then does the second network device determine whether other network devices in other secondary networks have the client information, wherein only then does the second network device broadcast an L3 roaming query to the other secondary networks (Fig. 2B, el. 245; Para. 43).
Therefore, the combination of the cited prior art teaches the broadcasting, in response to the roaming request, a message in a network that comprises the access point and the second access point, wherein the message comprises a Layer 2 (L2) look-up message.
In response to applicant’s arguments that “the teachings of Unnimadhavan are incompatible with the teachings of Narasimhan”, stated on page 9, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
In this case, the citation of Narasimhan relating to sending an authentication response is to show that it discloses sending some response to a roaming request. Unnimadhavan discloses broadcasting the L2 or L3 roaming query in response to the client device broadcasting identifying packets and establishing a connection with the second network device—roaming request--.
Therefore, the teachings of Unnimadhavan are not incompatible with the teachings of Narasimhan.
In response to applicant’s arguments that “a person of ordinary skill in the art would not combine Henry and Unnimadhavan to arrive at Claim 1, as these teachings are contrary to one another”, stated on page 9, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Narasimhan discloses the second level security key (e.g., PMK-R1) is generated by the first level security key holder (e.g., R0KH), and the new wireless network device would need to receive the second level security key (e.g., PMK-R1) from the first level security key holder (e.g., R0KH) (Para. 82). The second level key holder (L2KH) within wireless network device II 428 will initiate process 495 to obtain the second level security key (e.g., PMK-R1) from the first level key holder (L1KH) for wireless client 410, wherein when the first level key holder (L1KH) at wireless network device II 428 hears connection requests 492 from client 410, L1KH may propagate 495 the second level security key (e.g., PMK-R1) to wireless network device II 428 after receiving requests from L2KH (Fig. 4B, el. 495; Para. 95).
Henry discloses AP 130(2) may obtain the security material from AP 130(1) (Para. 52), wherein the security material may be PMKR0, which is a root key from which both AP 130(1) and AP 130(2) derive their own unique, respective PMKR1 keys (Para. 53).
Unnimadhavan is not utilized in the rejection of the independent claims for teaching any portion of the PMK limitations.
Furthermore, the receiving of the PMK information and the generating of the PMK based at least in part of the PMK information is not indicated to be related to the roaming request or the L2 look-up message in any way.
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would combine Henry and Unnimadhavan to arrive at Claim 1, as these teachings are not contrary to one another.
In response to applicant’s arguments that “The L2 roaming query of Unnimadhavan is a general subnet broadcast to "other network devices," not a targeted message which is ‘a message only to the second access point and a router that are in the subset of the network,’ as recited by new Claim 21”, stated on page 11, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
The language of claim 21 does not specifically indicate that the “broadcast” is a “targeted message” “only to the second access point and a router that are in the subset of the network”. Claim 21 merely states “broadcasting…a message only to the second access point and a router that are in the subset of the network”. Broadcasting, by definition, is not a targeted communication method unlike unicasting, narrowcasting, or multicasting. In the context of claim 21, the message is “broadcasted” to devices that are able to receive it, such as devices that are within wireless communication range and have the ability to receive wireless communications.
Therefore, the combination of the cited prior art teaches broadcasting, in response to the roaming request, a message only to the second access point and a router that are in the subset of the network.
The examiner suggests clarifying the “subset” language, tying the message limitation to the PMK limitations, and providing language that defines the look-up message language in the independent claims.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 10, line 2—“a R1 key holder (R1KH)”, should be amended to state --an R1 key holder (R1KH)-- in order to correct the grammar issue.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-12, 14, 15, 18, and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narasimhan et al. (US 2013/0196708 A1) in view of Henry et al. (US 2022/0377554 A1) and further in view of Unnimadhavan et al. (US 2015/0120864 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Narasimhan teaches an access point, e.g., wireless digital network device 700/wireless network device II 428/access point 325 (Fig. 3B, el. 325; Fig. 4B, el. 428; Fig. 7, el. 700), wherein the wireless network device may be an access point (Para. 61, 82), comprising:
one or more interface circuits, e.g., one or more radio antennas 710 capable of either transmitting or receiving radio signals or both, a network interface 720 capable of communicating to a wired or wireless network (Fig. 7, el. 710, 720; Para. 109), configured to communicate with a second access point, e.g., wireless network device II 418/access point 320 (Fig. 3B, el. 320; Fig. 4B, el. 418), wherein the wireless network device may be an access point (Para. 61, 82), and an electronic device, e.g., client 410/client 310 (Fig. 3B, el. 310; Fig. 4B, el. 410),
wherein the one or more interface circuits are configured to:
receive, from the electronic device, a roaming request, wherein the electronic device is currently associated with the second access point, e.g., client 310 roams to a new location and decides 360 to initiate Fast Transition (FT) to another network device, such as access point 325 (Fig. 3B, el. 360; Para. 75);
An authentication request 362, which is sent by client 310 and received by access point 325 (Fig. 3B, el. 362; Para. 77);
A re-association request 366, which is sent by client 310 at time point t.sub.20 and received by access point 325 (Fig. 3B, el. 366; Para. 79);
Each wireless network device (e.g., wireless network device II 428) in the neighborhood of client 410 listens to connection requests, such as probe requests, association requests, authentication requests, etc., from client 410 (Para. 95);
send, in response to the roaming request, a message in a network that comprises the access point and the second access point, e.g., An authentication response 364, which is sent by access point 325 after completing an authentication process, e.g., EAPOL, with an authentication server, and which is received by client 310 (Fig. 3B, el. 364; Para. 78);
