DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO 2021020350 A1 (Kowalski et al., hereinafter Kowalski).
Regarding claim 1, Kowalski discloses a first integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node (Fig. 9, “child IAB node”, where parent and child nodes can be interchangeable), comprising:
at least one memory (par. [0032]); and
at least one processor (Fig. 9, “IAB node processor 54”) coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the first IAB node (par. [0032], “Both, the UE and gNB may include addressable memory in electronic communication with a processor…”) to:
transmit a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) message (par. [0032], “medium access control (MAC) control element”) to a second IAB node (Fig. 9, “parent IAB node), wherein the MAC CE message comprises:
an identifier (ID) associated with a resource configuration;
a transmission power offset value;
a maximum transmission power value;
information corresponding to a multiplexing mode;
at least one uplink beam identifier;
a first indication of association with a mobile terminal (MT) of the first IAB node;
a second indication of association with a cell of a distributed unit (DU) of the first IAB node; or a combination thereof (par. [0089], “The DU maximum transmission power control signal 152 may be transmitted from parent IAB node 70(9) to child IAB node 72(9) in any suitable manner. For example, DU maximum transmission power control signal 152 may be transmitted via an F1-AP interface (see FIG. 1), as or in a medium access control (MAC) control element, or by downlink control information (DCI).” Note: only one limitation is required for consideration based on the alternative language using the conjunction “or”).
Regarding claim 11, Kowalski discloses a method of a first integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node (par. [0011]), the method comprising:
transmitting a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) message (par. [0032], “medium access control (MAC) control element”) to a second IAB node (Fig. 9, “Fig. 9, “parent IAB node. Where parent and child nodes can be interchangeable), wherein the MAC CE message comprises:
an identifier (ID) associated with a resource configuration;
a transmission power offset value;
a maximum transmission power value;
information corresponding to a multiplexing mode;
at least one uplink beam identifier;
a first indication of association with a mobile terminal (MT) of the first IAB node;
a second indication of association with a cell of a distributed unit (DU) of the first IAB node; or a combination thereof (par. [0089], “The DU maximum transmission power control signal 152 may be transmitted from parent IAB node 70(9) to child IAB node 72(9) in any suitable manner. For example, DU maximum transmission power control signal 152 may be transmitted via an F1-AP interface (see FIG. 1), as or in a medium access control (MAC) control element, or by downlink control information (DCI).” Note: only one limitation is required for consideration based on the alternative language using the conjunction “or”).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Kowalski discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 11, respectively. Kowalski further discloses wherein the second IAB node is a parent node (Fig. 9, “parent IAB node”) of the first IAB node (Fig. 9, “child IAB node”), and the MAC CE message indicates a range of transmission power for an uplink from the first IAB node to the second IAB node (pars. [0088]-[0089], “…maximum transmission power…”, where the maximum transmission power corresponds to the child IAB node to transmit at).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Kowalski discloses all the limitations of claims 2 and 12, respectively. Kowalski further discloses wherein the range is indicated by a combination of the maximum transmission power value and the transmission power offset value (par. [0047], “In a mobile network, an IAB child node may use the same initial access procedure (discovery) as an access UE to establish a connection with an IAB node/donor… Radio Resource Control (RRC) protocol may be used for signaling between 5G radio network and UE”; pages 19-20 and corresponding equations 1-2; pars. [0071]-[0072] and [0088]-[0089], where a child IAB node provides a power headroom (PHR) report to the parent IAB node, where PHR reports is the difference between the maximum power that a mobile device can transmit and the current power it is utilizing”, reads on power offset).
Regarding claim 5, Kowalski discloses all the limitations of claim 2. Kowalski further discloses wherein the MAC CE message indicates that the parent node applies the range in response to the first IAB node using a resource associated with the resource configuration (pars. [0071]-[0073], “As used herein, transmission power headroom (PHR) may be a difference between a maximum transmission power allocated to the child IAB node 72, or to its Mobile-Termination (MT) 50 or to its IAB node processor(s) 54, and actual transmission power utilization by the child IAB node 72…” ).
