Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200265736 A1 (“Koga”) in view of US 20200152076 A1 (“Le Guillou”).
In regards to claim 1, Koga discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
A seat support mechanism for a four-wheel vehicle driving simulator comprising ([0002], “The present disclosure relates to an automatic … simulator for a four-wheel vehicle”):
a base placed on a ground ([0014], “The … base … is placed on a floor”);
a seat support base with a seat being fixed ([0012], “The … frame fixes the seat”);
a pair of cylinder type actuators that connects the base and the seat support base at two front positions of the seat support base to have a gap between the base and the seat support base ([0016], “The cylindrical … actuators are disposed between … the base and … the back … between … the upper surface … of the plate-shaped … frame and … upper portion of the curved frame”), each of the pair of cylinder type actuators having both end portions as universal joints ([0053], “the simulator includes … universal joints”);
a pair of hydraulic dampers that connects the base and the seat support base at two back positions of the seat support base to have a gap between the base and the seat support base, each of the pair of hydraulic dampers having both end portions as universal joints;
and a ball joint that connects the base and the seat support base at a central portion of the seat support base to have a gap between the base and the seat support base.
Le Guillou discloses
a pair of hydraulic dampers that connects the base and the seat support base at two back positions of the seat support base to have a gap between the base and the seat support base, each of the pair of hydraulic dampers having both end portions as universal joints ([0025], “the actuator comprises two fixed hydraulic dampers” Examiner notes that a hydraulic damper can have an end portion that functions as a universal joint.);
and a ball joint that connects the base and the seat support base at a central portion of the seat support base to have a gap between the base and the seat support base ([0047], “The actuator ... comprises a leg ... which may be attached to a moving platform by a ball joint”).
Koga and Le Guillou combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of vehicle simulators and moving platforms. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a seat support mechanism for a four-wheel vehicle driving simulator comprising: a base placed on a ground; a seat support base with a seat being fixed; a pair of cylinder type actuators that connects the base and the seat support base at two front positions of the seat support base to have a gap between the base and the seat support base, each of the pair of cylinder type actuators having both end portions as universal joints, as disclosed by Koga, a pair of hydraulic dampers that connects the base and the seat support base at two back positions of the seat support base to have a gap between the base and the seat support base, each of the pair of hydraulic dampers having both end portions as universal joints; and a ball joint that connects the base and the seat support base at a central portion of the seat support base to have a gap between the base and the seat support base, as disclosed by Le Guillou, to provide an actuator, hydraulic dampers, and a ball joint for a device that is adapted to make moving platforms safer.
In regards to claim 2, Koga discloses
wherein each of the pair of cylinder type actuators is arranged perpendicularly to the ground ([0063], “The ... simulator ... for the four-wheel vehicle ... in FIG. 1 is constituted by ... actuators” Examiner notes that the actuators (depicted in annotated Koga Fig. 1) are arranged perpendicular to the ground.).
In regards to claim 3, Koga discloses the following limitation with the exception of the underlined limitation.
wherein the seat support base, the pair of cylinder type actuators ([0063], “The ... simulator ... for the four-wheel vehicle ... in FIG. 1 is constituted by ... a seat … a base … actuators” Examiner notes that the base and actuators (depicted in annotated Koga Fig. 1) are arranged symmetrically.), and the pair of hydraulic dampers are symmetrically arranged.
Le Guillou discloses
and the pair of hydraulic dampers are symmetrically arranged ([0025], “the actuator comprises two fixed hydraulic dampers” Examiner notes that hydraulic dampers can be arranged symmetrically.).
Koga and Le Guillou combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of vehicle simulators and moving platforms. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a seat support mechanism for a four-wheel vehicle driving simulator comprising: a base placed on a ground; a seat support base with a seat being fixed; a pair of cylinder type actuators that connects the base and the seat support base at two front positions of the seat support base to have a gap between the base and the seat support base, each of the pair of cylinder type actuators having both end portions as universal joints and wherein the seat support base, the pair of cylinder type actuators, as disclosed by Koga, a pair of hydraulic dampers that connects the base and the seat support base at two back positions of the seat support base to have a gap between the base and the seat support base, each of the pair of hydraulic dampers having both end portions as universal joints; and a ball joint that connects the base and the seat support base at a central portion of the seat support base to have a gap between the base and the seat support base, and the pair of hydraulic dampers are symmetrically arranged, as disclosed by Le Guillou, to provide an actuator and hydraulic dampers for a device that is adapted to make moving platforms safer.