re-association response 368, which is sent by access point 325 at time point t.sub.22 and received by client 310 (Fig. 3B, el. 368; Para. 80);
Mobility domain 150 includes a plurality of networks, such as network 110, network 112, . . . network 118 (Fig. 1, el. 110, 112, 118, 150; Para. 27);
network 110 comprises access point 130a and one or more wireless stations including wireless station 140a, and network 112 comprises access point 130b and one or more wireless stations including wireless station 140b and wireless station 140c, and network 118 comprises access point 130n, and one or more wireless stations including wireless station 140n (Fig. 1, el. 130a, 130b, 130n, 140a, 140b, 140n; Para. 28);
…,
wherein the second access point is included in a subset in the network with the access point, e.g., Fig. 3B and One or more management network devices, such as an access point, may be located in network 110, network 112, network 118, or other similar networks, as well as distribution system 100 (Para. 28);
the network device determines the subset of network devices based on a combination of static information (such as a neighborhood list) and dynamic information (such as a roaming map for a wireless client) (Para. 25);
Each wireless network device (e.g., wireless network device II 428) in the neighborhood of client 410 listens to connection requests (Para. 95); and
generate, based at least in part on the PMK information, a PMK for use during secure communication with the electronic device, e.g., the second level security key (e.g., PMK-R1) is generated by the first level security key holder (e.g., R0KH), and the new wireless network device would need to receive the second level security key (e.g., PMK-R1) from the first level security key holder (e.g., R0KH) (Para. 82);
second level key holder (L2KH) within wireless network device II 428 will initiate process 495 to obtain the second level security key (e.g., PMK-R1) from the first level key holder (L1KH) for wireless client 410, wherein when the first level key holder (L1KH) at wireless network device II 428 hears connection requests 492 from client 410, L1KH may propagate 495 the second level security key (e.g., PMK-R1) to wireless network device II 428 after receiving requests from L2KH (Fig. 4B, el. 495; Para. 95), and
perform a fast BSS transition with the electronic device, e.g., the pro-active propagation mechanisms of leveled security key in accordance with the present disclosure accelerate the time required for completion of the Fast BSS Transition when a wireless station later seeks a BSS transition within the same mobility domain within the same ESS after initial mobility domain association (Para. 84);
FIGS. 4A-4B are sequence diagrams illustrating exemplary communication exchanges during propagation of leveled security keys under fast BSS transition (Para. 86).
Narasimhan does not clearly teach to: broadcast, in response to the roaming request, a message in a network that comprises the access point and the second access point;
receive, from the second access point, pairwise master key (PMK) information; and
wherein the message comprises a Layer 2 (L2) look-up message.
Henry teaches to: receive, from the second access point, e.g., AP 130(2) (Figs. 2-5, el. 130(2)), pairwise master key (PMK) information, e.g., AP 130(2) may obtain the security material from AP 130(1) (Para. 52);
the security material may be PMKR0, which is a root key from which both AP 130(1) and AP 130(2) derive their own unique, respective PMKR1 keys (Para. 53);
At operation 535, AP 130(1) may respond, to AP 130(2), with the PMKR0 (Fig. 5, el. 535; Para. 98);
At operation 445, STA 110 may respond to the FT response action frame by sending an FT confirm action frame to AP 130(1), wherein the frame may include the BSSID of AP 130(2), the RSNE with the PMK-R1 name (derived from the PMK-RO Name), the MDE, and the FTE, wherein the FTE may include the ANonce, SNonce, MIC, R1KH-ID—secondary PMK-- obtained from AP 130(2), R0KH-ID, and MAC address of STA 110 (e.g., S1KH-ID), and at operation 450, AP 130(1) forwards this message over the DS to AP 130(2) (Para. 90).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Narasimhan to include to: receive, from the second access point, pairwise master key (PMK) information, using the known method of providing, from a first access point, the PMK-R0 to a second access point, as taught by Henry, in combination with the fast transition system of Narasimhan, for the purpose of providing a greater assurance that the client and the different access points are using the same first level key.
Narasimhan in view of Henry does not clearly teach to: broadcast, in response to the roaming request, a message in a network that comprises the access point and the second access point; and
wherein the message comprises a Layer 2 (L2) look-up message.
Unnimadhavan teaches to: broadcast, in response to the roaming request, a message in a network that comprises the access point, e.g., a second network device (Fig. 2A, el. 220), wherein the network device may be an access point (Para. 15), and the second access point, e.g., particular network device (Fig. 2A, el. 205), wherein the network device may be an access point (Para. 15);
In STEP 235, when the client device connects with the second network device for the first time, the network device is configured to determine whether other network devices in the same secondary network (e.g., IP subnets) as the secondary device have client information for the client device, wherein the network device may broadcast an L2 roaming query to other network devices in the same secondary network (Fig. 2B, el. 235; Para. 41);
the second network device may request or query for the client information upon receiving an authentication request—roaming request-- from the client device (Para. 45); and
wherein the message comprises a Layer 2 (L2) look-up message, e.g., the network device may broadcast an L2 roaming query to other network devices in the same secondary network (Para. 41).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Narasimhan in view of Henry to include to: broadcast, in response to the roaming request, a message in a network that comprises the access point and the second access point and wherein the message comprises a Layer 2 (L2) look-up message, using the known method of broadcasting an L2 roaming query to other network devices in the same secondary network, as taught by Unnimadhavan, in combination with the fast transition system of Narasimhan in view of Henry, for the purpose of providing a response that blankets the region surrounding the device, thereby enabling key information to be provided from close by reducing latency.
