DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Status of claims
Claims 1-14 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The limitation in lines 3-4 of claim 1 should be corrected to read --the movable assembly has a tubular connecting portion-- as Applicant’s disclosure shows that the tubular connecting portion (21) is a part of the movable assembly (2), not the fixed assembly (1).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 first defines of “at least one set of buckling components” that is arranged on an outer peripheral surface of the tubular connecting portion in lines 4-5. Claim 1 further goes on to define that each buckling component comprises “a circumferential positioning protrusion” in lines 5-6 and that the circumferential positioning protrusion has “at least two mutually parallel axial positioning protrusions extending along a circumferential direction of the tubular connecting portion; a snap-in groove is formed between every two adjacent axial positioning protrusions” in lines 7-9. Claim 1 also goes on to define that an inner side of a surrounding portion of the fixed assembly is “provided with buckling components” and appears to insinuate that the buckling components of the fixed assembly are identical to those of the movable assembly, thus also comprising a positioning protrusion, at least two mutually parallel axial positioning protrusions, and snap-in grooves, by stating that “the axial positioning protrusions of one of the two sets of buckling components extend into the snap-in grooves of the corresponding set of buckling components” in lines 15-17. However, it is unclear as to whether this is Applicant’s intention or not as it is not clearly defined within the claim as to whether the buckling components of the movable and fixed assemblies are identical and comprise the same features. For the purpose of this action, Examiner will interpret that the buckling components of each the movable assembly and fixed assembly are identical, thus each comprising the same components. As such, Examiner will interpret claim 1 as reading the following:
“An easy-to-mount connector, comprising a fixed assembly and a movable assembly, wherein the movable assembly has an end extending into the fixed assembly and connected to the fixed assembly, the movable assembly has a tubular connecting portion, wherein at least one first set of buckling components is arranged on an outer peripheral surface of the tubular connecting portion, of the at least one set of first buckling components comprises a circumferential positioning protrusion arranged along an axial direction of the tubular connecting portion; the circumferential positioning protrusion has at least two mutually parallel axial positioning protrusions extending along a circumferential direction of the tubular connecting portion; wherein a snap-in groove is formed between every two adjacent axial positioning protrusions of the at least two mutually parallel axial positioning protrusions;
the fixed assembly has a surrounding portion matched with the tubular connecting portion, and an inner side of the surrounding portion is provided with at least one set of second buckling components that are misaligned with the at least one set of first buckling components on the outer peripheral surface of the tubular connecting portion; each of the at least one set of second buckling components comprises a circumferential positioning protrusion arranged along an axial direction of the surrounding portion; the circumferential positioning protrusion has at least two mutually parallel axial positioning protrusions extending along a circumferential direction of the surrounding portion; wherein a snap-in groove is formed between every two adjacent axial positioning protrusions of the at least two mutually parallel axial positioning protrusions; the at least one set of second buckling components of the fixed assembly correspond with the at least one set of first buckling components of the movable assembly and are arranged facing each other, and the axial positioning protrusions of each of the first and second sets of buckling components extend into the snap-in grooves of their corresponding set of buckling components”.
Claims 2-3, 5, 7-14 each go on to refer at least one of the buckling components, however it is unclear whether the buckling components of the movable assembly or the fixed assembly are being referred to. For example, claim 2 recites “wherein one end of each axial positioning protrusion of the same buckling component starts form the circumferential positioning protrusion”; it is unclear which buckling component is being referred to. Further, claim 3 recites “the circumferential positioning protrusion of one buckling component is on a moving path of the axial positioning protrusions of the matched buckling component”; it is unclear which of the one buckling component and matched buckling component are a part of the movable or fixed assemblies. Still further, claim 5 recites “wherein one end of each axial positioning protrusion of one of the buckling components away from the circumferential positioning protrusion of the current buckling component has an inclined guide surface”; it is unclear whether the stated buckling components are referring to those of the movable or fixed assemblies. Clarification is required within the claims. As such, for the purpose of this action, and in order to maintain consistent with Examiner’s interpretation of claim 1, Examiner will interpret claims 2-3, 5, 7-8, 10-14 as reading the following:
Claim 2: “The easy-to-mount connector according to claim 1, wherein for each of the first and second sets of buckling components, one end of each axial positioning protrusion its circumferential positioning protrusion”.
Claim 3: “The easy-to-mount connector according to claim 1, wherein when the fixed assembly and the movable assembly rotate toward each other, the circumferential positioning protrusion of each of the first and second sets of buckling components is on a moving path of the axial positioning protrusion of their corresponding buckling component”.
