DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The prior art documents submitted by applicant in the Information Disclosure Statement filed on 02/05/24, have all been considered and made of record (note the attached copy of form PTO/SB/08a).
Specification
3. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
7. Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Sfez (WO 2020/075048 A1) in view of Nishimura et al. (US 2002/0159153 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Sfez (figures 2-3) discloses a tunable optical filter comprising: a dispersive-collimating element (22), a medium apparatus (25) and a focusing-dispersive element (28) such that said dispersive-collimating element assigns each beam wavelength to a particular spatial position, the beams being parallel to each other, said medium apparatus changes the polarization state independently for each wavelength, and said focusing-dispersive element recombines the different wavelengths into one single beam (see the abstract and page 7, lines 3-8).
Sfez does not explicitly disclose an electro-optical medium.
However, Nishimura et al. (figures 3 and 7) teach an optical device including an electro-optical medium (50) ([0028]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Sfez to include the electro-optical medium (accordance with the teaching of Nishimura) for the purpose of maximizing the change in optical path length as a function of the control signal ([0045]).
With respect to claim 2, Sfez (figures 2-3) substantially discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention except the electro-optical medium comprises multiple pairs of electrodes that are connected to voltage sources so that an electric field strength is different for each wavelength and a phase difference between the beam electric field components is different for different wavelengths.
However, Nishimura et al. (figures 4B) teach an optical device including the electro-optical medium (50) comprises multiple pairs of electrodes (63A, 64A) that are connected to voltage sources so that an electric field strength is different for each wavelength and a phase difference between the beam electric field components is different for different wavelengths ([0034]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Sfez to include the above features (accordance with the teaching of Nishimura) for the purpose of maximizing the change in optical path length as a function of the control signal ([0045]).
With respect to claim 3, Sfez (figures 2-3) discloses the tunable optical filter, wherein crossed polarizers are added before and after the dispersive-collimating element (22) (see figures 3 and 5).
With respect to claim 4, Sfez (figures 2-3) discloses the tunable optical filter, wherein said optical medium is shaped to compensate for a birefringence wavelength dependence, allowing for a single-value voltage source (see page 5, solution 2).
With respect to claim 5, Sfez (figures 2-3) discloses the tunable optical filter, wherein a shape of the optical material is complemented to a rectangular shape (25) by using a transparent material with no electro-optical effect and index-matched so that beams (29) exit in a direction that is parallel to the impinging beam (figure 3).
With respect to claim 6, Sfez (figures 2-3) discloses the tunable optical filter, wherein the shape of the material is complemented to the rectangular shape by using a complemented part of the same electro- optical material, the result of complementation being a rectangular shape, and distanced from said shaped electro-optical material by a transparent material with near-zero electro- optical coefficient and index-matched to the electro-optical material refractive index, said complemented electro-optical material being located in a region where the electric field is approximately null (see page 7, claim 4).
With respect to claim 7, Sfez (figures 2-3) discloses the tunable optical filter, wherein said electro-optical medium apparatus is cut at Brewster angle to improve transmission (page 5, lines 2-6).
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Keyworth et al. (US-9304257-B2) disclose a wavelength selective switch. Cabaniss (US-9170152-B2) discloses a spectral dispersion element. Wein et al. (US-20100296091-A1) a multiplexer device.
/JENNIFER DOAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874