Regarding claim 2, Narasimhan in view of Henry in view of Unnimadhavan teaches the access point of claim 1, wherein the message comprises a Layer 2 (L2) look-up message, e.g., the network device may broadcast an L2 roaming query to other network devices in the same secondary network (Unnimadhavan-Para. 41).
Regarding claim 3, Narasimhan in view of Henry in view of Unnimadhavan teaches the access point of claim 1, wherein the message is only conveyed to the second access point, e.g., the network device may broadcast an L2 roaming query to other network devices in the same secondary network (Unnimadhavan-Para. 41).
Examiner note: Unnimadhavan discloses broadcast the L2 roaming query to the other network devices in the same secondary network. If the second access point and the access point are the only access points in the secondary network, then the L2 roaming message will only be conveyed to the second access point.
Regarding claim 4, Narasimhan in view of Henry in view of Unnimadhavan teaches the access point of claim 1.
Narasimhan does not clearly teach wherein, before receiving the PMK information, the one or more interface circuits are configured to establish access point-to-access point communication with the second access point.
Henry further teaches wherein, before receiving the PMK information, the one or more interface circuits are configured to establish access point-to-access point communication with the second access point, e.g., AP 130(2) may obtain the security material from AP 130(1) (Para. 52);
the security material may be PMKR0, which is a root key from which both AP 130(1) and AP 130(2) derive their own unique, respective PMKR1 keys (Para. 53);
At operation 530, AP 130(2) may provide, to AP 130(1), an indication of the PMKR0 name, and at operation 535, AP 130(1) may respond, to AP 130(2), with the PMKR0 (Fig. 5, el. 530, 535; Para. 98).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Narasimhan to include wherein, before receiving the PMK information, the one or more interface circuits are configured to establish access point-to-access point communication with the second access point, using the known method of providing, from a first access point, the PMK-R0 to a second access point in response to the second access point sending an identifier of the PMK-R0 key to the first access point, as taught by Henry, in combination with the fast transition system of Narasimhan, for the purpose of providing a greater assurance that the client and the different access points are using the same first level key.
Regarding claim 5, Narasimhan in view of Henry in view of Unnimadhavan teaches the access point of claim 1.
Narasimhan in view of Henry further teaches wherein the PMK information is received, e.g., AP 130(2) may obtain the security material from AP 130(1) (Henry-Para. 52);
the security material may be PMKR0, which is a root key from which both AP 130(1) and AP 130(2) derive their own unique, respective PMKR1 keys (Henry-Para. 53);
At operation 535, AP 130(1) may respond, to AP 130(2), with the PMKR0 (Henry-Fig. 5, el. 535; Para. 98).
Narasimhan in view of Henry does not clearly teach wherein the PMK information is received via a Layer 3 (L3) connection.
Unnimadhavan further teaches wherein the key information is received via a Layer 3 (L3) connection, e.g., In STEP 250, the L3 roaming query is successful, and the particular network device in the other secondary network has been identified, and a mobility tunnel is established between the particular network device and the second network device, and client information and data packets may now be transmitted across the mobility tunnel (Fig. 2B, el. 250; Para. 44);
Client information may include authentication information (e.g., information related to, used in, or generated during prior authentications of the client device) or encryption information (e.g., information related to encryption keys used for encrypting data received by the client device or data sent by the client device) (Para. 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Narasimhan in view of Henry to include wherein the PMK information is received via a Layer 3 (L3) connection, using the known method of broadcasting an L3 roaming query to other network devices in a different secondary network and receiving the client information from another network device using a tunnel connection, as taught by Unnimadhavan, in combination with the fast transition system of Narasimhan in view of Henry, for the purpose of reducing latency while also enhancing security of the connection by utilizing a mobility tunnel.
Regarding claim 6, Narasimhan in view of Henry in view of Unnimadhavan teaches the access point of claim 1, wherein the one or more interface circuits are configured to receive, from the second access point and along with the PMK information, policy information of the electronic device, session information of the electronic device, or both, e.g., AP 130(2) may obtain the security material from AP 130(1) (Henry-Para. 52);
the security material may be a key and a key name—session information, wherein for instance, the security material may be PMKR0, which is a root key from which both AP 130(1) and AP 130(2) derive their own unique, respective PMKR1 keys (Henry-Para. 53);
Also note Unnimadhavan discloses receiving client information, wherein the client information may include authentication information (e.g., information related to, used in, or generated during prior authentications of the client device), multicast information (e.g., information related to multicasts received by the client device), encryption information (e.g., information related to encryption keys used for encrypting data received by the client device or data sent by the client device), firewall session information (e.g., information related to a firewall session defining acceptable data sources or data types for the client device), gateway information (e.g., dynamic host configuration protocol (DHCP) parameters used for an access point or controller when communicatively coupling the client device to one or more resources on the network), IP address of the client device, or any other session information related to the client device (Para. 20).