Regarding claim 6, Kowalski discloses all the limitations of claim 2. Kowalski further discloses wherein the MAC CE message indicates that the parent node applies the range in response to the first IAB node using an associated frequency resource (pars. [0071]-[0073], “parent IAB node 70 may receive the IAB node transmission power report…may be used by the parent node to schedule resources on the child MT or DU, especially on the child, it can be used to dictate the modulation and coding schemes to be used and the resources the child transmissions can occupy. The IAB node transmission power report may also or alternatively be used to allocate resources to the DU/MT, and /or to re-route traffic backhauled on a child link”).
Regarding claim 10, Kowalski discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Kowalski further discloses wherein the MAC CE message is associated with third IAB node, and the third IAB node is a child node of the first IAB node (Fig. 12 and par. [0079], ”child-grandchildren links” of grand-child IABs).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kowalski in view of US 20200267801 A1 (Jung et al., hereinafter Jung).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Kowalski discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 11, respectively.
Kowalski discloses wherein the resource configuration is provided by a radio resource control (RRC) entity (pars. [0047], [0071]-[0072], “In a mobile network, an IAB child node may use the same initial access procedure (discovery) as an access UE to establish a connection with an IAB node/donor… Radio Resource Control (RRC) protocol may be used for signaling between 5G radio network and UE”).
Kowalski discloses does not specifically disclose a radio resource control (RRC) entity.
In related art concerning method and apparatus for message processing in wireless communication system, Jung discloses a radio resource control (RRC) entity (par. [0016], “RRC entity”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Jung’s teachings about a radio resource control (RRC) entity with the power management for IAB networks disclosed by Kowalski because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that to ensure an efficient resource allocation within a network, an (RRC) entity would be used.
Claims 7-8 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kowalski in view of US 20230239810 A1 (Fakoorian et al., hereinafter Fakoorian).
Regarding claim 15, Kowalski discloses a first integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node (Fig. 9, “Fig. 9, “child IAB node”), comprising:
at least one memory (par. [0032]); and
at least one processor (Fig. 9, “IAB node processor 54”) coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the first IAB node to (par. [0032], “Both, the UE and gNB may include addressable memory in electronic communication with a processor…”):
transmit a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) message (par. [0032], “medium access control (MAC) control element”) to a second IAB node (Fig. 9, “child IAB node), wherein the MAC CE message comprises:
an identifier (ID) associated with a resource configuration;
a transmission power offset value;
a maximum transmission power value;
information corresponding to a multiplexing mode;
at least one uplink beam identifier;
a first indication of association with a mobile terminal (MT) of the first IAB node;
a second indication of association with a cell of a distributed unit (DU) of the first IAB node; or a combination thereof (par. [0089], “The DU maximum transmission power control signal 152 may be transmitted from parent IAB node 70(9) to child IAB node 72(9) in any suitable manner. For example, DU maximum transmission power control signal 152 may be transmitted via an F1-AP interface (see FIG. 1), as or in a medium access control (MAC) control element, or by downlink control information (DCI).” Note: only one limitation is required for consideration based on the alternative language using the conjunction “or”);
wherein:
the second IAB node is a parent node (Fig. 9, “parent IAB node”) of the first IAB node (Fig. 9, “child IAB node”);
the MAC CE message indicates a range of transmission power for an uplink from the first IAB node to the second IAB node (pars. [0088]-[0089], “…maximum transmission power…”, where the maximum transmission power corresponds to the child IAB node to transmit at);
the range is indicated by a combination of the maximum transmission power value and the transmission power offset value (par. [0047], “In a mobile network, an IAB child node may use the same initial access procedure (discovery) as an access UE to establish a connection with an IAB node/donor… Radio Resource Control (RRC) protocol may be used for signaling between 5G radio network and UE”; pages 19-20 and corresponding equations 1-2; pars. [0071]-[0072] and [0088]-[0089], where a child IAB node provides a power headroom (PHR) report to the parent IAB node, where PHR reports is the difference between the maximum power that a mobile device can transmit and the current power it is utilizing”, reads on power offset); and the MAC CE message indicates that the parent node applies the range in response to:
the first IAB node using a resource associated with the resource configuration;
the first IAB node applying the indicated multiplexing mode;
the first IAB node applying a beam indicated by the at least one uplink beam identifier; or a combination thereof (pars. [0071]-[0073], “As used herein, transmission power headroom (PHR) may be a difference between a maximum transmission power allocated to the child IAB node 72, or to its Mobile-Termination (MT) 50 or to its IAB node processor(s) 54, and actual transmission power utilization by the child IAB node 72…”. Note: only one of the choices provided is required due to the alternative language that includes the conjunction “or”).
