Receipt is acknowledged of Applicant’s IDS filed on 11/21/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending in the instant application.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over copending Application No. 18/228,510; 19/208,200; 19/198,982; 18/791,288; 18/791,300; 19/063,049 (reference application) over HOOIJMAN et al (Development of [225Ac]Ac-PSMA-I&T for Targeted Alpha Therapy According to GMP Guidelines for Treatment of mCRPC. Pharmaceutics 2021, 13, 715, pg. 1-15).
The co-applications recite a radiopharmaceutical composition comprising .sup.177Lu-PSMA I&T and ascorbic acid (see claim 1), about 42.5 mg/ml ascorbic acid (see claim 7), which is 4.25% when the volume is 1mL, wherein the composition comprises about 40 μL ethanol per mL of solution (see claim 4), which is 4% when the volume is 1 mL, in sufficient amounts of radioactivity for intended use (see claim 36).
The co-applications do not recite 225Actinum.
HOOIJMAN teaches the prior art had known of treating prostate cancer patients with 177Lu-labeled PSMA-ligands. Radionuclide therapy efficacy may even be improved by using the alpha emitter Ac-225. Higher efficacy is claimed due to high linear energy transfer specifically towards PSMA positive cells, causing more double-strand breaks (see abstract), wherein ascorbate and ethanol were added (see pg. 3; and 6) as a quencher (see pg. 8) to reduce the formation of radiolysis (see pg. 8-9) and optimized the stability of [225Ac]Ac-PSMA-I&T (see pg. 4).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate 225Actinum. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications and reasonably would have expected success, because 177-Lu and Ac-225 are functional equivalent compounds used for treating prostate cancer, wherein Ac-225 appears to have more therapeutic effect.
The references do not specifically teach adding the ingredients in the specific range of concentration amounts claimed by Applicant. The concentration/amount of a specific ingredient in a composition is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and reasonably would expect success. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal concentration/amount of each ingredient to add in order to best achieve the desired results, such as treatment of prostate cancer, reduce the formation of radiolysis and optimized the stability of: [225Ac]Ac-PSMA-I&T. Thus, absent some demonstration of unexpected results from the claimed parameters, this optimization of ingredient concentration/amount would have been obvious at the time of Applicant's invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112, 2nd paragraph
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 11, 12 and 20 contain the terms "PSMA" and “I&T”, which is not defined by the claims. Claims must stand alone to define the invention, and should not rely on the description or the drawings to give them meaning (see Ex Parte Fressola, 27 USPQ 2d 1608). Thus, claim 1, at the very least, should define "PSMA" and “I&T” by its formal name; once "PSMA" and “I&T” are defined, the term "PSMA" and “I&T” may be subsequently recited.
The dependent claims fall therewith.
Regarding claims 1-10 and 20, the exact formulation is not clear. As the radioactivity concentration is given in “MBq per ml”, but the amount of ascorbic acid and ethanol is given “mg” rather than “mg per ml”.
Regarding claims 11-19, the exact formulation is not clear. As the radioactivity concentration is given in “ug per ml”, but the amount of ascorbic acid and ethanol is given “mg” rather than “mg per ml”.
The dependent claims fall therewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by HOOIJMAN et al (Development of [225Ac]Ac-PSMA-I&T for Targeted Alpha Therapy According to GMP Guidelines for Treatment of mCRPC. Pharmaceutics 2021, 13, 715, pg. 1-15).
HOOIJMAN teaches a composition comprised of: [225Ac]Ac-PSMA-I&T (see title and abstract); ascorbate and ethanol were added (see pg. 3; and 6) as a quencher (see pg. 8) to reduce the formation of radiolysis (see pg. 8-9) and optimized the stability of [225Ac]Ac-PSMA-I&T (see pg. 4), wherein the quenchers’ concentrations were optimized (see abstract; and pg. 9) and the pH is >5.5 (see abstract), such as 5.5-9 (see pg. 10, see Table 5).
HOOIJMAN further teaches requested dosages for patients include: 8-12 MBq in a volume of 3-8mL (see pg. 6), wherein 8-12 MBq in 8mL has a concentration of 1-1.5 MBq/mL; 0.5M of ascorbate final concentration (see pg. 6), which is about 8.81% and reads on 88.1 mg in a volume of 1mL; and 5% of ethanol (see pg. 6), which reads on 50 mg in volume of 1 mL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HOOIJMAN et al (Development of [225Ac]Ac-PSMA-I&T for Targeted Alpha Therapy According to GMP Guidelines for Treatment of mCRPC. Pharmaceutics 2021, 13, 715, pg. 1-15).
As discussed above, HOOIJMAN teaches treating prostate cancer with a composition comprised of: [225Ac]Ac-PSMA-I&T (see title and abstract); ascorbate and ethanol were added (see pg. 3; and 6) as a quencher (see pg. 8) to reduce the formation of radiolysis (see pg. 8-9) and optimized the stability of [225Ac]Ac-PSMA-I&T (see pg. 4), wherein the quenchers’ concentrations were optimized (see abstract; and pg. 9) and the pH is >5.5 (see abstract), such as 5.5-9 (see pg. 10, see Table 5).
HOOIJMAN further teaches requested dosages for patients include: 8-12 MBq in a volume of 3-8mL (see pg. 6), wherein 8-12 MBq in 8mL has a concentration of 1-1.5 MBq/mL; 0.5M of ascorbate final concentration (see pg. 6), which is about 8.81% and reads on 88.1 mg in a volume of 1mL; and 5% of ethanol (see pg. 6), which reads on 50 mg in volume of 1 mL.
The reference does not specifically teach adding the ingredients in the specific range of concentration amounts claimed by Applicant. The concentration/amount of a specific ingredient in a composition is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and reasonably would expect success. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal concentration/amount of each ingredient to add in order to best achieve the desired results, such as treatment of prostate cancer, reduce the formation of radiolysis and optimized the stability of [225Ac]Ac-PSMA-I&T. Thus, absent some demonstration of unexpected results from the claimed parameters, this optimization of ingredient concentration/amount would have been obvious at the time of Applicant's invention.
Telephonic Inquiries
/JAKE M VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618