Regarding claim 7, Narasimhan in view of Henry in view of Unnimadhavan teaches the access point of claim 6, wherein the one or more interface circuits are configured to generate the PMK based at least in part on the policy information, the session information, or both, e.g., Second level keyA 230 and second level keyB 235 can be derived based on one or more of the following information: First level key 225; Unique identifier associated with second level key holder for authenticator (R1KH-ID, e.g., the BSSID associated with the access point)—session information--; Unique identifier associated with second level key holder for supplicant (S1KH-ID, e.g., the supplicant's MAC address)—session information--; and an input used to derive the second level security key (e.g., FT-R1 under IEEE 802.11r standard) (Narasimhan-Para. 45-49).
Regarding claim 8, Narasimhan in view of Henry in view of Unnimadhavan teaches the access point of claim 1, wherein the one or more interface circuits are configured to perform the fast BSS transition without involving a controller of the access point or the second access point, e.g., FIG. 3B illustrates exemplary communication exchanges during an FT roaming by client 310 from one access point 320 to another access point 325, which is located within the same mobility domain (Narasimhan-Fig. 3B; Para. 75);
Also note Henry discloses utilizing communications between the station, AP 130(1) and AP 130(2) in the fast transition process (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 9, Narasimhan in view of Henry in view of Unnimadhavan teaches the access point of claim 1, wherein the PMK information comprises a secondary PMK of the electronic device, e.g., Second level keyA 230 and second level keyB 235 can be derived based on one or more of the following information: First level key 225; Unique identifier associated with second level key holder for authenticator (R1KH-ID—secondary PMK--, e.g., the BSSID associated with the access point); Unique identifier associated with second level key holder for supplicant (S1KH-ID, e.g., the supplicant's MAC address); and an input used to derive the second level security key (e.g., FT-R1 under IEEE 802.11r standard) (Narasimhan-Para. 45-49);
At operation 530, AP 130(2) may provide, to AP 130(1), an indication of the PMKR0 name, and at operation 535, AP 130(1) may respond, to AP 130(2), with the PMKR0—secondary PMK-- (Henry-Fig. 5, el. 530, 535; Para. 98);
At operation 445, STA 110 may respond to the FT response action frame by sending an FT confirm action frame to AP 130(1), wherein the frame may include the BSSID of AP 130(2), the RSNE with the PMK-R1 name (derived from the PMK-RO Name), the MDE, and the FTE, wherein the FTE may include the ANonce, SNonce, MIC, R1KH-ID—secondary PMK-- obtained from AP 130(2), R0KH-ID, and MAC address of STA 110 (e.g., S1KH-ID), and at operation 450, AP 130(1) forwards this message over the DS to AP 130(2) (Henry-Para. 90).
Regarding claim 10, Narasimhan in view of Henry in view of Unnimadhavan teaches the access point of claim 9, wherein the secondary PMK comprises a R1 key holder (R1KH), e.g., Second level keyA 230 and second level keyB 235 can be derived based on one or more of the following information: First level key 225; Unique identifier associated with second level key holder for authenticator (R1KH-ID—secondary PMK--, e.g., the BSSID associated with the access point); Unique identifier associated with second level key holder for supplicant (S1KH-ID, e.g., the supplicant's MAC address); and an input used to derive the second level security key (e.g., FT-R1 under IEEE 802.11r standard) (Narasimhan-Para. 45-49);
At operation 445, STA 110 may respond to the FT response action frame by sending an FT confirm action frame to AP 130(1), wherein the frame may include the BSSID of AP 130(2), the RSNE with the PMK-R1 name (derived from the PMK-RO Name), the MDE, and the FTE, wherein the FTE may include the ANonce, SNonce, MIC, R1KH-ID—secondary PMK-- obtained from AP 130(2), R0KH-ID, and MAC address of STA 110 (e.g., S1KH-ID), and at operation 450, AP 130(1) forwards this message over the DS to AP 130(2) (Henry-Para. 90).
Regarding claim 11, Narasimhan in view of Henry in view of Unnimadhavan teaches the access point of claim 9, wherein the secondary PMK is compatible with Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.1 1r, e.g., First level key holder 220 (e.g., R0KH in IEEE 802.11r) stores the first level keys (e.g., PMK-R0 in IEEE 802.11r) for the wireless devices in the network. (Narasimhan-Fig. 2, el. 220; Para. 32);
At operation 530, AP 130(2) may provide, to AP 130(1), an indication of the PMKR0 name, and at operation 535, AP 130(1) may respond, to AP 130(2), with the PMKR0—secondary PMK-- (Henry-Fig. 5, el. 530, 535; Para. 98).
Regarding claim 12, Narasimhan in view of Henry in view of Unnimadhavan teaches the access point of claim 1, wherein performing the fast BSS transition comprises: receiving, from the electronic device, an association request, e.g., Each wireless network device (e.g., wireless network device II 428) in the neighborhood of client 410 listens to connection requests, such as probe requests, association requests, authentication requests, etc., from client 410 (Narasimhan-Para. 95);
re-association request 366, which is sent by client 310 and received by access point 325 (Narasimhan-Fig. 3B, el. 366; Para. 79);
the exchange of information through these communication exchanges between client 310 and access point 325 complete the association between client 310 and access point 325 (Narasimhan-Para. 81); and
providing, to the electronic device, an association response, e.g., A re-association response 368, which is sent by access point 325 at time point t.sub.22 and received by client 310 (Narasimhan-Fig. 3B, el. 368; Para. 80);
the exchange of information through these communication exchanges between client 310 and access point 325 complete the association between client 310 and access point 325 (Narasimhan-Para. 81).
