DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 4/5/24 and 3/16/26 were filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 2/5/24. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020/081492 A2 (“WO’492”) in view of CN 109545546 A (“CN’546”).
As to Claim 1:
WO’492 discloses a busbar assembly, identified as battery interconnect system 16, comprising vertically stacked conductive interconnect panels for electrically interconnecting a plurality of battery cells (WO’492, Pgs. 4–7).
WO’492 discloses a first conductive busbar in the form of lower interconnect panel 60. Lower interconnect panel 60 includes a conductive metal substrate 70, a plurality of openings 78 extending through the panel, and a plurality of contacts 80, including negative contacts 82, formed from and extending from the lower interconnect panel into respective openings 78 (WO’492, Pgs. 5–7).
WO’492 further discloses a second conductive busbar in the form of upper interconnect panel 58. Upper interconnect panel 58 includes a conductive metal substrate and a plurality of contacts, including positive contacts 74, formed from and extending from the upper interconnect panel (WO’492, Pgs. 5–7).
WO’492 discloses that upper interconnect panel 58 and lower interconnect panel 60 include aligned openings forming common openings 88. A positive contact 74 extending from upper interconnect panel 58 is bent downward past upper insulating layer 64a and lower interconnect panel 60 and into the common aligned opening 88 for engagement with a cell terminal. Thus, the contact extending from the second conductive busbar extends through the opening associated with the first conductive busbar (WO’492, Pgs. 5–7, Fig. 10).
WO’492 also discloses an insulative member between the first and second conductive busbars. In particular, upper insulating layer 64a is positioned between upper interconnect panel 58 and lower interconnect panel 60 and electrically insulates the two conductive panels from one another (WO’492, Pg. 5).
WO’492 further discloses that a plurality of openings and corresponding first and second contacts are provided. The number and arrangement of openings and contacts correspond to the plurality of cells received in the battery-cell holders (WO’492, Pgs. 4–6).
However, WO’492 does not expressly disclose that its contacts 82 and 74 are spring contacts. Although the contacts are formed from and bent relative to their respective conductive panels, WO’492 principally describes the contacts as being welded or otherwise electrically connected to the cell terminals rather than expressly identifying them as resilient spring contacts (WO’492, Pgs. 6–7).
CN’546 discloses a stacked battery busbar assembly having first and second busbars 1 and 2, multiple mounting holes 3, first body contacts 5 connected to the first busbar through an outer frame 6 and pins 8, and second terminal contacts 10 connected to the second busbar through an inner frame 11 and associated pins. CN’546 expressly describes first body contacts 5 as V-shaped elastic contact sheets and terminal contacts 10 as bent elastic or spring sheets. CN’546 also discloses a PET insulating film between the first and second busbars (CN’546, Pgs. 2–5).
CN’546 therefore teaches the spring-contact feature not expressly disclosed by WO’492. CN’546 further states that its elastic contact structures provide suitable and stable contact pressure, accommodate positional tolerance, permit quick installation, removal, and replacement, and improve assembly and maintenance efficiency (CN’546, Pgs. 3–6).
WO’492 and CN’546 are analogous arts because both references expressly concern busbar or conductive interconnect assemblies for electrically connecting a plurality of battery cells. Both employ multiple conductive busbar layers, multiple contacts corresponding to respective cells, and insulation separating conductive busbar members (WO’492, Pgs. 1, 4–7; CN’546, Pgs. 1–6).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify contacts 82 and 74 of WO’492 to employ the V-shaped and bent elastic-sheet spring-contact constructions taught by CN’546, while retaining WO’492’s stacked conductive-panel, aligned-opening, and intermediate insulating-layer arrangement. CN’546 expressly provides a reason for making the modification: to obtain stable contact pressure, accommodate positional tolerance, permit quick installation and replacement, and improve assembly and maintenance efficiency (CN’546, Pgs. 3–6). CN’546 demonstrates use of those spring contacts in a stacked, insulated, multiple-cell busbar assembly, supporting their application to WO’492’s corresponding contacts. The resulting assembly would include a first conductive busbar having a plurality of openings and first spring contacts, a second conductive busbar having a plurality of second spring contacts extending through the aligned openings, and an insulative member between the two conductive busbars, thereby meeting all limitations of claim 1.
As to Claim 2:
WO’492 discloses the busbar assembly of claim 1 as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above. WO’492 further discloses that each battery cell is associated with a common opening 88 containing a positive contact 74 or 80 and a negative contact 76 or 82. The contacts extend from respective upper and lower conductive interconnect panels 58 and 60 and connect to the center positive terminal 52 and surrounding annular negative terminal 54 of the respective battery cell (WO’492, Pgs. 5–7).
However, WO’492 does not expressly disclose that each second spring contact nests within the respective first spring contact. Instead, WO’492 describes the positive and negative contacts as being positioned toward opposing side portions 88a and 88b of each common opening 88 (WO’492, Pgs. 6–7).
CN’546 discloses a nested spring-contact arrangement for each mounting hole 3. Specifically, CN’546 discloses a first contact assembly having an outside contact-fixing frame 6 positioned at the mounting hole and body contacts 5 formed as V-shaped elastic pieces arranged around the periphery of the battery or capacitor body. CN’546 further discloses a second contact assembly having an inner contact-fixing frame 11 placed within the same mounting hole and terminal contacts 10 formed as bent elastic sheets connected to the inner side of an annular ring. The terminal contacts 10 are positioned inwardly of the peripheral body contacts 5 and contact the bottom terminal electrode of the battery or capacitor. Thus, the second spring-contact assembly is positioned within the spatial boundary defined by the respective first spring-contact assembly, thereby teaching a second spring contact nested within a respective first spring contact (CN’546, Pgs. 2, 4–5).
CN’546 further explains that the battery or capacitor is inserted through the outside contact-fixing frame so that the peripheral V-shaped spring contacts engage its outer electrode, while the bottom terminal electrode simultaneously engages the inwardly positioned bent elastic terminal contacts. CN’546 states that this arrangement provides suitable contact pressure, accommodates positional tolerance, improves mounting stability and conductive contact, and permits quick installation and replacement (CN’546, Pgs. 3–6).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the positive and negative contact arrangement associated with each common opening 88 of WO’492 according to the nested spring-contact arrangement taught by CN’546, such that the second spring contact is positioned within the respective first spring contact. CN’546 expressly provides a reason for the modification: its nested peripheral and inward spring contacts provide suitable contact pressure, accommodate positional tolerance, improve mounting stability and conductive contact, and permit quick installation and replacement of battery cells (CN’546, Pgs. 3–6). The resulting busbar assembly would have each second spring contact nested within the respective first spring contact, as required by claim 2.
As to Claim 3:
WO’492 discloses the busbar assembly of claim 1 as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above. WO’492 discloses second contacts 74 or 80 extending from one of the conductive interconnect panels 58 or 60 and into or through respective panel openings. Each positive contact 74 or 80 includes a pad portion 74a or 80a and a connector portion 74b or 80b formed from the conductive interconnect panel. The connector portion is bent to position the pad portion in contact with the positive terminal of a respective battery cell (WO’492, Pgs. 5–7).
However, WO’492 does not expressly disclose that each second spring contact includes a plurality of flexible fingers spaced apart from each other. WO’492 instead depicts and describes each positive contact as having a pad portion connected to its conductive panel by a connector portion (WO’492, Pgs. 6–7).
CN’546 discloses a second contact assembly that includes a terminal contact 10 and an inner contact-fixing frame 11. The terminal contact 10 is formed by a plurality of bent elastic sheets or clips 101 having fixed ends connected to the inner side edge of an annular ring. The bent elastic sheets 101 are distributed in a circumferential array and therefore are spaced apart from one another. Each bent elastic sheet includes an upwardly inclined support section 102 and a horizontal support end 103 that resiliently contacts the bottom terminal electrode of a battery or capacitor. Accordingly, CN’546 teaches a second spring contact that includes a plurality of spaced-apart flexible fingers (CN’546, Pgs. 2–5).
CN’546 further discloses that the plurality of bent elastic sheets supports and contacts the bottom terminal electrode while maintaining suitable contact pressure and improving contact stability. CN’546 states that its elastic-contact arrangement facilitates quick installation and replacement and improves assembly and maintenance efficiency (CN’546, Pgs. 3–6).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify each second contact 74 or 80 of WO’492 to include the plurality of circumferentially arranged, spaced-apart bent elastic sheets 101 taught by CN’546. CN’546 expressly provides a reason for the modification: its plurality of flexible contact sheets maintains suitable contact pressure, improves contact stability and conductive effect, facilitates quick installation and replacement, and improves assembly and maintenance efficiency (CN’546, Pgs. 3–6). The resulting busbar assembly would have each second spring contact include a plurality of flexible fingers spaced apart from each other, as required by claim 3.
As to Claim 4:
WO’492 discloses the busbar assembly of claim 3 as set forth in the rejection of claim 3 above. WO’492 discloses second contacts 74 or 80 extending from conductive interconnect panels 58 or 60 into or through respective panel openings. Each contact includes a pad portion 74a or 80a and a connector portion 74b or 80b formed from the respective conductive interconnect panel (WO’492, Pgs. 5–7).
