DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/5/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 1, “a display means,” should be –a display means;--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Based on Applicant’s specification, the following terms are as follows:
Display means – eyeglasses lenses (page 4)
Mounting means – eyeglass frame (8) in figure 1 and page 4
Auditory stimulating means – bone conduction headphones in page 6
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 7, 10, 12, 16, 19, 22, 23, 24, 26, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the form" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “focused to infinity” in line 2. This is indefinite.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the lenses" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “digital hologram-type” in line 2. Usage of the “-type” renders the claim unclear as it cannot be determined what the metes and bounds of the claim are.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "around 2.5 metres to around 4 metres" in line 3. Usage of the term “around” with a range renders the claim unclear as it cannot be determined what degree outside of the range is encompassed by the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the individual apparatus" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This probably should be –the individual an apparatus--.
Claims 19, 22, 23, 24, and 26 inherit the deficiencies of claim 16 and are likewise rejected.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “focused to infinity” in line 3. This is indefinite.
Claim 23 recites the limitation “digital hologram-type” in line 2. Usage of the “-type” renders the claim unclear as it cannot be determined what the metes and bounds of the claim are.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "around 2.5 metres to around 4 metres" in line 3. Usage of the term “around” with a range renders the claim unclear as it cannot be determined what degree outside of the range is encompassed by the claim.
Claim 27 does not have a transitional phrase. It is not clear what the actual steps are involved in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2010/0271587 (Pavlopoulos).
Regarding claims 1-4 and 10, Pavlopoulos discloses eyewear with a display device (figures 1a, 1b, 5, 6, and 7 and paragraphs [0018]-[0129]) where the eyewear includes the following components:
a display means (transparent lenses and optical elements; figures 1a-b, elements 3 and 10 respectively; paragraphs [0073]-[0081]);
a mounting means for mounting said display means on a user (eyeglass frame; paragraphs [0070] and [0129]); and
a projection device (11 – imaging device; figures 2-7; paragraphs [0076]-[0129]) serving to project an image onto the display means in an upper region of the display means (element 10 – see figure 1b; display device is in the upper region; paragraphs [0017] and [0078]), the image perceived by the user to appear in an upper field of view of the user and to be a distance in front of the user (paragraphs [0111]) .
In can be seen that the projection device and display means provide an optical display system that takes the form of a pair of eyeglasses that form a heads-up display module, thus meeting the limitations of claims 3 and 4.
Regarding claim 5, Pavlopoulos discloses the limitations of claim 1. While Pavlopoulos does not disclose that the image is a horizontal line, the image is not being claimed. The limitation is directed towards an intended use of the claimed invention. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure can perform the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding claim 7, Pavlopoulos discloses the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Pavlopoulos states that the image appears in the upper field of view and the display is focused at infinity (paragraphs [0006], [0088], [0111]).
Regarding claim 12, Pavlopoulos discloses the limitations of claim 1. The limitations of the present claim appear to be a recitation of an intended use of the image. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure can perform the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2010/0271587 (Pavlopoulos) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of US 2019/0385342 (Freeman et al., hereinafter Freeman).
Regarding claim 11, Pavlopoulos discloses the limitations of claim 1 but does not state that the lens is semi-reflexive. In a related area, Freeman discloses wearable mixed reality systems that use augmented reality glasses (title and abstract; figures 12-14). Of note is paragraph [0151] which discloses the use of reflective or semi-reflective/semi-reflexive lenses in the head-mounted display which enables the user to see the real world while viewing a projected image. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of Pavlopoulos to use semi-reflective lenses as taught by Freeman to enable the user to see the real world while viewing a projected image.
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2010/0271587 (Pavlopoulos) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of US 2019/0175073 (Sonntag et al., hereinafter Sonntag)
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Pavlopoulos discloses the limitations of claim 1 but does not state the presence of bone conduction headphones. In a related area, Sonntag discloses systems and methods used for posture and movement regulation (see title and abstract). Paragraphs [0121]-[0124] disclose the use of bone conducting headphones to provide feedback to a user that has balance disorders or are undergoing rehabilitation. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of Pavlopoulos to includes bone-conduction headphones, as taught by Sonntag, to provide feedback to a user that has balance disorders or are undergoing rehabilitation.
