Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1-3, 10-15 and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by TAN et al. (US Pub. No: 2023/0038753 A1).
Regarding claim 1, TAN et al. teach an access method performed by a User Equipment (UE) (see Abstract and Fig.7/UE), comprising transmitting a first pilot and a first message in a random access procedure (see Fig.7 and para [0060] wherein the UE sending the reduced capability NR UE information to the gNB by including the reduced capability NR UE information in the random access message 1, is mentioned, and also see para [0061] wherein the radio capability information being represented by sending the random access preamble (that includes first pilot) on PRACH resources configured by the reduced capability NR UE, is mentioned and also see para [0063] wherein the UE reporting the reduced capability NR UE information by using an RRC message when sending the random access message 1 (MSG1), is mentioned), wherein a UE type of the UE is indicated in the first pilot and/or the first message in accordance with a predefined mode and/or indication information (see para [0061] wherein the at least one set of random access preamble being only used for the reduced capability NR UE, each random access preamble corresponds to one control resource set, is mentioned and also the radio capability information being represented by sending the random access preamble on PRACH resources configured by the reduced capability NR UE, is mentioned and also see para [0062] wherein a random access preamble independent of NR being configured for the reduced capability NR UE, is mentioned and also see para [0063] wherein the UE reporting the reduced capability NR UE information by using an RRC message when sending the random access message 1 (MSG1), is mentioned, all of which clearly equivalent to ‘wherein a UE type of the UE is indicated in the first pilot and/or the first message in accordance with a predefined mode and/or indication information’ and also see para [0064]).
Regarding claim 2, TAN et al. further teach the access method according to claim 1, wherein the UE type of the UE is indicated in the first pilot and/or the first message in accordance with the predefined mode and/or indication information through at least one of modes: mode U1: indicating the UE type of the UE in the first pilot in accordance with a first predefined mode, mode U2: indicating the UE type of the UE in the first message in accordance with a second predefined mode, mode U3: indicating the UE type of the UE in the first pilot and the first message in a third predefined mode, mode U4: indicating the UE type of the UE in the first pilot in accordance with a fourth predefined mode, and indicating the UE type of the UE in the first message in accordance with first indication information, mode U5: indicating the UE type of the UE in the first pilot in accordance with second indication information, and indicating the UE type of the UE in the first message in accordance with a fifth predefined mode, mode U6: indicating the UE type of the UE in the first pilot and/or the first message in accordance with third indication information or mode U7: indicating the UE type of the UE in the random access procedure in accordance with fourth indication information, and indicating the UE type of the UE in the first pilot or the first message in accordance with a sixth predefined mode (see para [0061] wherein the at least one set of random access preamble being only used for the reduced capability NR UE, each random access preamble corresponds to one control resource set, is mentioned and also the radio capability information being represented by sending the random access preamble on PRACH resources configured by the reduced capability NR UE, is mentioned and also see para [0062] wherein a random access preamble independent of NR being configured for the reduced capability NR UE, is mentioned, all of which clearly equivalent to ‘wherein the UE type of the UE is indicated in the first pilot and/or the first message in accordance with the predefined mode and/or indication information through at least one of modes: mode U1: indicating the UE type of the UE in the first pilot in accordance with a first predefined mode’ and also see paragraphs [0063] & [0064] wherein the UE reporting the reduced capability NR UE information by using an RRC message when sending the random access message 1 (MSG1) and sending the radio capability information to the gNB including the PRACH resource configuration information corresponding to the reduced capability NR UE includes an uplink BWP common parameter and PRACH resource configuration information dedicated for sending the reduced capability NR UE, or the PRACH resource configuration information corresponding to the reduced capability NR UE includes uplink BWP configuration information configured dedicated for sending the reduced capability NR UE and PRACH resource configuration information corresponding to the uplink BWP configuration information, is mentioned, all of which also includes and is equivalent to ‘mode U2: indicating the UE type of the UE in the first message in accordance with a second predefined mode’ ).
Regarding claim 3, TAN et al. further teach the access method according to claim 2, wherein in mode U1, the indicating the UE type of the UE in the first pilot in accordance with the first predefined mode comprises, in the case that a network device has configured a specific Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) preamble sequence and/or a specific random access occasion for the UE, indicating the UE type of the UE in the first pilot, or, wherein in mode U2, the indicating the UE type of the UE in the first message in accordance with the second predefined mode comprises at least one of: in the case that the UE type of the UE fails to be indicated in the first pilot, indicating the UE type of the UE in the first message; in the case that a network device fails to configure a specific PRACH preamble sequence and a specific random access occasion for the UE, indicating the UE type of the UE in the first message; in the case that the network device has configured a specific initial uplink Bandwidth Part (BWP) for the UE, indicating the UE type of the UE in the first message; in the case that the network device fails to configure the specific PRACH preamble sequence and the specific random access occasion for the UE but has configured the specific initial uplink BWP for the UE, indicating the UE type of the UE in the first message; or in the case that regardless whether or not the network device has configured the specific PRACH preamble sequence and/or the specific random access occasion for the UE, indicating the UE type of the UE in the first message, or, wherein in mode U3, the indicating the UE type of the UE in the first pilot and the first message in accordance with the third predefined mode comprises: in the case that a network device has configured a specific PRACH preamble sequence and/or a specific random access occasion for the UE, indicating the UE type of the UE in the first pilot, and in the case that the network device has configured a specific initial uplink BWP for the UE, indicating the UE type of the UE in the first message; or in the case that the network device has configured the specific PRACH preamble sequence and/or the specific random access occasion for the UE, indicating the UE type of the UE in the first pilot, and in the case that regardless whether or not the network device has configured the specific PRACH preamble sequence and/or the specific random access occasion for the UE, indicating the UE type of the UE in the first message, or, wherein in mode U4, the indicating the UE type of the UE in the first pilot in