In regards to claim 4, Koga does not disclose wherein the pair of hydraulic dampers is arranged to form an inverted V-shape.
Le Guillou discloses
wherein the pair of hydraulic dampers is arranged to form an inverted V-shape ([0025], “the actuator comprises two fixed hydraulic dampers” Examiner notes that hydraulic dampers can be arranged in an inverted V-shape.).
Koga and Le Guillou combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of vehicle simulators and moving platforms. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a seat support mechanism for a four-wheel vehicle driving simulator comprising: a base placed on a ground; a seat support base with a seat being fixed; a pair of cylinder type actuators that connects the base and the seat support base at two front positions of the seat support base to have a gap between the base and the seat support base, each of the pair of cylinder type actuators having both end portions as universal joints and wherein the seat support base, the pair of cylinder type actuators, as disclosed by Koga, a pair of hydraulic dampers that connects the base and the seat support base at two back positions of the seat support base to have a gap between the base and the seat support base, each of the pair of hydraulic dampers having both end portions as universal joints; and a ball joint that connects the base and the seat support base at a central portion of the seat support base to have a gap between the base and the seat support base, and the pair of hydraulic dampers are symmetrically arranged and wherein the pair of hydraulic dampers is arranged to form an inverted V-shape, as disclosed by Le Guillou, to provide an actuator and hydraulic dampers for a device that is adapted to make moving platforms safer.
In regards to claim 5, Koga does not disclose wherein the ball joint is symmetrically arranged.
Le Guillou discloses
wherein the ball joint is symmetrically arranged ([0047], “The actuator ... comprises a leg ... which may be attached to a moving platform by a ball joint” Examiner notes that a ball joint can be symmetrically arranged.).
Koga and Le Guillou combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of vehicle simulators and moving platforms. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a seat support mechanism for a four-wheel vehicle driving simulator comprising: a base placed on a ground; a seat support base with a seat being fixed; a pair of cylinder type actuators that connects the base and the seat support base at two front positions of the seat support base to have a gap between the base and the seat support base, each of the pair of cylinder type actuators having both end portions as universal joints and wherein the seat support base, the pair of cylinder type actuators, as disclosed by Koga, a pair of hydraulic dampers that connects the base and the seat support base at two back positions of the seat support base to have a gap between the base and the seat support base, each of the pair of hydraulic dampers having both end portions as universal joints; and a ball joint that connects the base and the seat support base at a central portion of the seat support base to have a gap between the base and the seat support base, and the pair of hydraulic dampers are symmetrically arranged and wherein the ball joint is symmetrically arranged, as disclosed by Le Guillou, to provide an actuator and a ball joint for a device that is adapted to make moving platforms safer.
In regards to claim 6, Koga discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
wherein a projection surface of the ball joint to a ground lies within a projection surface of a rectangle ([0048], “FIG. 5 is … a frame structure of the … simulator for the four-wheel vehicle” Examiner notes that annotated Koga Fig. 5 depicts a projection surface of a rectangle.) formed by connecting coupling portions between the pair of cylinder type actuators ([0048], “FIG. 5 is … a frame structure of the … simulator for the four-wheel vehicle” Examiner notes that annotated Koga Fig. 5 depicts cylinder type actuators.) and the seat support base and coupling portions between ([0048], “FIG. 5 is … a frame structure of the … simulator for the four-wheel vehicle” Examiner notes that annotated Koga Fig. 5 depicts a seat support base.) the pair of hydraulic dampers and the seat support base to the ground.
Le Guillou discloses
wherein a projection surface of the ball joint ([0047], “The actuator ... comprises a leg ... which may be attached to a moving platform by a ball joint”) the pair of hydraulic dampers and the seat support base to the ground ([0025], “the actuator comprises two fixed hydraulic dampers”).
