DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kobayashi et al. (JP S51129438).
In table 1, Kobayashi et al. teaches an anaerobic adhesive composition comprising a meth)acrylic monomer (MMA, HEMA), an organic peroxide (cumene hydroperoxide), a curing accelerator (thioamide compound), and an isoparaffin wax. The composition encompasses 100 parts by mass of the (meth)acrylic monomer, 7 parts by mass of the organic peroxide, 0.08 parts by mass of the curing accelerator, and 0.35 parts by mass of isoparaffin wax.
Thus, the requirements for rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) are met.
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tang et al. (CN 106590513).
In example 4, Tang et al. teaches an anaerobic adhesive composition comprising a (meth)acrylic monomer (100 parts), an organic peroxide (cumene peroxide 1.35 parts), a curing accelerator (dimethyl-p toluidine 1.35 parts), an isoparaffin liquid wax (1.35 parts), and silica (38.1 parts).
Thus, the requirements for rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) are met.
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kimura et al. (JP 59051902).
In claim 1, Kimura et al. teaches an anaerobically curable composition comprising a radical-polymerizable acrylate monomer and/or methacrylate monomer, an organic peroxide polymerization initiator and a halogenated paraffin.
In the upper right column, line 13 top. 5, upper left column, line 8, Kimura et al. teaches an anaerobically curable composition which exhibits good adhesion to an oily surface of a bolt or nut and which is obtained by subjecting 152 g of tetrahydrophthalic anhydride, 212 g of diethylene glycol and 172 g of methacrylic acid to an esterification reaction while heating to reflux to obtain a polyester polymethacrylate-containing anaerobic monomer mixture, and then mixing 80 parts of the obtained polyester polymethacrylate-containing anaerobic monomer mixture, 20 parts of a chlorinated paraffin (Empara 40), 1 part of cumene hydroperoxide, 0.5 parts of N,N-dimethylaniline and 0.5 parts of o-sulfobenzimide (example 1 etc.).
Here, the Empara 40 disclosed in Kimura et al. is obtained from a paraffin wax, and because paraffin wax contains a small amount of isoparaffin (generally approximately 10% or more), it is considered that the adhesive composition disclosed in Kimura et al. contains an isoparaffin wax.
Thus, the requirements for rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) are met.
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nakano et al. (USPN 4,174,311).
In claim 1, Nakano et al. teach a hardenable composition that contains
(1) an acrylate and/or methacrylate monomer,
(2) diisopropylbenzene dihydroperoxide as a hardener, and
(3) a hardening (curing) accelerator;
wherein the composition is suitable for use as an adhesive.(See col. 1, lines 13-16)
In col. 3, lines 36-62, col. 4, lines 10-30, col. 4, lines 37-42, examples and claims, Nakano et al. teaches mixing 840 g of methyl methacrylate, 840 g of 2-hydroxymethyl methacrylate, 6 g of paraffin wax having a melting point of 56°C and 320 g of an NBR (Nippol 1072), and then mixing 100 parts of this mixture with 0.5 parts of hydroquinone and 6 parts of diisopropylbenzene dihydroperoxide to obtain an agent A, separately adding 6 parts of ethylene thiourea (a hardening accelerator) to 100 parts of this mixture to obtain an agent B, and then combining the obtained agents A and B (example 2 etc.).
Here, because paraffin wax contains a small amount of isoparaffin, it is considered that the adhesive composition disclosed in Nakano et al. contains an isoparaffin wax.
Thus, the requirements for rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) are met.
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (GB 1,083,486).
In example 2, GB 1,083,486 teaches an anaerobic adhesive composition comprising a (meth)acrylic monomer (MMA, butylacrylate 100 parts), an organic peroxide (benzoylperoxide 5.5 parts), a curing accelerator (dimethyl-p toluidine 1.5 parts), and an isoparaffin wax (2.5 parts) and silica (AEROSIL 12.5 parts). The basic, untreated form of AEROSIL® which is furned silica is hydrophilic due to the presence of silanol (Si-OH) groups on its surface.
Thus, the requirements for rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) are met.
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yagi (JP 10017780).