accordance with the fourth predefined mode comprises, in the case that a network device has configured a specific PRACH preamble sequence and/or a specific random access occasion for the UE, indicating the UE type of the UE in the first pilot; the indicating the UE type of the UE in the first message in accordance with the first indication information comprises, in the case that the first indication information indicates that a UE type is to be indicated in the first message, indicating the UE type of the UE in the first message, or, wherein in mode U5, the indicating the UE type of the UE in the first pilot in accordance with the second indication information comprises, in the case that the second indication information indicates that a UE type is to be indicated in the first pilot, indicating the UE type of the UE in the first pilot, wherein the indicating the UE type of the UE in the first message in accordance with the fifth predefined mode comprises at least one of: in the case that the UE type of the UE fails to be indicated in the first pilot, indicating the UE type of the UE in the first message: in the case that a network device has configured a specific initial uplink BWP for the UE, indicating the UE type of the UE in the first message; in the case that the UE type of the UE fails to be indicated in the first pilot and the network device has configured the specific initial uplink BWP for the UE, indicating the UE type of the UE in the first message; or in the case that regardless whether or not the network device has configured the specific PRACH preamble sequence and/or the specific random access occasion for the UE, indicating the UE type of the UE in the first message, or, wherein in mode U6, the indicating the UE type of the UE in the first pilot and/or the first message in accordance with the third indication information comprises at least one of: in the case that the third indication information indicates that a UE type is to be indicated merely in the first pilot, indicating the UE type of the UE in the first pilot; in the case that the third indication information indicates that a UE type is to be indicated merely in the first message, indicating the UE type of the UE in the first message: in the case that the third indication information indicates that a UE type is to be indicated in the first pilot and the first message, indicating the UE type of the UE in the first pilot and the first message; or in the case that the third indication information indicates that no UE type is to be indicated in the first pilot and the first message, not indicating the UE type of the UE in the first pilot and the first message, or, wherein in mode U7, the indicating the UE type of the UE in the random access procedure in accordance with the fourth indication information comprises, in the case that the fourth indication information indicates that the UE type of the UE is to be indicated in the random access procedure, indicating the UE type of the UE in the random access procedure in accordance with the fourth indication information, wherein the indicating the UE type of the UE in the first pilot or the first message in accordance with the sixth predefined mode comprises: in the case that a network device has configured a specific PRACH preamble sequence and/or a specific random access occasion for the UE, indicating the UE type of the UE in the first pilot; or in the case that the network device fails to configure the specific PRACH preamble sequence and the specific random access occasion for the UE, indicating the UE type of the UE in the first message; or in the case that the UE type of the UE fails to be indicated in the first pilot, indicating the UE type of the UE in the first message (see para [0061] wherein the at least one set of random access preamble being only used for the reduced capability NR UE, each random access preamble corresponds to one control resource set, is mentioned and also the radio capability information being represented by sending the random access preamble on PRACH resources configured by the reduced capability NR UE, is mentioned and also see para [0062] wherein a random access preamble independent of NR being configured for the reduced capability NR UE, is mentioned, and also see para [0176] wherein the random access preamble used only for the reduced capability NR UE in the first SIB receiving unit of UE from gNB, is mentioned, all of which clearly equivalent to “wherein in mode U1, the indicating the UE type of the UE in the first pilot in accordance with the first predefined mode comprises, in the case that a network device has configured a specific Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) preamble sequence and/or a specific random access occasion for the UE, indicating the UE type of the UE in the first pilot and also see paragraphs [0063] & [0064] wherein the UE reporting the reduced capability NR UE information by using an RRC message when sending the random access message 1 (MSG1) and sending the radio capability information to the gNB including the PRACH resource configuration information corresponding to the reduced capability NR UE includes an uplink BWP common parameter and PRACH resource configuration information dedicated for sending the reduced capability NR UE, or the PRACH resource configuration information corresponding to the reduced capability NR UE includes uplink BWP configuration information configured dedicated for sending the reduced capability NR UE and PRACH resource configuration information corresponding to the uplink BWP configuration information, is mentioned, all of which also includes and is equivalent to ‘wherein in mode U2, the indicating the UE type of the UE in the first message in accordance with the second predefined mode comprises at least one of: in the case that the network device has configured a specific initial uplink Bandwidth Part (BWP) for the UE, indicating the UE type of the UE in the first message’).
Regarding claim 10, TAN et al. further teach the access method according to claim 1, wherein the UE type of the UE is indicated in the first pilot through using, by the first pilot, a PRACH preamble sequence specific for the UE and/or transmitting the first pilot in a random access occasion specific for the UE (see para [0061] wherein the at least one set of random access preamble being only used for the reduced capability NR UE, each random access preamble corresponds to one control resource set, is mentioned and also the radio capability information being represented by sending the random access preamble on PRACH resources configured by the reduced capability NR UE, is mentioned and also see para [0062] wherein a random access preamble independent of NR being configured for the reduced capability NR UE, is mentioned), wherein the UE type of the UE is indicated in the first message through carrying a logical channel identity specific for the UE in the first message (see para [0068] wherein the radio capability information being indicated by using the reserved value of the LCID in the MAC sub-header in the random access message includes: a dedicated LCID value is defined for a reduced capability NR UE, and the dedicated LCID value is used for indicating both random access message related information and the radio capability information, is mentioned).
Regarding claim 11, TAN et al. further teach the access method according to claim 1, wherein the UE type is a Reduced Capability (RedCap) UE type (see para [0059] wherein the random access message 1 is sent to the gNB, where the radio capability information being represented in the random access message 1 by a random access preamble for the reduced capability NR UE only (that includes the UE type is a Reduced Capability (RedCap) UE type), is mentioned).
