DETAILED ACTION
A preliminary amendment received on 2/05/2024 canceling claims 1-15 and adding claims 16-35 has been entered by the examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 2/05/2024 has been entered and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16, 19, 28, 31, and 34-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al (US2020/0137780 A1) IDS submitted by Applicant.
Regarding claims 16 and 28, Kim teaches a method/user equipment (UE) performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (Abstract), the method comprising:
a transceiver; and at least one processor coupled to the transceiver and configured to (Paras. 0660-0661):
receiving, from a base station, first configuration information (Fig. 32; Paras. 0020, 0087, 0137, and 0634-0638; a BS may transmit, to a UE, scheduling information for transmission of a UL signal in an unlicensed band; i.e. scheduling information reads on first configuration information);
mapping a physical uplink channel in a first format (Fig. 32; Paras. 0020, 0087, 0137, 0144-0149 and 0634-0638; the PUCCH signal may be transmitted across 1 or 2 symbols or across 4 to 14 symbols, based on a configured PUCCH format); and
transmitting, to the base station, a physical uplink channel based on the first configuration information (Fig. 32; Paras. 0020, 0087, 0137, and 0634-0638; the UE maps the UL signal to the at least one interlace indicated by the scheduling information, and transmits the UL signal in the at least one interlace in the unlicensed band);
wherein the mapping the physical uplink channel in the first format comprises: generating a first sequence based on second configuration information included in the first configuration information (Fig. 32; Paras. 0020, 0087, 0137, 0144-0149 and 0634-0638; the PUCCH signal may be transmitted across 1 or 2 symbols or across 4 to 14 symbols, based on a configured PUCCH format; the UE transmits the PUCCH of PUCCH format 0 in a PUCCH resource for a corresponding SR configuration; i.e. the PUCCH format reads on the second configuration information); and
mapping the first sequence on at least one time-domain symbol for transmitting the physical uplink channel (Fig. 32; Paras. 0020, 0087, 0137, 0144-0149 and 0634-0638; PUCCH format 1 conveys UCI of up to 2 bits and modulation symbols of the UCI are spread with an OCC (which is configured differently whether frequency hopping is performed) in the time domain; i.e. the sequence is mapped based on the format and whether frequency hopping is performed); and
wherein the second configuration information is related to frequency-domain resources for transmitting the physical uplink channel (Fig. 32; Paras. 0020, 0087, 0137, 0144-0149 and 0634-0638; PUCCH format 1 conveys UCI of up to 2 bits and modulation symbols of the UCI are spread with an OCC (which is configured differently whether frequency hopping is performed) in the time domain; i.e. the sequence is mapped based on the format and whether frequency hopping is performed and the frequency hopping would read on the frequency-domain resources).
Regarding claims 19 and 31, Kim teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Kim further teaches wherein the obtaining of the second configuration information for frequency-domain resources for transmitting the physical uplink channel comprises obtaining location information of the frequency-domain resources for transmitting the physical uplink channel based on at least one of an indication of higher layer signaling and downlink control information, and wherein the location information includes at least two of the following: an index or a relative index of a starting physical resource block of the frequency-domain resources for transmitting the physical uplink channel, a number of physical resource blocks of the frequency-domain resources for transmitting the physical uplink channel, and an index or a relative index of an ending physical resource block of the frequency-domain resources for transmitting the physical uplink channel (Fig. 32; Paras. 0552-0562; The (frequency-axis) starting position and ending position of the interlace and/or the number N of clusters in the interlace may be determined based on (frequency axis) PUCCH transmission resource information configured for/assigned to the UE by the BS).