Claim 5: “The easy-to-mount connector according to claim 1, wherein one end of each axial positioning protrusion of each of the first and second sets of buckling components away from its circumferential positioning protrusion
Claim 7: “The easy-to-mount connector according to claim 1, wherein the axial positioning protrusions of each of the first and second sets of buckling components comprise at least one first axial positioning protrusion with a width W, and the additional axial positioning protrusions are second axial positioning protrusions with a width D, where W>D; each of the first and second sets of buckling components s receive[[s]] the corresponding first axial positioning protrusion of the first and second sets of buckling components”.
Claim 8: “The easy-to-mount connector according to claim 8, wherein a limiting protrusion is arranged on a side of the tubular connecting portion away from the fixed assembly, and the positioning groove of the first sets of buckling components is formed between the limiting protrusion and the first axial positioning protrusion of the first sets of buckling components that is adjacent to the limiting protrusion;
correspondingly, the first axial positioning protrusion of the second sets of buckling components of the fixed assembly is located at an end of the fixed assembly adjacent to the movable assembly”.
Claims 10-14 will be interpreted in the same manner of claim 7, as the language of claim 7 and claims 10-14 are identical.
Claim 9 presents the same issues as claims 2-3, 5, 7-8, 10-14 above regarding the claimed buckling components, and goes on to further recite that “the circumferential positioning protrusions of all the buckling components are located on the same side of the axial positioning protrusions” in lines 4-5 and that “the circumferential positioning protrusions of all the buckling components are on the other side of the axial positioning protrusions” in lines 9-11. It is unclear exactly what Applicant is intending to claim. It is Examiner’s understanding that Applicant is attempting to define the positional relationship between the circumferential positioning protrusions of the movable assembly and the fixable assembly, such that they are located on opposing ends of their respective axial positioning protrusions such that they act as end stops upon rotation of the assemblies, but such is not clearly stated within the claim. As such, for the purpose of this action, Examiner will interpret that claim 9 is directed to the positional relationship of the circumferential positioning protrusions. As such, Examiner will interpret claim 9 as reading as:
“The easy-to-mount connector according to claim 1, wherein the at least one sets of first buckling components on the outer peripheral surface of the tubular connecting portion comprises two sets of first buckling components that are evenly distributed and oriented in the same direction, wherein the circumferential positioning protrusions of sets of buckling components are located on the same side of the axial positioning protrusions;
the at least one sets of second buckling components on the surrounding portion of the fixed assembly comprises two sets of second buckling components that are evenly distributed and oriented in an opposite direction relative to the first sets of buckling components on the surface of the tubular connecting portion, wherein the circumferential positioning protrusions of the second sets of buckling components are on an opposite side of the axial positioning protrusions of the second sets of buckling components relative to the side of the circumferential positioning protrusions of the first sets of buckling components”.
Claims 4, 6 are rejected as they are dependent from rejected claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hood et al. (US 5,324,297; hereinafter Hood) in view of Burton (US 9,140,285).
Regarding claim 1, Hood (Fig. 7-13) discloses an easy-to-mount connector, comprising a fixed assembly (42) and a movable assembly (46), wherein the movable assembly has an end extending into the fixed assembly and connected to the fixed assembly (see Fig. 7), the movable assembly has a tubular connecting portion (52), wherein at least one first set of buckling components is arranged on an outer peripheral surface of the tubular connecting portion (see two first sets of buckling components 58 disposed on the outer surface of the connecting portion and opposed diametrically from one another in Fig. 7-9a, 12-13), each of the at least one set of first buckling components comprises at least two mutually parallel axial positioning protrusions (62) extending along a circumferential direction of the tubular connecting portion (see Fig. 8), wherein a snap-in groove is formed between every two adjacent axial positioning protrusions of the at least two mutually parallel axial positioning protrusions (see snap-in grooves in Annotated Fig. 1 below);
the fixed assembly has a surrounding portion (54) matched with the tubular connecting portion (see Fig. 8), and an inner side of the surrounding portion is provided with at least one set of second buckling components (see two second sets of buckling components 68 disposed on the inner side of the surrounding portion and opposed diametrically from one another in Fig. 8) that are misaligned with the at least one set of first buckling components on the outer peripheral surface of the tubular connecting portion (Fig. 9-9a shows the first and second sets buckling components misaligned with one another prior to assembly, see Col. 13 lines 37-48); each of the at least one set of second buckling components comprises at least two mutually parallel axial positioning protrusions (64) extending along a circumferential direction of the surrounding portion (see Fig. 8); wherein a snap-in groove is formed between every two adjacent axial positioning protrusions of the at least two mutually parallel axial positioning protrusions (see snap-in grooves in Annotated Fig. 2 below); the at least one set of second buckling components of the fixed assembly correspond with the at least one set of first buckling components of the movable assembly and are arranged facing each other (see Fig. 7, as they interlock with one another upon assembly, see Col. 13 lines 37-48), and the axial positioning protrusions of each of the first and second sets of buckling components extend into the snap-in grooves of their corresponding set of buckling components (see Fig. 7, see Col. 11 lines 49-60).