Koga and Le Guillou combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of vehicle simulators and moving platforms. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a seat support mechanism for a four-wheel vehicle driving simulator comprising: a base placed on a ground; a seat support base with a seat being fixed; a pair of cylinder type actuators that connects the base and the seat support base at two front positions of the seat support base to have a gap between the base and the seat support base, each of the pair of cylinder type actuators having both end portions as universal joints, to a ground lies within a projection surface of a rectangle formed by connecting coupling portions between the pair of cylinder type actuators and the seat support base and coupling portions between, as disclosed by Koga, a pair of hydraulic dampers that connects the base and the seat support base at two back positions of the seat support base to have a gap between the base and the seat support base, each of the pair of hydraulic dampers having both end portions as universal joints; and a ball joint that connects the base and the seat support base at a central portion of the seat support base to have a gap between the base and the seat support base, wherein a projection surface of the ball joint, and the pair of hydraulic dampers and the seat support base to the ground, as disclosed by Le Guillou, to provide an actuator, hydraulic dampers, and a ball joint for a device that is adapted to make moving platforms safer.
In regards to claim 7, Koga discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitation.
wherein the seat support base ([0048], “FIG. 5 is … a frame structure of the … simulator for the four-wheel vehicle” Examiner notes that annotated Koga Fig. 5 depicts a seat support base.), the pair of cylinder type actuators ([0048], “FIG. 5 is … a frame structure of the … simulator for the four-wheel vehicle” Examiner notes that annotated Koga Fig. 5 depicts cylinder type actuators.), and the pair of hydraulic dampers are symmetrically arranged.
Le Guillou discloses
and the pair of hydraulic dampers are symmetrically arranged ([0025], “the actuator comprises two fixed hydraulic dampers” Examiner notes that the seat support base, actuators, and hydraulic dampers can be symmetrically arranged.).
Koga and Le Guillou combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of vehicle simulators and moving platforms. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a seat support mechanism for a four-wheel vehicle driving simulator comprising: a base placed on a ground; a seat support base with a seat being fixed; a pair of cylinder type actuators that connects the base and the seat support base at two front positions of the seat support base to have a gap between the base and the seat support base, each of the pair of cylinder type actuators having both end portions as universal joints, wherein each of the pair of cylinder type actuators is arranged perpendicularly to the ground, and wherein the seat support base,
the pair of cylinder type actuators, as disclosed by Koga, a pair of hydraulic dampers that connects the base and the seat support base at two back positions of the seat support base to have a gap between the base and the seat support base, each of the pair of hydraulic dampers having both end portions as universal joints; and a ball joint that connects the base and the seat support base at a central portion of the seat support base to have a gap between the base and the seat support base, and the pair of hydraulic dampers are symmetrically arranged, as disclosed by Le Guillou, to provide an actuator and hydraulic dampers for a device that is adapted to make moving platforms safer.
In regards to claim 8, Koga does not disclose wherein the ball joint is symmetrically arranged.
Le Guillou discloses
wherein the ball joint is symmetrically arranged ([0047], “The actuator ... comprises a leg ... which may be attached to a moving platform by a ball joint” Examiner notes that a ball joint can be symmetrically arranged.).
Koga and Le Guillou combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of vehicle simulators and moving platforms. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a seat support mechanism for a four-wheel vehicle driving simulator comprising: a base placed on a ground; a seat support base with a seat being fixed; a pair of cylinder type actuators that connects the base and the seat support base at two front positions of the seat support base to have a gap between the base and the seat support base, each of the pair of cylinder type actuators having both end portions as universal joints and wherein the seat support base, the pair of cylinder type actuators, as disclosed by Koga, a pair of hydraulic dampers that connects the base and the seat support base at two back positions of the seat support base to have a gap between the base and the seat support base, each of the pair of hydraulic dampers having both end portions as universal joints; and a ball joint that connects the base and the seat support base at a central portion of the seat support base to have a gap between the base and the seat support base, and the pair of hydraulic dampers are symmetrically arranged and wherein the ball joint is symmetrically arranged, as disclosed by Le Guillou, to provide an actuator and a ball joint for a device that is adapted to make moving platforms safer.
In regards to claim 9, Koga discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
wherein a projection surface of the ball joint to a ground lies within a projection surface of a rectangle ([0048], “FIG. 5 is … a frame structure of the … simulator for the four-wheel vehicle” Examiner notes that annotated Koga Fig. 5 depicts a projection surface of a rectangle.) formed by connecting coupling portions between the pair of cylinder type actuators ([0048], “FIG. 5 is … a frame structure of the … simulator for the four-wheel vehicle” Examiner notes that annotated Koga Fig. 5 depicts cylinder type actuators.) and the seat support base and coupling portions between ([0048], “FIG. 5 is … a frame structure of the … simulator for the four-wheel vehicle” Examiner notes that annotated Koga Fig. 5 depicts a seat support base.) the pair of hydraulic dampers and the seat support base to the ground.
