DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the claims and specification in the submission dated 02/05/2024 are acknowledged and accepted. Claims 4 and 18-19 are canceled. Claims 1-3 and 5-17 are amended. Claims 20-24 are new. Claims 1-3, 5-17, and 20-24 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 10/10/2024 and 12/06/2024. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 11, 13, 14, 17, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ono et al., US 2008/0112057 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Ono).
As to claim 1, Ono teaches a lens (Ono, Fig. 5, 33b, paragraph [0056], cylindrical lens array 33b), comprising:
a first surface (Ono, Fig. 5, 33b, paragraph [0056], the first surface is the top surface of the lens array 33b as shown in figure 5) comprising a first optical structure (Ono, Fig. 5, 33b, paragraph [0058], the first surface is where the light transmitted through the lens exits, thus the top surface of 33b as shown in figure 5 is the first optical structure), wherein the first optical structure comprises:
a plurality of first micro-lenses that are cylindrical (Ono, Fig. 5, L, 35p, paragraphs [0056]-[0058], cylindrical lens array 33b has a plurality of first lens segments L and each first lens segment L has a convex exit section 35p, the convex exit sections 35p are considered the first micro-lenses), wherein each of the first micro-lenses includes a first axial meridian (Ono, Fig. 4, 35p, L, paragraph [0053], the longitudinal axis of the convex exit section 35p the first lens segment L extends in the Y direction and is considered the first axial meridian), a first curvature radius (Ono, Fig. 5, R1, paragraph [0059], the first lens segment L has a radius of curvature R1 of the convex exit section 35p), and a first clear aperture (Ono, Fig. 5, W1, paragraph [0057], the first lens segment L has a width W1 of the exit section 35p); and
a plurality of second micro-lenses that are cylindrical (Ono, Fig. 5, S, 36p, paragraphs [0056]-[0058], cylindrical lens array 33b has a plurality of second lens segments S and each second lens segment S has a convex exit section 36p, the convex exit sections 36p are considered the second micro-lenses), wherein each of the second micro-lenses includes a second axial meridian (Ono, Fig. 4, S, 36p, paragraph [0053], the longitudinal axis of the convex exit section 36p of the second lens segment S extends in the Y direction and is considered the second axial meridian), a second curvature radius (Ono, Fig. 5, R3, paragraph [0059], the second lens segment S has a radius of curvature R3 of the convex exit section 36p), and a second clear aperture (Ono, Fig. 5, W2, paragraph [0057], the second lens segment S has a width W2 of the exit section 36p), wherein the second axial meridian is parallel to the first axial meridian (Ono, Fig. 4, L, S, paragraph [0053], the longitudinal axis of the first and second lens segments are parallel as indicated by the Y direction shown in figure 4), wherein either the first curvature radius is different from the second curvature radius (Ono, Fig. 5, R1, R3, paragraph [0060], “the radius of curvature R1 is 2 mm… radius of curvature R3 is 1 mm”) or the first clear aperture is different from the second clear aperture (Ono, Fig. 5, W1, W2, paragraph [0058], “the ratio of the width of the exit section 35p of the first lens segment L to that of the exit section 36p of the second lens segment S is made to be 9:1”), wherein the first curvature radius and the second curvature radius satisfy the following relationship: 0.1 ≤ |R1/R2| ≤ 10 (Ono, Fig. 5, R1, R3, given the values that follow |R1/R2|=2), wherein R1 is the first curvature radius (Ono, Fig. 5, R1, paragraph [0060], “the radius of curvature R1 is 2 mm”), and wherein R2 is the second curvature radius (Ono, Fig. 5, R3, paragraph [0060], “radius of curvature R3 is 1 mm”); and
a second surface (Ono, Fig. 5, 33b, paragraph [0056], the second surface is the bottom surface of the lens array 33b as shown in figure 5) comprising a second optical structure (Ono, Fig. 5, 35c, 36c, paragraph [0058], the second surface is where the light is incident on the lens, thus the bottom surface of 33b as shown in figure 5 is the second optical structure), wherein the second surface is opposite the first surface (Ono, Fig. 5, 33b, paragraph [0056], the second surface is the bottom surface of the lens array 33b as shown in figure 5, thus opposite the first/top surface).