Claim(s) 16, 19, 23, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2010/0271587 (Pavlopoulos) in view of WO 2019/171216 A1 (Littwitz et al., hereinafter Littwitz).
Regarding claims 16 and 26, Pavlopoulos discloses eyewear with a display device (figures 1a, 1b, 5, 6, and 7 and paragraphs [0018]-[0129]) where the eyewear includes the following components:
a display means (transparent lenses and optical elements; figures 1a-b, elements 3 and 10 respectively; paragraphs [0073]-[0081]);
a mounting means for mounting said display means on a user (eyeglass frame; paragraphs [0070] and [0129]); and
a projection device (11 – imaging device; figures 2-7; paragraphs [0076]-[0129]) serving to project an image onto the display means in an upper region of the display means (element 10 – see figure 1b; display device is in the upper region; paragraphs [0017] and [0078]), the image perceived by the user to appear in an upper field of view of the user and to be a distance in front of the user (paragraphs [0111]) .
However, Pavlopoulos does not show the mounting of the device on a user. In a related area, Littwitz discloses the use of augmented reality systems for assisting in walking or movement disorders (see title and abstract). Figures 1-3 show the use of eyewear mounted on a user with paragraph [062] stating that these devices are mounted on users to assist with mobility related health disorders such as Parkinson’s disease (a neurodegenerative disease affecting locomotion). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention, to mount the device of Pavlopoulos on a patient as taught by Littwitz to assist users with mobility related disorders.
Regarding claim 19, Pavlopoulos and Littwitz disclose the limitations of claim 16. Pavlopoulos states that the image appears in the upper field of view and the display is focused at infinity (paragraphs [0006], [0088], and [0111]).
Regarding claim 23, Pavlopoulos and Littwitz disclose the limitations of claim 16. The limitations of claim 23 appear to be directed towards an intended result. Wherein clauses are not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited (MPEP 2111.04).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2010/0271587 (Pavlopoulos) in view of WO 2019/0171216 A1 (Littwitz et al., hereinafter Littwitz) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of US 2019/0385342 (Freeman et al., hereinafter Freeman).
Regarding claim 22, Pavlopoulos and Littwitz disclose the limitations of claim 16 and as noted in the rejection of claim 16 above that eyeglasses of Pavlopoulos form a head-up display module. However, they do not state that the lenses are semi-reflexive. In a related area, Freeman discloses wearable mixed reality systems that use augmented reality glasses (title and abstract; figures 12-14). Of note is paragraph [0151] which discloses the use of reflective or semi-reflective/semi-reflexive lenses in the head-mounted display which enables the user to see the real world while viewing a projected image. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of Pavlopoulos to use semi-reflective lenses as taught by Freeman to enable the user to see the real world while viewing a projected image.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2010/0271587 (Pavlopoulos) in view of WO 2019/0171216 A1 (Littwitz et al., hereinafter Littwitz) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of US 2019/0175073 (Sonntag et al., hereinafter Sonntag)
Regarding claim 24, Pavlopoulos and Littwitz disclose the limitations of claim 16 but does not state the use of providing auditory stimulation to a user. In a related area, Sonntag discloses systems and methods used for posture and movement regulation (see title and abstract). Paragraphs [0121]-[0124] disclose the use of bone conducting headphones to provide audio stimulation feedback to a user that has balance disorders or is undergoing rehabilitation. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Pavlopoulos and Littwitz to includes providing auditory stimulation via bone-conduction headphones, as taught by Sonntag, in order to provide feedback to a user that has balance disorders or are undergoing rehabilitation.
Conclusion
The examiner notes that, though no art has been applied against claim 27 at this time, they are not presently allowable. The question of prior art will be revisited upon resolution of the numerous issues noted above.
/JOSHUA DARYL D LANNU/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/CARRIE R DORNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791