Le Guillou discloses
wherein a projection surface of the ball joint ([0047], “The actuator ... comprises a leg ... which may be attached to a moving platform by a ball joint”) the pair of hydraulic dampers and the seat support base to the ground ([0025], “the actuator comprises two fixed hydraulic dampers”).
Koga and Le Guillou combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of vehicle simulators and moving platforms. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a seat support mechanism for a four-wheel vehicle driving simulator comprising: a base placed on a ground; a seat support base with a seat being fixed; a pair of cylinder type actuators that connects the base and the seat support base at two front positions of the seat support base to have a gap between the base and the seat support base, each of the pair of cylinder type actuators having both end portions as universal joints, to a ground lies within a projection surface of a rectangle formed by connecting coupling portions between the pair of cylinder type actuators and the seat support base and coupling portions between, as disclosed by Koga, a pair of hydraulic dampers that connects the base and the seat support base at two back positions of the seat support base to have a gap between the base and the seat support base, each of the pair of hydraulic dampers having both end portions as universal joints; and a ball joint that connects the base and the seat support base at a central portion of the seat support base to have a gap between the base and the seat support base, wherein a projection surface of the ball joint, and the pair of hydraulic dampers and the seat support base to the ground, as disclosed by Le Guillou, to provide an actuator, hydraulic dampers, and a ball joint for a device that is adapted to make moving platforms safer.
In regards to claim 10, Koga discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
wherein a projection surface of the ball joint to a ground lies within a projection surface of a rectangle ([0048], “FIG. 5 is … a frame structure of the … simulator for the four-wheel vehicle” Examiner notes that annotated Koga Fig. 5 depicts a projection surface of a rectangle.) formed by connecting coupling portions between the pair of cylinder type actuators ([0048], “FIG. 5 is … a frame structure of the … simulator for the four-wheel vehicle” Examiner notes that annotated Koga Fig. 5 depicts cylinder type actuators.) and the seat support base and coupling portions between ([0048], “FIG. 5 is … a frame structure of the … simulator for the four-wheel vehicle” Examiner notes that annotated Koga Fig. 5 depicts a seat support base.) the pair of hydraulic dampers and the seat support base to the ground.
Le Guillou discloses
wherein a projection surface of the ball joint ([0047], “The actuator ... comprises a leg ... which may be attached to a moving platform by a ball joint”) the pair of hydraulic dampers and the seat support base to the ground ([0025], “the actuator comprises two fixed hydraulic dampers”).
Koga and Le Guillou combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of vehicle simulators and moving platforms. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a seat support mechanism for a four-wheel vehicle driving simulator comprising: a base placed on a ground; a seat support base with a seat being fixed; a pair of cylinder type actuators that connects the base and the seat support base at two front positions of the seat support base to have a gap between the base and the seat support base, each of the pair of cylinder type actuators having both end portions as universal joints, to a ground lies within a projection surface of a rectangle formed by connecting coupling portions between the pair of cylinder type actuators and the seat support base and coupling portions between, as disclosed by Koga, a pair of hydraulic dampers that connects the base and the seat support base at two back positions of the seat support base to have a gap between the base and the seat support base, each of the pair of hydraulic dampers having both end portions as universal joints; and a ball joint that connects the base and the seat support base at a central portion of the seat support base to have a gap between the base and the seat support base, wherein a projection surface of the ball joint, and the pair of hydraulic dampers and the seat support base to the ground, as disclosed by Le Guillou, to provide an actuator, hydraulic dampers, and a ball joint for a device that is adapted to make moving platforms safer.
In regards to claim 11, Koga discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
wherein a projection surface of the ball joint to a ground lies within a projection surface of a rectangle ([0048], “FIG. 5 is … a frame structure of the … simulator for the four-wheel vehicle” Examiner notes that annotated Koga Fig. 5 depicts a projection surface of a rectangle.) formed by connecting coupling portions between the pair of cylinder type actuators ([0048], “FIG. 5 is … a frame structure of the … simulator for the four-wheel vehicle” Examiner notes that annotated Koga Fig. 5 depicts cylinder type actuators.) and the seat support base and coupling portions between ([0048], “FIG. 5 is … a frame structure of the … simulator for the four-wheel vehicle” Examiner notes that annotated Koga Fig. 5 depicts a seat support base.) the pair of hydraulic dampers and the seat support base to the ground.