Regarding claim 12, TAN et al. further teach the access method according to claim 1, wherein the random access procedure is a four-step random access procedure, the first pilot is a PRACH pilot in the random access procedure and the first message is a message3 (Msg3) in the random access procedure or the random access procedure is a two-step random access procedure, the first pilot is a PRACH pilot in a message A (MsgA) in the random access procedure, and the first message is a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) in the MsgA in the random access procedure (see para [0056] wherein the UE may add reduced capability NR UE information to a random access message for sending when the UE sends a random access message 1 (Msg 1/MsgA), where the random access message 1 may be an Msg 1/MsgA containing a random access preamble and a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) in a resource configuration process of a two-step physical random access channel (PRACH), and an Msg1 containing a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) and used for preconfiguring special resources in an idle mode, is mentioned).
Regarding claim 13, TAN et al. teach an access method performed by a network device (see Abstract and Figures 7&8/gNB), comprising: receiving a first pilot and a first message from a User Equipment (UE) in a random access procedure (see Fig.7 and para [0060] wherein the UE sending the reduced capability NR UE information to be received by the gNB by including the reduced capability NR UE information in the random access message 1, is mentioned, and also see para [0061] wherein the radio capability information being represented by sending the random access preamble (that includes first pilot) on PRACH resources configured by the reduced capability NR UE, is mentioned and also see para [0063] wherein the UE reporting the reduced capability NR UE information by using an RRC message when sending the random access message 1 (MSG1), is mentioned) and determining a UE type of the UE through the first pilot and/or the first message in accordance with a predefined mode and/or indication information (see para [0061] wherein at least one set of random access preamble being only used for the reduced capability NR UE, each random access preamble corresponds to one control resource set (CORESET), where the CORESET being used for determining a possible position of a downlink control channel and the radio capability information is represented by sending the random access preamble on PRACH resources configured by the reduced capability NR UE, is mentioned and also see para [0071]).
Regarding claim 14, TAN et al. further teach the access method according to claim 13, wherein the determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot and/or the first message in accordance with the predefined mode and/or indication information comprises at least one of modes: mode N1: determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot in accordance with a first predefined mode, mode N2: determining the UE type of the UE through the first message in accordance with a second predefined mode, mode N3: determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot and/or the first message in accordance with a third predefined mode, mode N4: determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot in accordance with a fourth predefined mode, and determining the UE type of the UE through the first message in accordance with first indication information, mode N5: determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot in accordance with second indication information, and determining the UE type of the UE through the first message in accordance with a fifth predefined mode, mode N6: determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot and/or the first message in accordance with third indication information, or mode N7: determining the UE type of the UE in the random access procedure in accordance with fourth indication information, and determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot or the first message in accordance with a sixth predefined mode (see para [0061] wherein at least one set of random access preamble being only used for the reduced capability NR UE, each random access preamble corresponds to one control resource set (CORESET), where the CORESET being used for determining a possible position of a downlink control channel and the radio capability information is represented by sending the random access preamble on PRACH resources configured by the reduced capability NR UE, is mentioned, all of which includes and is equivalent to “the determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot and/or the first message in accordance with the predefined mode and/or indication information comprising at least one of modes: mode N1: determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot in accordance with a first predefined mode” and also see para [0066] wherein the radio capability information implements the reduced capability NR UE information in at least one of following manners: the reduced capability NR UE information is explicitly included in the random access message 3 in at least one of following manners: the reduced capability NR UE information is indicated by using a reserved bit in an RRC establishment request, is mentioned and also see para [0070] wherein the gNB determining whether the UE is the reduced capability NR UE according to a reserved bit value, for example, in the RRC establishment request, one bit reserved in this information being defined as 1 represents the reduced capability NR UE information, is mentioned, all of which includes and is equivalent to “the determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot and/or the first message in accordance with the predefined mode and/or indication information comprising at least one of modes: mode N2: determining the UE type of the UE through the first message in accordance with a second predefined mode and also see para [0071]).
Regarding claim 15, TAN et al. further teach the access method according to claim 14, wherein in mode N1, the determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot in accordance with the first predefined mode comprises, in the case that the network device has configured a specific Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) preamble sequence and/or a specific random access occasion for the UE, determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot, or, wherein in mode N2, the determining the UE type of the UE through the first message in accordance with the second predefined mode comprises at least one of: in the case that the UE type of the UE fails to be indicated in the first pilot, determining the UE type of the UE through the first message, in the case that the network device fails to configure a specific PRACH preamble sequence and a specific random access occasion for the UE, determining the UE type of the UE through the first message, in the case that the network device has configured a specific initial uplink Bandwidth Part (BWP) for the UE, determining the UE type of the UE through the first message, in the case that the network device fails to configure the specific PRACH preamble sequence and the specific random access occasion for the UE but has configured the specific initial uplink BWP for the UE, determining the UE type of the UE through the first message or in the case that regardless whether or not the network device has configured the specific PRACH preamble sequence and/or the specific random access occasion for the UE, determining the UE type of the UE through the first message, or, wherein in mode N3, the determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot and/or the first message in accordance with the third predefined mode comprises: in the case that the network device has configured a specific PRACH preamble sequence and/or a specific random access occasion for the UE, determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot, and in the case that the network device has configured a specific initial uplink BWP for the UE, determining the UE type of the UE through the first message, or in the case that the network device has configured the specific PRACH preamble sequence and/or the specific random access occasion for the UE, determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot, and in the case that regardless whether or not the network device has configured the specific PRACH preamble sequence and/or the specific random access occasion for the UE, determining the UE type of the UE through the first message, or, wherein in mode N4, the determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot in accordance with the fourth predefined mode comprises, in the case that the network device has configured a specific PRACH preamble sequence and/or a specific random access occasion for the UE, determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot: the determining the UE type of