As to claim 3, Ono teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Ono further teaches the lens of claim 1, wherein the first optical structure further comprises:
a plurality of first micro-lens groups that each comprise an m number of the first micro-lenses (Ono, Fig. 5, L, 35p, paragraphs [0056]-[0058], cylindrical lens array 33b has a plurality of first lens segments L, the convex exit sections 35p of the lens segments L are considered the first micro-lens groups, each group comprises one convex exit section 35p); and
a plurality of second micro-lens groups that each comprise an n number of the second micro-lenses (Ono, Fig. 5, S, 36p, paragraphs [0056]-[0058], cylindrical lens array 33b has a plurality of second lens segments S, the convex exit sections 36p of the lens segments S are considered the second micro-lens groups, each group comprises one convex exit section 36p), wherein the second micro-lens groups are alternately distributed from the first micro-lens groups in a first direction (Ono, Figs. 4 and 5, L, S, paragraph [0056], “the first lens segments L and the second lens segments S are alternately arranged. As a result, a first lens segment L is interposed between a pair of second lens segments S and, conversely, a second lens segment S is interposed between a pair of first lens segments,” as shown in figures 4 and 5 the alternating distribution of convex exit sections 35p and 36p occurs in the X direction), wherein the first direction is perpendicular to the first axial meridian (Ono, Figs. 4 and 5, as shown in figures 4 and 5 the alternating distribution occurs in the X direction which is perpendicular to the first axial meridian in the Y direction), and wherein m and n are positive integers (Ono, Fig. 5, L, S, 35p, 36p, each of the first micro-lens groups comprises one convex exit section 35p and each of the second micro-lens groups comprises one convex exit section 36p, one is a positive integer).
As to claim 5, Ono teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Ono further teaches the lens of claim 1, wherein the first clear aperture and the second clear aperture satisfy the following relationship: 0.1 ≤ |D1/D2| ≤ 10, wherein D1 is the first clear aperture, and wherein D2 is the second clear aperture (Ono, Fig. 5, W1, W2, paragraph [0058], “the ratio of the width of the exit section 35p of the first lens segment L to that of the exit section 36p of the second lens segment S is made to be 9:1”).
As to claim 6, Ono teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Ono further teaches the lens of claim 1, wherein the second optical structure comprises a plurality of third micro-lenses that are cylindrical (Ono, Fig. 5, L, 35c, paragraphs [0056]-[0058], cylindrical lens array 33b has a plurality of first lens segments L and each first lens segment L has a concave incident section 35c, the concave incident sections 35c are considered the third micro-lenses), wherein each of the third micro-lenses comprises a third axial meridian (Ono, Fig. 4, 35c, L, paragraph [0053], the longitudinal axis of the concave incident section 35c of the first lens segment L extends in the Y direction and is considered the third axial meridian), and wherein the third axial meridian is parallel to the first axial meridian (Ono, Fig. 4, 35p, 35c, L, paragraph [0053], the longitudinal axis of the first lens segment L extends in the Y direction, thus the first and third axial meridians are parallel).
As to claim 7, Ono teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 6, and Ono further teaches the lens of claim 6, wherein each of the third microlenses further comprises a third curvature radius (Ono, Fig. 5, R2, paragraph [0059], “the radius of curvature R2 of the concave incident section 35c”), and wherein the first curvature radius and the third curvature radius satisfies the following relationship: 0.1 ≤ |R3/R1| ≤ 10 (Ono, Fig. 5, given the values that follow |R3/R1|=0.5), wherein R1 is the first curvature radius (Ono, Fig. 5, R1, paragraph [0060], “the radius of curvature R1 is 2 mm”), and wherein R3 is the third curvature radius (Ono, Fig. 5, R2, paragraph [0060], “radius of curvature R2 is 1 mm”).