Regarding claim 14, Narasimhan in view of Henry in view of Unnimadhavan teaches the access point of claim 1, wherein the one or more interface circuits are configured to provide a second message in the network, e.g., An authentication response 364, which is sent by access point 325 at time point t.sub.18 after completing an authentication process, e.g., EAPOL, with an authentication server, and which is received by client 310 (Narasimhan-Fig. 3B, el. 364; Para. 76);
A re-association response 368, which is sent by access point 325 at time point t.sub.22 and received by client 310 (Narasimhan-Fig. 3B, el. 368; Para. 80);
Also note Unnimadhavan discloses the second network device broadcasts an L3 roaming query to the other secondary networks (Para. 43).
Regarding claim 15, Narasimhan in view of Henry in view of Unnimadhavan teaches the access point of claim 14.
Narasimhan in view of Henry does not clearly teach wherein the second message comprises a Layer 3 (L3) lookup message, and wherein the L3 lookup message is provided to a second subnet in the network that does not include the access point and the second access point.
Unnimadhavan further teaches wherein the second message comprises a Layer 3 (L3) lookup message, and wherein the L3 lookup message is provided to a second subnet in the network that does not include the access point and the second access point, e.g., the second network device broadcasts an L3 roaming query to the other secondary networks (Para. 43);
In STEP 250, the L3 roaming query is successful, and the particular network device in the other secondary network has been identified, and a mobility tunnel is established between the particular network device and the second network device, and client information and data packets may now be transmitted across the mobility tunnel (Fig. 2B, el. 250; Para. 44).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Narasimhan in view of Henry to include wherein the second message comprises a Layer 3 (L3) lookup message, and wherein the L3 lookup message is provided to a second subnet in the network that does not include the access point and the second access point, using the known method of broadcasting an L3 roaming query to other network devices in a different secondary network and receiving the client information from another network device using a tunnel connection, as taught by Unnimadhavan, in combination with the fast transition system of Narasimhan in view of Henry, for the purpose of reducing latency while also enhancing security of the connection by utilizing a mobility tunnel.
Regarding claim 18, Narasimhan teaches a method for performing a fast basic service set (BSS) transition by a first access point, comprising:
by an access point, e.g., wireless digital network device 700/wireless network device II 428/access point 325 (Fig. 3B, el. 325; Fig. 4B, el. 428; Fig. 7, el. 700), wherein the wireless network device may be an access point (Para. 61, 82), performing operations comprising:
receiving, from an electronic device, e.g., client 410/client 310 (Fig. 3B, el. 310; Fig. 4B, el. 410), a roaming request, wherein the electronic device is currently associated with a second access point, e.g., wireless network device II 418/access point 320 (Fig. 3B, el. 320; Fig. 4B, el. 418), wherein the wireless network device may be an access point (Para. 61, 82);
client 310 roams to a new location and decides 360 to initiate Fast Transition (FT) to another network device, such as access point 325 (Fig. 3B, el. 360; Para. 75);
An authentication request 362, which is sent by client 310 and received by access point 325 (Fig. 3B, el. 362; Para. 77);
A re-association request 366, which is sent by client 310 at time point t.sub.20 and received by access point 325 (Fig. 3B, el. 366; Para. 79);
Each wireless network device (e.g., wireless network device II 428) in the neighborhood of client 410 listens to connection requests, such as probe requests, association requests, authentication requests, etc., from client 410 (Para. 95);
sending, in response to the roaming request, a message in a network that comprises the access point and the second access point, e.g., An authentication response 364, which is sent by access point 325 after completing an authentication process, e.g., EAPOL, with an authentication server, and which is received by client 310 (Fig. 3B, el. 364; Para. 78);
re-association response 368, which is sent by access point 325 at time point t.sub.22 and received by client 310 (Fig. 3B, el. 368; Para. 80);
Mobility domain 150 includes a plurality of networks, such as network 110, network 112, . . . network 118 (Fig. 1, el. 110, 112, 118, 150; Para. 27);
network 110 comprises access point 130a and one or more wireless stations including wireless station 140a, and network 112 comprises access point 130b and one or more wireless stations including wireless station 140b and wireless station 140c, and network 118 comprises access point 130n, and one or more wireless stations including wireless station 140n (Fig. 1, el. 130a, 130b, 130n, 140a, 140b, 140n; Para. 28);
…wherein the second access point is included in a subset in the network with the access point, e.g., the network device determines the subset of network devices based on whether a network device exists in a neighborhood list indicating closest neighboring network devices to the wireless client, and the network device determines the subset of network devices, where the wireless client is likely to roam to, based on the degree of likelihood indicated on a roaming map of the wireless client, and the network device determines the subset of network devices based on a combination of static information (such as a neighborhood list) and dynamic information (such as a roaming map for a wireless client) (Para. 25);
Fig. 3B and one or more management network devices, such as an access point, may be located in network 110, network 112, network 118, or other similar networks, as well as distribution system 100 (Para. 28);
Each wireless network device (e.g., wireless network device II 428) in the neighborhood of client 410 listens to connection requests, such as probe requests, association requests, authentication requests, etc., from client 410 (Para. 95);
…; and
generating, based at least in part on the PMK information, a PMK for use during secure communication with the electronic device, e.g., the second level security key (e.g., PMK-R1) is generated by the first level security key holder (e.g., R0KH), and the new wireless network device would need to receive the second level security key (e.g., PMK-R1) from the first level security key holder (e.g., R0KH) (Para. 82);
second level key holder (L2KH) within wireless network device II 428 will initiate process 495 to obtain the second level security key (e.g., PMK-R1) from the first level key holder (L1KH) for wireless client 410, wherein when the first level key holder (L1KH) at wireless network device II 428 hears connection requests 492 from client 410, L1KH may propagate 495 the second level security key (e.g., PMK-R1) to wireless network device II 428 after receiving requests from L2KH (Fig. 4B, el. 495; Para. 95), and
performing the fast BSS transition with the electronic device, e.g., the pro-active propagation mechanisms of leveled security key in accordance with the present disclosure accelerate the time required for completion of the Fast BSS Transition when a wireless station later seeks a BSS transition within the same mobility domain within the same ESS after initial mobility domain association (Para. 84);
FIGS. 4A-4B are sequence diagrams illustrating exemplary communication exchanges during propagation of leveled security keys under fast BSS transition (Para. 86).