the UE through the first message in accordance with the first indication information comprises, in the case that the first indication information indicates that a UE type is to be indicated in the first message, determining the UE type of the UE through the first message, or, wherein in mode N5, the determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot in accordance with the second indication information comprises, in the case that the second indication information indicates that a UE type is to be indicated in the first pilot, determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot, wherein the determining the UE type of the UE through the first message in accordance with the fifth predefined mode comprises at least one of: in the case that the UE type of the UE fails to be indicated in the first pilot, determining the UE type of the UE through the first message, in the case that the network device has configured a specific initial uplink BWP for the UE, determining the UE type of the UE through the first message, in the case that the UE type of the UE fails to be indicated in the first pilot and the network device has configured the specific initial uplink BWP for the UE, determining the UE type of the UE through the first message or in the case that regardless whether or not the network device has configured the specific PRACH preamble sequence and/or the specific random access occasion for the UE, determining the UE type of the UE through the first message, or, wherein in mode N6, the determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot and/or the first message in accordance with the third indication information comprises at least one of: in the case that the third indication information indicates that a UE type is to be indicated merely in the first pilot, determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot, in the case that the third indication information indicates that a UE type is to be indicated merely in the first message, determining the UE type of the UE through the first message, in the case that the third indication information indicates that a UE type is to be indicated in the first pilot and the first message, determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot and the first message; or in the case that the third indication information indicates that no UE type is to be indicated in the first pilot and the first message, not determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot and the first message, or, wherein in mode N7, the determining the UE type of the UE in the random access procedure in accordance with the fourth indication information comprises, in the case that the fourth indication information indicates that the UE type of the UE is to be indicated in the random access procedure, determining the UE type of the UE in the random access procedure in accordance with the fourth indication information, wherein the determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot or the first message in accordance with the sixth predefined mode comprises: in the case that the network device has configured a specific PRACH preamble sequence and/or a specific random access occasion for the UE, determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot or in the case that the network device fails to configure the specific PRACH preamble sequence and the specific random access occasion for the UE, determining the UE type of the UE through the first message or in the case that the UE type of the UE fails to be indicated in the first pilot, determining the UE type of the UE through the first message (see para [0061] wherein at least one set of random access preamble being only used for the reduced capability NR UE, each random access preamble corresponds to one control resource set (CORESET), where the CORESET being used for determining a possible position of a downlink control channel and the radio capability information is represented by sending the random access preamble on PRACH resources configured by the reduced capability NR UE, is mentioned, all of which includes and is equivalent to “wherein in mode N1, the determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot in accordance with the first predefined mode comprises, in the case that the network device has configured a specific Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) preamble sequence and/or a specific random access occasion for the UE, determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot” and also see paragraphs [0063] & [0064] wherein the UE reporting the reduced capability NR UE information by using an RRC message when sending the random access message 1 (MSG1) and sending the radio capability information to the gNB including the PRACH resource configuration information corresponding to the reduced capability NR UE includes an uplink BWP common parameter and PRACH resource configuration information dedicated for sending the reduced capability NR UE, or the PRACH resource configuration information corresponding to the reduced capability NR UE includes uplink BWP configuration information configured dedicated for sending the reduced capability NR UE and PRACH resource configuration information corresponding to the uplink BWP configuration information, all of which also includes and equivalent to “ wherein in mode N2, the determining the UE type of the UE through the first message in accordance with the second predefined mode comprises at least one of i.e. in the case that the network device has configured a specific initial uplink Bandwidth Part (BWP) for the UE, determining the UE type of the UE through the first message” and also see para [0066]).
Regarding claim 22, TAN et al. further teach the access method according to claim 13, wherein the determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot comprises determining the UE type of the UE through receiving the first pilot using a PRACH preamble sequence specific for the UE and/or determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot received in a random access occasion specific for the UE (see para [0061] wherein the at least one set of random access preamble being only used for the reduced capability NR UE, each random access preamble corresponds to one control resource set, is mentioned and also the radio capability information being represented by sending the random access preamble on PRACH resources configured by the reduced capability NR UE, is mentioned and also see para [0062] wherein a random access preamble independent of NR being configured for the reduced capability NR UE, is mentioned); wherein the determining the UE type of the UE through the first message comprises determining the UE type of the UE through a logical channel identity specific for the UE carried in the first message (see para [0068] wherein the radio capability information being indicated by using the reserved value of the LCID in the MAC sub-header in the random access message includes: a dedicated LCID value is defined for a reduced capability NR UE, and the dedicated LCID value is used for indicating both random access message related information and the radio capability information, is mentioned).
Regarding claim 23, TAN et al. further teach the access method according to claim 13, wherein the UE type is a Reduced Capability (RedCap) UE type (see para [0059] wherein the random access message 1 is sent to the gNB, where the radio capability information being represented in the random access message 1 by a random access preamble for the reduced capability NR UE only (that includes the UE type is a Reduced Capability (RedCap) UE type), is mentioned).
Regarding claim 24, TAN et al. further teach the access method according to claim 13, wherein the random access procedure is a four-step random access procedure, the first pilot is a PRACH pilot in the random access procedure, and the first message is a message3 (Msg3) in the random access procedure or the random access procedure is a two-step random access procedure, the first pilot is a PRACH pilot in a message A (MsgA) in the random access procedure, and the first message is a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) in the MsgA in the random access procedure (see para [0056] wherein the UE may add reduced capability NR UE information to a random access message for sending when the UE sends a random access message 1 (Msg 1/MsgA), where the random access message 1 may be an Msg 1/MsgA containing a random access preamble and a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) in a resource configuration process of a two-step physical random access channel (PRACH), and an Msg1 containing a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) and used for preconfiguring special resources in an idle mode, is mentioned).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 25-27, 34-37 and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TAN et al. (US Pub. No: 2023/0038753 A1) in view of Behraven et al. (US Pub. No: 2023/0354432 A1).
