This action is in response to the preliminary amendment filed on 02/05/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 08/29/2025, 07/15/2025, 11/19/2024, and 02/05/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 6, 8, 10, 17, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities: Regarding claim 6, in line 3, “the current” appears that it should read as “a current”. Regarding claim 8, in line 4, “the body diode” appears that it should read as “a body diode”;in line 6, “the body diode” appears that it should read as “a body diode”. Regarding claim 10, in line 2, “the inductance value of the auxiliary inductor” appears that it should read as “an inductance value of the auxiliary inductor”;in line 2-3, “the inductance value of the main inductor” appears that it should read as “an inductance value of the main inductor”. Regarding claim 17, in line 3, “the current” appears that it should read as “a current”. Regarding claim 19, in line 4, “the body diode” appears that it should read as “a body diode”;in line 6, “the body diode” appears that it should read as “a body diode”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 10-13, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Xue et al. (US Patent Application Publication US 2023/0020072 A1, hereinafter “Xue”). Regarding claim 1, Xue discloses (see Fig. 1 – Fig. 7) a soft switch circuit (100), wherein the soft switch circuit comprises a power supply (112), a first switch transistor (102), a second switch transistor (104), a third switch transistor (106), a fourth switch transistor (108), a capacitor (114), a main inductor (110), an auxiliary switch transistor (comprising 120, 122), an auxiliary inductor (124), and a control unit (130); a negative electrode of the power supply is grounded (bottom terminal of 112 is grounded), a positive electrode of the power supply is connected to a first end of the first switch transistor (connected at node of VIN), a second end of the first switch transistor is connected to a first end of the second switch transistor and a first end of the main inductor respectively (connected at SW1), a second end of the second switch transistor is grounded (bottom end of 104 is grounded), a second end of the main inductor is connected to a first end of the third switch transistor and a second end of the fourth switch transistor respectively (connected at SW2), a second end of the third switch transistor is grounded (bottom end of 106 is grounded), a first end of the fourth switch transistor is connected to a first end of the capacitor (connected at node of VOUT), and a second end of the capacitor is grounded (bottom end of 114 is grounded), wherein a negative electrode of a body diode of each switch transistor serves as the first end of each switch transistor, and a positive electrode of a body diode of each switch transistor serves as the second end of each switch transistor (see respective body diodes of 102, 104, 106, 108, 120, and 122); the auxiliary switch transistor and the auxiliary inductor are connected in series to form an auxiliary branch circuit (comprising 120, 122, 124 connected in series), and the auxiliary branch circuit is connected in parallel to the main inductor (120, 124, 122 are connected to 110 in parallel); the control unit is connected to control ends of the first switch transistor, the second switch transistor, the third switch transistor, the fourth switch transistor, and the auxiliary switch transistor, respectively (130 is connected to gates of 102, 104, 106, 108, 120, and 122, sending signals MA, MB, MC, MD, MAUX1, and MAUX2, respectively); and the control unit is configured to, in a case that a current of the main inductor is positive (see Fig. 2), turn on the auxiliary switch transistor before the first switch transistor and the third switch transistor are turned on (VAUX1 and VAUX2 are turned on at t1, which is before VA and VC is turned on at t4); and in a case that the current of the main inductor is negative (see Fig. 7), turn on the auxiliary switch transistor before the second switch transistor and the fourth switch transistor are turned on (VAUX1 and VAUX2 are turned on at t1, which is before VB and VD is turned on at t3 and t4, respectively). Regarding claim 2, Xue discloses (see Fig. 1 – Fig. 7) wherein, the control unit is configured to (see Fig. 2), before the first switch transistor and the third switch transistor are turned on (before t4), turn on the auxiliary switch transistor first (turned on at t1), and then turn off the second switch transistor and the fourth switch transistor (and then turned off at t2); and (see Fig. 7) before the second switch transistor and the fourth switch transistor are turned on (before t3 and t4), turn on the auxiliary switch transistor first (turned on at t1), and then turn off the first switch transistor and the third switch transistor (and then turned off at t2). Regarding claim 4, Xue discloses (see Fig. 1 – Fig. 7) wherein, the control unit is further configured to (see Fig. 2) turn on the first switch transistor and the third switch transistor at a first preset time interval (turned on at t4), and (see Fig. 7) turn on the second switch transistor and the fourth switch transistor at a second preset time interval (turned on at t3 and t4). Regarding claim 5, Xue discloses (see Fig. 1 – Fig. 7) wherein, the control unit is further configured to (see Fig. 2) turn