Annotated Figure 1 Annotated Figure 2
Hood does not explicitly disclose wherein each of the at least one set of first and second buckling components each comprise a circumferential positioning protrusion arranged along an axial direction of the tubular connecting portion and the surrounding portion.
Burton teaches of a connection between a movable assembly (30) and a fixed assembly (20), wherein the movable assembly comprises a tubular connecting portion (12) having sets of buckling components formed by circumferential positioning protrusions (14) that are arranged along an axial direction of the tubular connecting portion (see Fig. 4), wherein each circumferential positioning protrusion is a continuous integrated structure (see Fig. 4), wherein each circumferential positioning protrusion has extending from it mutually parallel axial positioning protrusions (16) that extend along a circumferential direction of the tubular connecting portion (see Fig. 4), wherein one end of each axial positioning protrusion starts and extends from the circumferential positioning protrusion (see Fig. 4), wherein when the tubular connecting portion is inserted within the fixed assembly, the movable assembly is rotated such that the mutually parallel axial positioning protrusions engage with corresponding axial positioning protrusions (38) which form a column (24) on an inner surface of a surrounding portion of the fixed assembly (see Fig. 15, see Col. 4 lines 8-30), and wherein upon rotation of the movable assembly, the circumferential positioning protrusions (14) engages an edge of the column, thereby preventing additional unwanted rotation (see Claim 1).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Hood with the teachings of Burton, to have each of the first sets of buckling components comprise a circumferential positioning protrusion arranged along an axial direction of the tubular connecting portion, wherein one end of each axial positioning protrusions of the tubular connecting portion starts and extends form the circumferential positioning protrusion, to have each of the second sets of buckling components comprise a circumferential positioning protrusion arranged along an axial direction of the surrounding portion, wherein one end of each axial positioning protrusion of the surrounding portion starts and extends form the circumferential positioning protrusion, wherein each of the circumferential positioning protrusions are continuous integrated structures, as such would assist the movable assembly from over-rotation when it is to be assembled within the fixed assembly, by way of the circumferential positioning protrusions contacting edges of the respective axial positioning protrusions of the first and second sets of buckling components.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Hood and Burton further teach wherein for each of the first and second sets of buckling components, one end of each axial positioning protrusions starts from its circumferential positioning protrusion (as taught in claim 1).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Hood and Burton further teach wherein when the fixed assembly and the movable assembly rotate toward each other, the circumferential positioning protrusion of each of the first and second sets of buckling components is on a moving path of the axial positioning protrusion of their corresponding buckling component (being that circumferential positioning protrusions contact edges of the respective axial positioning protrusions of the first and second sets of buckling components upon rotation of the movable assembly as taught in claim 1, the circumferential positioning protrusion of each of the first and second sets of buckling components will be on a moving path of the axial positioning protrusion of their corresponding buckling component.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Hood and Burton further teach wherein each of the circumferential positioning protrusions is a continuous integrated structure (as taught in claim 1).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Hood and Burton further teach wherein the at least one set of first buckling components on the outer peripheral surface of the tubular connecting portion (52 of Hood) comprises two sets of first buckling components (58 of Hood) that are evenly distributed and oriented in the same direction (see two first sets of buckling components 58 disposed on the outer surface of the connecting portion and opposed diametrically from one another in Fig. 7-9a, 12-13 of Hood), wherein the circumferential positioning protrusions of the first sets of buckling components are located on the same side of the axial positioning protrusions (the circumferential positioning protrusions taught by Burton will be formed on the same side of their respective axial positioning protrusions);
the at least one sets of second buckling components (68 of Hood) on the surrounding portion (54 of Hood) of the fixed assembly comprises two sets of second buckling components that are evenly distributed and oriented in an opposite direction relative to the first sets of buckling components on the surface of the tubular connecting portion (see two second sets of buckling components 68 disposed on the inner side of the surrounding portion and opposed diametrically from one another in Fig. 8 of Hood; Fig. 9-9a of Hood shows the first and second sets buckling components misaligned with one another prior to assembly, i.e. oriented in an opposite direction relative to the first buckling components, see Col. 13 lines 37-48 of Hood), wherein the circumferential positioning protrusions of the second sets of buckling components are on an opposite side of the axial positioning protrusions of the second sets of buckling components relative to the side of the circumferential positioning protrusions of the first sets of buckling components (the circumferential positioning protrusions taught by Burton will be formed on a side of their respective axial positioning protrusions that is opposite that of the circumferential positioning protrusions of the first sets of buckling components, as the buckling components are misaligned prior to assembly, see Fig. 9-9a of Hood, and such allows for the circumferential positioning protrusions of the first and second sets to abut the edges of their corresponding axial positioning protrusions after rotating the movable assembly, as taught by Burton).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hood in view of Burton as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Wandelt (US 8,979,417).