Kowalski further discloses wherein the multiplexing mode comprises: the MT transmitting and the DU transmitting; the MT receiving and the DU receiving; the MT transmitting and the DU receiving; the MT receiving and the MT transmitting; or some a combination thereof (Figs. 1-2, and 12; par. [0071], in “new radio” multiplexing techniques use massive MIMO, NOMA and network slicing that support spatial multiplexing which are critical for improving data rate and bandwidth efficiency in modern communication systems. Note: multiplexing was not one of the elected choices provided in claim 1; therefore, the claim is unclear).
Although implied in Kowalski, for the sake of completeness, the examiner is introducing a reference that specifically discloses the multiplexing mode.
In related art concerning power headroom report for IAB, Fakoorian discloses a multiplexing mode (par. [0108], “a change from a time-division multiplex (TDM) mode to a simultaneous transmit mode; from a simultaneous transmit mode to a TDM mode…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Fakoorian’s teachings about multiplexing mode with the power management for IAB networks disclosed by Kowalski because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that as pointed out above, in “new radio” multiplexing techniques use massive MIMO, NOMA and network slicing that support spatial multiplexing which are critical for improving data rate and bandwidth efficiency in modern communication systems.
Regarding claim 16, Kowalski discloses a method of a first integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node (par. [0011]), the method comprising:
transmitting a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) message (par. [0032], “medium access control (MAC) control element”) to a second IAB node, wherein the MAC CE message comprises (Fig. 9, “child IAB node):
an identifier (ID) associated with a resource configuration;
a transmission power offset value;
a maximum transmission power value;
information corresponding to a multiplexing mode; at least one uplink beam identifier;
a first indication of association with a mobile terminal (MT) of the first IAB node;
a second indication of association with a cell of a distributed unit (DU) of the first IAB node; or a combination thereof (par. [0089], “The DU maximum transmission power control signal 152 may be transmitted from parent IAB node 70(9) to child IAB node 72(9) in any suitable manner. For example, DU maximum transmission power control signal 152 may be transmitted via an F1-AP interface (see FIG. 1), as or in a medium access control (MAC) control element, or by downlink control information (DCI).” Note: only one limitation is required for consideration based on the alternative language using the conjunction “or”); wherein:
the second IAB node is a parent node (Fig. 9, “parent IAB node”) of the first IAB node (Fig. 9, “child IAB node”);
the MAC CE message indicates a range of transmission power for an uplink from the first IAB node to the second IAB node (pars. [0088]-[0089], “…maximum transmission power…”, where the maximum transmission power corresponds to the child IAB node to transmit at);
the range is indicated by a combination of the maximum transmission power value and the transmission power offset value (par. [0047], “In a mobile network, an IAB child node may use the same initial access procedure (discovery) as an access UE to establish a connection with an IAB node/donor… Radio Resource Control (RRC) protocol may be used for signaling between 5G radio network and UE”; pages 19-20 and corresponding equations 1-2; pars. [0071]-[0072] and [0088]-[0089], where a child IAB node provides a power headroom (PHR) report to the parent IAB node, where PHR reports is the difference between the maximum power that a mobile device can transmit and the current power it is utilizing”, reads on power offset); and the MAC CE message indicates that the parent node applies the range in response to:
the first IAB node using a resource associated with the resource configuration;
the first IAB node applying the indicated multiplexing mode;
the first IAB node applying a beam indicated by the at least one uplink beam identifier; or a combination thereof (pars. [0071]-[0073], “As used herein, transmission power headroom (PHR) may be a difference between a maximum transmission power allocated to the child IAB node 72, or to its Mobile-Termination (MT) 50 or to its IAB node processor(s) 54, and actual transmission power utilization by the child IAB node 72…”. Note: only one of the choices provided is required due to the alternative language that includes the conjunction “or”).