Narasimhan does not clearly teach broadcasting, in response to the roaming request, a message in a network that comprises the access point and the second access point;
receiving, from the second access point, pairwise master key (PMK) information; and
wherein the message comprises a Layer 2 (L2) look-up message or a Layer 3 (L3) lookup message.
Henry teaches receiving, from the second access point, e.g., AP 130(2) (Figs. 2-5, el. 130(2)), pairwise master key (PMK) information, e.g., AP 130(2) may obtain the security material from AP 130(1) (Para. 52);
the security material may be PMKR0, which is a root key from which both AP 130(1) and AP 130(2) derive their own unique, respective PMKR1 keys (Para. 53);
At operation 535, AP 130(1) may respond, to AP 130(2), with the PMKR0 (Fig. 5, el. 535; Para. 98);
At operation 445, STA 110 may respond to the FT response action frame by sending an FT confirm action frame to AP 130(1), wherein the frame may include the BSSID of AP 130(2), the RSNE with the PMK-R1 name (derived from the PMK-RO Name), the MDE, and the FTE, wherein the FTE may include the ANonce, SNonce, MIC, R1KH-ID—secondary PMK-- obtained from AP 130(2), R0KH-ID, and MAC address of STA 110 (e.g., S1KH-ID), and at operation 450, AP 130(1) forwards this message over the DS to AP 130(2) (Para. 90).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Narasimhan to include receiving, from the second access point, pairwise master key (PMK) information, using the known method of providing, from a first access point, the PMK-R0 to a second access point, as taught by Henry, in combination with the fast transition system of Narasimhan, for the purpose of providing a greater assurance that the client and the different access points are using the same first level key.
Narasimhan in view of Henry does not clearly teach broadcasting, in response to the roaming request, a message in a network that comprises the access point and the second access point; and
wherein the message comprises a Layer 2 (L2) look-up message or a Layer 3 (L3) lookup message.
Unnimadhavan teaches broadcasting, in response to the roaming request, a message in a network that comprises the access point, e.g., a second network device (Fig. 2A, el. 220), wherein the network device may be an access point (Para. 15), and the second access point, e.g., particular network device (Fig. 2A, el. 205), wherein the network device may be an access point (Para. 15);
in STEP 230, the client device associates with the second network device, wherein the client device may have just roamed from the first network device—roaming request-- (Fig. 2B, el. 230; Para. 40);
in STEP 235, when the client device connects with the second network device for the first time, the network device is configured to determine whether other network devices in the same secondary network (e.g., IP subnets) as the secondary device have client information for the client device, wherein the network device may broadcast an L2 roaming query to other network devices in the same secondary network (Fig. 2B, el. 235; Para. 41);
in STEP 245, the L2 roaming query has failed, and only then does the second network device determine whether other network devices in other secondary networks have the client information, wherein only then does the second network device broadcast an L3 roaming query to the other secondary networks (Fig. 2B, el. 245; Para. 43); and
wherein the message comprises a Layer 2 (L2) look-up message or a Layer 3 (L3) lookup message, e.g., the network device may broadcast an L2 roaming query to other network devices in the same secondary network (Para. 41);
the second network device broadcast an L3 roaming query to the other secondary networks (Para. 43).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Narasimhan in view of Henry to include broadcasting, in response to the roaming request, a message in a network that comprises the access point and the second access point; and wherein the message comprises a Layer 2 (L2) look-up message or a Layer 3 (L3) lookup message, using the known method of broadcasting an L2 roaming query to other network devices in the same secondary network or an L3 roaming query to other secondary networks, as taught by Unnimadhavan, in combination with the fast transition system of Narasimhan in view of Henry, for the purpose of providing a response that blankets the region surrounding the device, thereby enabling key information to be provided from close by reducing latency.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is analyzed with respect to claim 8.