However, WO’492 does not expressly disclose that each second spring contact includes a ring from which a plurality of flexible fingers extends. Instead, WO’492 describes each positive contact 74 or 80 as an individual contact having a pad portion joined to its conductive panel by a connector portion (WO’492, Pgs. 6–7).
CN’546 discloses a second contact assembly having an inner contact-fixing frame 11 configured as an annular ring. A plurality of bent elastic sheets or clips 101 has fixed ends connected to and extending from the inner side edge of the annular ring. The bent elastic sheets 101 are circumferentially distributed and spaced apart from one another. Each sheet includes an upwardly inclined support section 102 and a horizontal support end 103 for resiliently contacting the bottom terminal electrode of a battery or capacitor. Accordingly, the annular inner contact-fixing frame 11 constitutes a ring from which the plurality of flexible contact fingers 101 extends (CN’546, Pgs. 2–5).
CN’546 further teaches that the annular ring and circumferentially arranged elastic sheets maintain suitable contact pressure against the terminal electrode and improve contact stability. CN’546 states that its elastic-contact arrangement facilitates quick installation and replacement and improves assembly and maintenance efficiency (CN’546, Pgs. 3–6).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify each second contact 74 or 80 of WO’492 to employ CN’546’s annular inner contact-fixing frame 11 and the plurality of spaced-apart bent elastic contact sheets 101 extending from that annular frame. CN’546 expressly provides a reason for the modification: the annularly supported elastic contacts maintain suitable contact pressure, improve contact stability and conductive effect, facilitate quick installation and replacement, and improve assembly and maintenance efficiency (CN’546, Pgs. 3–6). The resulting busbar assembly would have each second spring contact include a ring from which its plurality of flexible fingers extends, as required by claim 4.
As to Claim 5:
WO’492 discloses the busbar assembly of claim 3 as set forth in the rejection of claim 3 above. WO’492 discloses first contacts 76 or 82 extending from one of the conductive interconnect panels 58 or 60 into or through respective panel openings. Each negative contact 76 or 82 includes a pad portion and a connector portion formed from the conductive interconnect panel and positioned to contact the annular negative terminal 54 of a respective battery cell (WO’492, Pgs. 5–7).
WO’492 further discloses a plurality of openings corresponding to respective battery cells and first contacts associated with those openings. Each common opening 88 exposes the center positive terminal 52 and surrounding annular negative terminal 54 of the corresponding battery cell (WO’492, Pgs. 5–7).
However, WO’492 does not expressly disclose that each first spring contact includes a plurality of flexible fingers spaced apart from each other, with those flexible fingers surrounding the respective opening. Instead, WO’492 describes each negative contact 76 or 82 as an individual contact having a pad portion joined to its conductive panel by a connector portion (WO’492, Pgs. 6–7).
CN’546 discloses a first contact assembly mounted at each mounting hole 3 of first busbar 1. Each first contact assembly includes an outside contact-fixing frame 6 and a plurality of body contacts 5 formed as V-shaped elastic sheets or spring pieces. The V-shaped elastic contacts 5 are spaced apart and circumferentially distributed around the through hole of the outside contact-fixing frame. Consequently, the plurality of flexible contact fingers surrounds the respective mounting opening through which the battery or capacitor body is inserted (CN’546, Pgs. 2, 4–5).
CN’546 further discloses that the V-shaped elastic contacts resiliently engage the outer electrode at the periphery of the battery or capacitor body. The elasticity of the V-shaped contacts permits adjustment of contact force and absorption of positional tolerance while maintaining contact pressure and mounting stability (CN’546, Pgs. 3–5).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify each first contact 76 or 82 associated with an opening of WO’492 to employ CN’546’s plurality of spaced-apart V-shaped elastic contact fingers 5 circumferentially arranged around the corresponding opening. CN’546 expressly provides a reason for the modification: its circumferentially arranged elastic contacts provide adjustable and suitable contact pressure, absorb positional tolerance, improve mounting and conductive-contact stability, and facilitate quick installation and replacement (CN’546, Pgs. 3–6). The resulting busbar assembly would have each first spring contact include a plurality of spaced-apart flexible fingers surrounding the respective opening, as required by claim 5.
As to Claim 6:
WO’492 discloses the busbar assembly of claim 5 as set forth in the rejection of claim 5 above. WO’492 discloses first contacts 76 or 82 associated with respective openings in conductive interconnect panels 58 or 60. Each first contact includes a pad portion and a connector portion formed from the respective conductive interconnect panel and positioned to contact the annular negative terminal 54 of a battery cell (WO’492, Pgs. 5–7).
WO’492 further discloses that each battery cell is associated with a common opening 88 through which the center positive terminal 52 and surrounding annular negative terminal 54 are accessible to corresponding contacts of the upper and lower interconnect panels (WO’492, Pgs. 5–7).
However, WO’492 does not expressly disclose that each first spring contact includes a ring from which a plurality of flexible fingers extends, with the ring surrounding the respective opening. Instead, WO’492 describes each negative contact 76 or 82 as an individual contact having a pad portion joined to the conductive panel by a connector portion (WO’492, Pgs. 6–7).
CN’546 discloses an embodiment in which the outside contact-fixing frame 6 of each first contact assembly is an annular frame body positioned at a respective mounting hole 3 of first busbar 1. A plurality of V-shaped elastic main contacts 5 extends from the upper edge of the annular frame body and is spaced apart in a circumferential array. The annular frame surrounds the through hole through which the battery or capacitor body is inserted. Accordingly, CN’546 teaches a first spring contact having a ring from which a plurality of flexible fingers extends, with the ring surrounding the respective opening (CN’546, Pgs. 2, 4–5).
CN’546 further discloses that the V-shaped elastic contacts positioned around the annular frame resiliently engage the outer electrode at the periphery of the battery or capacitor body. The elasticity of these contacts permits adjustment of contact force and absorption of positional tolerance while maintaining mounting stability and electrical contact (CN’546, Pgs. 3–5).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify each first contact 76 or 82 associated with an opening of WO’492 to employ CN’546’s annular outside contact-fixing frame 6 and its plurality of spaced-apart V-shaped elastic contacts 5 extending from the frame. CN’546 expressly provides a reason for the modification: its annularly supported elastic contacts provide adjustable and suitable contact pressure, absorb positional tolerance, improve mounting and conductive-contact stability, and facilitate quick installation and replacement (CN’546, Pgs. 3–6). The resulting busbar assembly would have each first spring contact include a ring surrounding the respective opening and a plurality of flexible fingers extending from that ring, as required by claim 6.
As to Claim 7:
WO’492 discloses the busbar assembly of claim 1 as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
WO’492 discloses battery cells 14 having a center positive terminal 52 and a surrounding annular negative terminal 54 at a first end of each battery cell (WO’492, Pg. 4).
WO’492 further discloses first contacts in the form of negative contacts 82 extending from lower interconnect panel 60 and configured to engage the annular negative terminals 54 of respective battery cells. For example, battery cell 14a has its negative terminal 54 connected to negative contact 82 of lower interconnect panel 60 (WO’492, Pgs. 5–7).
WO’492 also discloses second contacts in the form of positive contacts 74 extending from upper interconnect panel 58 and configured to engage the center positive terminals 52 of respective battery cells. Positive contact 74 extends downwardly into the associated common opening 88 and engages the positive terminal 52 of battery cell 14a (WO’492, Pgs. 5–7).
However, although WO’492 expressly discloses contacts 82 and 74 configured to engage the negative and positive terminals, respectively, WO’492 does not expressly identify those contacts as spring contacts. WO’492 instead principally describes the contacts as bent conductive-panel portions that are welded or otherwise electrically secured to the respective battery-cell terminals (WO’492, Pgs. 6–7).
CN’546 discloses elastic spring-contact structures for connecting two conductive busbars to different electrodes of a battery or capacitor. Specifically, CN’546 discloses first body contacts 5 formed as V-shaped elastic sheets that resiliently engage an outer electrode at the periphery of the battery body. CN’546 further discloses second terminal contacts 10 formed as bent elastic sheets that resiliently engage the terminal electrode at the bottom of the battery. The first and second contact assemblies are electrically connected to first and second busbars 1 and 2, respectively (CN’546, Pgs. 2–5).
CN’546 further teaches that the V-shaped and bent elastic contacts provide suitable contact pressure, accommodate positional tolerance, improve mounting and electrical-contact stability, and permit quick installation and replacement of the battery or capacitor (CN’546, Pgs. 3–6).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to configure WO’492’s negative contacts 82 and positive contacts 74 using the elastic spring-contact constructions taught by CN’546, while retaining WO’492’s expressly disclosed terminal assignments—negative contacts 82 engaging annular negative terminals 54 and positive contacts 74 engaging center positive terminals 52. CN’546 expressly provides a reason for employing its spring-contact structures: to provide suitable contact pressure, accommodate positional tolerance, improve mounting and conductive-contact stability, and facilitate quick installation and replacement (CN’546, Pgs. 3–6). The resulting assembly would have each first spring contact configured to engage a negative terminal of a respective battery cell and each second spring contact configured to engage the positive terminal of that battery cell, as required by claim 7.