Le Guillou discloses
wherein a projection surface of the ball joint ([0047], “The actuator ... comprises a leg ... which may be attached to a moving platform by a ball joint”) the pair of hydraulic dampers and the seat support base to the ground ([0025], “the actuator comprises two fixed hydraulic dampers”).
Koga and Le Guillou combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of vehicle simulators and moving platforms. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a seat support mechanism for a four-wheel vehicle driving simulator comprising: a base placed on a ground; a seat support base with a seat being fixed; a pair of cylinder type actuators that connects the base and the seat support base at two front positions of the seat support base to have a gap between the base and the seat support base, each of the pair of cylinder type actuators having both end portions as universal joints, to a ground lies within a projection surface of a rectangle formed by connecting coupling portions between the pair of cylinder type actuators and the seat support base and coupling portions between, as disclosed by Koga, a pair of hydraulic dampers that connects the base and the seat support base at two back positions of the seat support base to have a gap between the base and the seat support base, each of the pair of hydraulic dampers having both end portions as universal joints; and a ball joint that connects the base and the seat support base at a central portion of the seat support base to have a gap between the base and the seat support base, wherein a projection surface of the ball joint, and the pair of hydraulic dampers and the seat support base to the ground, as disclosed by Le Guillou, to provide an actuator, hydraulic dampers, and a ball joint for a device that is adapted to make moving platforms safer.
In regards to claim 12, Koga discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
wherein a projection surface of the ball joint to a ground lies within a projection surface of a rectangle ([0048], “FIG. 5 is … a frame structure of the … simulator for the four-wheel vehicle” Examiner notes that annotated Koga Fig. 5 depicts a projection surface of a rectangle.) formed by connecting coupling portions between the pair of cylinder type actuators ([0048], “FIG. 5 is … a frame structure of the … simulator for the four-wheel vehicle” Examiner notes that annotated Koga Fig. 5 depicts cylinder type actuators.) and the seat support base and coupling portions between ([0048], “FIG. 5 is … a frame structure of the … simulator for the four-wheel vehicle” Examiner notes that annotated Koga Fig. 5 depicts a seat support base.) the pair of hydraulic dampers and the seat support base to the ground.
Le Guillou discloses
wherein a projection surface of the ball joint ([0047], “The actuator ... comprises a leg ... which may be attached to a moving platform by a ball joint”) the pair of hydraulic dampers and the seat support base to the ground ([0025], “the actuator comprises two fixed hydraulic dampers”).
Koga and Le Guillou combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of vehicle simulators and moving platforms. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a seat support mechanism for a four-wheel vehicle driving simulator comprising: a base placed on a ground; a seat support base with a seat being fixed; a pair of cylinder type actuators that connects the base and the seat support base at two front positions of the seat support base to have a gap between the base and the seat support base, each of the pair of cylinder type actuators having both end portions as universal joints, to a ground lies within a projection surface of a rectangle formed by connecting coupling portions between the pair of cylinder type actuators and the seat support base and coupling portions between, as disclosed by Koga, a pair of hydraulic dampers that connects the base and the seat support base at two back positions of the seat support base to have a gap between the base and the seat support base, each of the pair of hydraulic dampers having both end portions as universal joints; and a ball joint that connects the base and the seat support base at a central portion of the seat support base to have a gap between the base and the seat support base, wherein a projection surface of the ball joint, and the pair of hydraulic dampers and the seat support base to the ground, as disclosed by Le Guillou, to provide an actuator, hydraulic dampers, and a ball joint for a device that is adapted to make moving platforms safer.
In regards to claim 13, Koga discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
wherein a projection surface of the ball joint to a ground lies within a projection surface of a rectangle ([0048], “FIG. 5 is … a frame structure of the … simulator for the four-wheel vehicle” Examiner notes that annotated Koga Fig. 5 depicts a projection surface of a rectangle.) formed by connecting coupling portions between the pair of cylinder type actuators ([0048], “FIG. 5 is … a frame structure of the … simulator for the four-wheel vehicle” Examiner notes that annotated Koga Fig. 5 depicts cylinder type actuators.) and the seat support base and coupling portions between ([0048], “FIG. 5 is … a frame structure of the … simulator for the four-wheel vehicle” Examiner notes that annotated Koga Fig. 5 depicts a seat support base.) the pair of hydraulic dampers and the seat support base to the ground.