As to claim 11, Ono teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 6, and Ono further teaches the lens of claim 6, wherein the second optical structure further comprises a plurality of fourth micro-lenses that are cylindrical (Ono, Fig. 5, S, 36c, paragraphs [0056]-[0058], cylindrical lens array 33b has a plurality of second lens segments S and each second lens segment S has a concave incident section 36c, the concave incident sections 36c are considered the fourth micro-lenses), wherein each of the fourth micro-lenses comprises a fourth axial meridian (Ono, Fig. 4, S, 36c, paragraph [0053], the longitudinal axis of the concave incident section 36c of the second lens segment S extends in the Y direction and is considered the fourth axial meridian), a fourth curvature radius (Ono, Fig. 5, R4, paragraph [0059], “the radius of curvature R4 of the concave incident section 36c”), and a fourth clear aperture (Ono, Fig. 5, 36c, paragraph [0057], as shown in figure 5 the concave incidence section 36c has a similar width to the convex exit section 35p width W1), wherein each of the third micro-lenses comprises a third curvature radius (Ono, Fig. 5, R2, paragraph [0059], “the radius of curvature R2 of the concave incident section 35c”) and a third clear aperture (Ono, Fig. 5, 35c, paragraph [0057], as shown in figure 5 the concave incidence section 35c has a similar width to the convex exit section 36p width W2), wherein the fourth axial meridian is parallel to the third axial meridian (Ono, Fig. 4, L, S, paragraph [0053], the longitudinal axis of the first and second lens segments are parallel as indicated by the Y direction shown in figure 4), wherein either the third curvature radius is different from the fourth curvature radius (Ono, Fig. 5, R2, R4, paragraph [0060], “radius of curvature R2 is 1 mm… radius of curvature R4 is 2 mm”) or the third clear aperture is different from the fourth clear aperture (Ono, Fig. 5, W1, W2, as shown in figure 5 the third clear aperture of 35c is smaller than the fourth clear aperture of 36c).
As to claim 13, Ono teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 11, and Ono further teaches the lens of claim 11, wherein the second optical structure comprises:
a plurality of third micro-lens groups comprising a p number of the third micro-lenses (Ono, Fig. 5, L, 35c, paragraphs [0056]-[0058], cylindrical lens array 33b has a plurality of first lens segments L, the concave incident sections 35c of the lens segments L are considered the third micro-lens groups, each group comprises one concave incident section 35c); and
a plurality of fourth micro-lens groups comprising a q number of the fourth micro-lenses (Ono, Fig. 5, S, 36c, paragraphs [0056]-[0058], cylindrical lens array 33b has a plurality of second lens segments S, the concave incident sections 36c of the lens segments S are considered the fourth micro-lens groups, each group comprises one concave incident section 36c), wherein the fourth microlens groups are alternately distributed between the third micro-lens groups in a second direction (Ono, Figs. 4 and 5, L, S, paragraph [0056], “the first lens segments L and the second lens segments S are alternately arranged. As a result, a first lens segment L is interposed between a pair of second lens segments S and, conversely, a second lens segment S is interposed between a pair of first lens segments,” as shown in figures 4 and 5 the alternating distribution of concave incident sections 35c and 36c occurs in the X direction), wherein the second direction is perpendicular to the third axial meridian (Ono, Figs. 4 and 5, as shown in figures 4 and 5 the alternating distribution occurs in the X direction which is perpendicular to the first axial meridian in the Y direction) and wherein p and q are positive integers (Ono, Fig. 5, L, S, 35c, 36c, each of the third micro-lens groups comprises one concave incident section 35c and each of the fourth micro-lens groups comprises one concave incident section 36c, one is a positive integer).
As to claim 14, Ono teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 11, and Ono further teaches the lens of claim 11, wherein the third curvature and the fourth curvature radius satisfy the following relationship: 0.1 ≤ |R3/R4| ≤ 10 (Ono, Fig. 5, given the values that follow |R3/R4|=0.5 mm), wherein R3 is the third curvature radius (Ono, Fig. 5, R2, paragraph [0060], “radius of curvature R2 is 1 mm”), and wherein R4 is the fourth curvature radius (Ono, Fig. 5, R4, paragraph [0060], “radius of curvature R4 is 2 mm”).
As to claim 17, Ono teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1, and Ono further teaches the lens of claim 1, further comprising:
a first lens comprising the first surface (Ono, Fig. 4, 33b, paragraph [0052], the second cylindrical lens array 33b comprises the first surface as the top surface of the lens array 33b as shown in figure 4); and
a second lens comprising the second surface (Ono, Fig. 4, 33a, paragraph [0052], the first cylindrical lens array 33a comprises the second surface as the bottom surface of the lens array 33a as shown in figure 4), wherein the second surface is disposed opposite to the first surface (Ono, Fig. 4, 33b, 33a, as shown in figure 4 the second surface on the bottom of 33a is opposite the first surface on the top of 33b in the Z direction).
