DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10-14, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tobori (US 2008/0191176 A1) in view of Keung (US Patent No. 4,369,267) and Birla Carbon (Birla Carbon Specialty Blacks Brochure 2016 pp. 1-5).
Regarding claim 1, Tobori teaches a conductive masterbatch formed from carbon blacks and carbon nanotubes and a polyamide resin (Abstract). The masterbatch is let down with resin (optionally polyethylene, [0078]) to produce a resin composition (Abstract). However, Tobori differs from claim 1 because it is silent with regard to the masterbatch, itself, comprising polyethylene or polypropylene, as claimed.
In the same field of endeavor, Keung teaches a process for dispersing fine particle size carbon blacks in low density polyethylene (Abstract), wherein a masterbatch of carbon black is let down in a two-stage process (Abstract). Keung teaches that the two-stage process is useful for producing a final product which is free of carbon black agglomerates which are usually formed in standard single-letdown processes (Abstract). Keung teaches that the intermediate masterbatch, containing a portion of the letdown polymer, contains about 1.1 to 46 wt% of carbon black (col. 4, lines 1-3). It is prima facie obvious to substitute equivalents known in the art as suitable for the same purpose (see MPEP 2144.07). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to produce the resin composition of Tobori via a process wherein the initial masterbatch is let down only partially, as taught by Keung, for the purpose of preventing agglomeration of the carbon black therein. In so doing, the intermediate masterbatch of Tobori as modified would read on the claimed “masterbatch composition,” and would contain a base polymer of polyethylene, as claimed.
Tobori teaches that the total content of carbon nanotubes and carbon blacks within the masterbatch are preferably in the range of 10 to 40 wt% ([0056]).
Regarding the claimed ratio of carbon black and carbon nanotubes, Tobori specifically teaches that the carbon nanotubes and carbon blacks can be used in combination ([0057]). Tobori exemplifies the inventive masterbatch composition as containing 25% carbon black as the lone conductive filler (c.f. [0115], Table 1, Example 4). However as described above, Tobori specifically states that both carbon black and carbon nanotubes may be used ([0057]), and specifically teaches that the total content of carbon nanotubes and carbon black may range from 10 to 40 wt% of the masterbatch ([0056]). It therefore would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to add carbon nanotubes into the exemplified masterbatches of Tobori, such that the total carbon black and carbon nanotube content ranged between 10 and 40 wt%. In so doing, these compositions would contain 25% carbon black and a range of just over 0% to about 15% carbon nanotubes. This corresponds to a ratio of 62.5-100:37.5~0, which encompasses the claimed range of “85-98:15-2,” establishing a prima facie case of obviousness.
During the initial, partial letdown of the composition of Tobori as modified by Keung, as described above, Keung teaches that the partially-let-down composition may contain carbon black in a range of about 1.1 to 46 wt% (col. 4, lines 1-3). The partial letdown of Tobori as modified by Keung would have therefore been obvious to conduct such that the amount of carbon black remained between the range of about 1.1% to below about 25%, which would also proportionally scale the carbon nanotube concentration to about just above 0% to below about 15%; the total carbon filler within the partially-let-down masterbatch would therefore range from about 1.1% to about just under 40%, which overlaps the claimed range of “30-50%,” establishing a prima facie case of obviousness. Importantly, the ratio range of carbon black and carbon nanotubes would not change based on the initial, partial letting-down of the composition, as the relative amounts of carbon black and carbon nanotubes would not change based on the addition of another component.
Tobori teaches that the carbon black has an OAN of 150-600 mL/100 g ([0045]) which overlaps the claimed range of “120-170 cm3/100g,” establishing a prima facie case of obviousness.
Tobori finally differs from claim 1 because it is silent with regard to the NSA of the carbon black.
In the same field of endeavor, Birla Carbon Conductex 7055 Ultra is a commercially available and conductive carbon black product possessing an NSA of 55 m2/g and an OAN of 170 mL/100g (c.f. Birla Carbon p. 4). Birla Carbon further states that said material is useful in conductive applications (c.f. Birla Carbon p. 4, Typical Applications column). It is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its art-recognized suitability for its intended purpose (see MPEP 2144.07). Furthermore, the OAN number of 170 mL/100 g meets the range of 150-600 mL/100g required by Tobori (c.f. Tobori [0045]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to utilize Conductex 7055 Ultra as the conductive carbon black within Tobori, as it was commercially available at the time, was indicated for use in conductive applications, and met the requisite OAN characteristic recited within Tobori. The NSA of 55 m2/g of Conductex 7055 Ultra falls within the claimed range of “40-90 m2/g,” establishing a prima facie case of obviousness.
Regarding claim 10, Tobori teaches that the carbon nanotubes may be single-layered or multilayered ([0049]).
Regarding claims 11-12, Tobori teaches that the carbon nanotubes may have average diameters ranging from 1-100 nm ([0050]), which encompasses the claimed ranges, establishing prima facie cases of obviousness.
Regarding claims 13-14, Tobori exemplifies the usage of carbon nanotubes having an average fiber length of 10 microns ([0108]), which falls within the claimed ranges, establishing prima facie cases of obviousness.
Regarding claim 29, Tobori teaches the injection molding of rein compositions using the inventive masterbatch (e.g., [0117] and Table 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s Remarks, filed September 8, 2026, with respect to the rejections of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Tobori and further in view of Keung and Birla Carbon, as described above.
Applicant’s remaining arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Tobori discloses no ratio of carbon black to carbon nanotubes; however, as described above, Tobori exemplifies the incorporation of carbon black in an amount of 25 wt%, while simultaneously teaching that the total amount of carbon black and carbon nanotubes may range from 10 to 40 wt% ([0056]). It therefore would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to include carbon nanotubes in amounts which would render a combination of ingredients fitting these prescribed values; corresponding to a range of from just over 0% to about 15%, as described above.
Applicant argues that Tobori’s only combined example “points the other way”; however, the fact that Tobori teaches an example which does not fit the claimed range does not rebut the broader disclosure of a suitable amount of carbon black alongside a suitable combined range of both carbonaceous fillers. While the ratio/combination described above may not be the preferred composition of Tobori (although Tobori does not explicitly state what combinations are preferred), patents are relevant as prior art for all of the information that they contain, and non-preferred and alternative embodiments nonetheless constitute prior art (see MPEP 2123.I and II).
Applicant argues that Tobori’s carbon black teachings are directed away from the claimed OAN range of 120-170 cm3/100g; however, as described above, Tobori explicitly teaches that a range of 150-600 ml/100g is suitable ([0045]). While the Applicant contends that Tobori prefers carbon blacks having a value of 300-550 ml/100g, as described above patents are relevant as prior art for all of the information that they contain, and non-preferred and alternative embodiments nonetheless constitute prior art (see MPEP 2123.I and II).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA CALEB BLEDSOE/Examiner, Art Unit 1762
/ROBERT S JONES JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1762