1. This office action, in response to the amendment filed 4/20/2026, is a final office action.
Response to Amendment and Arguments
2. Independent claims have been amended to include new features including determining, by a terminal device having a number of receiving antennas and based on a correspondence between a number of antennas and an RRM measurement parameters, a first RRM measurement parameter corresponding to the number of receiving antennas that the terminal device has as recited in claim 1. Amended claims 10 and 35 recite similar limitations. The rejections stated below address these features.
Applicant states Pedersen (WO 2020/108746A) does not constitute a teaching of the above elements of amended claim 1 as stated on page 14 of the remarks. The examiner disagrees, Pedersen disclose, in page 20, lines 14-17, for a RRC connect mode UE in good coverage conditions (the network is aware from the UEs RRM and CSI measurements), the network will inform the UE upon switching to Idle/Inactive to use a reduced number of RX chains for RRM measurements when it switches to Idle/Inactive RRC mode. Page 17: lines 13-14 discloses the transceivers may comprise receive/transmit chains. The terms receive chain and transit chain may be substituted by antennas, antenna panels, branches or antenna groups. Page 22, lines 4-16 further discloses a user equipment receives information comprising an indication of the number of transceivers to use when operating in the second mode and causing the user equipment to operate in the second mode using the determined number of transceivers. Pedersen discloses the number of antennas that are used during the modes. Therefore, Pedersen discloses the number of receiving antennas that the terminal device has since this number of receiving antennas are the transceivers the terminal has to use in these modes. Though other receiving antennas may be found in the user equipment, these other receiving antennas are not operating as receiving antennas and are not being used as receiving antennas during the first and second modes.
Applicant states Pedersen’s “number of antennas” that is indicated by the information sent by the network may vary depending on whether the UEs in good coverage conditions, cannot constitute a teaching of the claimed number of antennas that the terminal has on page 15 of the remarks. The examiner disagrees. Pederson discloses, on page 22, lines 4-16, a user equipment receives information comprising an indication of the number of transceivers to use when operating in the second mode and causing the user equipment to operate in the second mode using the determined number of transceivers. Pedersen discloses the number of antennas that are used during the modes. Therefore, Pedersen discloses the number of receiving antennas that the terminal device has since this number of receiving antennas are the transceivers the terminal has to use in these modes. Though other receiving antennas may be found in the user equipment, these other receiving antennas are not operating as receiving antennas and are not being utilized as receiving antennas during the first and second modes. During these modes, RRM measurements take place. Page 20, lines 14-17 discloses for a RRC connect mode UE in good coverage conditions (the network is aware from the UEs RRM and CSI measurements), the network will inform the UE upon switching to Idle/Inactive to use a reduced number of RX chains for RRM measurements when it switches to Idle/Inactive RRC mode. So, for a terminal having a number of operating receiving antennas and based on a correspondence between a number of antennas and an RRM measurement parameter, a first RRM measurement parameter corresponding to the number of operating receiving antennas that the terminal device has is determined. The rejections of the claims are stated below.
A rejection of new claim 41 is stated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1-6, 8-15, 17, 35, 36 and 40-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Pedersen et al (WO 2020/108746 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Pedersen discloses a radio resource management (RRM) measurement method (Page 15: lines 3-4: For RRC idle and inactive mode (where the UE does not have ongoing data transmissions), the primary task of the UE modem will be to conduct radio resource management (RRM) measurements (i.e., RX operations) and monitor for network related signaling. The measurements are used for managing cell reselections and mobility.), comprising:
Determining, by a terminal device having a number of receiving antennas and based on a correspondence between a number of antennas and an RRM measurement parameter, a first RRM measurement parameter corresponding to the number of receiving antennas that the terminal device has (Page 20, lines 14-17: For a RRC connect mode UE in good coverage conditions (the network is aware from the UEs RRM and CSI measurements), the network will inform the UE upon switching to Idle/Inactive to use a reduced number of RX chains for RRM measurements when it switches to Idle/Inactive RRC mode. Page 17: lines 13-14: The transceivers may comprise receive/transmit chains. The terms receive chain and transit chain may be substituted by antennas, antenna panels, branches or antenna groups. Pedersen discloses the number of antennas that are used during the modes. Therefore, Pedersen discloses the number of receiving antennas that the terminal device has since this number of receiving antennas are the transceivers the terminal has to use in these modes. Though other receiving antennas may be found in the user equipment, these other receiving antennas are not operating as receiving antennas and are not being used as receiving antennas during the first and second modes.); and
