DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of the restriction requirement set forth on 07/13/2026 in the reply filed on 08/27/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the inventions of Group I and II have unity of invention because the have shared technical features. This is not found persuasive because as discussed in the restriction requirement set forth on 07/13/2026, the shared technical features do not make a contribution over the prior art, and as such, the inventions of Group I and II lack unity of invention.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 11-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 08/27/2026.
Claims Status
Claims 1-14 is/are currently pending with claims 11-14 withdrawn. Claims 1-10 is/are under examination.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01. A hyperlink was found on page 8. Applicant is advised to review the specification in order to ensure that all hyperlinks are identified and appropriately removed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
112(b):
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4 and 5 recite the limitation "cell pools" in line 7 (claim 4) and line 6 (claim 5). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Subsections “a3” of claims 4 and 5, which recite “cell pools”, recite that the “cell pools” are from subsection “a2” of claims 4 and 5, respectively; however, “cell pools” are only recited in subsections “a3” of claims 4 and 5. It is not clear what limitation “cell pools” references in claims 4 and 5.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "at least one exogenous enzyme which is required or advantageous for the cell-free synthesis of a target protein" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear whether this exogenous enzyme recited in lines 3-4 of claim 2 is the same exogenous enzyme recited in lines 4-6 of claim 1, as the specification only describes orthogonal aminoacyl-tRNA synthetases and viral polymerases as “exogenous enzymes required or advantageous for the cell-free synthesis of a target protein” (specification page 5), or whether the cell lysate of claim 2 further comprises different exogenous enzymes than those recited in claim 1.
112(a):
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
To satisfy the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. See, e.g., Moba, B.V, v. Diamond Automation, Inc., 325 F.3d 1306, 1319, 66 USPQ2d 1429, 1438 (Fed. Cir. 2003); Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d at 1563, 19 USPQ2d at 1116. Possession may be shown in a variety of ways including description of an actual reduction to practice, or by showing that the invention was "ready for patenting" such as by the disclosure of drawings or structural chemical formulas that show that the invention was complete, or by describing distinguishing identifying characteristics sufficient to show that the applicant was in possession of the claimed invention. See, e.g., Pfaff v. Wells Eiees., Inc., 525 U.S. 55, 68, 119 S.Ct. 304, 312, 48 USPQ2d 1641,1647 (1998); Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406; Amgen, Inc. v. Chugai Pharm., 927 F. 2d 1200, 1206, 18 USPQ2d 1016, 1021 (Fed. Cir. 1991) (one must define a compound by "whatever characteristics sufficiently distinguish it”).
According to the MPEP § 2163, "The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice (see i)(A) above), reduction to drawings (see i)(B) above), or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus (see i)(C) above). See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406. A "representative number of species" means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. See AbbVie Deutsch land GmbH & Co., KG v. Janssen Biotech, Inc., 759 F.3d 1285, 1300, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (Claims directed to a functionally defined genus of antibodies were not supported by a disclosure that "only describe[d] one type of structurally similar antibodies" that "are not representative of the full variety or scope of the genus.")."
Claim 1 recites a step of “disrupting harvested cells”; however, neither the claims nor the specification describes what a step of “disrupting harvested cells” entails. An artisan would not be capable of reproducing the step of disrupting cells, or be capable of concluding that the applicants were in possession of the full scope of the genus of cell-disrupting methods, based on the claims and the disclosure in the specification. It is not clear from the claims or disclosure what state the cells must be in or cannot be in after the step of disruption (e.g., whether the cells must be attached to a surface or detached, whether the cell membranes should be intact, whether proteins must be correctly folded or denatured), nor is it clear what actions or compositions are required for a step of “disrupting cells” (e.g., whether disrupting cells encompasses lysing cells, and if so, what compositions are required for lysing cells for the purposes of the instant claims). Without a definition of the term “disrupted” or a description of the process of “disrupting” cells or of the resulting state of cells which have been “disrupted”, an artisan would not be able to determine the scope of the term “disrupted” as used in the instant claims nor whether the applicants were in possession of the full scope of the genus of cell-disrupting methods. Furthermore, the claims and specification do not disclose the reagents necessary to prepare a cell lysate, as in claim 1, which comprises membrane vesicles (as in claim 8) and which is translationally active for cell-free protein synthesis (as in claim 2). An artisan would not be able to determine the scope of the methods of cell lysis which should be used with the present claims and would not be able to determine whether the applicants were in possession of the full scope of the genus of cell lysis methods which meet the functional requirements recited in the claims. Claims 2-10 depend on claim 1 but do not provide sufficient written description of steps of disrupting and lysing cells, and as such, are also rejected for lack of written description.
Claim 2 recites an exogenous enzyme “which is required or advantageous for the cell-free synthesis of a target protein” (lines 3-4). Claim 2 has no dependent claims which recite the identity of such an enzyme. On page 5 of the specification, such enzymes are limited to “orthogonal aminoacyl-tRNA synthetases, viral RNA polymerases, in particular T7 RNA polymerase, T5 RNA polymerase.” However, these species are limited to tRNA synthetases and viral polymerases, and do not describe the full scope of enzymes which may be advantageous for cell-free synthesis, and enzymes with other functions provide advantages to cell-free synthesis (see for example, WO2010081111A1, which describes in paragraph [0101] that a cell-free expression system lysate comprises enzymes such as transferase). As such, an artisan would not be able to determine that the applicants were in possession of the full scope of the genus of “exogenous enzymes which are required or advantageous for the cell-free synthesis of a target protein”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grabstein (WO2014044872A1, of record), in view of Voloshin (WO2010081111A1), and as evidenced by Pandey (2023).
