Claim Objections
Claim 7 objected to because of the following informalities: line 3 should begin with a lowercase “t”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed
before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-3, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kamiya (JP 2003-341799).
In re claim 1, Kamiya discloses a construction machine (2) comprising: a vehicle body (6); a tank (14) disposed in the vehicle body, the tank accommodating a liquid (fuel); and a sensor (25) including a detection portion (25a) configured to detect the liquid, the sensor being supported by the tank (as shown in Figure 4), the tank including a reduced width section formed to reduce a width of a predetermined range including the detection portion (sensor mounted in reduced width upper section as shown in Figure 4).
In re claim 2, Kamiya further discloses wherein the sensor is supported on a first side surface (front left) of the tank (as shown in Figure 4), the detection portion protrudes from the first side surface toward a second side surface (back right surface where reference 15 is labeled in Figure 4) facing the first side surface, and the reduced width section is formed between the first side surface and the second side surface (as shown in Figure 4).
In re claim 3, Kamiya further discloses further comprising; a member (top rectangular side of tank 15) disposed on the second side surface (connects to second side surface of tank), the member forming the reduced width section (top of tank “forms”, at least in part, the reduced width section since it defines the uppermost narrow width).
In re claim 7, Kamiya further discloses wherein the reduced width section is formed so that the width of the tank is reduced in a left to right direction of the vehicle body (tank labeled as 14 with sloped surface being on the side of the vehicle as shown in Figure 1).
In re claim 8, Kamiya further discloses wherein the sensor is disposed in a center of the first side surface in a horizontal direction (as shown in Figure 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamiya in view of Oxley (US 7,940,165).
In re claim 9, Kamiya further discloses wherein the vehicle body includes a cab (10), but does not disclose a monitor disposed in the cab, and a control section configured to issue an alert using the monitor when detecting that the sensor has detected exposure from a liquid surface based on a detection value of the sensor.
Oxley, however, does disclose a low fuel warning system (10) comprising a monitor and a control section (200) configured to issue an alert (audible alarm 7) using the monitor when detecting that the sensor (30) has detected exposure from a liquid surface based on a detection value of the sensor (as shown in Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention such that the vehicle of Kamiya further comprised the low fuel warning system of Oxley mounted in the cab to advantageously warn the user that the fuel level is low.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The specific limitations of “wherein the member includes a first portion protruding from the second side surface toward the first side surface, a second portion disposed below the first portion, the second portion protruding from the second side surface toward the first side surface, and a third portion joining an end on a side of the first side surface of the first portion and an end on a side of the first side surface of the second portion, the third portion facing the detection portion” is not anticipated or made obvious by the prior art of record in the examiner’s opinion. The Examiner notes that the prior art does not disclose a tank with a separate member having two portions protruding from the second side surface toward the first side surface with a third portion facing the detection portion.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. The references cited on the attached PTO-892 teach tanks of interest.
/MICHAEL R STABLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3611 /VALENTIN NEACSU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611