Le Guillou discloses
wherein a projection surface of the ball joint ([0047], “The actuator ... comprises a leg ... which may be attached to a moving platform by a ball joint”) the pair of hydraulic dampers and the seat support base to the ground ([0025], “the actuator comprises two fixed hydraulic dampers”).
Koga and Le Guillou combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of vehicle simulators and moving platforms. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a seat support mechanism for a four-wheel vehicle driving simulator comprising: a base placed on a ground; a seat support base with a seat being fixed; a pair of cylinder type actuators that connects the base and the seat support base at two front positions of the seat support base to have a gap between the base and the seat support base, each of the pair of cylinder type actuators having both end portions as universal joints, to a ground lies within a projection surface of a rectangle formed by connecting coupling portions between the pair of cylinder type actuators and the seat support base and coupling portions between, as disclosed by Koga, a pair of hydraulic dampers that connects the base and the seat support base at two back positions of the seat support base to have a gap between the base and the seat support base, each of the pair of hydraulic dampers having both end portions as universal joints; and a ball joint that connects the base and the seat support base at a central portion of the seat support base to have a gap between the base and the seat support base, wherein a projection surface of the ball joint, and the pair of hydraulic dampers and the seat support base to the ground, as disclosed by Le Guillou, to provide an actuator, hydraulic dampers, and a ball joint for a device that is adapted to make moving platforms safer.
In regards to claim 14, Koga discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitations.
wherein a projection surface of the ball joint to a ground lies within a projection surface of a rectangle ([0048], “FIG. 5 is … a frame structure of the … simulator for the four-wheel vehicle” Examiner notes that annotated Koga Fig. 5 depicts a projection surface of a rectangle.) formed by connecting coupling portions between the pair of cylinder type actuators ([0048], “FIG. 5 is … a frame structure of the … simulator for the four-wheel vehicle” Examiner notes that annotated Koga Fig. 5 depicts cylinder type actuators.) and the seat support base and coupling portions between ([0048], “FIG. 5 is … a frame structure of the … simulator for the four-wheel vehicle” Examiner notes that annotated Koga Fig. 5 depicts a seat support base.) the pair of hydraulic dampers and the seat support base to the ground.
Le Guillou discloses
wherein a projection surface of the ball joint ([0047], “The actuator ... comprises a leg ... which may be attached to a moving platform by a ball joint”) the pair of hydraulic dampers and the seat support base to the ground ([0025], “the actuator comprises two fixed hydraulic dampers”).
Koga and Le Guillou combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of vehicle simulators and moving platforms. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a seat support mechanism for a four-wheel vehicle driving simulator comprising: a base placed on a ground; a seat support base with a seat being fixed; a pair of cylinder type actuators that connects the base and the seat support base at two front positions of the seat support base to have a gap between the base and the seat support base, each of the pair of cylinder type actuators having both end portions as universal joints, to a ground lies within a projection surface of a rectangle formed by connecting coupling portions between the pair of cylinder type actuators and the seat support base and coupling portions between, as disclosed by Koga, a pair of hydraulic dampers that connects the base and the seat support base at two back positions of the seat support base to have a gap between the base and the seat support base, each of the pair of hydraulic dampers having both end portions as universal joints; and a ball joint that connects the base and the seat support base at a central portion of the seat support base to have a gap between the base and the seat support base, wherein a projection surface of the ball joint, and the pair of hydraulic dampers and the seat support base to the ground, as disclosed by Le Guillou, to provide an actuator, hydraulic dampers, and a ball joint for a device that is adapted to make moving platforms safer.
Contact Information
examiner should be directed to Lisa Antoine whose telephone number is
(571) 272-4252 and whose email address is lantoine@uspto.gov. The examiner can be reached Monday-Thursday, 7:30 am-5:30 pm CT. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Xuan Thai, can be reached on (571) 272-7147. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Publication Information
obtained from the Patent Center. Unpublished application information in the Patent
Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in the
Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about the
Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in
DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC)
at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer
Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/LISA H ANTOINE/
Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/XUAN M THAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715