Claims 8-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020/081492 A2 (“WO’492”) in view of CN 109545546 A (“CN’546”), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2018/0261823 A1 (“US’823”).
As to Claim 8:
WO’492 in view of CN’546 discloses the busbar assembly of claim 1 as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
WO’492 further discloses an upper cell holder 40a formed of plastic and positioned adjacent to the battery interconnect system 16. The battery interconnect system, including upper and lower conductive interconnect panels 58 and 60 and insulating layers 64, is supported on upper cell holder 40a. Posts 34 extend through aligned openings in upper cell holder 40a and battery interconnect system 16 to secure and maintain the alignment of those components (WO’492, Pgs. 4–5, 9).
However, WO’492 does not expressly disclose an insulative bracket engaged against the second busbar, wherein the position of the insulative bracket can be adjusted relative to the first busbar. WO’492 describes upper cell holder 40a and battery interconnect system 16 as supported and maintained in alignment by posts 34, but does not expressly disclose adjusting the position of the cell holder or another insulative bracket relative to one of the conductive interconnect panels (WO’492, Pg. 9).
CN’546 discloses first and second stacked busbars 1 and 2 separated by an insulating PET film. CN’546 also discloses spring-contact assemblies electrically connected to the respective busbars and states that its contact arrangement accommodates positional tolerance and maintains suitable contact pressure and mounting stability (CN’546, Pgs. 2–5). CN’546, however, does not expressly disclose the claimed position-adjustable insulative bracket.
WO’725 discloses a battery-pack assembly having first and second generally rectangular holding frames 3, which may be formed from plastic and therefore constitute insulative brackets. Conductive plates 7 are inserted into and positioned across the bases 4 of the respective holding frames 3, such that each holding frame is engaged against and supports an associated conductive plate. The conductive plates on the opposing holding frames are complementary and electrically connect the terminals of the battery cells held between the frames (WO’725, Pgs. 3, 5–6).
WO’725 further discloses that the two holding frames 3 are coupled by fastening screws 10 extending through screw slots 8 in both frames. Tightening the fastening screws moves the holding frames toward one another and compresses the assembly, while loosening or removing the fastening screws permits the frames to move apart and releases the cells. Accordingly, WO’725 teaches adjusting the position of an insulative bracket engaged against one conductive plate relative to another conductive plate by tightening or loosening the coupling members (WO’725, Pgs. 2–6).
WO’725 expressly states that adjusting the frames by tightening the fastening screws urges the conductive plates toward the cell terminals and ensures robust electrical contact. Loosening or removing the fastening screws permits disassembly, replacement of individual cells or components, repair, reuse, and recycling of the assembly (WO’725, Pgs. 2–6).
WO’492, CN’546, and WO’725 are analogous arts because all three references concern busbar or conductive-plate assemblies for electrically interconnecting a plurality of battery cells. WO’492 and CN’546 disclose multiple conductive busbars with corresponding cell contacts and insulation between conductive members, while WO’725 discloses conductive plates supported by insulative cell-holding frames and arranged to electrically interconnect a plurality of battery cells (WO’492, Pgs. 1, 4–7; CN’546, Pgs. 1–5; WO’725, Pgs. 2–6).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to further modify the busbar assembly of WO’492, as modified by CN’546, to provide an insulative bracket engaged against the second busbar and coupled by adjustable fastening members according to WO’725, thereby permitting the position of the insulative bracket to be adjusted relative to the first busbar. WO’725 expressly provides reasons for the modification: tightening the adjustable fastening members compresses the assembly and ensures robust electrical contact, while loosening the fastening members permits convenient disassembly, cell replacement, repair, reuse, and recycling (WO’725, Pgs. 2–6). The resulting busbar assembly would include an insulative bracket engaged against the second busbar whose position can be adjusted relative to the first busbar, as required by claim 8.
As to Claim 9:
WO’492 in view of CN’546 and WO’725 discloses the busbar assembly of claim 8 as set forth in the rejection of claim 8 above.
WO’492 further discloses upper and lower cell holders 40a and 40b formed from electrically insulative plastic. Each cell holder includes a substrate 42 having a plurality of openings 44 that snugly hold respective battery cells 14. Lower cell holder 40b retains the lower portions of the battery cells and may form part of the bottom wall of housing body 18. Accordingly, lower cell holder 40b constitutes an insulative bottom plate configured to hold battery cells therein (WO’492, Pg. 4).
However, WO’492 does not expressly disclose members coupling the position-adjustable insulative bracket recited in claim 8 to the insulative bottom plate. Although posts 34 extend through aligned openings in upper cell holder 40a and battery interconnect system 16 to secure and maintain their alignment, WO’492 does not expressly describe those posts as adjustably coupling an upper bracket to lower cell holder 40b (WO’492, Pgs. 4, 9).
CN’546 discloses stacked busbars and spring-contact assemblies separated by an insulating PET film, but does not expressly disclose members coupling an insulative bracket to an insulative bottom plate (CN’546, Pgs. 2–5).
WO’725 discloses first and second generally rectangular holding frames 3, which may be formed from plastic and which hold a plurality of battery cells 2 between them. Each holding frame includes a generally flat base 4 and portions defining respective generally cylindrical regions 14 configured to seat and hold cylindrical battery cells. Thus, the lower holding frame constitutes an insulative bottom plate configured to hold the battery cells, while the opposing upper holding frame constitutes an insulative bracket (WO’725, Pgs. 3, 5–6).
WO’725 further discloses members coupling the bracket to the bottom plate in the form of fastening screws 10. Each fastening screw extends through a screw slot 8 in both holding frames 3 and reversibly couples the two frames together. Tightening the fastening screws moves the frames toward one another and clamps the battery cells between them, while loosening or removing the screws permits the frames to separate and releases the cells (WO’725, Pgs. 2–6).
WO’725 states that the fastening arrangement ensures robust electrical contact between the battery-cell terminals and conductive plates while permitting complete disassembly for cell replacement, repair, reuse, and recycling (WO’725, Pgs. 2–6).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to further configure the busbar assembly of WO’492, as modified by CN’546 and WO’725 in the rejection of claim 8, with an insulative bottom plate and fastening members coupling the insulative bracket to the bottom plate as taught by WO’725. WO’725 expressly provides reasons for employing this arrangement: the opposing insulative frames securely hold the battery cells, tightening the fastening members ensures robust electrical contact, and loosening the fastening members permits convenient disassembly, cell replacement, repair, reuse, and recycling (WO’725, Pgs. 2–6). The resulting busbar assembly would include an insulative bottom plate configured to hold battery cells therein and members coupling the bracket to the bottom plate, as required by claim 9.
As to Claim 10:
WO’492 in view of CN’546 and WO’725 discloses the busbar assembly of claim 9 as set forth in the rejection of claim 9 above.
WO’492 further discloses posts 34 extending through aligned openings in upper cell holder 40a and battery interconnect system 16. The posts secure and maintain the alignment of upper cell holder 40a, upper and lower conductive interconnect panels 58 and 60, and the associated insulating layers within housing body 18 (WO’492, Pgs. 4, 9).
However, WO’492 does not expressly disclose that members coupling the insulative bracket to the insulative bottom plate are adjustable to move the position of the bracket relative to the first busbar. WO’492 describes posts 34 as securing and maintaining the alignment of the components, but does not expressly describe adjusting the posts to move the position of an insulative bracket relative to one of the conductive interconnect panels (WO’492, Pg. 9).
CN’546 discloses first and second stacked busbars 1 and 2 separated by an insulating PET film. CN’546 further discloses elastic contacts capable of accommodating positional tolerance and maintaining contact pressure, but does not expressly disclose adjustable members coupling an insulative bracket to an insulative bottom plate (CN’546, Pgs. 2–5).
WO’725 discloses an upper insulative holding frame and a lower insulative holding frame coupled by fastening screws 10 extending through screw slots 8 in both frames. Conductive plates 7 are supported by the respective frames. Each fastening screw is adjustable by tightening or loosening it. Tightening the fastening screws moves the holding frames toward one another, compresses the assembly, and urges the conductive plates toward the battery-cell terminals. Loosening or removing the fastening screws moves or permits movement of the holding frames away from one another and releases the battery cells (WO’725, Pgs. 2–6).
Accordingly, when the upper holding frame is identified as the insulative bracket, the lower holding frame is identified as the insulative bottom plate, and the conductive plates supported by the frames correspond to the busbars, WO’725 teaches members coupling the bracket to the bottom plate that are adjustable to move the bracket relative to the opposing conductive plate corresponding to the first busbar (WO’725, Pgs. 3–6).
WO’725 expressly states that tightening the adjustable fastening members provides compression that ensures robust electrical contact between the conductive plates and battery-cell terminals. Loosening or removing the fastening members allows the assembly to be disassembled for replacement of individual cells or components, repair, reuse, and recycling (WO’725, Pgs. 2–6).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to configure the members coupling the insulative bracket and bottom plate in the busbar assembly of WO’492, as modified by CN’546 and WO’725 in the rejection of claim 9, as adjustable fastening screws according to WO’725. This would permit adjustment of the bracket’s position relative to the first busbar. WO’725 expressly provides reasons for the modification: tightening the fastening members compresses the assembly and ensures robust electrical contact, while loosening the fastening members permits disassembly, cell replacement, repair, reuse, and recycling (WO’725, Pgs. 2–6). The resulting busbar assembly would have members adjustable to move the position of the bracket relative to the first busbar, as required by claim 10.