Regarding claim 5, neither Hood nor Burton explicitly disclose wherein one end of each axial positioning protrusion of each of the first and second sets of buckling components away from its circumferential positioning protrusion has an inclined guide surface.
Wandelt (Fig. 1-9) teaches of a connection between a movable assembly (2) and a fixed assembly (3), wherein the movable assembly comprises axial positioning protrusions (5) that circumferentially extend along an outer peripheral surface of a tubular portion (see Fig. 5) of the movable assembly, wherein the positioning protrusions of the tubular portion are configured to engage with protrusions (6) on an inner peripheral surface of the fixed assembly (see Fig. 1-4, see Col. 7 lines 40-67), wherein each axial positioning protrusion has an end that extends from the surface of the tubular portion, such that the radius of each axial positioning protrusion increases along the circumferential length of each axial positioning protrusion (see Fig. 5, 7, see Col. 7 lines 17-19), thereby forming inclined guide surfaces (4) that extend from the outer surface of the tubular portion.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hood with the teachings of Wandelt, to have each of the axial positioning protrusions of each of the first and second sets of buckling components comprise inclined guide surfaces that extend from their respective peripheral surface such that the radius of each axial positioning protrusion increases along the circumferential length of each axial positioning protrusion until they reach their circumferential positioning protrusion. In doing such, inclined guide surfaces for each axial positioning protrusion will be formed wherein the beginning end of each guide surface is located away from the circumferential positioning protrusion.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hood in view of Burton as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Matthes et al. (US 12,385,513; hereinafter Matthes).
Regarding claim 6, neither Hood nor Burton explicitly disclose wherein when the fixed assembly and the movably assembly are engaged, reinforcing positioning protrusions respectively arranged on the tubular connecting portion and the surrounding portion are in misaligned distribution.
Matthes (Fig. 13-18) teaches of a fastening arrangement between a first component (10’) and a second component (B1), wherein the first component comprises reinforcing positioning protrusions (98) located on an outer periphery of the first component (see Fig. 18) and the second component comprises reinforcing positioning protrusions (96’) located on an inner periphery of the second component (see Fig. 13, 18), wherein the reinforcing positioning protrusions of the first component are misaligned with the reinforcing positioning protrusions of the second component, such that in order to maintain a pre-fastening positioning between the first and second components, the reinforcing positioning protrusions engage one another such that the first and second components are fixed to one another, but in an adjustable and releasable manner (see Col. 14 lines 6-16).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hood with the teachings Matthes, to have each reinforcing positioning protrusions respectively arranged on the tubular connecting portion and the surrounding portion in misaligned distribution as in doing so would provide for the movable and fixed assemblies to have the ability to maintain a pre-fastening position such that the movable and fixed assemblies are fixed to one another, but in an adjustable and releasable manner.
Claims 7-8, 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hood in view of Burton as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Myrhum, Jr. et al. (US 11,766,800; hereinafter Myrhum).
Regarding claim 7, neither Hood nor Burton explicitly disclose wherein the axial positioning protrusions of each of the first and second sets of buckling components comprise at least one first axial positioning protrusion with a width W, and the additional axial positioning protrusions are second axial positioning protrusions with a width D, where W>D; each of the first and second sets of buckling components has a positioning groove, the positioning grooves receive the corresponding first axial positioning protrusion of the first and second sets of buckling components.