Regarding claim 25, TAN et al. teach a User Equipment (UE) (see Abstract and Fig.7/UE and Fig.20), comprising a memory (see Fig.20, memory) and a processor (see Fig.20, processor), wherein the memory is configured to store therein a computer program (see para [0200]), and the processor is configured to read the computer program in the memory so as to transmit a first pilot and a first message in a random access procedure (see Fig.7 and para [0060] wherein the UE sending the reduced capability NR UE information to the gNB by including the reduced capability NR UE information in the random access message 1, is mentioned, and also see para [0061] wherein the radio capability information being represented by sending the random access preamble (that includes first pilot) on PRACH resources configured by the reduced capability NR UE, is mentioned and also see para [0063] wherein the UE reporting the reduced capability NR UE information by using an RRC message when sending the random access message 1 (MSG1), is mentioned), wherein a UE type of the UE is indicated in the first pilot and/or the first message in accordance with a predefined mode and/or indication information (see para [0061] wherein the at least one set of random access preamble being only used for the reduced capability NR UE, each random access preamble corresponds to one control resource set, is mentioned and also the radio capability information being represented by sending the random access preamble on PRACH resources configured by the reduced capability NR UE, is mentioned and also see para [0062] wherein a random access preamble independent of NR being configured for the reduced capability NR UE, is mentioned and also see para [0063] wherein the UE reporting the reduced capability NR UE information by using an RRC message when sending the random access message 1 (MSG1), is mentioned, all of which clearly equivalent to ‘wherein a UE type of the UE is indicated in the first pilot and/or the first message in accordance with a predefined mode and/or indication information’ and also see para [0064]).
TAN et al. is silent in teaching the above User Equipment (UE) comprising a transceiver and the transceiver is configured to receive and transmit data under the control of the processor.
However, Behraven et al. teach a User Equipment (UE) (see Abstract and Fig.2/WD 110) comprising a transceiver (see Fig.2, transceiver 122 inside WD 110 and para [0094]) and the transceiver is configured to receive and transmit data under the control of the processor (see Fig.2 and para [0097] wherein processing circuitry 120 including one or more of RF transceiver circuitry 122, is mentioned and also see para [0098]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above UE of TAN et al. to include a transceiver and the transceiver being configured to receive and transmit data under the control of the processor, disclosed by Behraven et al. in order to provide an effective mechanism of UE for both facilitating effective random access of different capabilities and also determining an effective capability reporting based on other parameters in a cell, such as random access channel (RACH) configurations in wireless communication system.
Regarding claim 26, TAN et al. and Behraven et al. together teach the UE according to claim 25.
TAN et al. further teach the UE according to claim 25, wherein when indicating the UE type of the UE in the first pilot and/or the first message in accordance with the predefined mode and/or indication information, the processor is configured to perform at least one of modes: mode U1: indicating the UE type of the UE in the first pilot in accordance with a first predefined mode, mode U2: indicating the UE type of the UE in the first message in accordance with a second predefined mode, mode U3: indicating the UE type of the UE in the first pilot and the first message in a third predefined mode, mode U4: indicating the UE type of the UE in the first pilot in accordance with a fourth predefined mode, and indicating the UE type of the UE in the first message in accordance with first indication information, mode U5: indicating the UE type of the UE in the first pilot in accordance with second indication information, and indicating the UE type of the UE in the first message in accordance with a fifth predefined mode, mode U6: indicating the UE type of the UE in the first pilot and/or the first message in accordance with third indication information or mode U7: indicating the UE type of the UE in the random access procedure in accordance with fourth indication information, and indicating the UE type of the UE in the first pilot or the first message in accordance with a sixth predefined mode (see para [0061] wherein the at least one set of random access preamble being only used for the reduced capability NR UE, each random access preamble corresponds to one control resource set, is mentioned and also the radio capability information being represented by sending the random access preamble on PRACH resources configured by the reduced capability NR UE, is mentioned and also see para [0062] wherein a random access preamble independent of NR being configured for the reduced capability NR UE, is mentioned, all of which clearly equivalent to ‘wherein the UE type of the UE is indicated in the first pilot and/or the first message in accordance with the predefined mode and/or indication information through at least one of modes: mode U1: indicating the UE type of the UE in the first pilot in accordance with a first predefined mode’ and also see paragraphs [0063] & [0064] wherein the UE reporting the reduced capability NR UE information by using an RRC message when sending the random access message 1 (MSG1) and sending the radio capability information to the gNB including the PRACH resource configuration information corresponding to the reduced capability NR UE includes an uplink BWP common parameter and PRACH resource configuration information dedicated for sending the reduced capability NR UE, or the PRACH resource configuration information corresponding to the reduced capability NR UE includes uplink BWP configuration information configured dedicated for sending the reduced capability NR UE and PRACH resource configuration information corresponding to the uplink BWP configuration information, is mentioned, all of which also includes and is equivalent to ‘mode U2: indicating the UE type of the UE in the first message in accordance with a second predefined mode’).
Regarding claim 27, TAN et al. and Behraven et al. together teach the UE according to claim 26.