Kowalski further discloses wherein the multiplexing mode comprises: the MT transmitting and the DU transmitting; the MT receiving and the DU receiving; the MT transmitting and the DU receiving; the MT receiving and the MT transmitting; or some a combination thereof (Figs. 1-2, and 12; par. [0071], in “new radio” multiplexing techniques use massive MIMO, NOMA and network slicing that support spatial multiplexing which are critical for improving data rate and bandwidth efficiency in modern communication systems. Note: multiplexing was not one of the elected choices provided in claim 1; therefore, the claim is unclear).
Although implied in Kowalski, for the sake of completeness, the examiner is introducing a reference that specifically discloses the multiplexing mode.
In related art concerning power headroom report for IAB, Fakoorian discloses a multiplexing mode (par. [0108], “a change from a time-division multiplex (TDM) mode to a simultaneous transmit mode; from a simultaneous transmit mode to a TDM mode…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Fakoorian’s teachings about multiplexing mode with the power management for IAB networks disclosed by Kowalski because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that as pointed out above, in “new radio” multiplexing techniques use massive MIMO, NOMA and network slicing that support spatial multiplexing which are critical for improving data rate and bandwidth efficiency in modern communication systems.
Regarding claim 17, Kowalski and Fakoorian discloses all the limitations of claim 16. Kowalski further discloses wherein the MAC CE message indicates that the parent node applies the range in response to the first IAB node using a resource associated with the resource configuration (pars. [0071]-[0073], “As used herein, transmission power headroom (PHR) may be a difference between a maximum transmission power allocated to the child IAB node 72, or to its Mobile-Termination (MT) 50 or to its IAB node processor(s) 54, and actual transmission power utilization by the child IAB node 72…” ).
Regarding claim 18, Kowalski discloses all the limitations of claim 17. Kowalski further discloses wherein the MAC CE message indicates that the parent node applies the range in response to the first IAB node using an associated frequency resource (pars. [0071]-[0073], “parent IAB node 70 may receive the IAB node transmission power report…may be used by the parent node to schedule resources on the child MT or DU, especially on the child, it can be used to dictate the modulation and coding schemes to be used and the resources the child transmissions can occupy. The IAB node transmission power report may also or alternatively be used to allocate resources to the DU/MT, and /or to re-route traffic backhauled on a child link”).
Regarding claims 7, Kowalski discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and regarding claim 19, Kowalski and Fakoorian discloses all the limitations of claim 16. Kowalski further discloses wherein the multiplexing mode comprises: the MT transmitting and the DU transmitting; the MT receiving and the DU receiving; the MT transmitting and the DU receiving; the MT receiving and the MT transmitting; or some a combination thereof (Figs. 1-2, and 12; par. [0071], in “new radio” multiplexing techniques use massive MIMO, NOMA and network slicing that support spatial multiplexing which are critical for improving data rate and bandwidth efficiency in modern communication systems. Note: multiplexing was not one of the elected choices provided in claim 1; therefore, the claim is unclear).
Although implied in Kowalski, and for the sake of completeness, the examiner is introducing a reference that specifically discloses the multiplexing mode.
