DETAILED ACTION
Please note: Examiner has cited particular columns, line numbers, and figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teaching of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well.
Applicants are reminded that MPEP 2141.02 states:
A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-2, 4, 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nokia et al., "Views on mitigating UE and gNB Rx/Tx timing errors", 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #105-e, e-Meeting, May 10th-27th, 2021, total 8 pages, R1- 2105512 (hereinafter Nokia). (Nokia is disclosed in the IDS filed on 02/05/2024).
Regarding claim 1:
As shown in figures 1-4, Nokia discloses a method for transmitting timing error association information, applied to a terminal device (see introduction (TX timing error)), comprising:
transmitting association information between a sounding reference signal for positioning (SRS-Pos) resource or SRS-Pos resource set and transmission timing error information to a network side device (see Nokia, page 6, Alt.2: Support a UE to provide the association information of a UE Rx-Tx time difference measurement with a UE RxTx TEG- to LMF according to the one of the 2 following options:
Option 1: the UE RxTx TEG is associated with one or more {DL PRS resource, UL Positioning SRS resource} pairs…
Option 2: the UE RxTx TEG is associated with one or more {Rx TEG, Tx TEG} pairs where the RxTEG is used to receive the DL PRS and the Tx TEG is used to transmit the UL Positioning SRS…
For both alternatives, the UE may provide the association information of SRS resources for positioning to UE Tx TEG to LMF).
Regarding claim 2:
Nokia further discloses wherein transmitting the association information between the SRS-Pos resource or SRS-Pos resource set and the transmission timing error information to the network side device (see introduction (TX timing error)) comprises:
transmitting the association information to a location management function (LMF) (see page 6, Alt 2); or
transmitting the association information to a base station; or
transmitting the association information to an LMF via a base station;
wherein the network side device comprises the LMF or the base station (see page 6, Alt 2).
Regarding claim 4:
Nokia further discloses
transmitting multiple SRSs-Pos using a same radio frequency link during one positioning measurement (figure 4 shows transmitting multiple SRSs-Pos using a same radio frequency link during one positioning measurement); or
reporting a mapping relationship between a transmission timing error information ID and a range of transmission timing error to the network side device; or
reporting timestamp information corresponding to the association information for indicating a validity period of the association information to the network side device; or
reporting configuration information of a sounding reference signal for MIMO (SRS-MIMO) and/or association information between SRS-MIMO and the transmission timing error information to the network side device; or
after receiving a capability request transmitted from the network side device, transmitting a response message to the network side device to indicate whether the terminal device is able to provide the association information, and in case that the terminal device is able to provide the association information, carrying the association information in the response message.
Regarding claim 6:
Nokia further discloses transmitting ProvideLocationlnformation to the network side device and carrying the association information in a ProvideLocationlnformation information element (IE) (see 2.3 TEG Handling, on pages 5-6).
Regarding claim 7:
Nokia further discloses wherein,in case that the association information is configured to the SRS-Pos resource set, it indicates that all SRS-Pos resources in the resource set have same transmission timing error information (see 2.3 TEG Handling, on pages 5-6); and in case that the association information is configured to the SRS-Pos resource, it indicates that different SRSs-Pos resources in the resource set have different transmission timing error information (see 2.3 TEG Handling, on pages 5-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nokia in view of VIVO, "Discussion on methods for Rx/Tx timing delay mitigating", 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #105-e, e-Meeting, May 10th-27th, 2021, total 17 pages, R1-2104359 (hereinafter VIVO) (VIVO is disclosed in the IDS filed on 02/17/2024).
Regarding claim 3:
Nokia discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching wherein the association information is determined by any of the following ways:
determining association information between an SRS-Pos resource identifier (ID) or SRS-Pos resource set ID and a transmission timing error information ID based on the SRS- Pos resource ID or SRS-Pos resource set ID; or
determining association information between a transmission timing error information ID and an SRS-Pos resource ID or SRS-Pos resource set ID based on the transmission timing error information ID; or
determining the association information based on whether SRS-Pos resources in the SRS-Pos resource set belong to a same transmission timing error information ID; or
determining the association information based on whether the SRS-Pos resource sets belong to a same transmission timing error information ID.
However, VIVO in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the association information is determined by any of the following ways:
determining association information between an SRS-Pos resource identifier (ID) or SRS-Pos resource set ID and a transmission timing error information ID based on the SRS- Pos resource ID or SRS-Pos resource set ID (see VIVO figure 4, page 8, proposal 9); or
determining association information between a transmission timing error information ID and an SRS-Pos resource ID or SRS-Pos resource set ID based on the transmission timing error information ID; or
determining the association information based on whether SRS-Pos resources in the SRS-Pos resource set belong to a same transmission timing error information ID; or
determining the association information based on whether the SRS-Pos resource sets belong to a same transmission timing error information ID.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use SRS resource set ID as taught by VIVO to modify the system and method of Nokia in order to obtain relationship between RTOA measurement result and the Tx TEG of SRS resource(s) (see VIVO figure 4, page 8, proposal 9) (See KSR Rationale: Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results).