As to Claim 12:
WO’492 in view of CN’546 discloses the busbar assembly of claim 1 as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
WO’492 further discloses first and second power tabs 90 and 92, which constitute positive and negative external contacts for the circuit arrangement of battery module 10. Power tabs 90 and 92 are electrically connected to first and second power connectors 132 and 134, respectively, thereby permitting the battery module to be connected to other battery modules or an external circuit. WO’492 further describes current flowing into or out of battery module 10 through power connectors 132 and 134. Thus, WO’492 discloses an external electrical input and output for the busbar assembly (WO’492, Pgs. 7–9).
However, WO’492 discloses both power tabs 90 and 92 as portions of lower interconnect panel 60. Therefore, when lower interconnect panel 60 is identified as the first busbar and upper interconnect panel 58 is identified as the second busbar, WO’492 does not expressly disclose an input electrically coupled to the first busbar and a separate output electrically coupled to the second busbar (WO’492, Pgs. 5, 7–8).
CN’546 discloses a first busbar 1 and a second busbar 2 electrically connected to different electrodes of the battery or capacitor through respective elastic-contact assemblies. CN’546 thereby confirms the use of separate conductive busbars to contact different battery electrodes, but does not expressly identify separate external input and output connections on the respective first and second busbars (CN’546, Pgs. 2–5).
WO’725 discloses complementary conductive plates 7 positioned on respective holding frames and arranged to electrically connect a plurality of battery cells into a complete circuit. WO’725 further discloses end conductive plates 7a having respective conductive projections 16 connected to external battery terminals 9, thereby permitting the circuit formed by the conductive plates and battery cells to be connected to an external circuit (WO’725, Pgs. 3–4, 6).
WO’725 additionally discloses that external connecting means may directly connect the external circuit to the conductive plates, that the two external terminals need not be positioned on the same holding frame, and that more than two external terminals may be provided for independently connected circuits. Accordingly, WO’725 teaches providing the respective input and output terminals of a battery circuit on different conductive plates or busbars (WO’725, Pg. 6).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the external power connections of WO’492, as modified by CN’546, according to WO’725 by electrically coupling one external terminal serving as an input to the first busbar and another external terminal serving as an output to the second busbar. WO’725 expressly teaches placing external connections on respective conductive end plates, permits the two external terminals to be positioned on different holding frames, and teaches direct connection of the external circuit to the conductive plates (WO’725, Pgs. 4, 6). Applying this arrangement to WO’492 would connect the battery-cell circuit to an external circuit through the respective conductive busbars while retaining the complementary electrical connections of the busbar assembly. The resulting assembly would have an input electrically coupled to the first busbar and an output electrically coupled to the second busbar, as required by claim 12.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020/081492 A2 (“WO’492”) in view of CN 109545546 A (“CN’546”) and WO 2018/215725 A1 (“WO’725”), as applied to Claim 9 above, and further in view of US 2018/0261823 A1 (“US’823”).
As to Claim 11:
WO’492 in view of CN’546 and WO’725 discloses the busbar assembly of claim 9 as set forth in the rejection of claim 9 above.
WO’492 further discloses a plurality of cylindrical battery cells 14, such as 18650 lithium-ion cells, held by upper and lower cell holders 40a and 40b. Each battery cell has first and second longitudinal ends, with the upper end electrically connected to upper and lower conductive interconnect panels 58 and 60 (WO’492, Pgs. 4–7).
However, WO’492 does not expressly disclose a cold plate engaged against an end of each battery cell for assisting in dissipating heat from the battery cells. Although WO’492 discusses monitoring battery-cell temperatures, it does not expressly provide a cold plate thermally engaged with the ends of the battery cells (WO’492, Pgs. 7–9).
CN’546 discloses a battery busbar assembly having first and second stacked busbars and spring-contact assemblies engaging battery-cell electrodes, but does not expressly disclose a cold plate engaged against the ends of the battery cells (CN’546, Pgs. 2–5).
WO’725 discloses opposing insulative holding frames coupled by fastening members and configured to hold a plurality of battery cells, as applied in the rejection of claim 9. WO’725 states generally that its battery-pack design allows integration of liquid cooling for high-power applications, but does not provide the specific claimed cold plate engaged against an end of each battery cell (WO’725, Pgs. 2–6).
US’823 discloses a battery pack having a plurality of battery cells and a stacked busbar arrangement positioned proximate to first ends of the battery cells, leaving the opposing ends available for efficient heat removal (US’823, [0018], [0022], [0024]).
US’823 further discloses heat sink 252 assembled to and thermally coupled with the bottom ends 140 of each of battery cells 102, 104, 106, 108, 110, and 112. Heat sink 252 may include fins or passages for air or liquid cooling and may be attached to the bottom of the battery-cell holder. Accordingly, heat sink 252 having liquid-cooling passages constitutes a cold plate engaged against an end of each battery cell and assists in dissipating heat from the battery cells (US’823, [0028]).
US’823 additionally teaches arranging all of the busbars over one end of the battery cells to free the area at the opposing ends for thermal management. US’823 discloses attaching the heat sink to the bottom of the cell holder and directing air or liquid flow across the heat sink through a fan or liquid pump (US’823, [0036]–[0037]).
WO’492, CN’546, WO’725, and US’823 are analogous arts because all four references concern assemblies for electrically interconnecting and mechanically supporting a plurality of battery cells. WO’492, CN’546, and US’823 disclose multiple conductive busbars connected to battery-cell terminals, while WO’725 and US’823 disclose structures for mechanically supporting the cells. US’823 additionally addresses removal of heat generated by the cells in such a busbar-equipped battery assembly (WO’492, Pgs. 1, 4–7; CN’546, Pgs. 1–5; WO’725, Pgs. 2–6; US’823, [0018], [0022], [0024], [0028]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to further modify the busbar assembly of WO’492, as modified by CN’546 and WO’725 in the rejection of claim 9, by providing the heat sink 252 having liquid-cooling passages taught by US’823 against the exposed bottom ends of the battery cells. US’823 expressly provides a reason for the modification: locating the busbars proximate to one end of the battery cells leaves the opposing ends available for efficient heat removal and permits a heat sink having air- or liquid-cooling passages to be thermally coupled to those ends (US’823, [0024], [0027]–[0028], [0036]–[0037]). The resulting assembly would include a cold plate engaged against an end of each battery cell for assisting in dissipating heat from the battery cells, as required by claim 11.
Claims 13, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020/081492 A2 (“WO’492”) in view of CN 109545546 A (“CN’546”), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2018/0261823 A1 (“US’823”).
As to Claim 13:
WO’492 discloses the busbar assembly of claim 1, except for the spring-contact character of the contacts, as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above.
WO’492 discloses an input electrically coupled to the first busbar. Specifically, lower conductive interconnect panel 60 includes first and second power tabs 90 and 92, which are positive and negative external contacts for the battery-module circuit. First power tab 90 is electrically connected to first power connector 132, through which electrical current may flow into or out of battery module 10 (WO’492, Pgs. 7–9).
WO’492 further discloses connecting a plurality of battery modules together, with each battery module having its own battery interconnect system. Accordingly, a second instance of WO’492’s battery interconnect system provides third and fourth conductive busbars for an additional group of battery cells (WO’492, Pgs. 2, 8–9).
The lower interconnect panel 60 of the additional battery interconnect system constitutes a third conductive busbar having a plurality of openings 78 therethrough and third contacts 80 and 82 extending therefrom. The contacts extend into or through respective openings in the conductive panel (WO’492, Pgs. 5–7).
The upper interconnect panel 58 of the additional battery interconnect system constitutes a fourth conductive busbar having fourth contacts 74 and 76 extending therefrom. A fourth contact 74 extends downwardly past the lower interconnect panel and into or through the common aligned opening 88 associated with the respective battery cell (WO’492, Pgs. 5–7).
WO’492 further discloses an insulative member in the form of upper insulating layer 64a positioned between the third and fourth conductive busbars. Upper insulating layer 64a electrically insulates the upper and lower conductive interconnect panels from one another (WO’492, Pg. 5).
WO’492 also discloses that a plurality of the openings, third contacts, and fourth contacts is provided. The openings and contacts correspond to the plurality of battery cells connected by the additional interconnect system (WO’492, Pgs. 5–7).
However, WO’492 does not expressly disclose that the contacts of the first and additional interconnect systems are spring contacts. WO’492 instead principally describes the contacts as bent portions of the conductive interconnect panels that are welded or otherwise secured to the battery-cell terminals. WO’492 also does not expressly disclose a coupling electrically connecting the second busbar of the first busbar pair directly to the third busbar of the additional busbar pair in the particular arrangement recited by claim 13 (WO’492, Pgs. 6–9).
