DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-10 have been considered but are moot due to a new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (US 2021/0281514 A1) in view of Song et al. (US 2021/0084530 A1), and further in view of Mirza (US 2018/0287930 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Guo discloses a monitoring device (102) comprising: processing circuitry (704) configured to set a first node (232 or 804a) to copy a first packet (204) in user communication to generate a second packet for determining switching from a first route to a second route as a destination candidate route (fig. 2A; paragraph [0051]-[0054]); set the first node to, enable an In-band Network Telemetry (INT) setting of the first packet and the second packet (e.g. figs. 2C-2D, 3-5, 8; paragraph [0029]-[0033]; [0042]; [0047]-[0048]; [0053]-[0054]; [0057]-[0062]; [0065]; [0073]; [0078]-[0079]; enable to set the in band telemetry data or information as latency, jitter, loss, and so on); set the first node to transmit the first packet through the first route and the second packet through the second route (paths 1-3) (figs. 2A, 8; paragraph [0051]-[0054], illustrating a network element or router at a transmission side is set that switches or selects a path based on the transmitting the same packet to each path, where the packet is telemetry packet including telemetry information); set a second node (234 or 806a) information of the first packet and the second packet, where the second node is on a reception side that accommodates the first route and the second route (figs. 2A, 8; paragraph [0051]-[0054], explaining that a network element or router at a reception end is set to receive the packet with telemetry information from each of the corresponding paths in performing the switching or selecting a path).
Guo does not explicitly disclose set the second node to collect INT information of the copied packet; set the second node to discard the second packet, and acquire the INT information of the first packet and the second packet from the second node.
Song teaches set the second node to collect INT information of the copied packet, and acquire the INT information of the copied packet from the second node (paragraph [0004]; [0013]; [0041]; [0044]; [0047]-[0049]; and so on).
Song does not teach set the second node to discard the second packet.
Mirza teaches set the second node to discard the second packet (paragraph [0013]; [0027]; and [0044]-[0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use set the second node to collect INT information of the copied packet; set the second node to discard the second packet, and acquire the INT information of the first packet and the second packet from the second node as taught by Song and Mirza into Guo in order to increase accuracy, efficiency, to reduce congestion, and to improve rate of communication.
Regarding claim 2, Guo further discloses comprising: processing circuitry configured to visualize communication quality of the destination candidates in the user communication based on the acquired INT information (paragraph [0047]; [0067]; [0069]; [0073]-[0077]; [0089]-[0090]).
Regarding claims 3-4, the claims include features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 1. The claims are mere reformulation of claim 1 in order to define the corresponding method, and a monitoring program, and the rejection to claim 1 is applied hereto.
Regarding claim 5, Guo discloses the processor further configured to execute operations comprising: setting, based on the acquired INT information, the first node to switch from the first route to the second route as a destination route (figs. 2A, 8; paragraph [0051]-[0054]; and so on).
Regarding claim 6, Guo discloses the processor further configured to execute operations comprising: setting the first node to enable the INT setting of the second packet subsequent to the switch from the first route to the second route (e.g. figs. 2C-2D, 3-5, 8; paragraph [0029]-[0033]; [0042]; [0047]-[0048]; [0053]-[0054]; [0057]-[0062]; [0065]; [0073]; [0078]-[0079]); setting the first node to transmit the second packet over both the first route as an updated destination candidate route and the second route setting the second node for the second packet received respectively from the first and second routes (figs. 2A, 8; paragraph [0051]-[0054]; and etc.); acquiring another INT information of the second packet from the second node (figs. 2A, 8; paragraph [0051]-[0054]; and etc.); presenting, based on the acquired said another INT information, communication quality information of at least the first route (paragraph [0015]; [0022]-[0024]; [0026]-[0035]; [0054]; [0073]-[0076]; and so on).
Guo does not explicitly disclose the setting the second node is to discard the second packet, and acquiring another INT information of the second packet from the second node.
Song teaches acquiring another INT information of the second packet from the second node (paragraph [0004]; [0013]; [0041]; [0044]; [0047]-[0049]; and so on).
Song does not teach the setting the second node is to discard the second packet.
Mirza teaches the setting the second node is to discard the second packet (paragraph [0013]; [0027]; and [0044]-[0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the setting the second node is to discard the second packet, and acquiring another INT information of the second packet from the second node as taught by Song and Mirza into Guo in order to increase accuracy, efficiency, to reduce congestion, and to improve rate of communication.
Regarding claim 7 and 9, Guo further discloses comprising: setting, based on the acquired INT information, the first node to switch from the first route to the second route as a destination route (e.g. figs. 2C-2D, 3-5, 8; paragraph [0029]-[0033]; [0042]; [0047]-[0048]; [0051]-[0054]; [0057]-[0062]; [0065]; [0073]; [0078]-[0079]).
Regarding claim 8 and 10, Guo further discloses comprising: setting the first node to enable the INT setting of the second packet (e.g. figs. 2C-2D, 3-5, 8; paragraph [0029]-[0033]; [0042]; [0047]-[0048]; [0051]-[0054]; [0057]-[0062]; [0065]; [0073]; [0078]-[0079]); setting the first node to transmit the second packet over both the first route as an updated destination candidate route and the second route subsequent to the switch from the first route to the second route (figs. 2A, 8; paragraph [0051]-[0054]; and etc.); acquiring another INT information of the second packet from the second node (paragraph [0042]; [0047]; [0053]-[0054]; [0058]-[0062]; [0065]-[0067]; [0073]; [0078]-[0079]; and etc.); and presenting, based on the acquired said another INT information, communication quality information of at least the first route (paragraph [0073]-[0076]; [0015]; [0026]-[0033]; and etc.).
Guo does not explicitly disclose the setting of the second node is to discard the second packet received respectively from the first and second routes.
Mirza teaches the setting of the second node is to discard the second packet received respectively from the first and second routes (paragraph [0013]; [0027]; and [0044]-[0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the setting of the second node is to discard the second packet received respectively from the first and second routes as taught by Mirza into Guo in order to improve rate of communication.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIBROM T HAILU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461