As to claim 20, Ono teaches a lens (Ono, Fig. 5, 33b, paragraph [0056], cylindrical lens array 33b), comprising:
a first surface (Ono, Fig. 5, 33b, paragraph [0056], the first surface is the top surface of the lens array 33b as shown in figure 5) comprising a first optical structure (Ono, Fig. 5, 33b, paragraph [0058], the first surface is where the light transmitted through the lens exits, thus the top surface of 33b as shown in figure 5 is the first optical structure), wherein the first optical structure comprises:
a plurality of first micro-lenses that are cylindrical (Ono, Fig. 5, L, 35p, paragraphs [0056]-[0058], cylindrical lens array 33b has a plurality of first lens segments L and each first lens segment L has a convex exit section 35p, the convex exit sections 35p are considered the first micro-lenses), wherein each of the first microlenses includes a first axial meridian (Ono, Fig. 4, 35p, L, paragraph [0053], the longitudinal axis of the convex exit section 35p the first lens segment L extends in the Y direction and is considered the first axial meridian) and a first clear aperture (Ono, Fig. 5, W1, paragraph [0057], the first lens segment L has a width W1 of the exit section 35p); and
a plurality of second micro-lenses that are cylindrical (Ono, Fig. 5, S, 36p, paragraphs [0056]-[0058], cylindrical lens array 33b has a plurality of second lens segments S and each second lens segment S has a convex exit section 36p, the convex exit sections 36p are considered the second micro-lenses), wherein each of the second micro-lenses includes a second axial meridian (Ono, Fig. 4, S, 36p, paragraph [0053], the longitudinal axis of the convex exit section 36p of the second lens segment S extends in the Y direction and is considered the second axial meridian) and a second clear aperture (Ono, Fig. 5, W2, paragraph [0057], the second lens segment S has a width W2 of the exit section 36p), wherein the second axial meridian is parallel to the first axial meridian (Ono, Fig. 4, L, S, paragraph [0053], the longitudinal axis of the first and second lens segments are parallel as indicated by the Y direction shown in figure 4), wherein the first clear aperture and the second clear aperture satisfy the following relationship: 0.1 ≤ |D1/D2| ≤ 10, wherein D1 is the first clear aperture, and wherein D2 is the second clear aperture (Ono, Fig. 5, W1, W2, paragraph [0058], “the ratio of the width of the exit section 35p of the first lens segment L to that of the exit section 36p of the second lens segment S is made to be 9:1”); and a second surface opposite the first surface (Ono, Fig. 5, 33b, paragraph [0056], the second surface is the bottom surface of the lens array 33b as shown in figure 5, thus opposite the first/top surface) and comprising a second optical structure (Ono, Fig. 5, 35c, 36c, paragraph [0058], the second surface is where the light is incident on the lens, thus the bottom surface of 33b as shown in figure 5 is the second optical structure).
As to claim 21, Ono teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 20, and Ono further teaches the lens of claim 20, wherein the first optical structure comprises:
a plurality of first micro-lens groups that each comprise an m number of the first microlenses (Ono, Fig. 5, L, 35p, paragraphs [0056]-[0058], cylindrical lens array 33b has a plurality of first lens segments L, the convex exit sections 35p of the lens segments L are considered the first micro-lens groups, each group comprises one convex exit section 35p); and
a plurality of second micro-lens groups that each comprise an n number of the second micro-lenses (Ono, Fig. 5, S, 36p, paragraphs [0056]-[0058], cylindrical lens array 33b has a plurality of second lens segments S, the convex exit sections 36p of the lens segments S are considered the second micro-lens groups, each group comprises one convex exit section 36p), wherein the second micro-lens groups are alternately distributed between the first micro-lens groups in a first direction (Ono, Figs. 4 and 5, L, S, paragraph [0056], “the first lens segments L and the second lens segments S are alternately arranged. As a result, a first lens segment L is interposed between a pair of second lens segments S and, conversely, a second lens segment S is interposed between a pair of first lens segments,” as shown in figures 4 and 5 the alternating distribution of convex exit sections 35p and 36p occurs in the X direction), wherein the first direction is perpendicular to the first axial meridian (Ono, Figs. 4 and 5, as shown in figures 4 and 5 the alternating distribution occurs in the X direction which is perpendicular to the first axial meridian in the Y direction), and wherein m and n are positive integers (Ono, Fig. 5, L, S, 35p, 36p, each of the first micro-lens groups comprises one convex exit section 35p and each of the second micro-lens groups comprises one convex exit section 36p, one is a positive integer).