CN’546 discloses forming contacts associated with first and second stacked busbars as spring contacts. CN’546 discloses V-shaped elastic body contacts 5 electrically connected to first busbar 1 and bent elastic terminal contacts 10 electrically connected to second busbar 2. The spring contacts are provided at each of a plurality of mounting holes, and a PET insulating film is positioned between the first and second busbars (CN’546, Pgs. 2–5).
CN’546 further teaches that its spring contacts provide suitable contact pressure, accommodate positional tolerance, improve mounting and electrical-contact stability, and permit quick installation and replacement of the battery cells (CN’546, Pgs. 3–6). Applying CN’546’s spring-contact construction to both interconnect systems of WO’492 would provide the claimed first, second, third, and fourth spring contacts.
US’823 discloses a battery pack having multiple groups of battery cells and multiple corresponding busbars. US’823 expressly discloses a conductive coupling, in the form of a relatively thick wire, electrically connecting second busbar 114 to third busbar 122 to establish a series connection between first and second groups of battery cells. US’823 similarly discloses another conductive coupling connecting fourth busbar 116 to fifth busbar 124 to establish a series connection between subsequent cell groups (US’823, [0023]).
US’823 also discloses another arrangement in which first and second busbars 214 and 222 are connected to the terminals of a first group of battery cells, while second and third busbars 222 and 216 are connected to the terminals of a second group. The multiple groups of battery cells are thereby electrically connected in series (US’823, [0024]). US’823 further discloses multiple busbars arranged in stacked layers separated by an insulating layer, with aligned apertures extending through the busbar and insulating layers (US’823, [0025]–[0028], [0030]–[0033]).
WO’492, CN’546, and US’823 are analogous arts because all three references concern busbar assemblies for electrically interconnecting groups of battery cells. Each reference discloses multiple conductive busbars connected to respective battery-cell terminals and insulating structures separating conductive busbars. US’823 additionally addresses electrically coupling successive busbars to connect successive groups of battery cells in series (WO’492, Pgs. 1–9; CN’546, Pgs. 1–5; US’823, [0022]–[0025]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to form the contacts of both interconnect systems of WO’492 using the elastic spring-contact constructions taught by CN’546 and to electrically connect the second busbar of the first interconnect system to the third busbar of the additional interconnect system using the conductive coupling taught by US’823. CN’546 expressly teaches that its spring contacts provide suitable contact pressure, accommodate positional tolerance, and improve installation and contact stability, while US’823 expressly teaches coupling successive busbars to establish a series connection between successive groups of battery cells (CN’546, Pgs. 3–6; US’823, [0023]–[0024]). The resulting assembly would include an input electrically coupled to the first busbar; third and fourth conductive busbars having plural openings and respective spring contacts separated by an insulative member; fourth spring contacts extending through the openings of the third busbar; and a coupling electrically connecting the second busbar to the third busbar, as required by claim 13.
As to Claim 15:
WO’492 in view of CN’546 and US’823 discloses the busbar assembly of claim 13 as set forth in the rejection of claim 13 above.
WO’492 discloses that a plurality of battery modules may be electrically connected together, with each battery module having its own battery interconnect system. Accordingly, a further instance of WO’492’s battery interconnect system provides fifth and sixth conductive busbars for another group of battery cells (WO’492, Pgs. 2, 8–9).
The lower interconnect panel 60 of the further battery interconnect system constitutes a fifth conductive busbar having a plurality of openings 78 therethrough and fifth contacts 80 and 82 extending therefrom. The contacts extend into or through respective openings in the conductive panel (WO’492, Pgs. 5–7).
The upper interconnect panel 58 of the further battery interconnect system constitutes a sixth conductive busbar having sixth contacts 74 and 76 extending therefrom. A sixth contact 74 extends downwardly past the lower interconnect panel and into or through a respective common aligned opening 88 in the lower interconnect panel (WO’492, Pgs. 5–7).
WO’492 further discloses an insulative member in the form of upper insulating layer 64a positioned between the fifth and sixth conductive busbars. Upper insulating layer 64a electrically insulates the upper and lower conductive interconnect panels from one another (WO’492, Pg. 5).
WO’492 also discloses that a plurality of the openings, fifth contacts, and sixth contacts is provided. The plurality of openings and contacts corresponds to the plurality of battery cells connected by the further battery interconnect system (WO’492, Pgs. 5–7).
However, WO’492 does not expressly disclose that the fifth and sixth contacts are spring contacts. WO’492 principally describes the contacts as bent portions of the conductive interconnect panels that are welded or otherwise secured to the battery-cell terminals. WO’492 also does not expressly disclose a coupling electrically connecting the fourth busbar of the preceding busbar pair directly to the fifth busbar of the further busbar pair in the particular arrangement recited by claim 15 (WO’492, Pgs. 6–9).
CN’546 discloses forming contacts associated with first and second stacked busbars as spring contacts. CN’546 discloses V-shaped elastic body contacts 5 electrically connected to first busbar 1 and bent elastic terminal contacts 10 electrically connected to second busbar 2. The spring contacts are provided at each of a plurality of mounting holes, and a PET insulating film is positioned between the first and second busbars (CN’546, Pgs. 2–5).
CN’546 further teaches that its spring contacts provide suitable contact pressure, accommodate positional tolerance, improve mounting and electrical-contact stability, and permit quick installation and replacement of battery cells (CN’546, Pgs. 3–6). Applying CN’546’s spring-contact construction to the further interconnect system of WO’492 would provide the claimed fifth and sixth spring contacts.
US’823 discloses multiple groups of battery cells electrically connected by successive conductive busbars. Specifically, US’823 expressly discloses a conductive coupling connecting fourth busbar 116 to fifth busbar 124 to establish a series connection between the second and third groups of battery cells. US’823 also discloses another conductive coupling connecting second busbar 114 to third busbar 122 to establish a series connection between the preceding cell groups (US’823, [0023]).
US’823 further discloses arrangements having successive groups of battery cells connected through corresponding busbars, with the busbars arranged in layers separated by an insulating layer. The layered busbars may include aligned apertures permitting electrical connections to the battery-cell terminals (US’823, [0024]–[0028], [0030]–[0033]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to repeat the busbar-pair arrangement of WO’492 for a further group of battery cells, form its fifth and sixth contacts using the elastic spring-contact constructions taught by CN’546, and electrically connect the fourth busbar of the preceding busbar pair to the fifth busbar of the further pair using the conductive coupling taught by US’823. CN’546 expressly teaches that its spring contacts provide suitable contact pressure, accommodate positional tolerance, and improve installation and electrical-contact stability, while US’823 expressly teaches coupling the fourth and fifth busbars to establish a series connection between successive groups of battery cells (CN’546, Pgs. 3–6; US’823, [0023]). The resulting assembly would include fifth and sixth conductive busbars having plural openings and respective spring contacts separated by an insulative member, sixth spring contacts extending through the openings of the fifth busbar, and a coupling electrically connecting the fourth busbar to the fifth busbar, as required by claim 15.
As to Claim 17:
WO’492 in view of CN’546 and US’823 discloses the busbar assembly of claim 15 as set forth in the rejection of claim 15 above.
WO’492 discloses that a plurality of battery modules may be electrically connected together, with each battery module having its own battery interconnect system. Accordingly, another instance of WO’492’s battery interconnect system provides seventh and eighth conductive busbars for another group of battery cells (WO’492, Pgs. 2, 8–9).
The lower interconnect panel 60 of the additional battery interconnect system constitutes a seventh conductive busbar having a plurality of openings 78 therethrough and seventh contacts 80 and 82 extending therefrom. The contacts extend into or through respective openings in the conductive panel (WO’492, Pgs. 5–7).
The upper interconnect panel 58 of the additional battery interconnect system constitutes an eighth conductive busbar having eighth contacts 74 and 76 extending therefrom. An eighth contact 74 extends downwardly past the lower interconnect panel and into or through the corresponding common aligned opening 88 in the lower interconnect panel (WO’492, Pgs. 5–7).
WO’492 further discloses an insulative member in the form of upper insulating layer 64a positioned between the seventh and eighth conductive busbars. Upper insulating layer 64a electrically insulates the upper and lower conductive interconnect panels from one another (WO’492, Pg. 5).
WO’492 also discloses that a plurality of the openings, seventh contacts, and eighth contacts is provided. The plurality of openings and contacts corresponds to the plurality of battery cells connected by the additional battery interconnect system (WO’492, Pgs. 5–7).
However, WO’492 does not expressly disclose that the seventh and eighth contacts are spring contacts. WO’492 principally describes the contacts as bent portions of the conductive interconnect panels that are welded or otherwise secured to the battery-cell terminals. WO’492 also does not expressly disclose a coupling electrically connecting the sixth busbar of the preceding busbar pair directly to the seventh busbar of the additional busbar pair in the particular arrangement recited by claim 17 (WO’492, Pgs. 6–9).
CN’546 discloses forming contacts associated with first and second stacked busbars as spring contacts. CN’546 discloses V-shaped elastic body contacts 5 electrically connected to first busbar 1 and bent elastic terminal contacts 10 electrically connected to second busbar 2. The spring contacts are provided at each of a plurality of mounting holes, and a PET insulating film is positioned between the first and second busbars (CN’546, Pgs. 2–5).