8. Claim 12-13, 15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nokia in view of Gong et al. (US 20190335400) (hereinafter Gong).
Regarding claim 12:
Nokia discloses all of the subject matter as described of claim 12 as shown in rejecting claim 1 above except for specifically teaching a memory, a transceiver, and a processor; the memory is used for storing a computer program; the transceiver is used for transmitting and receiving data under control of the processor; the processor is used for executing the computer program in the memory.
However, Gong in the same field of endeavor teaches a memory (1506 in figure 15), a transceiver (1510, 1512 and 1514 in figure 15), and a processor (1504 in figure 15); the memory (1506 in figure 15) is used for storing a computer program; the transceiver (1510, 1512 and 1514 in figure 15) is used for transmitting and receiving data under control of the processor (1504 in figure 15); the processor (1504 in figure 15) is used for executing the computer program in the memory (1506 in figure 15) (par 0092-0094).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the processing system as taught by Gong to modify the system and method of Nokia in order to perform computations and/or other processing related tasks (par 0092) (See KSR Rationale: Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results).
Regarding claim 13:
Nokia further discloses wherein transmitting the association information between the SRS-Pos resource or SRS-Pos resource set and the transmission timing error information to the network side device (see introduction (TX timing error)) comprises:
transmitting the association information to a location management function (LMF) (see page 6, Alt 2); or
transmitting the association information to a base station; or
transmitting the association information to an LMF via a base station;
wherein the network side device comprises the LMF or the base station (see page 6, Alt 2).
Regarding claim 15:
Nokia further discloses
transmitting multiple SRSs-Pos using a same radio frequency link during one positioning measurement (figure 4 shows transmitting multiple SRSs-Pos using a same radio frequency link during one positioning measurement); or
reporting a mapping relationship between a transmission timing error information ID and a range of transmission timing error to the network side device; or
reporting timestamp information corresponding to the association information for indicating a validity period of the association information to the network side device; or
reporting configuration information of a sounding reference signal for MIMO (SRS-MIMO) and/or association information between SRS-MIMO and the transmission timing error information to the network side device; or
after receiving a capability request transmitted from the network side device, transmitting a response message to the network side device to indicate whether the terminal device is able to provide the association information, and in case that the terminal device is able to provide the association information, carrying the association information in the response message.
Regarding claim 17:
Nokia further discloses transmitting ProvideLocationlnformation to the network side device and carrying the association information in a ProvideLocationlnformation information element (IE) (see 2.3 TEG Handling, on pages 5-6).
Regarding claim 18:
Nokia further discloses wherein, in case that the association information is configured to the SRS-Pos resource set, it indicates that all SRS-Pos resources in the resource set have same transmission timing error information (see 2.3 TEG Handling, on pages 5-6); and in case that the association information is configured to the SRS-Pos resource, it indicates that different SRSs-Pos resources in the resource set have different transmission timing error information (see 2.3 TEG Handling, on pages 5-6).
9. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nokia in view of Gong as applied to claim 12 above and further in view of VIVO.
Regarding claim 14:
Nokia discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching wherein the association information is determined by any of the following ways:
determining association information between an SRS-Pos resource identifier (ID) or SRS-Pos resource set ID and a transmission timing error information ID based on the SRS- Pos resource ID or SRS-Pos resource set ID; or
determining association information between a transmission timing error information ID and an SRS-Pos resource ID or SRS-Pos resource set ID based on the transmission timing error information ID; or
determining the association information based on whether SRS-Pos resources in the SRS-Pos resource set belong to a same transmission timing error information ID; or
determining the association information based on whether the SRS-Pos resource sets belong to a same transmission timing error information ID.
However, VIVO in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the association information is determined by any of the following ways:
determining association information between an SRS-Pos resource identifier (ID) or SRS-Pos resource set ID and a transmission timing error information ID based on the SRS- Pos resource ID or SRS-Pos resource set ID (see VIVO figure 4, page 8, proposal 9); or
determining association information between a transmission timing error information ID and an SRS-Pos resource ID or SRS-Pos resource set ID based on the transmission timing error information ID; or
determining the association information based on whether SRS-Pos resources in the SRS-Pos resource set belong to a same transmission timing error information ID; or
determining the association information based on whether the SRS-Pos resource sets belong to a same transmission timing error information ID.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use SRS resource set ID as taught by VIVO to modify the system and method of Nokia in order to obtain relationship between RTOA measurement result and the Tx TEG of SRS resource(s) (see VIVO figure 4, page 8, proposal 9) (See KSR Rationale: Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results).
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claims 5, 8-10, 16 and 19-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
11. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record, Nokia does not teach or suggest after receiving an association information request message transmitted from the network side device, determining a reporting content and/or a reporting path of the association information based on an indication of the association information request message: wherein the reporting path comprises directly or indirectly reporting the association information; and the reporting content comprises a granularity, an additional content, and a format of the association information.
The prior art of record, Nokia also does not teach or suggest receiving association information between a sounding reference signal for positioning (SRS-Pos) resource or SRS-Pos resource set and transmission timing error information transmitted from a terminal device; and positioning the terminal device based on the association information.
Conclusion
/KABIR A TIMORY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631