Performing, by the terminal device, an RRM measurement based on the first RRM measurement parameter (Page 20, lines 14-17: For a RRC connect mode UE in good coverage conditions (the network is aware from the UEs RRM and CSI measurements), the network will inform the UE upon switching to Idle/Inactive to use a reduced number of RX chains for RRM measurements when it switches to Idle/Inactive RRC mode. Page 22, lines 4-16: a user equipment receives information comprising an indication of the number of transceivers to use when operating in the second mode and causing the user equipment to operate in the second mode using the determined number of transceivers.);
wherein the RRM measurement parameter includes an RRM non-cell edge criterion measurement parameter (Page 20, lines 10-12: For a RRC connect mode UE at cell edge in a rural network (the network is aware from the UEs RRM and CSI measurements), the network will inform the UE to continue using all RX chains for RRM measurements when it switches to Idle/Inactive RRC mode. Page 20, lines 14-17: For a RRC connect mode UE in good coverage conditions (the network is aware from the UEs RRM and CSI measurements), the network will inform the UE upon switching to Idle/Inactive to use a reduced number of RX chains for RRM measurements when it switches to Idle/Inactive RRC mode.);
wherein determining the first RRM measurement parameter corresponding to the number of receiving antennas in the terminal device comprises:
determining that the RRM non-cell edge criterion measurement parameter is a fifth threshold in response to the number of receiving antennas that the terminal device has being a first number; such that the terminal device having the first number of receiving antennas is determined to be in a non-cell-edge position in case a received signal strength or quality of the terminal device exceeds the fifth threshold (Page 20, lines 14-17: For a RRC connect mode UE in good coverage conditions (the network is aware from the UEs RRM and CSI measurements), the network will inform the UE upon switching to Idle/Inactive to use a reduced number of RX chains for RRM measurements when it switches to Idle/Inactive RRC mode. Page 20, lines 31-35: For a RRC connect mode UE the network may configure the UE with RRC idle mode configuration that contains triggers for allowing the UE to activate and deactivate the number of receive chains. That is, if radio communications are above a certain threshold, the UE is allowed to reduce the number of active receiver chains, while if conditions are below the threshold, the UE is supposed to use all antennas. The conditions such as determined from the CSI (quality) measurements which correspond to the present number of antennas is used to determine if the UE is in a good coverage area or at a cell edge in a rural area as well as to determine of the number of antennas is reduced. For example, if the CSI is at or above the threshold that indicates the UE is in a good coverage area, then the antennas are reduced for the next RRM measurements.); or
determining that the RRM non-cell edge criterion measurement parameter is a sixth threshold in response to the number of receiving antennas that the terminal device has being a second number; such that the terminal device having the second number of receiving antennas is determined to be in a non-cell-edge position in case a received signal strength or quality of the terminal device exceeds the sixth threshold (Page 20, lines 10-12: For a RRC connect mode UE at cell edge in a rural network (the network is aware from the UEs RRM and CSI measurements), the network will inform the UE to continue using all RX chains for RRM measurements when it switches to Idle/Inactive RRC mode. Page 20, lines 31-35: For a RRC connect mode UE the network may configure the UE with RRC idle mode configuration that contains triggers for allowing the UE to activate and deactivate the number of receive chains. That is, if radio communications are above a certain threshold, the UE is allowed to reduce the number of active receiver chains, while if conditions are below the threshold, the UE is supposed to use all antennas. The conditions such as determined from the CSI (quality) measurements which correspond to the present number of antennas is used to determine if the UE is in a good coverage area or at a cell edge in a rural area as well as to determine of the number of antennas is reduced. For example, if the CSI is at or above the threshold that indicates the UE is not in a cell edge in a rural network, then the antennas are maintained for the next RRM measurements. Page 20, lines 4-8: UEs in cell-edge conditions should operate with all 4-RX chains.);
wherein the first number is different from the second number (Page 20, lines 14-17: For a RRC connect mode UE in good coverage conditions (the network is aware from the UEs RRM and CSI measurements), the network will inform the UE upon switching to Idle/Inactive to use a reduced number of RX chains for RRM measurements when it switches to Idle/Inactive RRC mode.), and the fifth threshold is different from or same as the sixth threshold (Any number will be either the same as or different from than any other number.).