Regarding claims 34 and 35, Kim teaches a method/base station (BS) performed by a base station (BS) in a wireless communication system (Abstract), the method comprising:
a transceiver; and at least one processor is further configured to (Paras. 0660-0661):
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), first configuration information (Fig. 32; Paras. 0020, 0087, 0137, and 0634-0638; a BS may transmit, to a UE, scheduling information for transmission of a UL signal in an unlicensed band; i.e. scheduling information reads on first configuration information); and
receiving, from the UE, a physical uplink channel based on the first configuration information (Fig. 32; Paras. 0020, 0087, 0137, and 0634-0638; the UE maps the UL signal to the at least one interlace indicated by the scheduling information, and transmits the UL signal in the at least one interlace in the unlicensed band);
wherein the physical uplink channel is mapped in a first format (Fig. 32; Paras. 0020, 0087, 0137, 0144-0149 and 0634-0638; the PUCCH signal may be transmitted across 1 or 2 symbols or across 4 to 14 symbols, based on a configured PUCCH format);
wherein the first configuration information includes second configuration information for frequency-domain resources for transmitting the physical uplink channel (Fig. 32; Paras. 0020, 0087, 0137, 0144-0149 and 0634-0638; PUCCH format 1 conveys UCI of up to 2 bits and modulation symbols of the UCI are spread with an OCC (which is configured differently whether frequency hopping is performed) in the time domain; the PUCCH signal may be transmitted across 1 or 2 symbols or across 4 to 14 symbols, based on a configured PUCCH format; the UE transmits the PUCCH of PUCCH format 0 in a PUCCH resource for a corresponding SR configuration; i.e. the sequence is mapped based on the format and whether frequency hopping is performed and the frequency hopping would read on the frequency-domain resources); and
wherein the second configuration information is used to generate a first sequence related to at least one time-domain symbol for transmitting the physical uplink channel (Fig. 32; Paras. 0020, 0087, 0137, 0144-0149 and 0634-0638; PUCCH format 1 conveys UCI of up to 2 bits and modulation symbols of the UCI are spread with an OCC (which is configured differently whether frequency hopping is performed) in the time domain; i.e. the sequence is mapped based on the format and whether frequency hopping is performed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US2020/0137780 A1) IDS submitted by Applicant in view of Seok et al (US 2023/0412328).
Regarding claims 20 and 32, Kim teaches the limitations of the previous claims.
However, while Kim teaches frame structures having different time units (Para. 0094), he does not specifically disclose further comprising: determining time units for transmitting the physical uplink channel based on a channel format of the physical uplink channel, wherein in case that the physical uplink channel is in a specific format, the time units for transmitting the physical uplink channel include specific downlink time units, wherein the specific downlink time units include at least one of the following: a time unit configured as downlink in a time division duplex (TDD) uplink and downlink configuration configured by radio resource control (RRC) signaling; a time unit configured as downlink in a slot format indication (SFI) configured by downlink control information (DCI); a time unit configured as flexible in a TDD uplink and downlink configuration configured by RRC signaling, and on which common downlink transmission is configured; and a time unit configured as flexible in a slot format indication (SFI) configured by DCI, and on which common downlink transmission is configured, and wherein the specific format includes at least one of the first format, uplink control channel format 0 and uplink control channel format 1.
Seok teaches a terminal transmits an uplink channel in a wireless communication system (Abstract). He further teaches further comprising: determining time units for transmitting the physical uplink channel based on a channel format of the physical uplink channel, wherein in case that the physical uplink channel is in a specific format, the time units for transmitting the physical uplink channel include specific downlink time units, wherein the specific downlink time units include at least one of the following: a time unit configured as downlink in a time division duplex (TDD) uplink and downlink configuration configured by radio resource control (RRC) signaling; a time unit configured as downlink in a slot format indication (SFI) configured by downlink control information (DCI); a time unit configured as flexible in a TDD uplink and downlink configuration configured by RRC signaling, and on which common downlink transmission is configured; and a time unit configured as flexible in a slot format indication (SFI) configured by DCI, and on which common downlink transmission is configured, and wherein the specific format includes at least one of the first format, uplink control channel format 0 and uplink control channel format 1 (Para. 0062; the BS may control NACK transmit power boosting separately for different PUCCH formats and/or different logical channels associated with different transmission physical layer formats (e.g., 4 dB power boosting for PUCCH format 0 and 1 dB power boosting for PUCCH format 1)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Dimou with the teachings as in Kim. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable improved communication and operational performance (Dimou at para. 0007).
Claims 21 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US2020/0137780 A1) IDS submitted by Applicant in view of Dimou et al (WO2021/150787) IDS submitted by Applicant.
Regarding claims 21 and 33, Kim teaches the limitations of the previous claims.
However, while Kim teaches it is possible to independently allocate transmission power to different clusters, for signal transmission (Para. 0514), he does not specifically disclose further comprising: performing transmission power boosting for the physical uplink channel based on third configuration information, wherein the first configuration information includes the third configuration information for the transmission power boosting for the physical uplink channel, and wherein the physical uplink channel for which the transmission power boosting is performed is in at least one of the first format, uplink control channel format 0 and uplink control channel format 1.