CN’546 further teaches that its spring contacts provide suitable contact pressure, accommodate positional tolerance, improve mounting and electrical-contact stability, and permit quick installation and replacement of battery cells (CN’546, Pgs. 3–6). Applying CN’546’s spring-contact construction to the additional interconnect system of WO’492 would provide the claimed seventh and eighth spring contacts.
US’823 discloses multiple groups of battery cells electrically connected by successive conductive busbars. US’823 expressly discloses a conductive coupling connecting second busbar 114 to third busbar 122 and another conductive coupling connecting fourth busbar 116 to fifth busbar 124, thereby establishing series connections between successive groups of battery cells (US’823, [0023]).
US’823 further discloses an alternative arrangement in which successive busbars connect multiple groups of battery cells in series and expressly states that additional groups of battery cells may be connected in series by providing additional busbars in the same arrangement (US’823, [0024], [0034]). Accordingly, US’823 teaches continuing the disclosed coupling pattern to electrically connect a sixth busbar of a preceding cell group to a seventh busbar of an additional cell group.
US’823 also discloses multiple busbars arranged in layers separated by an insulating layer, with aligned apertures through the busbar and insulating layers for making electrical connections to the battery-cell terminals (US’823, [0025]–[0028], [0030]–[0033]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to repeat the busbar-pair arrangement of WO’492 for another group of battery cells, form its seventh and eighth contacts using the elastic spring-contact constructions taught by CN’546, and electrically connect the sixth busbar of the preceding busbar pair to the seventh busbar of the additional pair by continuing the conductive-coupling arrangement taught by US’823. CN’546 expressly teaches that its spring contacts provide suitable contact pressure, accommodate positional tolerance, and improve installation and electrical-contact stability. US’823 expressly teaches coupling successive busbars to establish series connections between successive cell groups and extending that arrangement to additional groups of battery cells (CN’546, Pgs. 3–6; US’823, [0023]–[0024], [0034]). The resulting assembly would include seventh and eighth conductive busbars having plural openings and respective spring contacts separated by an insulative member, eighth spring contacts extending through the openings of the seventh busbar, and a coupling electrically connecting the sixth busbar to the seventh busbar, as required by claim 17.
Claims 14, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020/081492 A2 (“WO’492”) in view of CN 109545546 A (“CN’546”), US 2018/0261823 A1 (“US’823”), and WO 2020/128532 A1 (“WO’532”), as applied to claim 13, and further in view of WO 2018/215725 A1 (“WO’725”).
As to Claim 14:
WO’492 in view of CN’546 and US’823 discloses the busbar assembly of claim 13 as set forth in the rejection of claim 13 above.
WO’492 further discloses external power connections for its conductive interconnect panels. Lower interconnect panel 60 includes first and second power tabs 90 and 92, which constitute positive and negative contacts for the battery-module circuit. Power tabs 90 and 92 are electrically connected to first and second power connectors 132 and 134, respectively, through which current may flow into or out of the battery module (WO’492, Pgs. 7–9).
WO’492 also discloses that its battery-module construction may be repeated and that multiple battery modules may be electrically connected together. Accordingly, the lower conductive interconnect panel of the additional battery interconnect system, identified as the third busbar in the rejection of claim 13, may include corresponding external power tabs and connectors (WO’492, Pgs. 2, 7–9).
However, WO’492 does not expressly identify an output electrically coupled specifically to the third busbar in the claimed multi-busbar assembly in which the second busbar is coupled to the third busbar. Although WO’492 discloses external power tabs on the lower interconnect panel of each battery module, it does not expressly describe the particular external connection on the third busbar as the output of the combined busbar assembly recited in claims 13 and 14 (WO’492, Pgs. 7–9).
CN’546 discloses first and second conductive busbars electrically connected to different battery electrodes through respective elastic spring-contact assemblies. CN’546, however, does not expressly identify an external output electrically coupled to the third busbar of a multi-section busbar assembly (CN’546, Pgs. 2–5).
US’823 discloses multiple groups of battery cells and successive busbars electrically connected in series. US’823 discloses busbars serving as external battery-pack terminals, including a final busbar serving as the positive terminal of the battery pack. Thus, US’823 teaches terminating a series-connected, multi-busbar battery circuit at an external output associated with one of the conductive busbars (US’823, [0023]–[0024]).
WO’725 discloses complementary conductive plates 7 arranged to interconnect a plurality of battery cells into a complete circuit. WO’725 further discloses end conductive plates 7a having conductive projections 16 connected to external battery terminals 9, thereby permitting the battery-cell circuit to be connected to an external circuit (WO’725, Pgs. 3–4, 6).
WO’725 additionally discloses that the external circuit may connect directly to the conductive plates, that the two external terminals need not be positioned on the same holding frame, and that more than two external terminals may be provided so that multiple circuits can be independently connected to the battery module. Accordingly, WO’725 teaches providing an external output directly on a selected conductive plate or busbar of a multi-busbar battery assembly (WO’725, Pg. 6).
WO’492, CN’546, US’823, and WO’725 are analogous arts because all four references concern conductive busbar or conductive-plate assemblies for electrically interconnecting groups of battery cells. WO’492, CN’546, and US’823 disclose multiple conductive busbars connected to respective battery-cell terminals, while US’823 and WO’725 additionally disclose external terminals associated with selected busbars or conductive plates for connecting the resulting battery circuit to an external circuit (WO’492, Pgs. 1–9; CN’546, Pgs. 1–5; US’823, [0022]–[0024]; WO’725, Pgs. 2–6).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to further modify the busbar assembly of WO’492, as modified by CN’546 and US’823 in the rejection of claim 13, by providing an external output directly coupled to the third busbar according to the external-terminal arrangement taught by WO’725. WO’725 expressly teaches providing conductive projections and external terminals on selected end conductive plates to connect the completed battery-cell circuit to an external circuit and permits external terminals to be positioned on different conductive plates or holding frames (WO’725, Pgs. 4, 6). The resulting assembly would have an output electrically coupled to the third busbar, as required by claim 14.
As to Claim 16:
WO’492 in view of CN’546 and US’823 discloses the busbar assembly of claim 15 as set forth in the rejection of claim 15 above.
WO’492 discloses external power connections for its conductive interconnect panels. Lower interconnect panel 60 includes first and second power tabs 90 and 92, which constitute positive and negative contacts for the battery-module circuit. Power tabs 90 and 92 are electrically connected to first and second power connectors 132 and 134, respectively, through which electrical current may flow into or out of battery module 10 (WO’492, Pgs. 7–9).
WO’492 further discloses repeating its battery-module construction and electrically connecting multiple battery modules together. Accordingly, the lower conductive interconnect panel of the further battery interconnect system, identified as the fifth busbar in the rejection of claim 15, may include corresponding external power tabs and connectors (WO’492, Pgs. 2, 7–9).
However, WO’492 does not expressly identify an output electrically coupled specifically to the fifth busbar in the claimed multi-busbar assembly in which the fourth busbar is electrically coupled to the fifth busbar. Although WO’492 discloses external power tabs on the lower interconnect panel of each battery module, it does not expressly describe a particular external connection on the fifth busbar as the output of the combined busbar assembly recited in claims 15 and 16 (WO’492, Pgs. 7–9).
CN’546 discloses first and second conductive busbars electrically connected to different battery electrodes through respective elastic spring-contact assemblies. CN’546, however, does not expressly identify an external output electrically coupled to a fifth busbar in a multi-section busbar assembly (CN’546, Pgs. 2–5).
US’823 discloses multiple groups of battery cells and successive busbars electrically connected in series. US’823 discloses busbars serving as external battery-pack terminals, including a final busbar serving as the positive terminal of the battery pack. Thus, US’823 teaches terminating a series-connected, multi-busbar battery circuit at an external output associated with a selected conductive busbar (US’823, [0023]–[0024]).
WO’725 discloses complementary conductive plates 7 arranged to interconnect a plurality of battery cells into a complete circuit. End conductive plates 7a include conductive projections 16 connected to external battery terminals 9, thereby permitting the battery-cell circuit to be connected to an external circuit (WO’725, Pgs. 3–4, 6).
WO’725 additionally discloses that the external circuit may connect directly to the conductive plates, that the two external terminals need not be positioned on the same holding frame, and that more than two external terminals may be provided so that multiple circuits can be independently connected to the battery module. Accordingly, WO’725 teaches providing an external output directly on a selected conductive plate or busbar of a multi-busbar battery assembly (WO’725, Pg. 6).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to further modify the busbar assembly of WO’492, as modified by CN’546 and US’823 in the rejection of claim 15, by providing an external output directly coupled to the fifth busbar according to the external-terminal arrangement taught by WO’725. WO’725 expressly teaches providing conductive projections and external terminals on selected end conductive plates to connect the completed battery-cell circuit to an external circuit and permits additional external terminals for independently connected circuits (WO’725, Pgs. 4, 6). The resulting assembly would have an output electrically coupled to the fifth busbar, as required by claim 16.
As to Claim 18:
WO’492 in view of CN’546 and US’823 discloses the busbar assembly of claim 17 as set forth in the rejection of claim 17 above.
