DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of 1-5 in the reply filed on 10/31/2025 is acknowledged. Claim 6-9 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/31/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 depends from claim 2. Claim 2 recites “a material containing silicon”; claim 3 recites “a material containing…”. The Examiner believes these are the same materials and the “a” article presents confusing antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required
Claim 5 line 4 recites “an atmosphere inside the furnace” which was already introduced in parent claim 1. The limitation should be “the atmosphere inside the furnace”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kunitake et al (US-20210114912-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kunitake teaches of a furnace [0025] comprising a heating element that generates heat in response to conduction of electricity ([0036] electrodes); and an exhaust system that adjusts the supply of the exhaust gas generated in an atmosphere inside the furnace [0040-41, 48].
Regarding claim 4, depending from claim 1, Kunitake teaches the furnace heats a glass material [0025]. See MPEP 2115, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Kunitake et al (US-20210114912-A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view Yogo et al (JP-H10139445-A, English translation provided by Espacenet).
Regarding claim 2-3, depending from claim 1, Kunitake teaches of electrode heating elements [0036]. Kunitake does not expressly teach the material of the heating element. In related furnace art [0001], Yogo teaches of electrically conductive heating element made of a material containing silicon, more specifically silicon carbide and molybdenum disilicide [0006]. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use suitable material known in the art for the heating element to heat through electrical conductivity/resistance such as silicon containing silicon carbide or molybdenum disilicide. See MPEP 2144.07, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Claim 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Kunitake et al (US-20210114912-A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view Cohn et al (US-20190295734-A1).
Regarding claim 5, depending from claim 1, Kunitake teaches of a measurement device that measures gaseous species from the exhaust [0038] that measures a boron concentration (HBr/boric acid/Neobor Fig. 6 [0044, 50]). Kunitake does not expressly teach of the measurement device measures the atmosphere specifically in the furnace, a control device that controls the supply device and/or the exhaust device on the basis of a measurement. In related furnace art, Cohn teaches of a measurement device for gases in the atmosphere inside the furnace [0037], a control device that control the exhaust device [0042] and a gas supply device [0092] based on the measurement result from the measurement device [0036-37]. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the furnace of Kunitake to move the measurement device to measure the atmosphere inside the furnace for boron concentration and to use a control device to control a gas supply device and exhaust device of the furnace based on the measurement result to control the rate of the boron removal in the furnace atmosphere [0042]. "A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known option within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-20140075995-A1, WO-2020106539-A1 teaches measuring and controlling boron in the atmosphere of a glass melting furnace
WO-2014199241-A1 teaches the heating element material
JP-2018184308-A teaches measuring the fluorine concentration in the exhaust for a glass melting furnace
/STEVEN S LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741