TAN et al. further teach the UE according to claim 26, wherein in mode U1, when indicating the UE type of the UE in the first pilot in accordance with the first predefined mode, the processor is configured to, in the case that a network device has configured a specific Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) preamble sequence and/or a specific random access occasion for the UE, indicate the UE type of the UE in the first pilot, or, wherein in mode U2, when indicating the UE type of the UE in the first message in accordance with the second predefined mode, the processor is configured to perform at least one of: in the case that the UE type of the UE fails to be indicated in the first pilot. indicating the UE type of the UE in the first message; in the case that a network device fails to configure a specific PRACH preamble sequence and a specific random access occasion for the UE, indicating the UE type of the UE in the first message; in the case that the network device has configured a specific initial uplink Bandwidth Part (BWP) for the UE, indicating the UE type of the UE in the first message; in the case that the network device fails to configure the specific PRACH preamble sequence and the specific random access occasion for the UE but has configured the specific initial uplink BWP for the UE, indicating the UE type of the UE in the first message; or in the case that regardless whether or not the network device has configured the specific PRACH preamble sequence and/or the specific random access occasion for the UE, indicating the UE type of the UE in the first message, or, wherein in mode U3, when indicating the UE type of the UE in the first pilot and the first message in accordance with the third predefined mode, the processor is configured to: in the case that a network device has configured a specific PRACH preamble sequence and/or a specific random access occasion for the UE, indicate the UE type of the UE in the first pilot, and in the case that the network device has configured a specific initial uplink BWP for the UE, indicate the UE type of the UE in the first message; or in the case that the network device has configured the specific PRACH preamble sequence and/or the specific random access occasion for the UE, indicate the UE type of the UE in the first pilot, and in the case that regardless whether or not the network device has configured the specific PRACH preamble sequence and/or the specific random access occasion for the UE, indicate the UE type of the UE in the first message, or, wherein in mode U4, when indicating the UE type of the UE in the first pilot in accordance with the fourth predefined mode, the processor is configured to, in the case that a network device has configured a specific PRACH preamble sequence and/or a specific random access occasion for the UE, indicate the UE type of the UE in the first pilot; when indicating the UE type of the UE in the first message in accordance with the first indication information, the processor is configured to, in the case that the first indication information indicates that a UE type is to be indicated in the first message. indicate the UE type of the UE in the first message, or, wherein in mode US, when indicating the UE type of the UE in the first pilot in accordance with the second indication information, the processor is configured to, in the case that the second indication information indicates that a UE type is to be indicated in the first pilot, indicate the UE type of the UE in the first pilot, wherein when indicating the UE type of the UE in the first message in accordance with the fifth predefined mode, the processor is configured to perform at least one of: in the case that the UE type of the UE fails to be indicated in the first pilot, indicating the UE type of the UE in the first message; in the case that a network device has configured a specific initial uplink BWP for the UE, indicating the UE type of the UE in the first message: in the case that the UE type of the UE fails to be indicated in the first pilot and the network device has configured the specific initial uplink BWP for the UE, indicating the UE type of the UE in the first message; or in the case that regardless whether or not the network device has configured the specific PRACH preamble sequence and/or the specific random access occasion for the UE, indicating the UE type of the UE in the first message, or, wherein in mode U6, when indicating the UE type of the UE in the first pilot and/or the first message in accordance with the third indication information, the processor is configured to perform at least one of: in the case that the third indication information indicates that a UE type is to be indicated merely in the first pilot, indicating the UE type of the UE in the first pilot; in the case that the third indication information indicates that a UE type is to be indicated merely in the first message, indicating the UE type of the UE in the first message; in the case that the third indication information indicates that a UE type is to be indicated in the first pilot and the first message, indicating the UE type of the UE in the first pilot and the first message; or in the case that the third indication information indicates that no UE type is to be indicated in the first pilot and the first message, not indicating the UE type of the UE in the first pilot and the first message, or, wherein in mode U7, when indicating the UE type of the UE in the random access procedure in accordance with the fourth indication information, the processor is configured to, in the case that the fourth indication information indicates that the UE type of the UE is to be indicated in the random access procedure, indicate the UE type of the UE in the random access procedure in accordance with the fourth indication information, wherein when indicating the UE type of the UE in the first pilot or the first message in accordance with the sixth predefined mode, the processor is configured to: in the case that a network device has configured a specific PRACH preamble sequence and/or a specific random access occasion for the UE, indicate the UE type of the UE in the first pilot; or in the case that the network device fails to configure the specific PRACH preamble sequence and the specific random access occasion for the UE, indicate the UE type of the UE in the first message; or in the case that the UE type of the UE fails to be indicated in the first pilot, indicate the UE type of the UE in the first message (see para [0061] wherein the at least one set of random access preamble being only used for the reduced capability NR UE, each random access preamble corresponds to one control resource set, is mentioned and also the radio capability information being represented by sending the random access preamble on PRACH resources configured by the reduced capability NR UE, is mentioned and also see para [0062] wherein a random access preamble independent of NR being configured for the reduced capability NR UE, is mentioned, and also see para [0176] wherein the random access preamble used only for the reduced capability NR UE in the first SIB receiving unit of UE from gNB, is mentioned, all of which clearly equivalent to “wherein in mode U1, the indicating the UE type of the UE in the first pilot in accordance with the first predefined mode comprises, in the case that a network device has configured a specific Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) preamble sequence and/or a specific random access occasion for the UE, indicating the UE type of the UE in the first pilot and also see paragraphs [0063] & [0064] wherein the UE reporting the reduced capability NR UE information by using an RRC message when sending the random access message 1 (MSG1) and sending the radio capability information to the gNB including the PRACH resource configuration information corresponding to the reduced capability NR UE includes an uplink BWP common parameter and PRACH resource configuration information dedicated for sending the reduced capability NR UE, or the PRACH resource configuration information corresponding to the reduced capability NR UE includes uplink BWP configuration information configured dedicated for sending the reduced capability NR UE and PRACH resource configuration information corresponding to the uplink BWP configuration information, is mentioned, all of which also includes and is equivalent to ‘wherein in mode U2, the indicating the UE type of the UE in the first message in accordance with the second predefined mode comprises at least one of: in the case that the network device has configured a specific initial uplink Bandwidth Part (BWP) for the UE, indicating the UE type of the UE in the first message’).
Regarding claim 34, TAN et al. and Behraven et al. together teach the UE according to claim 25.