As to claim 22, Ono teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 20, and Ono further teaches the lens of claim 20, wherein the second optical structure comprises a plurality of third micro-lenses that are cylindrical (Ono, Fig. 5, L, 35c, paragraphs [0056]-[0058], cylindrical lens array 33b has a plurality of first lens segments L and each first lens segment L has a concave incident section 35c, the concave incident sections 35c are considered the third micro-lenses), wherein each of the third micro-lenses comprises a third axial meridian (Ono, Fig. 4, 35c, L, paragraph [0053], the longitudinal axis of the concave incident section 35c of the first lens segment L extends in the Y direction and is considered the third axial meridian), and wherein the third axial meridian is parallel to the first axial meridian (Ono, Fig. 4, 35p, 35c, L, paragraph [0053], the longitudinal axis of the first lens segment L extends in the Y direction, thus the first and third axial meridians are parallel).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 8, 15, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ono et al., US 2008/0112057 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Ono).
As to claim 2, Ono teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 1. Ono’s first embodiment does not teach the lens of claim 1, wherein the first microlenses are at a middle location of the first surface, and wherein the second micro-lenses are on both sides of the first micro-lenses.
However, in the same field of endeavor Ono’s second embodiment teaches a lens wherein the first microlenses are at a middle location of the first surface, and wherein the second micro-lenses are on both sides of the first micro-lenses (Ono, Fig. 9A, L, S, paragraph [0082], “the optical device 30A shown in Fig. 9A is an example in which two large lens segments L are arranged at the center of the cylindrical lens array, and five small lens segments S are arranged on both sides of the lens segments L”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lens of Ono’s first embodiment where the first microlenses are at a middle location of the first surface, and wherein the second micro-lenses are on both sides of the first micro-lenses of Ono’s second embedment, because the effect of canceling unevenness in light intensity such as ringing occurring at both ends can be obtained by finely converging the light at both ends (Ono, paragraph [0085]).
As to claim 8, Ono teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 6, and Ono further teaches the lens of claim 6, wherein each of the third microlenses comprises a third clear aperture (Ono, Fig. 5, 35c, paragraph [0057], as shown in figure 5 the concave incidence section 35c has a similar width to the convex exit section 36p width W2), and wherein the first clear aperture and the third clear aperture satisfies the following relationship: 0.1 ≤ |D3/D1| ≤ 10, wherein D1 is the first clear aperture, and wherein D3 is the third clear aperture (Ono, Fig. 5, 35c, paragraph [0057], “the width of the exit section 35p from which the transmission light exits is larger than that of the incidence section 35c”).
Ono does not explicitly teach the lens wherein the first clear aperture and the third clear aperture satisfies the following relationship: 0.1 ≤ |D3/D1| ≤ 10, however Ono teaches “the width of the exit section 35p from which the transmission light exits is larger than that of the incidence section 35c.” The third clear aperture is smaller than the first clear aperture and is greater than zero, thus the relationship |D3/D1| must fall within the range 0 < |D3/D1| < 1 which overlaps the claimed range of 0.1 ≤ |D3/D1| ≤ 10.
It has been held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP §2144.05(I) first paragraph.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose ratio of the first clear aperture and the third clear aperture such that 0.1 ≤ |D3/D1| ≤ 10, which overlaps the disclosed range of 0 < |D3/D1| < 1, since it has been held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP §2144.05(I) first paragraph. In the current instance, the ratio of the first clear aperture and the third clear aperture is an art recognized results effective variable in that desirable width ratios prevent disturbances to uniformity as taught by Ono (paragraph [0058]). Thus one would have been motivated to optimize |D3/D1| because it is an art-recognized result-effective variable and it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP §2144.05(II)(B) “after KSR, the presence of a known result-effective variable would be one, but not the only, motivation for a personal of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process.” Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when making this modification because desirable width ratios prevent disturbances to uniformity (Ono, paragraph [0058]).
As to claim 15, Ono teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 11, and Ono further teaches the lens of claim 11, wherein the third clear aperture and the fourth clear aperture satisfy the following relationship: 0.1 ≤ |D3/D4| ≤10, wherein D3 is the third clear aperture, and wherein D4 is the fourth clear aperture (Ono, Fig. 5, 35c, 36c, paragraph [0057], “the width of the exit section 35p from which the transmission light exits is larger than that of the incidence section 35c,” as shown in figure 5 the fourth clear aperture is similar in width to the first clear aperture).
