DETAILED ACTION
1. Formal Matters
Claims 1-10 are pending and are the subject of this Office Action.
2. Claim Objections
A. Claim 1 is objected to since “process and product related” should recite “product- and process-related”.
B. Claim 10 is objected to since it should recite “10-fold” instead of “10-folds”.
3. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 4 fails to limit claim 1 since the conductivity of claim 1 must be less than 10 mS/cm, whereas that of claim 4 is “about 26 mS/cm”.
Claim 5 fails to limit claim 1 unless “between…and 10 mS/cm” does not include 10.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
4. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Oppenheim et al. (WO 2020/252072 – cited on the IDS filed 4/24/24) in view of Lee et al.
The claims are essentially drawn to reducing the level of impurities in an a4b7 antibody composition.
Oppenheim teaches contacting a solution comprising a4b7 antibodies, along with impurities, by using cation exchange chromatography (CEX; page 6, lines 7-9). The matrix is then washed with a wash solution and the a4b7 antibodies are eluted with a solution having a conductivity below 14 mS/cm (page 6, lines 28-29) and a pH of about 5-6 (page 7, lines 1-2). See also claims 38, 40, 44.
Oppenheim does not teach a gradient elution as required by claim 1(c). However, Lee does teach using dual-gradient elution in exchange chromatography (Abstract) in which the salt concentrations are used for improve yield of target protein.
Regarding claim 2, Oppenheim teaches the HIC resin is equilibrated with a phosphate buffer (e.g. page 3, line 28).
Regarding claims 3, Oppenheim does not teach either the gradient, though phosphate is taught as discussed above for claim 2. Tables 5 and 9 also teach various NaCl concentrations. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 454, 105 USPQ 223,235, (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, "discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art." In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276, 205 USPQ 215, 219 (CCPA 1980). See also Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 809, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1847-48 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (determination of suitable dosage amounts in diuretic compositions considered a matter of routine experimentation and, therefore, obvious) and E.I. DuPont de Nemours & Co. v. Synvina C.V., 904 F.3d 996, 1006 (Fed. Cir. 2018) (“it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.”).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Table 4 (last line) teaches a conductivity of up to 28.9 mS/cm. In addition, Figures 6-9 provide experimental data using varying pH and conductivity. See In re Aller; In re Boesch; Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs. Inc.; E.I. DuPont de Nemours & Co. v. Synvina C.V. discussed above.
Regarding claim 6, see claim 70 and Example 4.
Regarding claim 7, see Table 2.
Regarding claim 8, see Example 2, including page 44, lines 17-22.
See also Table 2 regarding phosphate, pH and HMW%. See also page 52, lines 8-34.
Regarding claim 9, page 44, lines 18-19 teaches a 76.7% reduction in HMW aggregates (1.15% reduction / 1.5% total before elution). However, it is not inventive to alter the CEX conditions to maximize purification of the target protein (In re Aller; In re Boesch; Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs. Inc.; E.I. DuPont de Nemours & Co. v. Synvina C.V.).
Regarding claim 10, this is similarly not inventive (In re Aller; In re Boesch; Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs. Inc.; E.I. DuPont de Nemours & Co. v. Synvina C.V.).
5. Nonstatutory Double Patenting
No rejection is currently being made over either 18/687,882 (US 20224/0400610) or 18/291,909 (US 2024/0376209) since, even though cation exchange, anion exchange and affinity chromatography can all be used in combination to purify antibody (Kim et al. (US 2004/0208876)), the Examiner cannot make a prima facie case based on these copending applications to solely use cation exchange.
6. Conclusion
No claim is allowable.
Advisory information
/ROBERT S LANDSMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1647