DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-20 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (Implementation of planar proton minibeam radiation therapy using a pencil beam scanning system: A proof of concept study. Med. Phys., 45: 5305-5316, 2018) in view of D2 (US 20180021007 A1).
With regards to claims 16 and 28, D1 discloses a radiation therapy system comprising: a single slit collimator for producing proton minibeams (section 2.C.1) and further teaches orienting the slit relative to the beam geometry (section 2B; a divergent collimator in which the slit tilt follows the beam divergence was considered). D1 does not specifically teach wherein said collimator is arranged to translate or rotate and tilt as claimed. However, D2 teaches a radiation imaging system comprising a collimator that is translated relative to its support [0046, 0049] (which necessarily teaches either along a direction parallel to the plane defined by the slit or along a direction perpendicular thereto); and tilting the collimator relative to a predefined reference axis [0044, 0048]. It would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify D1 with the claimed configuration as taught by D2 in order to provide improved alignment of the slit relative to the treatment beam, compensate for geometric misalignment, and provide adjustable beam shaping and beam placement.
With regards to claim 17, D1 discloses in which the collimator is arranged to modulate a width of the single slit and/or a length of the single slit (section 2.B).
With regards to claims 18-20, D1 does not specifically teach the claimed collimator configuration. However, those skilled in the art recognize that such a configuration was already known and considered obvious in order to adjust the collimator aperture to a desired size and shape. Therefore, it would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify D1 with the claimed collimator configuration in view of the recited benefit.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21-27, 29, and 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With regards to claim 21, the prior art on record teaches translation and tilting of slit collimators, but fails to teach or suggest a collimator comprising adjustable overlapping area and/or moveable contact areas between two couples of blocks, wherein the overlapping/contact areas are arranged to modulate slit width, modulate slit length, and translate the slit relative to a support as recited.
With regards to claim 26, the prior art does not teach a support comprising a base having a through hole for propagation of an incident beam and the plate as recited.
With regards to claims 29 and 30, the prior art does not teach the steps of positioning and translating the single slit as recited.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MARCUS H TANINGCO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884