Ono does not explicitly teach the lens wherein the first clear aperture and the third clear aperture satisfies the following relationship: 0.1 ≤ |D3/D4| ≤ 10, however Ono teaches “the width of the exit section 35p from which the transmission light exits is larger than that of the incidence section 35c,” and the fourth clear aperture is similar to the first clear aperture. The third clear aperture is smaller than the fourth clear aperture and is greater than zero, thus the relationship |D3/D4| must fall within the range 0 < |D3/D4| < 1 which overlaps the claimed range of 0.1 ≤ |D3/D4| ≤ 10.
It has been held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP §2144.05(I) first paragraph.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose ratio of the fourth clear aperture and the third clear aperture such that 0.1 ≤ |D3/D4| ≤ 10, which overlaps the disclosed range of 0 < |D3/D4| < 1, since it has been held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP §2144.05(I) first paragraph. In the current instance, the ratio of the fourth clear aperture and the third clear aperture is an art recognized results effective variable in that desirable width ratios prevent disturbances to uniformity as taught by Ono (paragraph [0058]). Thus one would have been motivated to optimize |D3/D4| because it is an art-recognized result-effective variable and it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP §2144.05(II)(B) “after KSR, the presence of a known result-effective variable would be one, but not the only, motivation for a personal of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process.” Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when making this modification because desirable width ratios prevent disturbances to uniformity (Ono, paragraph [0058]).
As to claim 23, Ono teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 22, and Ono further teaches the lens of claim 22, wherein each of the third micro-lenses comprises a third clear aperture (Ono, Fig. 5, 35c, paragraph [0057], as shown in figure 5 the concave incidence section 35c has a similar width to the convex exit section 36p width W2), and wherein the first clear aperture satisfies the following relationship: 0.1 ≤ |D3/D1| ≤ 10, wherein D1 is the first clear aperture, and wherein D3 is the third clear aperture (Ono, Fig. 5, 35c, paragraph [0057], “the width of the exit section 35p from which the transmission light exits is larger than that of the incidence section 35c”).
Ono does not explicitly teach the lens wherein the first clear aperture and the third clear aperture satisfies the following relationship: 0.1 ≤ |D3/D1| ≤ 10, however Ono teaches “the width of the exit section 35p from which the transmission light exits is larger than that of the incidence section 35c.” The third clear aperture is smaller than the first clear aperture and is greater than zero, thus the relationship |D3/D1| must fall within the range 0 < |D3/D1| < 1 which overlaps the claimed range of 0.1 ≤ |D3/D1| ≤ 10.
It has been held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP §2144.05(I) first paragraph.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose ratio of the first clear aperture and the third clear aperture such that 0.1 ≤ |D3/D1| ≤ 10, which overlaps the disclosed range of 0 < |D3/D1| < 1, since it has been held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP §2144.05(I) first paragraph. In the current instance, the ratio of the first clear aperture and the third clear aperture is an art recognized results effective variable in that desirable width ratios prevent disturbances to uniformity as taught by Ono (paragraph [0058]). Thus one would have been motivated to optimize |D3/D1| because it is an art-recognized result-effective variable and it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP §2144.05(II)(B) “after KSR, the presence of a known result-effective variable would be one, but not the only, motivation for a personal of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process.” Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when making this modification because desirable width ratios prevent disturbances to uniformity (Ono, paragraph [0058]).
Claims 9-10 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ono et al., US 2008/0112057 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Ono) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Kalis et al., US 2024/0069252 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Kalis).
As to claim 9, Ono teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 6. Ono does not teach the lens of claim 6, wherein the second surface is a convex surface and comprises;
a middle area, wherein the third micro-lenses are located in the middle area;
a first slope area located on a first side of the middle area; and
a second slope area located on a second side of the middle area.