Regarding claim 2, Pedersen discloses determining the correspondence between the number of antennas and the RRM measurement parameter based on a protocol (Page 20, lines 14-17: For a RRC connect mode UE in good coverage conditions (the network is aware from the UEs RRM and CSI measurements), the network will inform the UE upon switching to Idle/Inactive to use a reduced number of RX chains for RRM measurements when it switches to Idle/Inactive RRC mode. Page 22, lines 4-16: a user equipment receives information comprising an indication of the number of transceivers to use when operating in the second mode and causing the user equipment to operate in the second mode using the determined number of transceivers. The protocol is at least a process of receiving an indication message and/or then conducting RRM measurements.).
Regarding claim 3, Pedersen discloses wherein determining the first RRM measurement parameter corresponding to the number of receiving antennas that the terminal device has comprises (Page 20, lines 14-17: For a RRC connect mode UE in good coverage conditions (the network is aware from the UEs RRM and CSI measurements), the network will inform the UE upon switching to Idle/Inactive to use a reduced number of RX chains for RRM measurements when it switches to Idle/Inactive RRC mode.);
determining that an RRM low mobility criterion measurement parameter is a first threshold in response to the number of receiving antennas that the terminal device has being a first number (Page 20, lines 19-29: if the UE is subject to no/marginal mobility, the network may configure the UE to continue using reduced number of RX chains for a relatively long time period (time duration parameter X in the previous section).); or
determining that the RRM low mobility criterion measurement parameter is a second threshold in response to the number of receiving antennas that the terminal device has being a second number (This feature is optional but not required due to the “or” language.);
wherein the first number is different from the second number (Page 20, lines 14-17: For a RRC connect mode UE in good coverage conditions (the network is aware from the UEs RRM and CSI measurements), the network will inform the UE upon switching to Idle/Inactive to use a reduced number of RX chains for RRM measurements when it switches to Idle/Inactive RRC mode.), and the first threshold is different from or same as the second threshold (Any number will be either the same as or different from than any other number.).
Regarding claim 4, Pedersen discloses wherein, the first threshold and the second threshold are one of: measurement duration thresholds; signal strength difference thresholds; or a measurement duration threshold and a signal strength difference threshold (Page 20, lines 19-29: if the UE is subject to no/marginal mobility, the network may configure the UE to continue using reduced number of RX chains for a relatively long time period (time duration parameter X in the previous section). The long period of time will be used for the RRM measurements.).
Regarding claim 5, Pedersen discloses wherein determining the first RRM measurement parameter corresponding to the number of receiving antennas that the terminal device has comprises: determining that an RRM stationary criterion measurement parameter is a third threshold in response to the number of receiving antennas that the terminal device has being a first number (Page 20, lines 19-29: if the UE is subject to no/marginal mobility, the network may configure the UE to continue using reduced number of RX chains for a relatively long time period (time duration parameter X in the previous section). The long period of time will be used for the RRM measurements. No mobility would mean the UE is stationary. Page 21, lines 21-24 based on various geolocation information, subscription information, history information, etc., the network may also know that certain UEs are stationary that therefore may be sufficient to always operate with a reduced number of RX chains while in idle/inactive mode.); or
determining that the RRM stationary criterion measurement parameter is a fourth threshold in response to the number of receiving antennas that the terminal device has being a second number (This feature is optional but not required due to the “or” language.);
wherein the first number is different from the second number (Page 20, lines 14-17: For a RRC connect mode UE in good coverage conditions (the network is aware from the UEs RRM and CSI measurements), the network will inform the UE upon switching to Idle/Inactive to use a reduced number of RX chains for RRM measurements when it switches to Idle/Inactive RRC mode.), and the third threshold is different from or same as the fourth threshold (Any number will be either the same as or different from than any other number.).
Regarding claim 6, Pedersen discloses wherein, the third threshold and the fourth threshold are one of: measurement duration thresholds; signal strength difference thresholds; or a measurement duration threshold and a signal strength difference threshold (Page 20, lines 19-29: if the UE is subject to no/marginal mobility, the network may configure the UE to continue using reduced number of RX chains for a relatively long time period (time duration parameter X in the previous section). The long period of time will be used for the RRM measurements. Page 21, lines 13-14: if there is a high network load (i.e., lots of interference), the network may configure the UEs to use a higher number of Rx chains for RRM measurements while in idle/inactive mode. In this case, the signal strength in the signal to noise ratio will have changed to an unacceptable level.). .