Myrhum (Fig. 1-7) teaches of an assembly between a first component (18) and a second component (14), wherein the first component comprises a buckling structure comprising a first axial positioning protrusions (66) and second axial positioning protrusions (58), the first axial positioning protrusion having a width (T) greater than widths of the second axial positioning protrusions (P, see Col. 3 lines 34-38), wherein the first axial positioning protrusion is received in a positioning groove (40) located at an inner peripheral end of the second component (see Fig. 3).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hood with the teachings of Myrhum, to have each of the first and second sets of buckling components have one of their axial positioning protrusions be a first axial positioning protrusion having a width W, and the additional axial positioning protrusions be second axial positioning protrusions with a width D, wherein W>D; and wherein each of the first and second sets of buckling components has a positioning groove located at a peripheral end of the buckling components to correspondingly receive the first axial positioning protrusions, as in doing such would assist in further securing the movable and fixed assemblies to one another when assembling them together.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Hood, Burton, and Myrhum further teach wherein a limiting protrusion (92 of Hood) is arranged on a side of the tubular connecting portion (52 of Hood) away from the fixed assembly (54 of Hood, see Fig. 8 of Hood), and the positioning groove of the first sets of buckling components is formed between the limiting protrusion and the first axial positioning protrusion of the first sets of buckling components that is adjacent to the limiting protrusion (being that the positioning groove is located at an end of the buckling components as taught in claim 7, it will thereby be formed between the limiting position and the first axial positioning protrusion);
correspondingly, the first axial positioning protrusion of the second sets of buckling components of the fixed assembly is located at an end of the fixed assembly adjacent to the movable assembly (being that the positioning groove of the first buckling components is located at an end of the buckling components, as taught in claim 7, the first axial positioning protrusion of the second buckling components will be located at an end so that it corresponds to the positioning groove of the first buckling components).
Regarding claim 10, neither Hood nor Burton explicitly disclose wherein the axial positioning protrusions of each of the first and second sets of buckling components comprise at least one first axial positioning protrusion with a width W, and the additional axial positioning protrusions are second axial positioning protrusions with a width D, where W>D; each of the first and second sets of buckling components has a positioning groove, the positioning grooves receive the corresponding first axial positioning protrusion of the first and second sets of buckling components.
Myrhum (Fig. 1-7) teaches of an assembly between a first component (18) and a second component (14), wherein the first component comprises a buckling structure comprising a first axial positioning protrusions (66) and second axial positioning protrusions (58), the first axial positioning protrusion having a width (T) greater than widths of the second axial positioning protrusions (P, see Col. 3 lines 34-38), wherein the first axial positioning protrusion is received in a positioning groove (40) located at an inner peripheral end of the second component (see Fig. 3).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hood with the teachings of Myrhum, to have each of the first and second sets of buckling components have one of their axial positioning protrusions be a first axial positioning protrusion having a width W, and the additional axial positioning protrusions be second axial positioning protrusions with a width D, wherein W>D; and wherein each of the first and second sets of buckling components has a positioning groove located at a peripheral end of the buckling components to correspondingly receive the first axial positioning protrusions, as in doing such would assist in further securing the movable and fixed assemblies to one another when assembling them together.
Regarding claim 11, neither Hood nor Burton explicitly disclose wherein the axial positioning protrusions of each of the first and second sets of buckling components comprise at least one first axial positioning protrusion with a width W, and the additional axial positioning protrusions are second axial positioning protrusions with a width D, where W>D; each of the first and second sets of buckling components has a positioning groove, the positioning grooves receive the corresponding first axial positioning protrusion of the first and second sets of buckling components.
Myrhum (Fig. 1-7) teaches of an assembly between a first component (18) and a second component (14), wherein the first component comprises a buckling structure comprising a first axial positioning protrusions (66) and second axial positioning protrusions (58), the first axial positioning protrusion having a width (T) greater than widths of the second axial positioning protrusions (P, see Col. 3 lines 34-38), wherein the first axial positioning protrusion is received in a positioning groove (40) located at an inner peripheral end of the second component (see Fig. 3).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hood with the teachings of Myrhum, to have each of the first and second sets of buckling components have one of their axial positioning protrusions be a first axial positioning protrusion having a width W, and the additional axial positioning protrusions be second axial positioning protrusions with a width D, wherein W>D; and wherein each of the first and second sets of buckling components has a positioning groove located at a peripheral end of the buckling components to correspondingly receive the first axial positioning protrusions, as in doing such would assist in further securing the movable and fixed assemblies to one another when assembling them together.
