DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the communication filed on 09/01/2026. Currently claims 26-50 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 26, 28, 30, 33, 35, and 38-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.102 as being anticipated over Fu (WO 2007 043 280 A1), hereafter, referred to as “Fu”.
Regarding claim 26, Fu teaches a radiation shielding zinc-barium-borosilicate glass composition which allows a transparent appearance to be provided in different areas exposed to radiation-induced ionizing rays; by teaching a radiation shielding glass and composition thereof (title, abstract, Table 1, and Fig. 1). Fu teaches that the glass comprises an addition of gadolinium oxide (Gd2O3) and/or bismuth oxide (Bi2O3) and/or cerium oxide (CeO2) to zinc-barium-borosilicate (ZnO-BaO-B2O3-SiO2) glass powder; by teaching Glass 1, 2, 3, 7, 8, and 9, in Table 1, comprising of ZnO, Bao, B2O3, SiO2, and Bi2O3 and/or Gd2O3.
Regarding claim 28, Fu teaches that the radiation shielding zinc-barium-borosilicate glass composition applied in at least one of bone densitometry, mammography, dental x-rays, X-ray imaging, magnetic resonance imaging, PET/CT, and gamma knifes; by teaching that in facilities that handle radiation such as X-rays and γ-rays, radiation shielding glass is used in order to facilitate work and to protect people engaged in work from radiation (description, first page).
Regarding claim 30, Fu teaches that the radiation shielding zinc-barium-borosilicate glass composition having a melting temperature above 1000° C and below 1400° C; by teaching melting of raw material composition at 850 to 1100° C (description, page 9, 7th paragraph).
Regarding claim 33, Fu teaches a radiation shielding zinc-barium-borosilicate glass composition, wherein the glass thickness is in the range of 3 to 100 mm (claim 3).
Regarding claim 35, Fu teaches a radiation shielding zinc-barium-borosilicate glass composition, wherein the glass density is 3.25 g/cm3 and above (claim 2).
Regarding claim 38, Fu teaches in Fig. 1 (example 1), a radiation shielding zinc-barium-borosilicate glass composition, having a transmission of 50% or above at a wavelength of 400 nm and a thickness of at least 10 mm.
Regarding claim 39, Fu teaches in Fig. 1 (examples 1-3) a radiation shielding zinc-barium-borosilicate glass composition, having a transmission of 75% or above at a wavelength of 550 nm and a thickness of at least 10 mm.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 27, 29, 36-37, 40, and 41-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being obvious over Fu (WO 2007 043280 A1).
Regarding claim 27, Fu teaches a radiation shielding zinc-barium-borosilicate glass and composition thereof (title, abstract, Table 1). Fu teaches to use Na2O, MgO, Al2O3, SiO2, B2O3, CaO, BaO, TiO2, SrO, ZnO, Li2O, Gd2O3, Bi2O3, Ce2O3, Sb2O3; by teaching each component is preferably contained in the following range in terms of mol%. Bi2O3 : 0.5 to 80%, and/or SiO2 : 0 to 70%, and/or B2O3 : 0 to 70%, and/or GeO2 : 0 to 30%, and/or P2O5: 0~10%, and/or Al2O3: 0~20%, and/or Ga2O3: 0~20%, and/or In2O3: 0~20%, and/or BaO: 0 to 50%, and/or TiO2: 0~15%, and/or Nb2O5: 0~20%, and/or WO3: 0~15%, and/or Ta2O5 0 to 15% and/or TeO2: 0 to 20% and/or ZrO2: 0%, and/or SnO2 0 to 15% and/or ZnO: 0 to 50% And/or MgO: 0-50%, and/or CaO: 0-50%, and/or SrO: 50%, and/or Li2O: 0 to 15%, and/or Na2O: 0 to 15%, and/or K2O: 0 to 20%, and/or Y2O3: 0~ 50% and/or La2O3 : 0 to 50% and/or Gd2O3 : 0 to 50% and/or Yb2O3 : 0 to 50% and/or Lu2O3 : 0-50%, and/or Dy2O3: 0-50%, and/or Ce2O3: 0~15% (which is equivalent to CeO2, both being oxides of Ce), and/or Sb2O3: 0~3%, and/or As2O3 : 0-5% and/or F: 0-5% (machine translation, page 8-9 of description). Fu further teaches that other components can be added as necessary within the range not impairing the properties of the glass of the present invention. However, even when each transition metal component excluding Ti, such as V, Cr, Mn, Fe, Co, Ni, Cu, Ag, and Mo, is contained alone or in combination with a small amount, the glass is colored and visible. Causes absorption at specific wavelengths in the region. Therefore, it is preferable that the radiation shielding glass of the present invention does not contain substantially.