However, in the same field of endeavor Kalis teaches a lens (Kalis, Fig. 2, 4, paragraph [0037], “a second microlens array 4… comprises a number n of microlenses 40.1-40.n, which are also arranged next to one another int eh first direction (x-direction) and are formed as cylindrical lenses whose cylinder axes are oriented substantially parallel to one another”) wherein the second surface is a convex surface (Kalis, Fig. 2, 41, paragraph [0041], “the plane 41 of the lens vertices of the microlens array 4 is inclined to the plane 31”) and comprises;
a middle area, wherein the third micro-lenses are located in the middle area (Kalis, Fig. 2, 40.1, paragraph [0037], the microlenses 40.1 are located in the middle area of the second microlens array 4);
a first slope area located on a first side of the middle area (Kalis, Fig. 2, +α, paragraph [0041], “the plane 41 of the lens vertices of the second microlens array 4 is inclined to the plane 31 of the lens vertices of the first microlens array 3 by an angle |α|… in the first device 1.1, the plane 41 of the lens vertices of the second microlens array 4 is inclined to the plane 31 of the lens vertices of the first microlens array 3 by an angle +α”); and
a second slope area located on a second side of the middle area (Kalis, Fig. 2, -α, paragraph [0041], “the plane 41 of the lens vertices of the second microlens array 4 is inclined to the plane 31 of the lens vertices of the first microlens array 3 by an angle |α|… in the second device 1.2, the plane 41 of the lens vertices of the second microlens array 4 is oppositely inclined to the plane 31 of the lens vertices of the first microlens array 3 by an angle -α”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lens of Ono where the second surface is a convex surface and comprises; a middle area, wherein the third micro-lenses are located in the middle area; a first slope area located on a first side of the middle area; and a second slope area located on a second side of the middle area of Kalis, because it is advantageously achieved that the energy density in the glass substrates of the optically functional components can be considerably reduced and can it can homogenize laser light at high power without causing damage to the glass substrates and the surfaces of the optically functional components (Kalis, paragraph [0044]).
As to claim 10, Ono in view of Kalis teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 9. Ono does not teach the lens of claim 9, wherein a first included angle is between the second slope area and the middle area, and wherein the first included angle is between the first slope area and the middle area.
However, in the same field of endeavor Kalis teaches a lens wherein a first included angle is between the second slope area and the middle area, and wherein the first included angle is between the first slope area and the middle area (Kalis, Fig. 2, ±α, paragraph [0041], “the plane 41 of the lens vertices of the second microlens array 4 is inclined to the plane 31 of the lens vertices of the first microlens array 3 by an angle |α|,” the angles ±α are between the middle area where microlenses 40.1 are located and the first and second slope areas which are in the positive and negative x directions, respectively).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lens of Ono where the first included angle is between the second slope area and the middle area, and wherein the first included angle is between the first slope area and the middle area of Kalis, because it is advantageously achieved that the energy density in the glass substrates of the optically functional components can be considerably reduced and can it can homogenize laser light at high power without causing damage to the glass substrates and the surfaces of the optically functional components (Kalis, paragraph [0044]).
As to claim 24, Ono teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 22. Ono does not teach the lens of claim 22, wherein the second surface is a convex surface and comprises:
a middle area, wherein the third micro-lenses are located in the middle area;
a first slope area located on a first side of the middle area; and
a second slope area located on a second side of the middle area.
However, in the same field of endeavor Kalis teaches a lens (Kalis, Fig. 2, 4, paragraph [0037], “a second microlens array 4… comprises a number n of microlenses 40.1-40.n, which are also arranged next to one another int eh first direction (x-direction) and are formed as cylindrical lenses whose cylinder axes are oriented substantially parallel to one another”) wherein the second surface is a convex surface (Kalis, Fig. 2, 41, paragraph [0041], “the plane 41 of the lens vertices of the microlens array 4 is inclined to the plane 31”) and comprises;
a middle area, wherein the third micro-lenses are located in the middle area (Kalis, Fig. 2, 40.1, paragraph [0037], the microlenses 40.1 are located in the middle area of the second microlens array 4);
a first slope area located on a first side of the middle area (Kalis, Fig. 2, +α, paragraph [0041], “the plane 41 of the lens vertices of the second microlens array 4 is inclined to the plane 31 of the lens vertices of the first microlens array 3 by an angle |α|… in the first device 1.1, the plane 41 of the lens vertices of the second microlens array 4 is inclined to the plane 31 of the lens vertices of the first microlens array 3 by an angle +α”); and
a second slope area located on a second side of the middle area (Kalis, Fig. 2, -α, paragraph [0041], “the plane 41 of the lens vertices of the second microlens array 4 is inclined to the plane 31 of the lens vertices of the first microlens array 3 by an angle |α|… in the second device 1.2, the plane 41 of the lens vertices of the second microlens array 4 is oppositely inclined to the plane 31 of the lens vertices of the first microlens array 3 by an angle -α”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lens of Ono where the second surface is a convex surface and comprises; a middle area, wherein the third micro-lenses are located in the middle area; a first slope area located on a first side of the middle area; and a second slope area located on a second side of the middle area of Kalis, because it is advantageously achieved that the energy density in the glass substrates of the optically functional components can be considerably reduced and can it can homogenize laser light at high power without causing damage to the glass substrates and the surfaces of the optically functional components (Kalis, paragraph [0044]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ono et al., US 2008/0112057 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Ono) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Aruga, US 2020/0249552 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Aruga).