Regarding claim 8, Pedersen discloses wherein, the fifth threshold and the sixth threshold are one of: signal strength thresholds; signal quality thresholds; or a signal strength threshold and a signal quality threshold (Page 20, lines 14-17: For a RRC connect mode UE in good coverage conditions (the network is aware from the UEs RRM and CSI measurements), the network will inform the UE upon switching to Idle/Inactive to use a reduced number of RX chains for RRM measurements when it switches to Idle/Inactive RRC mode.).
Regarding claim 9, Pedersen discloses wherein performing the RRM measurement based on the first RRM measurement parameter comprises: performing the RRM measurement based on the first RRM measurement parameter, wherein the terminal device is in a radio resource control (RRC) idle state (Page 20, lines 14-17: For a RRC connect mode UE in good coverage conditions (the network is aware from the UEs RRM and CSI measurements), the network will inform the UE upon switching to Idle/Inactive to use a reduced number of RX chains for RRM measurements when it switches to Idle/Inactive RRC mode.); or performing the RRM measurement based on the first RRM measurement parameter, wherein the terminal device is in an RRC inactive state (Page 20, lines 14-17: For a RRC connect mode UE in good coverage conditions (the network is aware from the UEs RRM and CSI measurements), the network will inform the UE upon switching to Idle/Inactive to use a reduced number of RX chains for RRM measurements when it switches to Idle/Inactive RRC mode.).
Regarding claim 10, Pedersen discloses a radio resource management (RRM) measurement method (Page 15: lines 3-4: For RRC idle and inactive mode (where the UE does not have ongoing data transmissions), the primary task of the UE modem will be to conduct radio resource management (RRM) measurements (i.e., RX operations) and monitor for network related signaling. The measurements are used for managing cell reselections and mobility.), comprising:
sending indication information to a terminal device having a number of receiving antennas, wherein the indication information is configured to indicate a correspondence between a number of antennas and an RRM measurement parameter (Page 20, lines 14-17: For a RRC connect mode UE in good coverage conditions (the network is aware from the UEs RRM and CSI measurements), the network will inform the UE upon switching to Idle/Inactive to use a reduced number of RX chains for RRM measurements when it switches to Idle/Inactive RRC mode. Page 17: lines 13-14: The transceivers may comprise receive/transmit chains. The terms receive chain and transit chain may be substituted by antennas, antenna panels, branches or antenna groups.);
wherein the RRM measurement parameter includes an RRM non-cell edge criterion measurement parameter (Page 20, lines 10-12: For a RRC connect mode UE at cell edge in a rural network (the network is aware from the UEs RRM and CSI measurements), the network will inform the UE to continue using all RX chains for RRM measurements when it switches to Idle/Inactive RRC mode. Page 20, lines 14-17: For a RRC connect mode UE in good coverage conditions (the network is aware from the UEs RRM and CSI measurements), the network will inform the UE upon switching to Idle/Inactive to use a reduced number of RX chains for RRM measurements when it switches to Idle/Inactive RRC mode.);
wherein the correspondence between the number of antennas and the RRM non- cell edge criterion measurement parameter comprises:
a fifth threshold corresponding to a first number of antennas, and a sixth threshold corresponding to a second number of antennas; such that the RRM non-cell edge criterion measurement parameter is determined as the fifth threshold in response to the number of receiving antennas that the terminal device has being the first number of antennas and the terminal device having the first number of receiving antennas is determined to be in a non-cell-edge state in case a received signal strength or quality of the terminal device exceeds the fifth threshold (Page 20, lines 14-17: For a RRC connect mode UE in good coverage conditions (the network is aware from the UEs RRM and CSI measurements), the network will inform the UE upon switching to Idle/Inactive to use a reduced number of RX chains for RRM measurements when it switches to Idle/Inactive RRC mode. Page 20, lines 31-35: For a RRC connect mode UE the network may configure the UE with RRC idle mode configuration that contains triggers for allowing the UE to activate and deactivate the number of receive chains. That is, if radio communications are above a certain threshold, the UE is allowed to reduce the number of active receiver chains, while if conditions are below the threshold, the UE is supposed to use all antennas. The conditions such as determined from the CSI (quality) measurements which correspond to the present number of antennas is used to determine if the UE is in a good coverage area or at a cell edge in a rural area as well as to determine of the number of antennas is reduced. For example, if the CSI is at or above the threshold that indicates the UE is in a good coverage area, then the antennas are reduced for the next RRM measurements. Pedersen discloses the number of antennas that are used during the modes. Therefore, Pedersen discloses the number of receiving antennas that the terminal device has since this number of receiving antennas are the transceivers the terminal has to use in these modes. Though other receiving antennas may be found in the user equipment, these other receiving antennas are not operating as receiving antennas and are not being used as receiving antennas during the first and second modes.), or