WO’492 discloses external power connections for its conductive interconnect panels. Lower interconnect panel 60 includes first and second power tabs 90 and 92, which constitute positive and negative contacts for the battery-module circuit. Power tabs 90 and 92 are electrically connected to first and second power connectors 132 and 134, respectively, through which electrical current may flow into or out of battery module 10 (WO’492, Pgs. 7–9).
WO’492 further discloses repeating its battery-module construction and electrically connecting multiple battery modules together. Accordingly, the lower conductive interconnect panel of the additional battery interconnect system, identified as the seventh busbar in the rejection of claim 17, may include corresponding external power tabs and connectors (WO’492, Pgs. 2, 7–9).
However, WO’492 does not expressly identify an output electrically coupled specifically to the seventh busbar in the claimed multi-busbar assembly in which the sixth busbar is electrically coupled to the seventh busbar. Although WO’492 discloses external power tabs on the lower interconnect panel of each battery module, it does not expressly describe a particular external connection on the seventh busbar as the output of the combined busbar assembly recited in claims 17 and 18 (WO’492, Pgs. 7–9).
CN’546 discloses first and second conductive busbars electrically connected to different battery electrodes through respective elastic spring-contact assemblies. CN’546, however, does not expressly identify an external output electrically coupled to a seventh busbar in a multi-section busbar assembly (CN’546, Pgs. 2–5).
US’823 discloses multiple groups of battery cells and successive busbars electrically connected in series. US’823 discloses busbars serving as external battery-pack terminals, including a final busbar serving as the positive terminal of the battery pack. Thus, US’823 teaches terminating a series-connected, multi-busbar battery circuit at an external output associated with a selected conductive busbar (US’823, [0023]–[0024]).
US’823 further expressly teaches that additional groups of battery cells may be connected in series by providing additional busbars according to the disclosed arrangement. Accordingly, the disclosed pattern of successive busbars and cell groups may be extended through the seventh and eighth busbars of claim 17 (US’823, [0034]).
WO’725 discloses complementary conductive plates 7 arranged to interconnect a plurality of battery cells into a complete circuit. End conductive plates 7a include conductive projections 16 connected to external battery terminals 9, thereby permitting the battery-cell circuit to be connected to an external circuit (WO’725, Pgs. 3–4, 6).
WO’725 additionally discloses that the external circuit may connect directly to the conductive plates, that the two external terminals need not be positioned on the same holding frame, and that more than two external terminals may be provided so that multiple circuits can be independently connected to the battery module. Accordingly, WO’725 teaches providing an external output directly on a selected conductive plate or busbar of a multi-busbar battery assembly (WO’725, Pg. 6).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to further modify the busbar assembly of WO’492, as modified by CN’546 and US’823 in the rejection of claim 17, by providing an external output directly coupled to the seventh busbar according to the external-terminal arrangement taught by WO’725. WO’725 expressly teaches providing conductive projections and external terminals on selected end conductive plates to connect the completed battery-cell circuit to an external circuit and permits additional external terminals for independently connected circuits (WO’725, Pgs. 4, 6). The resulting assembly would have an output electrically coupled to the seventh busbar, as required by claim 18.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020/081492 A2 (“WO’492”) in view of CN 109545546 A (“CN’546”), US 2018/0261823 A1 (“US’823”), and WO 2020/128532 A1 (“WO’532”).
As to claim 19:
WO’492 discloses a busbar assembly in the form of a battery interconnect system 16 for electrically interconnecting a plurality of cylindrical battery cells 14. WO’492 explains that multiple battery modules may be electrically connected to form a battery system having a predetermined voltage and capacity (WO’492, Pgs. 2-3).
WO’492 discloses a first conductive busbar corresponding to one of the upper and lower conductive interconnect panels 58, 60, each formed from a sheet of conductive metal. The conductive panels have a plurality of openings 78 and respective conductive contacts 74, 76, 80, 82 formed from and extending into or through the openings. Each contact includes a pad portion and a connector portion joining the contact to the remainder of the conductive panel (WO’492, Pgs. 5-6).
WO’492 further discloses a second conductive busbar corresponding to the other of the upper and lower conductive interconnect panels 58, 60. The openings in the respective panels are aligned, and the contacts of the respective panels extend into or through the aligned openings. WO’492 teaches that the connector portions may be bent, sloped, or curved so that the contact pad portions engage the battery-cell terminals (WO’492, Pgs. 5-7).
WO’492 discloses an insulative member 64a between the first and second conductive busbars 58, 60. In particular, insulating layer 64a is disposed between the upper and lower conductive panels, has openings 68 aligned with the panel openings 78, and may be formed from polyimide, polyethylene terephthalate, polyether ether ketone, or polycarbonate (WO’492, Pgs. 5-7).
WO’492 discloses a plurality of the openings and corresponding contacts, with the number of panel openings corresponding to the number of battery cells. Each cylindrical cell has a center positive terminal 52 and a surrounding annular negative terminal 54 at the same end. One terminal of each cell is connected to a contact of one conductive panel, while the other terminal is connected to a contact of the other conductive panel. Thus, respective contacts of different conductive panels engage the positive and negative terminals of each cell in an array of cells (WO’492, Pgs. 5-7).
WO’492 further discloses that the contacts and busbars electrically connect groups of battery cells in series, parallel, or a combination thereof and that, within each group, the cells may be connected in parallel while the groups are connected in series. WO’492 also discloses positive and negative power tabs 90, 92 forming external contacts for the resulting circuit arrangement (WO’492, Pgs. 6-7).
However, WO’492 does not expressly disclose that its respective positive and negative contacts are spring contacts arranged so that a spring contact of one busbar extends through an opening and nests within a spring contact of another busbar. WO’492 also does not expressly disclose first and second cell arrays having respective first/second and third/fourth nested spring-contact busbar pairs, a coupling expressly connecting the second busbar to the third busbar, an output specifically coupled to the third busbar, or first and second adjustable insulative brackets engaged against the second and fourth busbars.
CN’546 discloses a laminated busbar connection structure having first and second conductive busbars arranged above and below one another. The first busbar includes a plurality of spaced mounting holes, and each mounting hole has a first, outer contact assembly and a second, inner contact assembly (CN’546, Pgs. 2-4).
The first contact assembly includes plural V-shaped elastic contact pieces 5 positioned circumferentially around the mounting hole. The V-shaped elastic pieces engage an outer electrode of the battery and provide adjustable spring force, contact pressure, clamping stability, and absorption of at least approximately 2 mm of positional tolerance. The outer contact assembly is electrically coupled to the first busbar by contact pins 8 (CN’546, Pgs. 2-5).
CN’546 further discloses that the second contact assembly includes plural bent elastic contact sheets 10 attached around the inner edge of an annular inner contact frame 11. The inner contact frame is positioned within the mounting hole and electrically connected to the second busbar. The bent elastic sheets extend inwardly and include supporting ends that resiliently contact the center end electrode of the battery. Thus, the inner spring-contact assembly is positioned within the mounting hole and spatially within the surrounding outer spring-contact assembly, with the inner spring contacts extending through the opening region to engage the center terminal while the surrounding outer spring contacts engage the outer terminal (CN’546, Pgs. 3-5).
CN’546 also discloses that a PET film or another insulating membrane may be used to insulate the first busbar from the second busbar in the laminated structure (CN’546, Pg. 5). Accordingly, when the CN’546 contact configuration is incorporated into WO’492, the surrounding V-shaped spring contacts correspond to the claimed first spring contacts engaging the annular negative terminals identified by WO’492, and the inner bent spring contacts correspond to the claimed second spring contacts engaging the center positive terminals identified by WO’492.
US’823 discloses multiple groups or arrays of battery cells, with the cells within each group connected in parallel and successive groups connected in series by plural busbars. More particularly, US’823 expressly discloses that a wire electrically couples a second busbar 114 to a third busbar 122 to make a series connection between a first group and a second group of battery cells. US’823 further discloses external negative and positive battery-pack terminals associated with the end busbars (US’823, [0023]).
US’823 also discloses another arrangement in which first busbar 214 and second busbar 222 connect a first group of cells, while second busbar 222 and third busbar 216 connect a second group of cells. The second busbar connects the positive terminals of the first group to the negative terminals of the second group to form a series connection. US’823 identifies the first busbar as the negative battery-pack terminal and another busbar as the positive battery-pack terminal (US’823, [0025]). US’823 therefore expressly teaches electrically connecting the busbars associated with successive cell arrays and providing external input and output connections for the resulting series-connected battery pack.
WO’532 discloses a battery-pack assembly having first and second electrically insulative holding frames and respective conductive conductor plates. The first holding frame bears directly against a conductive plate so that contact protrusions of the plate engage respective battery-cell terminals. WO’532 expressly provides that the holding frames may be fabricated from electrically insulative polymers or plastics, including nylon, PPE, ABS, polyamide, polypropylene, and polystyrene (WO’532, Pgs. 1-4).