Regarding claim 12, neither Hood nor Burton explicitly disclose wherein the axial positioning protrusions of each of the first and second sets of buckling components comprise at least one first axial positioning protrusion with a width W, and the additional axial positioning protrusions are second axial positioning protrusions with a width D, where W>D; each of the first and second sets of buckling components has a positioning groove, the positioning grooves receive the corresponding first axial positioning protrusion of the first and second sets of buckling components.
Myrhum (Fig. 1-7) teaches of an assembly between a first component (18) and a second component (14), wherein the first component comprises a buckling structure comprising a first axial positioning protrusions (66) and second axial positioning protrusions (58), the first axial positioning protrusion having a width (T) greater than widths of the second axial positioning protrusions (P, see Col. 3 lines 34-38), wherein the first axial positioning protrusion is received in a positioning groove (40) located at an inner peripheral end of the second component (see Fig. 3).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hood with the teachings of Myrhum, to have each of the first and second sets of buckling components have one of their axial positioning protrusions be a first axial positioning protrusion having a width W, and the additional axial positioning protrusions be second axial positioning protrusions with a width D, wherein W>D; and wherein each of the first and second sets of buckling components has a positioning groove located at a peripheral end of the buckling components to correspondingly receive the first axial positioning protrusions, as in doing such would assist in further securing the movable and fixed assemblies to one another when assembling them together.
Claim 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hood in view of Burton and Wandelt as applied to claim 5 above and in further view of Myrhum.
Regarding claim 13, neither Hood, Burton, Wandelt explicitly disclose wherein the axial positioning protrusions of each of the first and second sets of buckling components comprise at least one first axial positioning protrusion with a width W, and the additional axial positioning protrusions are second axial positioning protrusions with a width D, where W>D; each of the first and second sets of buckling components has a positioning groove, the positioning grooves receive the corresponding first axial positioning protrusion of the first and second sets of buckling components.
Myrhum (Fig. 1-7) teaches of an assembly between a first component (18) and a second component (14), wherein the first component comprises a buckling structure comprising a first axial positioning protrusions (66) and second axial positioning protrusions (58), the first axial positioning protrusion having a width (T) greater than widths of the second axial positioning protrusions (P, see Col. 3 lines 34-38), wherein the first axial positioning protrusion is received in a positioning groove (40) located at an inner peripheral end of the second component (see Fig. 3).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hood with the teachings of Myrhum, to have each of the first and second sets of buckling components have one of their axial positioning protrusions be a first axial positioning protrusion having a width W, and the additional axial positioning protrusions be second axial positioning protrusions with a width D, wherein W>D; and wherein each of the first and second sets of buckling components has a positioning groove located at a peripheral end of the buckling components to correspondingly receive the first axial positioning protrusions, as in doing such would assist in further securing the movable and fixed assemblies to one another when assembling them together.
Claim 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hood in view of Burton and Matthes as applied to claim 6 above and in further view of Myrhum.
Regarding claim 14, neither Hood, Burton, nor Matthes explicitly disclose wherein the axial positioning protrusions of each of the first and second sets of buckling components comprise at least one first axial positioning protrusion with a width W, and the additional axial positioning protrusions are second axial positioning protrusions with a width D, where W>D; each of the first and second sets of buckling components has a positioning groove, the positioning grooves receive the corresponding first axial positioning protrusion of the first and second sets of buckling components.
Myrhum (Fig. 1-7) teaches of an assembly between a first component (18) and a second component (14), wherein the first component comprises a buckling structure comprising a first axial positioning protrusions (66) and second axial positioning protrusions (58), the first axial positioning protrusion having a width (T) greater than widths of the second axial positioning protrusions (P, see Col. 3 lines 34-38), wherein the first axial positioning protrusion is received in a positioning groove (40) located at an inner peripheral end of the second component (see Fig. 3).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hood with the teachings of Myrhum, to have each of the first and second sets of buckling components have one of their axial positioning protrusions be a first axial positioning protrusion having a width W, and the additional axial positioning protrusions be second axial positioning protrusions with a width D, wherein W>D; and wherein each of the first and second sets of buckling components has a positioning groove located at a peripheral end of the buckling components to correspondingly receive the first axial positioning protrusions, as in doing such would assist in further securing the movable and fixed assemblies to one another when assembling them together.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
/KEVIN J BAYNES/Examiner, Art Unit 3678