In related art concerning power headroom report for IAB, Fakoorian discloses a multiplexing mode (par. [0108], “a change from a time-division multiplex (TDM) mode to a simultaneous transmit mode; from a simultaneous transmit mode to a TDM mode…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Fakoorian’s teachings about multiplexing mode with the power management for IAB networks disclosed by Kowalski because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that as pointed out above, in “new radio” multiplexing techniques use massive MIMO, NOMA and network slicing that support spatial multiplexing which are critical for improving data rate and bandwidth efficiency in modern communication systems.
Regarding claims 8, Kowalski discloses all the limitations of claim 2, and regarding claim 20, Kowalski and Fakoorian discloses all the limitations of claim 16. Kowalski further discloses wherein the MAC CE message indicates that the parent node applies the range (pars. [0071]-[0073], “parent IAB node 70 may receive the IAB node transmission power report…may be used by the parent node to schedule resources on the child MT or DU, especially on the child, it can be used to dictate the modulation and coding schemes to be used and the resources the child transmissions can occupy. The IAB node transmission power report may also or alternatively be used to allocate resources to the DU/MT, and /or to re-route traffic backhauled on a child link”).
Although implied in Kowalski, and for the sake of completeness, the examiner is introducing a reference that specifically discloses the multiplexing mode.
In related art concerning power headroom report for IAB, Fakoorian discloses applying the range in response to the first IAB node applying the indicated multiplexing mode (par. [0107], “detecting a change in a duplex mode of the IAB node; and reporting the indication of the first PH value or the indication of the second PH value based on said detecting of the change in the duplex mode”; [0108], “a change from a time-division multiplex (TDM) mode to a simultaneous transmit mode; from a simultaneous transmit mode to a TDM mode…”, were the IAB node would ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Fakoorian’s teachings about applying the range in response to the first IAB node applying the indicated multiplexing mode with the power management for IAB networks disclosed by Kowalski because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that simultaneous and TDM correspond to different manners of transmitting the range, where the type of multiplexing applied would depend on Quality of Service and/or priority of the power control requirements for specific communication requests, among others.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kowalski in view of US 20210385057 A1 (Zhou et al., hereinafter Zhou).
Regarding claim 9, Kowalski discloses all the limitations of claim 2. Kowalski further discloses wherein the MAC CE message indicates that the parent node applies the range in response to the first IAB node applying a beam indicated by the at least one uplink beam identifier (par. [0010], “…5G network with many small cells and if beamforming equipment is utilized”, where when using beamforming, the IDs of the beams are indicated in UL and/or DL transmissions).
Although implied in Kowalski and for the sake of completeness, the examiner is introducing a reference that specifically discloses beam identifier.
In related art concerning autonomous fallback for full-duplex beam pair, Zhou discloses UL beam identifier (par. [0095], “wireless device 702 may be an IAB node (e.g., parent node/donor node)”; par. [0096],” one or more of an UL beam ID for an UL beam… a TCI codepoint that maps to an UL and DL TCI state for the fallback FD beam pair. Further, the indication at 706 may be communicated in one or more of DCI, a MAC-CE, or RRC signaling”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Zhou’s teachings about UL beam identifier with the power management for IAB networks disclosed by Kowalski because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that beam IDs allow the ability to focus the beam on a specific target to achieve high data rates and maintain stable communication links. Also, synchronization between nodes is facilitated, so that reliable communication is maintained, among others.
Note: the examiner has cited and quoted the PCT/IB2022/057272 written opinion cited in IDS dated 02/05/2024.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20220124652 A1 relates to IAB timing delta MAC CE enhancement for case #6 timing support.
US 20240340808 A1 relates to method for controlling power of IAB node and device using the method.
US 20220039030 A1 relates to mapping correspondence between entry index and PHR related parameter and a measurement value range.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the TC 2600's customer service number is 703-306-0377.
/Angelica M. Perez/
Patent Examiner AU 2649