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the property of the final article will depend on the ingredients and the compositional range of the ingredients. Therefore, the ingredients and the compositional range would be result effective variable and would be optimized to get desired product property. Moreover, the CCPA held that a particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation. Therefore, maintaining components in range values of 0.01-15 mol% Na2O, 0.01-5 mol% MgO, 0.01-5 mol % Al2O3, 15-75 mol % SiO2, 0.01-30 mol % B2O3, 0.01-13 mol% CaO, 0.01-35 mol% BaO, 0.01-2 mol% TiO2, 0.01-5 mol% SrO, 0.01-15 mol% ZnO, 0.01-4 mol % Li2O, 0.01-10.00 mol% Gd2O3, 0.01-10 mol% Bi2O3, 0.01-10 mol% CeO2, 0.01-5 mol% SB2O3 and 0.001-0.10 mol% Fe2O3 (as claimed in claim 27), would be a matter of optimization that would be performed under routine experimentation. Please see In In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claim 29, Fu teaches a radiation shielding zinc-barium-borosilicate glass and composition thereof (title, abstract, table 1). Fu also teaches that components can be added as necessary within the range not impairing the properties of the glass of the present invention. However, even when each transition metal component excluding Ti, such as V, Cr, Mn, Fe, Co, Ni, Cu, Ag, and Mo, is contained alone or in combination with a small amount, the glass is colored and visible. Causes absorption at specific wavelengths in the region (description, page 8, 5th paragraph). Therefore, it is preferable that the radiation shielding glass of the present invention does not contain substantially. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the radiation shielding zinc-barium-borosilicate glass wherein the Fe2O3 and Cr2O3 components have values of 1000 ppm or less.
Regarding claim 36, Fu teaches a radiation shielding zinc-barium-borosilicate glass and composition thereof (title, abstract, table 1). But Fu fails to explicitly teach a radiation shielding zinc-barium-borosilicate glass, wherein the Young's modulus value is 75 GPa and above. However, it would be obvious to any ordinary artisan that the glass properties are tightly controlled by adjusting their chemical formulas during manufacturing to match specific product applications. These material characteristics dictate how the glass handles daily stress, reacts to extreme temperatures, and interacts with light. The Young’s modulus is adjusted to control the glass's resistance to elastic deformation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to any ordinary artisan that the Young’s modulus would be optimized to get desired property as set by the product specification. Therefore, maintaining Young's modulus value at 75 GPa and above (as claimed in claim 36), would be a matter of optimization that would be performed under routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 37, Fu teaches a radiation shielding zinc-barium-borosilicate glass and composition thereof (title, abstract, table 1). But Fu fails to explicitly teach a radiation shielding zinc-barium-borosilicate glass, wherein the refractive index is 1.76 and above. However, it would be obvious to any ordinary artisan that the glass properties are tightly controlled by adjusting their chemical formulas during manufacturing to match specific product applications. These material characteristics dictate how the glass handles daily stress, reacts to extreme temperatures, and interacts with light. The refractive index is adjusted to dictate how light travels and bends through the material. Therefore, it would have been obvious to any ordinary artisan that the refractive index would be optimized to get desired property as set by the product specification. Therefore, maintaining the refractive index at 1.76 and above. (as claimed in claim 37), would be a matter of optimization that would be performed under routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 40, Fu teaches a radiation shielding zinc-barium-borosilicate glass and composition thereof (title, abstract, table 1). But Fu fails to explicitly teach a radiation shielding zinc-barium-borosilicate glass, wherein the coefficient of thermal expansion of not more than 8.75x10-6/K. However, it would be obvious to any ordinary artisan that the glass properties are tightly controlled by adjusting their chemical formulas during manufacturing to match specific product applications. These material characteristics dictate how the glass handles daily stress, reacts to extreme temperatures, and interacts with light. The thermal expansion coefficient is adjusted to manage how much the glass expands or contracts with temperature fluctuations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to any ordinary artisan that the refractive index would be optimized to get desired property as set by the product specification. Therefore, maintaining the coefficient of thermal expansion of not more than 8.75x10-6/K (as claimed in claim 40), would be a matter of optimization that would be performed under routine experimentation.