Dimou teaches methods related to acknowledgement/negative-acknowledgement (ACK/NACK) transmissions with different reliability levels (Abstract). He further teaches further comprising: performing transmission power boosting for the physical uplink channel based on third configuration information, wherein the first configuration information includes the third configuration information for the transmission power boosting for the physical uplink channel, and wherein the physical uplink channel for which the transmission power boosting is performed is in at least one of the first format, uplink control channel format 0 and uplink control channel format 1 (Para. 0062; the BS may control NACK transmit power boosting separately for different PUCCH formats and/or different logical channels associated with different transmission physical layer formats (e.g., 4 dB power boosting for PUCCH format 0 and 1 dB power boosting for PUCCH format 1)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Dimou with the teachings as in Kim. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable improved communication and operational performance (Dimou at para. 0007).
Claims 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US2020/0137780 A1) IDS submitted by Applicant in view of Seo et al (US 2020/0259586) IDS submitted by Applicant.
Regarding claim 22, Kim teaches the limitations of the previous claims.
However, while Kim teaches interleaving frequency division multiplexing (IFDM) mapping (Paras. 0492-0495), he does not specifically disclose further comprising: applying uplink and/or downlink interleaving mapping based on fourth configuration information, wherein types of the fourth configuration information includes at least one of the following: uplink interleaving mapping configuration information for transmitting uplink channels and/or uplink signals; downlink interleaving mapping configuration information for receiving downlink channels and/or downlink signals; and uplink and downlink interleaving mapping configuration information for transmitting uplink channels and/or uplink signals and receiving downlink channels and/or downlink signals, and wherein the first configuration information includes the fourth configuration information for at least one of uplink and downlink interleaving mapping.
Seo teaches a method of receiving DCI by a UE includes receiving bundling information regarding REGs via higher layer signaling (Abstract). He further teaches further comprising: applying uplink and/or downlink interleaving mapping based on fourth configuration information, wherein types of the fourth configuration information includes at least one of the following: uplink interleaving mapping configuration information for transmitting uplink channels and/or uplink signals; downlink interleaving mapping configuration information for receiving downlink channels and/or downlink signals; and uplink and downlink interleaving mapping configuration information for transmitting uplink channels and/or uplink signals and receiving downlink channels and/or downlink signals, and wherein the first configuration information includes the fourth configuration information for at least one of uplink and downlink interleaving mapping (Para. 0129; when time domain REG bundling is applied in a CORESET in which distributed mapping is used, CORESET duration (i.e., length (symbol number) of a CORESET in the time domain) may be replaced with a bundle size and a bundle index may be used as a basic unit of distribution (or interleaving). For example, an REG bundle size with the same size as the CORESET duration may be supported. In addition, interleaving may be performed in a unit of a REG bundle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Seo with the teachings as in Kim. The motivation for doing so would have been to more effectively and accurately transmitting or receiving downlink control information through resource element group (REG) bundling in wireless communication system (Seo at para. 0007).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of references Kim and Seo teach the limitations of the previous claims. Seo further teaches wherein the obtaining of the fourth configuration information includes obtaining at least one of the following: information indicating to enable or disable at least one of uplink and downlink interleaving mapping; interleaving mapping pattern for the at least one of uplink and downlink interleaving mapping; types of physical channels for applying the at least one of uplink and downlink interleaving mapping; types of physical signals for applying the at least one of uplink and downlink interleaving mapping; time units for applying the at least one of uplink and downlink interleaving mapping; and frequency units for applying the at least one of uplink and downlink interleaving mapping (Para. 0129; when time domain REG bundling is applied in a CORESET in which distributed mapping is used, CORESET duration (i.e., length (symbol number) of a CORESET in the time domain) may be replaced with a bundle size and a bundle index may be used as a basic unit of distribution (or interleaving). For example, an REG bundle size with the same size as the CORESET duration may be supported. In addition, interleaving may be performed in a unit of a REG bundle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Seo with the teachings as in Kim. The motivation for doing so would have been to more effectively and accurately transmitting or receiving downlink control information through resource element group (REG) bundling in wireless communication system (Seo at para. 0007).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-18, 24-27, and 29-30 are rejected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/KENT KRUEGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474