Regarding claim 1, Grabstein teaches a method of producing a eukaryotic cell comprising at least one exogenous aminoacyl-tRNA synthetase gene by transfecting the cells with donor templates coding for the at least one exogenous synthetase (claim 15). Grabstein teaches that the method further comprises culturing the cells (claim 15). Grabstein teaches that the cells of the cell-based expression system recited in the claims may be lysed to create a cell-free expression system using the cell lysate (page 24 lines 1-12).
Regarding claim 2, Grabstein teaches that the cells may be lysed to create a cell-free expression system using the cell lysate (page 24 lines 1-12).
Regarding claim 3, Grabstein teaches that the exogenous enzyme is an aminoacyl-tRNA synthetase specific for pyrrolysine (claim 15; pages 2, 5-6), which is a non-canonical amino acid and whose tRNA is not recognized by endogenous aminoacyl-tRNA synthetase.
Regarding claim 6, Grabstein teaches that pyrrolysine (a non-canonical amino acid) is incorporated into a target protein in a protein synthesis reaction in the cells comprising at least one exogenous synthetase (claim 15; page 27 lines 27-32).
Regarding claim 7, Grabstein teaches that the cells are CHO (non-human mammalian cells), HEK293 (human cells), PERC6, COS-1, HeLa, VERO, mouse hybridoma, or mouse myeloma cells (page 23 lines 29-34).
Regarding claim 8, Pandey teaches that CHO cell-free protein synthesis systems inherently comprise membrane vesicles (pages 184143-184144). As Grabstein teaches that the cells may be lysed and the cell lysate used for a cell-free protein synthesis system (page 24 lines 1-12), Grabstein inherently teaches cell lysates comprising membrane vesicles.
Regarding claims 9-10, Grabstein teaches that the orthogonal aminoacyl-tRNA synthetase is Methanosarcina mazei pyrrolysine tRNA synthetase (page 24 lines 13-33).
However, while Grabstein discloses that the cells taught by Grabstein may be lysed and the resulting cell lysate used in a cell-free expression system and discloses that the methods of Volosin may be used to create a cell-free protein expression system (page 24 lines 1-12), Grabstein does not teach the required method steps for creating such a cell-free expression system.
Voloshin teaches methods of creating cell-free protein expression systems.
Regarding claim 1, Voloshin teaches that cell-free expression systems can be created by harvesting cells, disrupting the cells, and lysing the cells (paragraphs [0103]-[0105]).
Grabstein teaches that the cells of Grabstein may be lysed and the resulting lysate used as a cell-free protein synthesis system, as described above. It would have been obvious to an artisan to use methods known in the art to produce such a cell-free protein synthesis system. Furthermore, Grabstein teaches that the methods of Voloshin are preferred methods for producing such cell-free protein synthesis systems (page 24 lines 10-12), and therefore, it would have been further obvious to an artisan to use the methods of Voloshin, specifically.
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grabstein (WO2014044872A1, of record), in view of Voloshin (WO2010081111A1), and as evidenced by Pandey (2023), as applied to claims 1-3 above, and further in view of ThermoFisher Scientific (02/26/2021).
The teachings of Grabstein, Voloshin, and Pandey are discussed above and combined render obvious the limitations of instant claims 1-3.
Regarding claims 4-5, Grabstein teaches that the step of creating a stable cell line comprises transfecting the cells with the at least one donor template encoding an orthogonal aminoacyl-tRNA synthetase (claim 15), using antibiotic selection pressure to select for cells expressing the donor template (page 27 lines 14-26), selecting and expanding single clones (page 27 lines 14-26), and harvesting selected cells (page 24 lines 1-12, preparing a cell lysate inherently requires harvesting cells, see Voloshin paragraphs [0103]-[0105]).
However, Grabstein, Voloshin, and Pandey do not teach that single clones of transfected cells are selected and expanded, that cells of these expanded clones are analyzed using genotyping PCR and qPCR to identify clones comprising desired target genotype and donor template, and cell clones with the desired target genotype and donor template are selected.
ThermoFisher Scientific teaches a method of selecting single clones of genetically-modified eukaryotic cells, expanding said clones, screening cells of expanded clones using qPCR and genotypic PCR, and selecting clones of the desired genotype.
Regarding claims 4-5, ThermoFisher Scientific teaches a method of selecting single clones of genetically-modified eukaryotic cells, expanding said clones, screening cells of expanded clones using qPCR and genotypic PCR, and selecting clones of the desired genotype (see full document). While Grabstein teaches different methods of validating transfection and selecting transfected cells (namely, fluorescence activated cell sorting, see page 27 lines 6-26), it would have been obvious to an artisan that any method known in the art of sorting and selecting for cells comprising a desired genotype and presence of donor template could be used. Furthermore, while the method used by Grabstein requires expression of a fluorescent protein in addition to the desired orthogonal aminoacyl-tRNA synthetase, the use of qPCR and genotyping PCR, as described by ThermoFisher Scientific, would not require the expression of additional proteins, reducing the size of donor template required to be taken up by cells and thus reducing costs to produce donor templates and transfected cells.
Conclusion
For those applications where applicant wishes to communicate with the examiner via Internet communications, e.g., email or video conferencing tools, the following is a sample authorization form which may be used by applicant:
"Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file."
To facilitate processing of the internet communication authorization or withdraw of authorization, the Office strongly encourages use of Form PTO/SB/439, available at www.uspto.gov/patent/patents-forms. The form may be filed via EFS-Web using the document description Internet Communications Authorized or Internet Communications Authorization Withdrawn to facilitate processing. See MPEP 502.03(II).
/AFRICA M MCLEOD/ Examiner, Art Unit 1635
/KIMBERLY CHONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1636