Regarding claim 21, Narasimhan teaches a method for performing a fast basic service set (BSS) transition by a first access point, e.g., wireless digital network device 700/wireless network device II 428/access point 325 (Fig. 3B, el. 325; Fig. 4B, el. 428; Fig. 7, el. 700), wherein the wireless network device may be an access point (Para. 61, 82), in a network, e.g., mobility domain 150 (Fig. 1, el. 150), the method comprising:
receiving, from an electronic device, e.g., client 410/client 310 (Fig. 3B, el. 310; Fig. 4B, el. 410), a roaming request, wherein the electronic device is currently associated with a second access point, e.g., wireless network device II 418/access point 320 (Fig. 3B, el. 320; Fig. 4B, el. 418), wherein the wireless network device may be an access point (Para. 61, 82);
client 310 roams to a new location and decides 360 to initiate Fast Transition (FT) to another network device, such as access point 325 (Fig. 3B, el. 360; Para. 75);
An authentication request 362, which is sent by client 310 and received by access point 325 (Fig. 3B, el. 362; Para. 77);
A re-association request 366, which is sent by client 310 at time point t.sub.20 and received by access point 325 (Fig. 3B, el. 366; Para. 79);
Each wireless network device (e.g., wireless network device II 428) in the neighborhood of client 410 listens to connection requests, such as probe requests, association requests, authentication requests, etc., from client 410 (Para. 95); and
wherein the first access point and the second access point are in a subset of the network, e.g., the network device determines the subset of network devices based on whether a network device exists in a neighborhood list indicating closest neighboring network devices to the wireless client, and the network device determines the subset of network devices, where the wireless client is likely to roam to, based on the degree of likelihood indicated on a roaming map of the wireless client, and the network device determines the subset of network devices based on a combination of static information (such as a neighborhood list) and dynamic information (such as a roaming map for a wireless client) (Para. 25);
Fig. 3B and one or more management network devices, such as an access point, may be located in network 110, network 112, network 118, or other similar networks, as well as distribution system 100 (Para. 28);
Each wireless network device (e.g., wireless network device II 428) in the neighborhood of client 410 listens to connection requests, such as probe requests, association requests, authentication requests, etc., from client 410 (Para. 95);
sending, in response to the roaming request, a message…, e.g.,
An authentication response 364, which is sent by access point 325 after completing an authentication process, e.g., EAPOL, with an authentication server, and which is received by client 310 (Fig. 3B, el. 364; Para. 78);
re-association response 368, which is sent by access point 325 at time point t.sub.22 and received by client 310 (Fig. 3B, el. 368; Para. 80);
…the second access point and a router that are in the subset of the network, e.g., Mobility domain 150 includes a plurality of networks, such as network 110, network 112, . . . network 118 (Fig. 1, el. 110, 112, 118, 150; Para. 27);
one or more management network devices, such as an access point, a network controller, a switch, a router, and so on, may be located in network 110, network 112, network 118, or other similar networks, as well as distribution system 100, wherein network 110 comprises access point 130a and one or more wireless stations including wireless station 140a, and network 112 comprises access point 130b and one or more wireless stations including wireless station 140b and wireless station 140c, and network 118 comprises access point 130n, and one or more wireless stations including wireless station 140n (Fig. 1, el. 130a, 130b, 130n, 140a, 140b, 140n; Para. 28);
As used herein, "network device" generally includes a device that is adapted to transmit and/or receive signaling and to process information within such signaling such as a station, an access point, data transfer devices (such as network switches, routers, controllers, etc.) or the like (Para. 124);
…; and
generating, based at least in part on the PMK information, a PMK for use during secure communication with the electronic device, e.g., the second level security key (e.g., PMK-R1) is generated by the first level security key holder (e.g., R0KH), and the new wireless network device would need to receive the second level security key (e.g., PMK-R1) from the first level security key holder (e.g., R0KH) (Para. 82);
second level key holder (L2KH) within wireless network device II 428 will initiate process 495 to obtain the second level security key (e.g., PMK-R1) from the first level key holder (L1KH) for wireless client 410, wherein when the first level key holder (L1KH) at wireless network device II 428 hears connection requests 492 from client 410, L1KH may propagate 495 the second level security key (e.g., PMK-R1) to wireless network device II 428 after receiving requests from L2KH (Fig. 4B, el. 495; Para. 95), and
performing the fast BSS transition with the electronic device, e.g., the pro-active propagation mechanisms of leveled security key in accordance with the present disclosure accelerate the time required for completion of the Fast BSS Transition when a wireless station later seeks a BSS transition within the same mobility domain within the same ESS after initial mobility domain association (Para. 84);
FIGS. 4A-4B are sequence diagrams illustrating exemplary communication exchanges during propagation of leveled security keys under fast BSS transition (Para. 86).
Narasimhan does not clearly teach broadcasting, in response to the roaming request, a message only to the second access point and a router that are in the subset of the network; and
receiving, from the second access point, pairwise master key (PMK) information.
Henry teaches receiving, from the second access point, e.g., AP 130(2) (Figs. 2-5, el. 130(2)), pairwise master key (PMK) information, e.g., AP 130(2) may obtain the security material from AP 130(1) (Para. 52);
the security material may be PMKR0, which is a root key from which both AP 130(1) and AP 130(2) derive their own unique, respective PMKR1 keys (Para. 53);
At operation 535, AP 130(1) may respond, to AP 130(2), with the PMKR0 (Fig. 5, el. 535; Para. 98);
At operation 445, STA 110 may respond to the FT response action frame by sending an FT confirm action frame to AP 130(1), wherein the frame may include the BSSID of AP 130(2), the RSNE with the PMK-R1 name (derived from the PMK-RO Name), the MDE, and the FTE, wherein the FTE may include the ANonce, SNonce, MIC, R1KH-ID—secondary PMK-- obtained from AP 130(2), R0KH-ID, and MAC address of STA 110 (e.g., S1KH-ID), and at operation 450, AP 130(1) forwards this message over the DS to AP 130(2) (Para. 90).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Narasimhan to include receiving, from the second access point, pairwise master key (PMK) information, using the known method of providing, from a first access point, the PMK-R0 to a second access point, as taught by Henry, in combination with the fast transition system of Narasimhan, for the purpose of providing a greater assurance that the client and the different access points are using the same first level key.