the RRM non-cell edge criterion measurement parameter is determined as the sixth threshold in response to the number of receiving antennas that the terminal device has being a second number of antennas and the terminal device having the second number of receiving antennas is determined to be in a non-cell-edge position in case a received signal strength or quality of the terminal device exceeds the sixth threshold (Page 20, lines 10-12: For a RRC connect mode UE at cell edge in a rural network (the network is aware from the UEs RRM and CSI measurements), the network will inform the UE to continue using all RX chains for RRM measurements when it switches to Idle/Inactive RRC mode. Page 20, lines 31-35: For a RRC connect mode UE the network may configure the UE with RRC idle mode configuration that contains triggers for allowing the UE to activate and deactivate the number of receive chains. That is, if radio communications are above a certain threshold, the UE is allowed to reduce the number of active receiver chains, while if conditions are below the threshold, the UE is supposed to use all antennas. The conditions such as determined from the CSI (quality) measurements which correspond to the present number of antennas is used to determine if the UE is in a good coverage area or at a cell edge in a rural area as well as to determine of the number of antennas is reduced. For example, if the CSI is at or above the threshold that indicates the UE is not in a cell edge in a rural network, then the antennas are maintained for the next RRM measurements. Page 20, lines 4-8: UEs in cell-edge conditions should operate with all 4-RX chains. Pedersen discloses the number of antennas that are used during the modes. Therefore, Pedersen discloses the number of receiving antennas that the terminal device has since this number of receiving antennas are the transceivers the terminal has to use in these modes. Though other receiving antennas may be found in the user equipment, these other receiving antennas are not operating as receiving antennas and are not being used as receiving antennas during the first and second modes.);
wherein the first number is different from the second number (Page 20, lines 14-17: For a RRC connect mode UE in good coverage conditions (the network is aware from the UEs RRM and CSI measurements), the network will inform the UE upon switching to Idle/Inactive to use a reduced number of RX chains for RRM measurements when it switches to Idle/Inactive RRC mode.), and the fifth threshold is different from or same as the sixth threshold (Any number will be either the same as or different from than any other number.).
Regarding claims 11-15 and 17, Pedersen discloses sending indication information. The data content of the information that is sent does not require a step to be performed and therefore does not limit the claims in terms of scope.
Regarding claim 35, Pedersen discloses a communication apparatus, comprising: a processor; and a memory storing a computer program executable by the processor (Claim 15: an apparatus comprising at least one processor and at least one memory.), wherein the processor is configured to:
Determine, by a terminal device having a number of receiving antennas and based on a correspondence between a number of antennas and an RRM measurement parameter, a first RRM measurement parameter corresponding to the number of receiving antennas that the terminal device has (Page 20, lines 14-17: For a RRC connect mode UE in good coverage conditions (the network is aware from the UEs RRM and CSI measurements), the network will inform the UE upon switching to Idle/Inactive to use a reduced number of RX chains for RRM measurements when it switches to Idle/Inactive RRC mode. Page 17: lines 13-14: The transceivers may comprise receive/transmit chains. The terms receive chain and transit chain may be substituted by antennas, antenna panels, branches or antenna groups. Pedersen discloses the number of antennas that are used during the modes. Therefore, Pedersen discloses the number of receiving antennas that the terminal device has since this number of receiving antennas are the transceivers the terminal has to use in these modes. Though other receiving antennas may be found in the user equipment, these other receiving antennas are not operating as receiving antennas and are not being used as receiving antennas during the first and second modes.); and
perform an RRM measurement based on the first RRM measurement parameter (Page 20, lines 14-17: For a RRC connect mode UE in good coverage conditions (the network is aware from the UEs RRM and CSI measurements), the network will inform the UE upon switching to Idle/Inactive to use a reduced number of RX chains for RRM measurements when it switches to Idle/Inactive RRC mode.);
wherein the RRM measurement parameter includes an RRM non-cell edge criterion measurement parameter (Page 20, lines 10-12: For a RRC connect mode UE at cell edge in a rural network (the network is aware from the UEs RRM and CSI measurements), the network will inform the UE to continue using all RX chains for RRM measurements when it switches to Idle/Inactive RRC mode. Page 20, lines 14-17: For a RRC connect mode UE in good coverage conditions (the network is aware from the UEs RRM and CSI measurements), the network will inform the UE upon switching to Idle/Inactive to use a reduced number of RX chains for RRM measurements when it switches to Idle/Inactive RRC mode.);