As to claim 12, Ono teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 11. Ono does not teach the lens of claim 11, wherein the plurality of third micro-lenses are at a middle location of the second surface, and wherein the plurality of fourth micro-lenses are on both sides of the third micro-lenses.
However, in the same field of endeavor Aruga teaches a lens (Aruga, Fig. 13B, 10H, paragraph [0097], “lens array 10H”) wherein the plurality of third micro-lenses are at a middle location of the second surface (Aruga, Fig. 13B, 11b2, paragraph [0097], output lenses 11b2 are located in the middle of the output-lens collective body 11B), and wherein the plurality of fourth micro-lenses are on both sides of the third micro-lenses (Aruga, Fig. 13B, 11b1, paragraph [0097], output lenses 11b1 are located on both sides of the output lenses 11b2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lens of Ono with the plurality of third micro-lenses are at a middle location of the second surface, and wherein the plurality of fourth micro-lenses are on both sides of the third micro-lenses of Aruga, because a large level difference is not formed, even when a lens configuration having an uneven irradiation distribution is employed (Aruga, paragraph [0008]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ono et al., US 2008/0112057 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Ono) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Kishikawa et al., US 2017/0314764 A1 (referenced in the IDS dated 10/10/2024 and hereinafter referred to as Kishikawa).
As to claim 16, Ono teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 11. Ono does not teach the lens of claim 11, wherein the lens satisfies at least one of the following relationships: 0.3 ≤ N X R1 / [L1 X (N -1)] and 0.3 ≤ N X R2 / [L2 X (N -1)], wherein N is a refractive index of the lens, wherein L1 is a first thickness of the lens at each of the first micro-lenses, and wherein L2 is a second thickness of the lens at each of the second micro-lenses.
However, in the same field of endeavor Kishikawa teaches a lens (Kishikawa, Fig. 3A, 10, paragraph [0051], cylindrical lens portion 10), wherein the lens satisfies at least one of the following relationships: 0.3 ≤ N X R1 / [L1 X (N -1)] (Kishikawa, Fig. 3A, given the values that follow N X R1 / [L1 X (N -1)] = 1.8) and 0.3 ≤ N X R2 / [L2 X (N -1)] (Kishikawa, Fig. 3A, given the values that follow N X R2 / [L2 X (N -1)] = 1.3), wherein N is a refractive index of the lens (Kishikawa, Fig. 3A, 10, paragraph [0053], examples of a material for the light-transmissive member 3 include glass and silicone resin, the average refractive index of these materials is N=1.5), wherein L1 is a first thickness of the lens at each of the first micro-lenses (Kishikawa, Fig. 3A, h3, paragraph [0051], the height of the first cylindrical lenses 11B is h3=2.5mm), and wherein L2 is a second thickness of the lens at each of the second micro-lenses (Kishikawa, Fig. 3A, h1, paragraph [0051], the height of the second cylindrical lenses 12A is h1=3.5mm), R1 is the curvature radius of the first micro lens (Kishikawa, Fig. 3A, b3, paragraph [0051], the diameter of each of the first cylindrical lens 11B is b3=3.0mm, thus the radius is R1 is 1.5mm), and R2 is the curvature radius of the second micro lens (Kishikawa, Fig. 3A, b1, paragraph [0051], the diameter of each of the second cylindrical lens 12A is b1=3.0mm, thus the radius is R2 is 1.5mm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lens of Ono with the lens satisfies at least one of the following relationships: 0.3 ≤ N X R1 / [L1 X (N -1)] and 0.3 ≤ N X R2 / [L2 X (N -1)], wherein N is a refractive index of the lens, wherein L1 is a first thickness of the lens at each of the first micro-lenses, and wherein L2 is a second thickness of the lens at each of the second micro-lenses of Kishikawa, because doing so realizes a desired light distribution (Kishikawa, paragraph [0052]).
Conclusion
JENNIFER A JONES
Examiner
Art Unit 2872
/JENNIFER A JONES/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/THOMAS K PHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872