Regarding claims 41-49, Fu teaches a radiation shielding zinc-barium-borosilicate glass and composition thereof (title, abstract, table 1). But Fu fails to explicitly teach a radiation shielding zinc-barium-borosilicate glass, wherein the linear attenuation coefficients are adjusted. However, it would be obvious to any ordinary artisan that the glass properties are tightly controlled by adjusting their chemical formulas during manufacturing to match specific product applications. These material characteristics dictate how the glass handles daily stress, reacts to extreme temperatures, and interacts with light. Additionally, in glass manufacturing, the linear attenuation coefficient is adjusted primarily to control how the glass absorbs or transmits radiation and light. By modifying the chemical composition and density, manufacturers tailor the glass for specialized applications ranging from medical shielding to optical lenses. The linear attenuation coefficient is fundamentally a measure of how easily a material can scatter or absorb photons (such as X-rays, gamma rays, or visible light) over a specific distance. It depends directly on the physical density of the glass and the atomic number of its constituent elements. Therefore, it would have been obvious to any ordinary artisan that the linear attenuation coefficients would be optimized to get desired property as set by the product specification. Therefore, maintaining a linear attenuation coefficient value of 0.217 cm-1 and above at the 662 (as claimed in claim 41), a linear attenuation coefficient value of 0.155 cm-1 and above at an energy level of 1173 keV (as claimed in claim 42), a linear attenuation coefficient value of 0.150 cm-1 and above at an energy level of 1332 keV (as claimed in claim 43), a linear attenuation coefficient value of 0.254 cm-1 and above at the 662 keV (as claimed in claim 44), a linear attenuation coefficient value of 0.175 cm-1 and above at the 1173 keV (as claimed in claim 45), a linear attenuation coefficient value of 0.165 cm-1 and above at the 1332 keV (as claimed in claim 46), a linear attenuation coefficient value of 0.302 cm-1 and above at the 662 (as claimed in claim 47), a linear attenuation coefficient value of 0.206 cm-1 and above at the 1173 keV (as claimed in claim 48), and a linear attenuation coefficient value of 0.171 cm-1 and above at the 1332 keV (as claimed in claim 49), would be a matter of optimization that would be performed under routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 50, Fu teaches a radiation shielding zinc-barium-borosilicate glass and composition thereof (title, abstract, table 1). Fu teaches to use Na2O, MgO, Al2O3, SiO2, B2O3, Cao, BaO, TiO2, SrO, ZnO, Li2O, Gd2O3, Bi2O3, Ce2O3, Sb2O3; by teaching each component is preferably contained in the following range in terms of mol%. Bi2O3 : 0.5 to 80%, and/or SiO2 : 0 to 70%, and/or B2O3 : 0 to 70%, and/or GeO2 : 0 to 30%, and/or P2O5: 0~10%, and/or Al2O3: 0~20%, and/or Ga2O3: 0~20%, and/or In2O3: 0~20%, and/or BaO: 0 to 50%, and/or TiO2: 0~15%, and/or Nb2O5: 0~20%, and/or WO3: 0~15%, and/or Ta2O5 0 to 15% and/or TeO2: 0 to 20% and/or ZrO2: 0%, and/or SnO2 0 to 15% and/or ZnO: 0 to 50% And/or MgO: 0-50%, and/or CaO: 0-50%, and/or SrO: 50%, and/or Li2O: 0 to 15%, and/or Na2O: 0 to 15%, and/or K2O: 0 to 20%, and/or Y2O3: 0~ 50% and/or La2O3 : 0 to 50% and/or Gd2O3 : 0 to 50% and/or Yb2O3 : 0 to 50% and/or Lu2O3 : 0-50%, and/or Dy2O3: 0-50%, and/or Ce2O3: 0~15%, and/or Sb2O3: 0~3%, and/or As2O3 : 0-5% and/or F: 0-5% (machine translation, page 8-9 of description). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the radiation shielding zinc-barium-borosilicate glass would be comprising of silica sand(SiO2), quartz (SiO2), quartzite (SiO2), barite (BaSO4), barium carbonate (BaCO3), colemanite (Ca2B6O11, 5H2O), ulexite (NaCaB5O6 (OH)6, 5H2O), soda ash (Na2CO3), albite (NaAlSiO8), limestone (CaCO3), dolomite (CaMg(CO3)2), spodumene (Li Al Si2O6), sodium nitrate (NaNO3), sodium sulphate (Na2SO4), zinc oxide (ZnO), gadolinium oxide Gd2O3), gadolinium sulphate (Gd2(SO4)3), bismuth oxide (Bi2O3), bismuth nitrate (Bi2(NO3)2), cerium oxide (CeO2), antimony trioxide (Sb2O3), strontium carbonate (SrCO3), anthracite (High C content), zinc selenite (ZnSeO3) and cobalt oxide (CoO) as starting raw materials, as these raw materials would generate the above ingredient containing composition to form the desired product.