off the auxiliary switch transistor (turned off at t5) after the first switch transistor and the third switch transistor are turned on (turned on at t4, where t5 is after t4); and (see Fig. 7) turn off the auxiliary switch transistor (turned off at t5) after the second switch transistor and the fourth switch transistor are turned on (turned on at t3 and t4, where t5 is after t3 and t4). Regarding claim 6, Xue discloses (see Fig. 1 – Fig. 7) wherein, the control unit is configured to, after the first switch transistor and the third switch transistor are turned on (after turning on at t4) and in a case that the current on the auxiliary branch circuit is 0 (iAUX is 0 at t5), turn off the auxiliary switch transistor (VAUX1 and VAUX2 are turned off at t5); and (see Fig. 7) after the second switch transistor and the fourth switch transistor are turned on (after turning on at t3 and t4) and in the case that the current on the auxiliary branch circuit is 0 (iAUX is 0 at t5), turn off the auxiliary switch transistor (VAUX1 and VAUX2 are turned off at t5). Regarding claim 7, Xue discloses (see Fig. 1 – Fig. 7) wherein the soft switch circuit further comprises an auxiliary diode (see body diode of 122); the auxiliary diode is provided on the auxiliary branch circuit (body diode of 122 is on the branch comprising 120, 124, 122), and a conducting direction of the auxiliary diode on the auxiliary branch circuit is from the second end of the main inductor to the first end of the main inductor (body diode of 122 conducts from SW2 to SW1). Regarding claim 10, Xue discloses (see Fig. 1 – Fig. 7) wherein the inductance value of the auxiliary inductor is less than the inductance value of the main inductor (see claim 7 “the main inductor has an inductance that is larger in magnitude than a corresponding inductance of the auxiliary inductor.”). Regarding claim 11, Xue discloses (see Fig. 1 – Fig. 7) a circuit board assembly (comprising 100), comprising a soft switch circuit (100), wherein the soft switch circuit comprises a power supply (112), a first switch transistor (102), a second switch transistor (104), a third switch transistor (106), a fourth switch transistor (108), a capacitor (114), a main inductor (110), an auxiliary switch transistor (comprising 120, 122), an auxiliary inductor (124), and a control unit (130); a negative electrode of the power supply is grounded (bottom terminal of 112 is grounded), a positive electrode of the power supply is connected to a first end of the first switch transistor (connected at node of VIN), a second end of the first switch transistor is connected to a first end of the second switch transistor and a first end of the main inductor respectively (connected at SW1), a second end of the second switch transistor is grounded (bottom end of 104 is grounded), a second end of the main inductor is connected to a first end of the third switch transistor and a second end of the fourth switch transistor respectively (connected at SW2), a second end of the third switch transistor is grounded (bottom end of 106 is grounded), a first end of the fourth switch transistor is connected to a first end of the capacitor (connected at node of VOUT), and a second end of the capacitor is grounded (bottom end of 114 is grounded), wherein a negative electrode of a body diode of each switch transistor serves as the first end of each switch transistor, and a positive electrode of a body diode of each switch transistor serves as the second end of each switch transistor (see respective body diodes of 102, 104, 106, 108, 120, and 122); the auxiliary switch transistor and the auxiliary inductor are connected in series to form an auxiliary branch circuit (comprising 120, 122, 124 connected in series), and the auxiliary branch circuit is connected in parallel to the main inductor (120, 124, 122 are connected to 110 in parallel); the control unit is connected to control ends of the first switch transistor, the second switch transistor, the third switch transistor, the fourth switch transistor, and the auxiliary switch transistor, respectively (130 is connected to gates of 102, 104, 106, 108, 120, and 122, sending signals MA, MB, MC, MD, MAUX1, and MAUX2, respectively); and the control unit is configured to, in a case that a current of the main inductor is positive (see Fig. 2), turn on the auxiliary switch transistor before the first switch transistor and the third switch transistor are turned on (VAUX1 and VAUX2 are turned on at t1, which is before VA and VC is turned on at t4); and in a case that the current of the main inductor is negative (see Fig. 7), turn on the auxiliary switch transistor before the second switch transistor and the fourth switch transistor are turned on (VAUX1 and VAUX2 are turned on at t1, which is before VB and VD is turned on at t3 and t4, respectively). Regarding claim 12, Xue discloses (see Fig. 1 – Fig. 7) a switch power supply (buck-boost converter power converter of Fig. 1) comprising the circuit board assembly according to claim 11 (see rejection of claim 11 above). Regarding claim 13, Xue discloses (see Fig. 1 – Fig. 7) wherein, the control unit is configured to (see Fig. 2), before the first switch transistor and the third switch transistor are turned on (before t4), turn on the auxiliary switch transistor first (turned on at t1), and then turn off the second switch transistor and the fourth switch transistor (and then turned off at t2); and (see Fig. 7) before the second switch transistor and the fourth switch transistor are turned on (before t3 and t4), turn on the auxiliary switch transistor first (turned on at t1), and then turn off the first switch transistor and the third switch transistor (and then turned off at t2). Regarding claim 15, Xue discloses (see Fig. 1 – Fig. 7) wherein, the control unit is further configured to (see Fig. 2) turn on the first switch transistor and the third switch transistor at a first preset time interval (turned on at t4), and (see Fig. 7) turn on the second switch transistor and the fourth switch transistor at a second preset time interval (turned on at t3 and t4). Regarding claim 16, Xue discloses (see Fig. 1 – Fig. 7) wherein, the control unit is further configured to (see Fig. 2) turn off the auxiliary switch transistor (turned off at t5) after the first switch transistor and the third switch transistor are turned on (turned on at t4, where t5 is after t4); and (see Fig. 7) turn off the auxiliary switch transistor (turned off at t5) after the second switch transistor and the fourth switch transistor are turned on (turned on at t3 and t4, where t5 is after t3 and t4). Regarding claim 17, Xue discloses (see Fig. 1 – Fig. 7) wherein, the control unit is configured to, after the first switch transistor and the third switch transistor are turned on (after turning on at t4) and in a case that the current on the auxiliary branch circuit is 0 (iAUX is 0 at t5), turn off the auxiliary switch transistor (VAUX1 and VAUX2 are turned off at t5); and (see Fig. 7) after the second switch transistor and the fourth switch transistor are turned on (after turning on at t3 and t4) and in the case that the current on the auxiliary branch circuit is 0 (iAUX is 0 at t5), turn off the auxiliary switch transistor (VAUX1 and VAUX2 are turned off at t5). Regarding claim 18, Xue discloses (see Fig. 1 – Fig. 7) wherein the soft switch circuit further comprises an auxiliary diode (see body diode of 122); the auxiliary diode is provided on the auxiliary branch circuit (body diode of 122 is on the branch comprising 120, 124, 122), and a conducting direction of the auxiliary diode on the auxiliary branch circuit is from the second end of the main inductor to the first end of the main inductor (body diode of 122 conducts from SW2 to SW1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue in view of Daidoji (Japanese Patent Application Publication JP 2008-306884 A). Regarding claim 3, Xue does not disclose wherein, the control unit is configured to, before the first switch transistor and the third switch transistor are turned on, turn off the second switch transistor and the fourth switch transistor first, and then turn on the auxiliary switch transistor; and before the second switch transistor and the fourth switch transistor are turned on, turn off the first switch transistor and the third switch transistor first, and then turn on the auxiliary switch transistor. However, Daidoji teaches (see Fig. 1 - Fig. 4) wherein, the control unit (10 of Fig. 4) is configured to (see Fig. 2), before the first switch transistor and the third switch transistor are turned on (before Q1 and Q4 are turned on), turn off the second switch transistor and the fourth switch transistor first (Q2 and Q3 are turned off), and then turn on the auxiliary switch transistor (and then Q6 is turned on); and (see Fig. 3) before the second switch transistor and the fourth switch transistor are turned on (before Q2 and Q3 are turned on), turn off the first switch transistor and the third switch transistor first (Q1 and Q4 are turned off), and then turn on the auxiliary switch transistor (and then Q5 is turned on). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the soft switch circuit of Xue wherein, the control unit is configured to, before the first switch transistor and the third switch transistor are turned on, turn off the second switch transistor and the fourth switch transistor first, and then turn on the auxiliary switch transistor; and before the second switch transistor and the fourth switch transistor are turned on, turn off the first switch transistor and the third switch transistor first, and then turn on the auxiliary switch transistor, as taught by Daidoji, because it can help achieve zero current switching which can help reduce switching losses. Regarding claim 14, Xue does not disclose wherein, the control unit is configured to, before the first switch transistor and the third switch transistor are turned on, turn off the second switch transistor and the fourth switch transistor first, and then turn on the auxiliary switch transistor; and before the second switch transistor and the fourth switch transistor are turned on, turn off the first switch transistor and the third switch transistor first, and then turn on the auxiliary switch transistor. However, Daidoji teaches (see Fig. 1 - Fig. 4) wherein, the control unit (10 of Fig. 4) is configured to (see Fig. 2), before the first switch transistor and the third switch transistor are turned on (before Q1 and Q4 are turned on), turn off the second switch transistor and the fourth switch transistor first (Q2 and Q3 are turned off), and then turn on the auxiliary switch transistor (and then Q6 is turned on); and (see Fig. 3) before the second switch transistor and the fourth switch transistor are turned on (before Q2 and Q3 are turned on), turn off the first switch transistor and the third switch transistor first (Q1 and Q4 are turned off), and then turn on the auxiliary switch transistor (and then Q5 is turned on). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit board assembly of Xue wherein, the control unit is configured to, before the first switch transistor and the third switch transistor are turned on, turn off the second switch transistor and the fourth switch transistor first, and then turn on the auxiliary switch transistor; and before the second switch transistor and the fourth switch transistor are turned on, turn off the first switch transistor and the third switch transistor first, and then turn on the auxiliary switch transistor, as taught by Daidoji, because it can help achieve zero current switching which can help reduce switching losses.
Claims 9, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue in view of Ikarashi et al. (US Patent Application Publication US 2022/0329166 A1, hereinafter “Ikarashi”). Regarding claim 9, Xue does not disclose wherein the auxiliary inductor is magnetically coupled in parallel to the main inductor. However, Ikarashi teaches (see Fig. 32) wherein the auxiliary inductor (1742) is magnetically coupled in parallel to the main inductor (1741; where 1742 is magnetically coupled to 1741). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the soft switch circuit of Xue wherein the auxiliary inductor is magnetically coupled in parallel to the main inductor, as taught by Ikarashi, because it can help reduce the rated current of the auxiliary inductor which can help reduce the rated current for the auxiliary switch. Regarding claim 20, Xue does not disclose wherein the auxiliary inductor is magnetically coupled in parallel to the main inductor. However, Ikarashi teaches (see Fig. 32) wherein the auxiliary inductor (1742) is magnetically coupled in parallel to the main inductor (1741; where 1742 is magnetically coupled to 1741). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit board assembly of Xue wherein the auxiliary inductor is magnetically coupled in parallel to the main inductor, as taught by Ikarashi, because it can help reduce the rated current of the auxiliary inductor which can help reduce the rated current for the auxiliary switch.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding Claim 8, none of the cited prior art alone or in combination disclose or teach the claimed inventions in which “in a case that electric energy is transmitted from the power supply to the capacitor, before the first switch transistor and the third switch transistor are turned on, turn on the first auxiliary MOS transistor and turn off the second auxiliary MOS transistor, and before the second switch transistor and the fourth switch transistor are turned on, turn on the second auxiliary MOS transistor and turn off the first auxiliary MOS transistor; and the control unit is further configured to, in a case that the electric energy is transmitted from the capacitor to the power supply, before the first switch transistor and the third switch transistor are turned on, turn on the second auxiliary MOS transistor and turn off the first auxiliary MOS transistor, and before the second switch transistor and the fourth switch transistor are turned on, turn on the first auxiliary MOS transistor and turn off the second auxiliary MOS transistor.”. Regarding Claim 19, none of the cited prior art alone or in combination disclose or teach the claimed inventions in which “in a case that electric energy is transmitted from the power supply to the capacitor, before the first switch transistor and the third switch transistor are turned on, turn on the first auxiliary MOS transistor and turn off the second auxiliary MOS transistor, and before the second switch transistor and the fourth switch transistor are turned on, turn on the second auxiliary MOS transistor and turn off the first auxiliary MOS transistor; and the control unit is further configured to, in a case that the electric energy is transmitted from the capacitor to the power supply, before the first switch transistor and the third switch transistor are turned on, turn on the second auxiliary MOS transistor and turn off the first auxiliary MOS transistor, and before the second switch transistor and the fourth switch transistor are turned on, turn on the first auxiliary MOS transistor and turn off the second auxiliary MOS transistor.”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US Patent Application Publication 2004/0066178 A1 discloses an auxiliary resonance type DC/DC converter. US Patent Application Publication 2022/0255416 A1 discloses a soft-switching power converter with an inductive coupled unit. Japanese Patent Application Publication JP 2008-176540 A discloses a voltage converter capable of using a switching element with a small rated current in an auxiliary circuit for a soft switching. Japanese Patent 5223299 B2 discloses a bidirectional converter circuit of a duty independent control system to which a resonance type soft switching system is applied. WIPO Patent Application WO 2015/105795 A1 discloses a power converter assisted by an auxiliary circuit to obtain zero-voltage switching.
/JYE-JUNE LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/JUE ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838