In claim 4, Yagi teaches a curable adhesive comprising mainly a resin composition comprising a compound (A1) containing an acid anhydride group and a compound (B) that forms at least one of a primary amino group, a secondary amino group or ammonia by reacting with water.
In addition, Yagi teaches a silica powder and a colloidal silica powder as examples of a filler (¶ 155).
In ¶’s 11, 134, 136, 151, 154, 155, 159, 165, 176, 181, 182, and 254-257, Yagi teaches a curable adhesive obtained by melting 20 parts by weight of a paraffin wax (SP-0145) and 40 parts by weight of a rosin ester (Ester Gum HS), mixing these with 40 parts by weight of an ethylene-vinyl acetate copolymer resin (Evaflex #220) to obtain a thermoplastic resin 1, and then mixing 25 parts of an acrylic resin 1 (an epoxy-modified bisphenol F type diacrylate, Kayarad R-712), 50 parts of calcium carbonate as a filler, 75 parts of the obtained thermoplastic resin 1, 2 parts of a polymerization modifier 1 (cumene hydroperoxide), 1 part of a silane compound 1 (vinyltrimethoxysilane; KBM 1003), 1 part of a silane compound 2 (y-glycidoxypropyltrimethoxysilane; KBM 403) and 6 parts of a ketimine 1 (H-2) ( example 50 etc.).
Here, because paraffin wax contains a small amount of isoparaffin, it is considered that the adhesive composition disclosed in Yagi contains an isoparaffin wax.
Thus, the requirements for rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) are met.
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kobayashi et al. (JP 2008174707).
In claim 1, Kobayashi et al. teaches a curable composition which comprises: one or more organic peroxides (a); a curing accelerator (b) that reacts with the organic peroxide(s) and accelerates polymerization of a monomer; a monofunctional (meth)acrylate (c); and a polyfunctional (meth)acrylate (d), wherein the organic peroxide (a) is included in a microcapsule.
In ¶’s 15, 16, 23, 24 and 37-48, Kobayashi et al. teaches a curable composition obtained by mixing 10 parts by mass of microcapsules (containing 30 mass% of Percumyl H80, which contains 80% of cumene hydroperoxide), 0.5 parts by mass of vanadyl acetylacetonate, 15 parts by mass of methacrylic acid, 45 parts by mass of dicyclopentenyloxyethyl methacrylate, 25 parts by mass of polyethylene oxide (10 mol)-modified bisphenol A dimethacrylate, 5 parts by mass of an NBR, 15 parts by mass of an MBS, 0.5 parts by mass of Aerosil (R-974), 3 parts by mass of polyethylene oxide (2 mol)-modified bisphenol A dimethacrylate, 3 parts by mass of trimethylolpropane trimethacrylate, 1.5 parts by mass of (2-hydroxyethyl)methacrylic acid phosphate, 0.5 parts by mass of paraffin wax, 0.2 parts by mass of phenothiazine and 2 parts by mass of benzotriazole (example 1 etc.).
In ¶ 65, Kobayashi et al. teaches an anaerobic (meth)acrylic monomer and is obtained using an organic peroxide that is the same as one used in examples in the present application, and is therefore considered to correspond to an anaerobic adhesive.
In addition, because paraffin wax contains a small amount of isoparaffin, it is considered that the curable composition disclosed in Kobayashi et al. contains an isoparaffin wax.
Furthermore, Kobayashi et al. teaches a microcrystalline wax as an example of a paraffin (¶ 65), and because microcrystalline waxes contain approximately 50% of isoparaffin, it can be said that Kobayashi et al. containing an isoparaffin wax.
Thus, the requirements for rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) are met.
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Asaho et al. (JP 2003105044).
In claim 1, ¶’s 6, 11, 15, 18, 19, 23-26, and 28, Asaho et al. discloses a curable resin composition which contains:
(1) 100 parts by mass of a polymerizable vinyl monomer comprising 30-60 mass% of methyl methacrylate (a), 20-40 mass% of 2-hydroxyethyl methacrylate (b) and 20-40 mass% of 2,2-bis( 4-(methacryloxyethoxy)phenyl) propane (c);
(2) 1-10 parts by mass of a polymerization initiator comprising cumene hydroperoxide;
(3) 0.1-1.0 parts by mass of a polymerization accelerator comprising vanadyl acetylacetonate;
( 4) a total of 10-30 parts by mass of an acrylonitrile-butadiene rubber and a methyl methacrylate-butadiene-styrene copolymer; and
(5) 100-300 parts by mass of a silica powder having an average particle diameter of 10-50 μm.