WO’532 further discloses that one or more conductor plates may be associated with each holding frame, that the conductor plates may connect cells in parallel or series, and that each appropriate conductor plate may include an electrical terminus for connection to an external circuit. WO’532 therefore teaches providing input and output termini electrically coupled to selected conductor plates in the battery-pack circuit (WO’532, Pg. 4; Pg. 12).
WO’532 discloses adjustable fastening members comprising nuts and bolts extending through the opposing holding frames. Tightening the fasteners compresses the assembly and moves the frames toward the conductor plates, thereby urging the conductor plates into electrical contact with the cell terminals. Loosening the fasteners permits the frames and conductor plates to be separated (WO’532, Pgs. 4-5; Pgs. 11-12). Thus, WO’532 teaches an insulative bracket bearing against a conductive plate and having a position adjustable relative to another conductive plate through adjustment of the fasteners.
WO’532 additionally discloses repeating its frame-cell-frame architecture to form an F-C-F-C-F architecture. In that arrangement, a first plurality of cells is positioned between a first outer frame and an intermediate frame, and a second plurality of cells is positioned between the intermediate frame and a second outer frame (WO’532, Pg. 6). WO’532 expressly teaches providing a third holding frame, positioning a second plurality of cells between the second and third holding frames, and locating third and fourth conductors between the second holding frame and the second plurality of cells (WO’532, Pg. 8; Pg. 12). Accordingly, WO’532 teaches repeating both the conductor-plate and adjustable insulative-frame arrangements for the first and second cell arrays.
WO’492, CN’546, US’823, and WO’532 are analogous art because each concerns the construction and electrical interconnection of battery cells within battery modules or battery packs. WO’492 and CN’546 concern conductive busbars and contacts for connecting positive and negative terminals of plural cells; US’823 concerns busbars and interconnections for connecting plural cell groups in series and parallel; and WO’532 concerns conductive plates, insulative holding frames, and adjustable fasteners for maintaining electrical contact with plural battery cells (WO’492, Pgs. 2-3; CN’546, Pgs. 2-3; US’823, [0023]-[0026]; WO’532, Pgs. 1-5).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the layered busbar assembly of WO’492 by employing CN’546’s spatially nested outer and inner spring-contact assemblies for each battery cell, because CN’546 expressly teaches that the elastic contacts provide improved contact pressure, accommodate positional tolerances, improve mounting stability, and facilitate assembly and cell replacement (CN’546, Pgs. 3-5).
It further would have been obvious to repeat the modified busbar pair for the two cell arrays expressly taught by WO’532 and to provide respective adjustable insulative brackets bearing against the second and fourth busbars, because WO’532 expressly teaches a repeated F-C-F-C-F architecture, third and fourth conductors for the second plurality of cells, and adjustable fasteners that urge insulative frames and conductive plates together to maintain electrical contact while permitting disassembly, repair, and reuse (WO’532, Pgs. 4-6, 8, and 11-12).
It additionally would have been obvious to electrically couple the second busbar of the first array to the third busbar of the second array as expressly taught by US’823, because US’823 teaches that this coupling forms a series connection between successive cell groups (US’823, [0023], [0025]).
Finally, it would have been obvious to provide external input and output termini on the selected first and third busbars because WO’492 teaches external positive and negative power contacts for the busbar circuit, and WO’532 expressly teaches providing an electrical terminus on an appropriate conductor plate for connection to an external circuit (WO’492, Pg. 7; WO’532, Pgs. 4 and 12), thereby arriving at the busbar assembly recited in claim 19.
As to claim 20:
Claim 20 depends from claim 19. WO’492 in view of CN’546, US’823, and WO’532 discloses or suggests all the limitations of claim 19 for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 19 above.
WO’492 further discloses at least one insulative bottom plate configured to hold the battery cells therein. In particular, WO’492 discloses upper and lower cell holders 40a, 40b retaining the upper and lower portions of the cylindrical battery cells 14. Each cell holder 40 may be composed of plastic and includes a substrate 42 having a plurality of openings 44, each of which snugly holds a respective battery cell. WO’492 further discloses that the lower cell holder 40b may be integrally joined to the housing body 18 and may form part of the bottom wall of the housing body. The housing body and associated structures may be formed from thermoplastic resin having electrical-insulating properties (WO’492, Pgs. 4-5). Thus, lower plastic cell holder 40b, forming part of the housing bottom wall and having openings that hold the lower portions of the cells, corresponds to the claimed insulative bottom plate.
WO’492 also discloses that a plurality of battery modules may be connected together to form a battery system (WO’492, Pg. 2). Accordingly, each of the first and second battery-cell arrays discussed in the rejection of claim 19 may be supported by a respective lower plastic cell holder 40b or by a common lower holding structure.
However, WO’492 does not expressly disclose members coupling the adjustable insulative brackets to the bottom plate, wherein adjustment of the members moves the respective brackets. WO’492 also does not expressly disclose a cold plate engaged against an end of each battery cell for dissipating heat from the cells.
WO’532 discloses an insulative bottom-plate and adjustable-bracket arrangement. WO’532 teaches that its holding frames may be fabricated from electrically insulative polymer or plastic materials and that each holding frame may have a generally flat base and cell-locating structures configured to receive portions of the battery cells (WO’532, Pgs. 4-6).
More particularly, WO’532 discloses first and second holding frames 10A, 10B having respective flat bases B1, B2. The bases include concave sections and base protrusions defining cell-locating structures between which portions of the battery cells are received. The battery cells are held longitudinally between the two holding frames (WO’532, Pgs. 8-9). Accordingly, at least the lower holding frame 10B and its flat base B2 correspond to the claimed insulative bottom plate configured to hold the battery cells.
WO’532 further discloses members coupling the brackets to the bottom plate. In particular, the first holding frame 10A includes slots 16A-16Z receiving adjustable fasteners 12A-12Z, and the second holding frame 10B includes corresponding slots receiving the same fasteners. Each fastener extends through the first holding frame and into or through the second holding frame and is secured by a nut. The fasteners thereby couple the opposing holding frames together (WO’532, Pg. 9).
WO’532 expressly teaches that tightening the fasteners compresses the assembly and moves the holding frames toward the conductive plates and cell terminals. In the closed condition, the fasteners cause the cell terminals and conductive plates to be urged together. Loosening or removing the fasteners permits the frames and cells to separate (WO’532, Pgs. 4-5 and 9-10). Thus, the fasteners are adjustable members that couple the upper insulative holding frame or bracket to the lower insulative frame or bottom plate and move the position of the bracket relative to the busbars.
WO’532 additionally discloses repeating the frame-cell-frame architecture to form an F-C-F-C-F architecture. In this arrangement, a first plurality of cells is located between a first outer holding frame and an intermediate holding frame, and a second plurality of cells is located between the intermediate holding frame and a second outer holding frame (WO’532, Pg. 6). WO’532 also expressly discloses providing a third holding frame, positioning a second plurality of cells between the second and third holding frames, and providing third and fourth conductors for the second plurality of cells (WO’532, Pg. 8; Pg. 12). Therefore, WO’532 teaches applying the adjustable fastening and insulative-frame arrangement to both claimed battery-cell arrays.
US’823 discloses a heat-transfer plate engaged against the ends of the battery cells and configured to dissipate heat. Specifically, US’823 discloses that heat sink 252 is assembled to and thermally coupled with the bottom ends 140 of battery cells 102, 104, 106, 108, 110, and 112. The heat sink may include fins or passages for air or liquid cooling and may be attached to the bottom of the battery-cell holder. US’823 explains that the coplanar cell ends provide a relatively flat surface for attachment of the heat sink and that the cells may be efficiently cooled through their bottom ends (US’823, [0028]).
US’823 further discloses arranging the busbars at the first ends of the cells so that the opposite ends remain available for thermal management. A heat sink is attached to the bottom of the cell holder, and air or liquid flow may be directed over or through the heat sink using a fan or liquid pump (US’823, [0036]-[0037]). Heat sink 252 therefore corresponds to the claimed cold plate because it is engaged and thermally coupled against the ends of the cells, includes passages for liquid cooling, and performs the claimed function of dissipating heat from the battery cells.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to further modify the busbar assembly of WO’492, as modified by CN’546 and US’823 and as applied to claim 19, by employing WO’532’s insulative holding frames having flat cell-receiving bases and adjustable fasteners coupling the respective upper frames or brackets to the lower frames or bottom plates. WO’532 expressly teaches that tightening the fasteners compresses and moves the frames toward the conductive plates and cell terminals to maintain electrical contact, while loosening the fasteners permits disassembly, repair, replacement, and reuse of the battery-pack components (WO’532, Pgs. 4-5 and 8-10).
It further would have been obvious to engage US’823’s liquid-cooled heat sink 252 against the bottom ends of the cells because US’823 expressly teaches that this arrangement thermally couples the heat sink to the cell ends, leaves the opposite ends available for heat removal, and efficiently cools the cells through their bottom ends (US’823, [0028] and [0036]-[0037]), thereby arriving at the busbar assembly recited in claim 20.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
JP 4869588 B2 discloses a plurality of unit cells connected in series, and has a case having an output terminal connected to the positive electrode or the negative electrode of each of the stored unit cells, and the output terminal and the positive electrode of the unit cell.
/JIMMY VO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/JIMMY VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723