wherein determining the first RRM measurement parameter corresponding to the number of receiving antennas in the terminal device comprises:
determine that the RRM non-cell edge criterion measurement parameter is a fifth threshold in response to the number of receiving antennas that the terminal device has being a first number; such that the terminal device having the first number of receiving antennas is determined to be in a non-cell-edge position in case a received signal strength or quality of the terminal device exceeds the fifth threshold (Page 20, lines 14-17: For a RRC connect mode UE in good coverage conditions (the network is aware from the UEs RRM and CSI measurements), the network will inform the UE upon switching to Idle/Inactive to use a reduced number of RX chains for RRM measurements when it switches to Idle/Inactive RRC mode. Page 20, lines 31-35: For a RRC connect mode UE the network may configure the UE with RRC idle mode configuration that contains triggers for allowing the UE to activate and deactivate the number of receive chains. That is, if radio communications are above a certain threshold, the UE is allowed to reduce the number of active receiver chains, while if conditions are below the threshold, the UE is supposed to use all antennas. The conditions such as determined from the CSI (quality) measurements which correspond to the present number of antennas is used to determine if the UE is in a good coverage area or at a cell edge in a rural area as well as to determine of the number of antennas is reduced. For example, if the CSI is at or above the threshold that indicates the UE is in a good coverage area, then the antennas are reduced for the next RRM measurements.); or
determine that the RRM non-cell edge criterion measurement parameter is a sixth threshold in response to the number of receiving antennas that the terminal device has being a second number; such that the terminal device having the second number of receiving antennas is determined to be in a non-cell-edge position in case a received signal strength or quality of the terminal device exceeds the sixth threshold (Page 20, lines 10-12: For a RRC connect mode UE at cell edge in a rural network (the network is aware from the UEs RRM and CSI measurements), the network will inform the UE to continue using all RX chains for RRM measurements when it switches to Idle/Inactive RRC mode. Page 20, lines 31-35: For a RRC connect mode UE the network may configure the UE with RRC idle mode configuration that contains triggers for allowing the UE to activate and deactivate the number of receive chains. That is, if radio communications are above a certain threshold, the UE is allowed to reduce the number of active receiver chains, while if conditions are below the threshold, the UE is supposed to use all antennas. The conditions such as determined from the CSI (quality) measurements which correspond to the present number of antennas is used to determine if the UE is in a good coverage area or at a cell edge in a rural area as well as to determine of the number of antennas is reduced. For example, if the CSI is at or above the threshold that indicates the UE is not in a cell edge in a rural network, then the antennas are maintained for the next RRM measurements. Page 20, lines 4-8: UEs in cell-edge conditions should operate with all 4-RX chains.);
wherein the first number is different from the second number (Page 20, lines 14-17: For a RRC connect mode UE in good coverage conditions (the network is aware from the UEs RRM and CSI measurements), the network will inform the UE upon switching to Idle/Inactive to use a reduced number of RX chains for RRM measurements when it switches to Idle/Inactive RRC mode.), and the fifth threshold is different from or same as the sixth threshold (Any number will be either the same as or different from than any other number.).
Regarding claim 36, Pedersen further discloses a communication apparatus, comprising: a processor; and a memory storing a computer program executable by the processor to perform the method of claim 10 (Claim 15: an apparatus comprising at least one processor and at least one memory.).
Regarding claim 40, Pedersen discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for storing instructions, wherein, when the instructions are executed, the method of claim 1 is implemented (Claim 15: an apparatus comprising at least one processor and at least one memory.).
Regarding claim 41, Pedersen discloses determining the correspondence between the number of antennas and the RRM measurement parameter based on a protocol (Page 20, lines 14-17: For a RRC connect mode UE in good coverage conditions (the network is aware from the UEs RRM and CSI measurements), the network will inform the UE upon switching to Idle/Inactive to use a reduced number of RX chains for RRM measurements when it switches to Idle/Inactive RRC mode. Page 22, lines 4-16: a user equipment receives information comprising an indication of the number of transceivers to use when operating in the second mode and causing the user equipment to operate in the second mode using the determined number of transceivers. The protocol is at least a process of receiving an indication message and/or then conducting RRM measurements.).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN M BURD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632 6/29/2026