In ¶’s 6, 11, 15, 18, 19, 23-26, and 28, Asaho et al. teaches mixing 40 parts of methyl methacrylate, 30 parts of 2-hydroxyethyl methacrylate, 30 parts of dicyclopentenyloxyethyl methacrylate, 0.4 parts of vanadyl acetylacetonate, 6 parts of an acrylonitrile-butadiene rubber, 9 parts of a methyl methacrylate-butadiene-styrene copolymer, 150 parts of a silica powder, 5 parts of a phosphate, 0.5 parts of paraffin wax and 0.3 parts of hydroquinone monomethyl ether to obtain a second agent, and then mixing the obtained first and second agents (example 1 etc.).
In ¶ 23, Asaho et al. teaches the curable composition containing an anaerobic (meth)acrylic monomer and is obtained using an organic peroxide that is the same as one used in examples in the present application, and is therefore considered to correspond to an anaerobic adhesive.
Because paraffin wax contains a small amount of isoparaffin, it is considered that the curable composition disclosed in Asaho et al. contains an isoparaffin wax. Furthermore, Asaho et al. discloses a microcrystalline wax as an example of a paraffin (¶ 23), and because microcrystalline waxes contain approximately 50% of isoparaffin, it can be said that Asaho et al. contains an isoparaffin wax.
Thus, the requirements for rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) are met.
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sudo et al. (JP 2002308944).
In claim 1, Sudo et al. teaches a curable resin composition which contains a polymerizable vinyl monomer, has a static viscosity of 110,000 mPa or less at 20 rpm, and has a thixotropic factor, which is obtained by dividing the static viscosity at 2 rpm by the static viscosity at 20 rpm, of 1.7 or more.
In ¶’s 5-9, 31-38, 43 and 44, Sudo et al. teaches an adhesive composition obtained by mixing 40.0 parts of phenoxyethyl methacrylate, 20.0 parts of 2-hydroxypropyl methacrylate, 30.0 parts of 2-hydroxyethyl methacrylate, 10.0 parts of 2,2-bis( 4-methacryloxypolyethoxyphenyl)propane, 13.0 parts of an acrylonitrile-butadiene rubber, 30.0 parts of a crystalline silica powder, 5.0 parts of a colloidal fine silica powder, 1.0 parts of paraffin and 0.2 parts of hydroquinone monomethyl ether to obtain a first agent, separately mixing 40.0 parts of phenoxyethyl methacrylate, 20.0 parts of 2-hydroxypropyl methacrylate, 30.0 parts of 2-hydroxyethyl methacrylate, 10.0 parts of 2,2-bis( 4-methacryloxypolyethoxyphenyl)propane, 13.0 parts of an acrylonitrile-butadiene rubber, 0.5 parts of vanadyl acetylacetonate, 30.0 parts of a crystalline silica powder, 5.0 parts of a colloidal fine silica powder, 2.0 parts of acid phosphoxyethyl methacrylate, 1.0 parts of paraffin and 0.2 parts of hydroquinone monomethyl ether to obtain a second agent, and then mixing equal quantities of the obtained first and second agents (example 2-4, etc.).
In ¶ 43, Sudo et al. reach the curable resin composition containing an anaerobic (meth)acrylic monomer and is obtained using an organic peroxide that is the same as one used in examples in the present application, and is therefore considered to correspond to an anaerobic adhesive.
In addition, because paraffin wax contains a small amount of isoparaffin, it is considered that the curable composition disclosed in Sudo et al. contains an isoparaffin wax. Furthermore, Sudo et al. discloses a microcrystalline wax as an example of a paraffin (and because microcrystalline waxes contain approximately 50% of isoparaffin, it can be said that Sudo et al. contains an isoparaffin wax. See ¶ 43).
Thus, the requirements for rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) are met.
/KELECHI C EGWIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762
KCE