DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s preliminary amendment dated 5 February 2024 is acknowledged. Claims 1-12 as amended are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-7, and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2017/0283599 (“Cha”).
As to claims 1, 2, 4, and 5, Cha teaches a latex, which is a polymer dispersed in solvent, specifically water, an aqueous solvent as required by claim 2. Cha teaches the polymer comprises butadiene (conjugated diene monomer), acrylonitrile (ethylenically unsaturated nitrile monomer), and methacrylic acid (unsaturated acid monomer) (para. 0076). Cha teaches a Tg of the resulting polymer of -16.4 degrees C, in the recited range of claims 1 and 5. Cha teaches a molecular weight of 9.0 kDA, or 9,000 g/mol, in the range of claims 1 and 4. While not characterized as weight average molecular weight; however, since the molecular weight is measured in the same manner as that set forth by applicant in the specification, it is reasonable to presume this measurement is a weight average molecular weight (para. 0084, compare with applicant’s specification, para. 0142).
As to claim 6, Cha teaches a pH of the dispersion of 7.0 (para. 0076).
As to claim 7, Cha teaches formation of a polymer latex by emulsion polymerization (para. 0076) in water, a solvent. Cha teaches the polymer comprises butadiene (conjugated diene monomer), acrylonitrile (ethylenically unsaturated nitrile monomer), and methacrylic acid (unsaturated acid monomer) (para. 0076). Cha teaches a Tg of the resulting polymer of -16.4 degrees C. Cha teaches a molecular weight of 9.0 kDa, or 9,000 g/mol. While not characterized as weight average molecular weight; however, since the molecular weight is measured in the same manner as that set forth by applicant in the specification, it is reasonable to presume this measurement is a weight average molecular weight (para. 0084, compare with applicant’s specification, para. 0142).
As to claim 9, Cha teaches adding ammonia, a pH regulator to obtain a specific pH of 7.0 in the latex, thus a pH regulated latex (para. 0076).
As to claim 10, Cha teaches the use of the latex with a latex B (para. 0086) that is a latex of 1,3-butadiene (conjugated diene), acrylonitrile (ethylenically unsaturated nitrile monomer), and methacrylic acid (ethylenically unsaturated acid monomer) (para. 0082).
As to claim 11, Cha does not state the composition is present in 1 to 15 parts by weight of the composition. However, since the second latex is also a latex of the same monomers, it is the same as a composition of 1 to 15 parts of the first composition with 100 parts of the second latex, since the first polymer composition meets the recitation of the carboxylic acid modified nitrile based copolymer latex.
As to claim 12, Cha teaches dip molded article (paras. 0088-0089).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0283599 (“Cha”).
As to claim 5, the discussion of Cha with respect to claim 1 is incorporated by reference.
Cha does not exemplify the recited monomer composition. However, Cha teaches that the latex A may comprise preferably 60 to 78 weight percent of conjugated diene (para. 0027), which substantially overlaps the recited range, a preferred range of 20 to 40 wt % of ethylenically unsaturated nitrile monomer (apra. 0029), which is within the recited range, and 0.1 to 10 wt % of ethylenically unsaturated acid monomer (para. 0031), which overlaps the recited range. Cha teaches the amount of acid based monomer is selected to provide strength without excessive hardness and decline in wearability (para. 0031). As such, the preparation of the polymer, including in the recited amounts of monomers, is an obvious modification suggested by Cha.
As to claim 8, the discussion of Cha with respect to claim 7 is incorporated by reference. Cha does not exemplify the recited amount of molecular weight regulator; however, Cha teaches the use of molecular weight regulator in a preferred rang of 0.2 to 1.5 parts per 100 parts monomer (para. 0044), which includes amounts in the recited range, and as such, the use of molecular weight regulator, including in the recited amount, for controlling molecular weight is an obvious modification suggested by Cha.
Conclusion
/KREGG T BROOKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764