Claim Objections
Claims 5-7, 12-14 and 18-20 objected to because of the following informalities:
The above claims recite the acronyms KTE, LIF and PTE. Applicant is requested to define the acronyms within the claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 1. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: the distributed services platform in claim 15. Support in the specification, paragraph 68, states that the distributed services platform may represent an integrated circuit (IC).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grubisic et al. (US 2015/0178220) in view of Yokoyama et al. (US 2020/0293454.
Regarding claim 1, Grubisic discloses an integrated circuit (IC), comprising: memory encoded with lookup tables; and a discrete logic translation circuit configured to convert virtual addresses to physical addresses based on contents of the lookup tables [see Fig. 1 & paragraphs 29-33 & 57-58; address translation circuitry includes a processing pipeline including a plurality of stages to translate a virtual address to a physical address utilizing lookup tables].
Grubisic does not expressly disclose converting virtual addresses to physical addresses based on operational codes within memory access requests.
Yokoyama discloses a memory system that translates virtual addresses to physical addresses. An access command includes a namespace ID (interpreted as opcode) and a logical (virtual) address, and the address is translated based on the address and namespace ID [see paragraph 22].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the namespace ID in the system of Grubisic.
The motivation for doing so would have been support storage devices utilizing namespaces, and to translate a logical address for its intended namespace [see paragraphs 18 & 22].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Yokoyama with Grubisic for the benefits listed above, to obtain the invention as specified in claims 1 and 8.
Regarding claim 4, the combination discloses the IC of claim 1, wherein the discrete logic translation circuit is further configured to: convert the virtual addresses to the physical addresses based further on operational codes within the memory access requests [see Yokoyama, paragraph 22; instructions are individually translated based on a logical address and namespace ID provided with an access command].
Claims 8 and 11 recite similar claim limitations as claims 1 and 4 and are rejected using the same citations and interpretations as discussed above.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grubisic in view of Yokoyama and further in view of Marcovitch et al. (US 2025/0028648).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Grubisic and Yokoyama discloses a system, comprising:
a host device [see Grubisic, Fig. 1, GPU master];
a memory device [see Grubisic, Fig. 1; memory];
a distributed services platform comprising one or more integrated circuit (IC) devices, wherein the distributed services platform comprises,
a system-on-chip portion comprising a host interface configured to interface with the host device, a memory controller configured to interface with the memory device [see Grubisic, Fig. 1; translation circuitry interfaces hit GPU master (host) and memory], a processor, and an interconnect configured to interface with the host interface, the memory controller, the offload engine, the processor, and the networking portion;
wherein the networking portion comprises a processing pipeline comprising multiple processing stages that each comprises respective discrete logic translation circuits configured to convert virtual addresses to physical addresses based on table lookups based on operational codes within memory access requests [see Grubisic, Fig. 1 & paragraphs 29-33 & 57-58; address translation circuitry includes a processing pipeline including a plurality of stages to translate a virtual address to a physical address utilizing lookup tables & Yokoyama, paragraph 22; address translated based on provided logical address and namespace ID (operation code)].
The combination does not expressly disclose a networking portion, and an offload engine configured to perform a function of one or more the host device and the networking portion, a processor
Marcovitch discloses a RDMA network interface controller (NIC) comprising address translation services, a network interface, and a packet processor for sending and receiving packets over network for a connected host [see Fig. 1 & paragraph 26].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize network interface controller of Marcovitch in the system of Grubisic and Yokoyama.
The motivation for doing so would have been to provide improved techniques for address translation and memory access in computing systems [see Marcovitch, paragraph 18].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Marcovitch with Grubisic and Yokoyama for the benefits listed above, to obtain the invention as specified in claim 15.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5-7, 10, 12-14, and 17-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art of record fails to teach or render obvious the claim limitations regarding the discrete logic translation circuit is further configured to: look-up up logical interface (LIF) keys based on LIF identifiers (LIF IDs) of memory access requests; look-up key table entries (KTEs) based on the LIF keys, translation keys of the memory access requests, and key table (KT) base addresses of the memory access requests; and look-up page table entries (PTE) based on the KTEs and virtual addresses of the memory access requests. The prior art of record fails to teach or render obvious the claim limitations regarding a match-action circuit to provide memory access requests to translation circuitry and one or more processors based on a matching input vector. The prior art of record fails to teach or render obvious the claim limitations regarding the encoding of LIF tables, key tables and page tables. The prior art of record fails to teach or render obvious the claim limitations regarding the translation circuitry processing memory access requests in accordance with the one or more claimed modes specified in the operational codes.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Auernhammer (US 2012/0303948) – Discloses the translation of virtual to physical memory addresses in a RDMA environment.
Kagan (US 2013/0067193) – Discloses a network interface controller with processing circuitry to use translation tables to translate virtual addresses to physical addresses.
Brandt (US 10,083,124) – Discloses a pipelines virtual address translation system wherein the pipeline comprises multiple stages.
Chandrashekhar (US 2015/0106804) – Discloses utilizing logical interfaces (LIFs) of incoming packets to support network address translations.
/RYAN BERTRAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2137