Claims 31-32, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being obvious over Fu (WO 2007 043280 A1), in view of George et al. (US Patent Application Publication Number 2014/0146840 A1), hereafter, referred to as “George”.
Regarding claims 31-32, and 34, Fu teaches a radiation shielding zinc-barium-borosilicate glass and composition thereof (title, abstract, table 1). But Fu fails to explicitly teach the use of annealing during the manufacturing process. However, George teaches that the glasses were cast into a mold and this was appropriately annealed in order to remove the stress as the liquid cools to the amorphous state (para. [0016]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the claimed invention, to incorporate the teaching of George and combine the use of annealing during the manufacturing process, because that would remove the internal structural stress. It would also have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the final property of the glass will depend on annealing temperature and duration of the annealing, and therefore, would be considered a result effective variable. Moreover, the CCPA held that a particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation. Therefore, maintaining an annealing initial temperature above 400° C and below 700° C (as claimed in claim 31), and that the annealing time is in the range of 80 to 120 minutes (as claimed in claim 32), would be a matter of optimization that would be performed under routine experimentation. Please see In In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977).
It would also have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the annealing time and temperature would also affect glass having specific diameters, and number of gas inclusions in the manufactured glass, thereby the quality of the glass. Therefore, it would have been obvious to any ordinary artisan to optimize the process properties to optimize the number of gas inclusions (blisters and/or bubbles) in the final article. The number of gas inclusions (bubbles and seeds) is adjusted in glass manufacturing primarily to eliminate structural and cosmetic defects and to optimize glass homogenization. Maintaining exact control over these inclusions directly dictates the optical clarity, strength, and thermal durability of the final glass product. Therefore, manufacturing a glass comprising 30 grams of glass for a diameter of 0.001 to 0.01 mm, 30 grams of glass for a diameter of 0.01 to 0.1 mm, and 30 grams of glass for a diameter of 0.1 mm and above, in terms of the number of gas inclusions (as claimed in claim 34), would be a matter of optimization that would be performed under routine experimentation. Please see In In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977).
Responses to Arguments
Applicant’s argument filed on 09/01/2026 for the rejections has been fully considered. Applicant’s argument with respect to claim 26 has been considered, but is not persuasive. Applicant argues regarding the Examiner’s position that the Fu publication teaches a radiation shielding zinc-barium-borosilicate glass comprising Zn0-Ba0-B20 3-Si02 glass powder with additions of Gd20 3, Bi20 3 and/or Ce02; and contends that this interpretation does not accurately represent the disclosure of the Fu publication. Applicant argues that Fu relates to a Bi2O3 based radiation shielding glass, where Bi2O3 is the essential component responsible for increasing density and radiation shielding capability. In contrast, claim 26 defines a specific zinc-barium-borosilicate glass composition having a controlled combination of ZnO-BaO-B2O3-SiO2 together with selected radiation sealing additives such as GdO3, Bi2O3, or CeO2. This combination provides a unique balance between radiation shielding capability and transparency. Applicant argues that although Fu lists ZnO, BaO, B2O3, and SiO2 among possible components, it does not disclose the claimed glass composition as a zinc-barium-borosilicate system optimized in accordance with the teachings of the present invention. Furthermore, the Fu publication does not teach, disclose or suggest the combination designed to simultaneously achieve high radiation attenuation capability, visible light transparency, control density, controlled Young's modulus, controlled refractive index, controlled thermal expansion coefficient and specific linear attenuation coefficients. As such, Applicant respectfully contends that the Fu publication fails to disclose those elements of independent claim 26. However, the Examiner wants to point out that Fu clearly teaches a glass composition in Glass 1, 2, 3, 7, 8, and 9, in Table 1, comprising of ZnO, Bao, B2O3, SiO2, and Bi2O3 and/or Gd2O3. Regarding the functional limitation of including an ingredient of the composition to perform a particular function, it is the "composition" which is claimed in the application, additionally, "[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art's functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. lreco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430,433 (CCPA 1977). Therefore, the Examiner maintains that based on the teaching of Fu, the rejection set forth in this office action address the scope of the claim, and is relevant.
Because the rejections are being maintained on the independent claim, and since there is no substantive arguments on the rejections against the references applied against rest of the dependent claims, these rejections are being maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMAD M AMEEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742