TAN et al. further teach the UE according to claim 25, wherein the UE type of the UE is indicated in the first pilot through using, by the first pilot, a PRACH preamble sequence specific for the UE, and/or transmitting the first pilot in a random access occasion specific for the UE (see para [0061] wherein the at least one set of random access preamble being only used for the reduced capability NR UE, each random access preamble corresponds to one control resource set, is mentioned and also the radio capability information being represented by sending the random access preamble on PRACH resources configured by the reduced capability NR UE, is mentioned and also see para [0062] wherein a random access preamble independent of NR being configured for the reduced capability NR UE), wherein the UE type of the UE is indicated in the first message through carrying a logical channel identity specific for the UE in the first message (see para [0068] wherein the radio capability information being indicated by using the reserved value of the LCID in the MAC sub-header in the random access message 3 includes: a dedicated LCID value is defined for a reduced capability NR UE, and the dedicated LCID value is used for indicating both random access message 3 related information and the radio capability information, is mentioned).
Regarding claim 35, TAN et al. teach a network device (see Abstract and Figures 7&20/gNB), comprising a memory (see Fig.20, memory), and a processor (see Fig.20, processor), wherein the memory is configured to store therein a computer program (see para [0200]) wherein the processor is configured to read the computer program in the memory to perform the access method according to claim 13 (see the above teaching of TAN et al. of claim 13).
TAN et al. is silent in teaching the above network device comprising a transceiver and the transceiver is configured to receive and transmit data under the control of the processor.
However, Behraven et al. teach a network device (see Abstract and Fig.2/network node 160) comprising a transceiver (see Fig.2, transceiver 172 inside network node 160 ) and the transceiver is configured to receive and transmit data under the control of the processor (see para [0077] wherein the processing circuitry 170 including one or more of radio frequency (RF) transceiver circuitry 172, is mentioned and also see para [0081]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above network device of TAN et al. to include a transceiver and the transceiver being configured to receive and transmit data under the control of the processor, disclosed by Behraven et al. in order to provide an effective mechanism of a wireless device for both facilitating effective random access of different capabilities and also determining an effective capability reporting based on other parameters in a cell, such as random access channel (RACH) configurations in wireless communication system.
Regarding claim 36, TAN et al. and Behraven et al. together teach the network device according to claim 35.
TAN et al. further teach the network device according to claim 35, wherein when determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot and/or the first message in accordance with the predefined mode and/or indication information, the processor is configured to perform at least one of modes: mode N1: determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot in accordance with a first predefined mode, mode N2: determining the UE type of the UE through the first message in accordance with a second predefined mode, mode N3: determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot and/or the first message in accordance with a third predefined mode, mode N4: determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot in accordance with a fourth predefined mode, and determining the UE type of the UE through the first message in accordance with first indication information, mode N5: determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot in accordance with second indication information, and determining the UE type of the UE through the first message in accordance with a fifth predefined mode, mode N6: determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot and/or the first message in accordance with third indication information or mode N7: determining the UE type of the UE in the random access procedure in accordance with fourth indication information, and determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot or the first message in accordance with a sixth predefined mode (see para [0061] wherein at least one set of random access preamble being only used for the reduced capability NR UE, each random access preamble corresponds to one control resource set (CORESET), where the CORESET being used for determining a possible position of a downlink control channel and the radio capability information is represented by sending the random access preamble on PRACH resources configured by the reduced capability NR UE, is mentioned, all of which includes and is equivalent to “the determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot and/or the first message in accordance with the predefined mode and/or indication information comprising at least one of modes: mode N1: determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot in accordance with a first predefined mode and also see para [0066] wherein the radio capability information implements the reduced capability NR UE information in at least one of following manners: the reduced capability NR UE information is explicitly included in the random access message 3 in at least one of following manners: the reduced capability NR UE information is indicated by using a reserved bit in an RRC establishment request, is mentioned and also see para [0070] wherein the gNB determining whether the UE is the reduced capability NR UE according to a reserved bit value, for example, in the RRC establishment request, one bit reserved in this information being defined as 1 represents the reduced capability NR UE information, is mentioned, all of which includes and is equivalent to “the determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot and/or the first message in accordance with the predefined mode and/or indication information comprising at least one of modes: mode N2: determining the UE type of the UE through the first message in accordance with a second predefined mode and also see para [0071]).
Regarding claim 37, TAN et al. and Behraven et al. together teach the network device according to claim 36.