Narasimhan in view of Henry does not clearly teach broadcasting, in response to the roaming request, a message only to the second access point and a router that are in the subset of the network.
Unnimadhavan teaches broadcasting, in response to the roaming request, a message only to the second access point and a…that are in the subset of the network, e.g., wherein the network device may be the access point, the controller, an access point that includes the functionality of a controller, a switch (e.g., mobility access switch), or other such device (Para. 15);
in STEP 230, the client device associates with the second network device, wherein the client device may have just roamed from the first network device—roaming request-- (Fig. 2B, el. 230; Para. 40);
in STEP 235, when the client device connects with the second network device for the first time, the network device is configured to determine whether other network devices in the same secondary network (e.g., IP subnets) as the secondary device have client information for the client device, wherein the network device may broadcast an L2 roaming query to other network devices in the same secondary network (Fig. 2B, el. 235; Para. 41);
in STEP 245, the L2 roaming query has failed, and only then does the second network device determine whether other network devices in other secondary networks have the client information, wherein only then does the second network device broadcast an L3 roaming query to the other secondary networks (Fig. 2B, el. 245; Para. 43).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Narasimhan in view of Henry to include broadcasting, in response to the roaming request, a message only to the second access point and a router that are in the subset of the network, using the known method of broadcasting an L2 roaming query to other network devices in the same secondary network or an L3 roaming query to other secondary networks, as taught by Unnimadhavan, in combination with the fast transition system of Narasimhan in view of Henry, for the purpose of providing a response that blankets the region surrounding the device, thereby enabling key information to be provided from close by reducing latency.
Regarding claim 22, Narasimhan in view of Henry in view of Unnimadhavan teaches the access point of claim 1, wherein the fast BSS transition is performed without involving a controller of the first access point or the second access point, e.g., FIG. 3B illustrates exemplary communication exchanges during an FT roaming by client 310 from one access point 320 to another access point 325, which is located within the same mobility domain (Narasimhan-Fig. 3B; Para. 75);
Also note Henry discloses utilizing communications between the station, AP 130(1) and AP 130(2) in the fast transition process (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 23, Narasimhan in view of Henry in view of Unnimadhavan teaches the method of claim 21, wherein the message comprises a Layer 2 (L2) look-up message or a Layer 3 (L3) lookup message, e.g., the network device may broadcast an L2 roaming query to other network devices in the same secondary network (Unnimadhavan-Para. 41);
the second network device broadcast an L3 roaming query to the other secondary networks (Unnimadhavan-Para. 43).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narasimhan in view of Henry in view of Unnimadhavan and further in view of Nguyen et al. (US 2006/0256763 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Narasimhan in view of Henry in view of Unnimadhavan teaches the access point of claim 1.
Narasimhan in view of Henry in view of Unnimadhavan does not clearly teach wherein, after associating with the electronic device, the one or more interface circuits are configured to provide, to a controller of the access point, an update to session information of the electronic device.
Nguyen teaches wherein, after associating with the electronic device, the one or more interface circuits are configured to provide, to a controller of the access point, an update to session information of the electronic device, e.g., Once the STA—electronic device-- completes the standard IEEE 802.11i 4-way handshake, it generates the PTK and can continue the session, and the AP B—access point-- then facilitates the update of the neighbor graph implicitly by issuing to the Service Controller (SC)—controller-- an IAPP_MOVE_NOTIFY message, wherein the IAPP_MOVE_NOTIFY message includes a data field that indicates the last AP visited by the STA, and the SC learns of the actual connection (in this case between AP A, the last AP visited, and AP B, the current AP) by examining the data in this field (Para. 19).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Narasimhan in view of Henry in view of Unnimadhavan to include wherein, after associating with the electronic device, the one or more interface circuits are configured to provide, to a controller of the access point, an update to session information of the electronic device, using the known method of updating, by the controller, the neighbor graph by using data received from the new access point, as taught by Nguyen, in combination with the fast transition system of Narasimhan in view of Henry in view of Unnimadhavan, for the purpose of reducing network congestion while also reducing connection interruptions (Nguyen-Para. 7).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mishra et al. (US 2014/0023074 A1)—Mishra discloses switching the message may for example, be accomplished with a special instruction that indicates that the routing should be cancelled and a Layer-2 lookup should be used. Since the destination MAC is not overwritten, the result is that the message is switched to the MAC address of one of the routers at the Layer-2/Layer-3 boundary with the original VLAN tag on it (Para. 49).
Joo et al. (US 2019/0020735 A1)—Joo discloses upon determining not to communicate with the electronic device 101, the external electronic device may disregard the connection request or broadcast responses indicating a rejection of the communication. For example, the external electronic device may broadcast the responses through the first channel (Para. 70, 71).
Narasimhan et al. (US 2013/0305332 A1)—Narasimhan discloses a network device and method for providing data link layer (L2) and network layer (L3) mobility using level security keys (Abstract).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
13 March 2026
/Jeremy S Duffield/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2498