TAN et al. further teach the network device according to claim 36, wherein in mode N1, when determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot in accordance with the first predefined mode, the processor is configured to, in the case that the network device has configured a specific Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) preamble sequence and/or a specific random access occasion for the UE, determine the UE type of the UE through the first pilot, or, wherein in mode N2, when determining the UE type of the UE through the first message in accordance with the second predefined mode, the processor is configured to perform at least one of: in the case that the UE type of the UE fails to be indicated in the first pilot, determining the UE type of the UE through the first message, in the case that the network device fails to configure a specific PRACH preamble sequence and a specific random access occasion for the UE, determining the UE type of the UE through the first message, in the case that the network device has configured a specific initial uplink Bandwidth Part (BWP) for the UE, determining the UE type of the UE through the first message, in the case that the network device fails to configure the specific PRACH preamble sequence and the specific random access occasion for the UE but has configured the specific initial uplink BWP for the UE, determining the UE type of the UE through the first message or in the case that regardless whether or not the network device has configured the specific PRACH preamble sequence and/or the specific random access occasion for the UE, determining the UE type of the UE through the first message, or, wherein in mode N3, when determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot and/or the first message in accordance with the third predefined mode, the processor is configured to: in the case that the network device has configured a specific PRACH preamble sequence and/or a specific random access occasion for the UE, determine the UE type of the UE through the first pilot, and in the case that the network device has configured a specific initial uplink BWP for the UE, determine the UE type of the UE through the first message or in the case that the network device has configured the specific PRACH preamble sequence and/or the specific random access occasion for the UE, determine the UE type of the UE through the first pilot, and in the case that regardless whether or not the network device has configured the specific PRACH preamble sequence and/or the specific random access occasion for the UE, determine the UE type of the UE through the first message, or, wherein in mode N4, when determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot in accordance with the fourth predefined mode, the processor is configured to, in the case that the network device has configured a specific PRACH preamble sequence and/or a specific random access occasion for the UE, determine the UE type of the UE through the first pilot: when determining the UE type of the UE through the first message in accordance with the first indication information, the processor is configured to, in the case that the first indication information indicates that a UE type is to be indicated in the first message, determine the UE type of the UE through the first message, or, wherein in mode N5, when determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot in accordance with the second indication information, the processor is configured to, in the case that the second indication information indicates that a UE type is to be indicated in the first pilot, determine the UE type of the UE through the first pilot, wherein when determining the UE type of the UE through the first message in accordance with the fifth predefined mode, the processor is configured to perform at least one of: in the case that the UE type of the UE fails to be indicated in the first pilot, determining the UE type of the UE through the first message, in the case that the network device has configured a specific initial uplink BWP for the UE, determining the UE type of the UE through the first message, in the case that the UE type of the UE fails to be indicated in the first pilot and the network device has configured the specific initial uplink BWP for the UE, determining the UE type of the UE through the first message or in the case that regardless whether or not the network device has configured the specific PRACH preamble sequence and/or the specific random access occasion for the UE, determining the UE type of the UE through the first message, or, wherein in mode N6, when determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot and/or the first message in accordance with the third indication information, the processor is configured to perform at least one of: in the case that the third indication information indicates that a UE type is to be indicated merely in the first pilot, determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot, in the case that the third indication information indicates that a UE type is to be indicated merely in the first message, determining the UE type of the UE through the first message, in the case that the third indication information indicates that a UE type is to be indicated in the first pilot and the first message, determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot and the first message or in the case that the third indication information indicates that no UE type is to be indicated in the first pilot and the first message, not determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot and the first message, or, wherein in mode N7, when determining the UE type of the UE in the random access procedure in accordance with the fourth indication information, the processor is configured to, in the case that the fourth indication information indicates that the UE type of the UE is to be indicated in the random access procedure, determine the UE type of the UE in the random access procedure in accordance with the fourth indication information, wherein when determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot or the first message in accordance with the sixth predefined mode, the processor is configured to: in the case that the network device has configured a specific PRACH preamble sequence and/or a specific random access occasion for the UE, determine the UE type of the UE through the first pilot or in the case that the network device fails to configure the specific PRACH preamble sequence and the specific random access occasion for the UE, determine the UE type of the UE through the first message; or in the case that the UE type of the UE fails to be indicated in the first pilot, determine the UE type of the UE through the first message (see para [0061] wherein at least one set of random access preamble being only used for the reduced capability NR UE, each random access preamble corresponds to one control resource set (CORESET), where the CORESET being used for determining a possible position of a downlink control channel and the radio capability information is represented by sending the random access preamble on PRACH resources configured by the reduced capability NR UE, is mentioned, all of which includes and is equivalent to “wherein in mode N1, the determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot in accordance with the first predefined mode comprises, in the case that the network device has configured a specific Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) preamble sequence and/or a specific random access occasion for the UE, determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot” and also see paragraphs [0063] & [0064] wherein the UE reporting the reduced capability NR UE information by using an RRC message when sending the random access message 1 (MSG1) and sending the radio capability information to the gNB including the PRACH resource configuration information corresponding to the reduced capability NR UE includes an uplink BWP common parameter and PRACH resource configuration information dedicated for sending the reduced capability NR UE, or the PRACH resource configuration information corresponding to the reduced capability NR UE includes uplink BWP configuration information configured dedicated for sending the reduced capability NR UE and PRACH resource configuration information corresponding to the uplink BWP configuration information, all of which also includes and equivalent to “ wherein in mode N2, the determining the UE type of the UE through the first message in accordance with the second predefined mode comprises at least one of i.e. in the case that the network device has configured a specific initial uplink Bandwidth Part (BWP) for the UE, determining the UE type of the UE through the first message” and also see para [0066]).
Regarding claim 44, TAN et al. and Behraven et al. together teach the network device according to claim 35.
TAN et al. further teach the network device according to claim 35, wherein when determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot, the processor is configured to determine the UE type of the UE through receiving the first pilot using a PRACH preamble sequence specific for the UE and/or determining the UE type of the UE through the first pilot received in a random access occasion specific for the UE: wherein when determining the UE type of the UE through the first message, the processor is configured to determine the UE type of the UE through a logical channel identity specific for the UE carried in the first message (see para [0061] wherein the at least one set of random access preamble being only used for the reduced capability NR UE, each random access preamble corresponds to one control resource set, is mentioned and also the radio capability information being represented by sending the random access preamble on PRACH resources configured by the reduced capability NR UE, is mentioned and also see para [0062] wherein a random access preamble independent of NR being configured for the reduced capability NR UE, is mentioned); wherein the determining the UE type of the UE through the first message comprises determining the UE type of the UE through a logical channel identity specific for the UE carried in the first message (see para [0068] wherein the radio capability information being indicated by using the reserved value of the LCID in the MAC sub-header in the random access message includes: a dedicated LCID value is defined for a reduced capability NR UE, and the dedicated LCID value is used for indicating both random access message related information and the radio capability information, is mentioned).
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al. (US Pub. No: 2022/0248475 A1) disclose mechanisms relating to transmitting and receiving signals for performing a random access channel (RACH) procedure by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system.
SAHA et al. (US Pub. No: 2024/0292470 A1) disclose mechanisms relating to wireless communications, including flexible random access channel configurations.
WANG et al. (US Pub. No: 2025/0089017 A1) disclose mechanisms relating to method and apparatus for providing configuration information related to paging in a wireless communication system.
7. Any response to this office action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed To:
Commissioner for Patents,
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314.
/SRINIVASA R REDDIVALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477
6/18/2026