DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and Species I in the reply filed on 12/17/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 1-8 are included within both Group I and Species I and are being examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tian (US 2004/0241416.)
Regarding claim 1, Tian meets the claimed, A method for manufacturing a product having a three dimensional surface layer for a panel, the method at least comprising:
applying a water based resin on an underlaying surface of the product, (Tian [0100] describes applying an aqueous primer on a substrate) wherein the water based resin is at least in part thermocurable (Tian [0100] describe using heat to cure the primer) providing a UV-curable liquid onto at least one portion of the water based resin, when the water based resin is liquid or partially cured; (Tian [0101] describe applying a UV top coat on top of a partially cured primer) optional UV curing of the UV-curable liquid; (Tian [0101] describes UV curing the top coat) curing the water based resin at least by heating; (Tian [0100] and [0107] describes heat curing) optional removing of the UV-curable liquid; and optional pressing of the surface layer and the underlaying surface by a pressing device (Tian [0116] describe a mechanical embossing step.)
Regarding claim 2, Tian meets the claimed, The method according to claim 1, wherein the water based resin comprises melamine-formaldehyde, ureaformaldehyde, (meth)acrylate, polyurethane, unsaturated polyester and/or epoxy resin (Tian [0048] describes urea-formaldehyde.)
Regarding claim 3, Tian meets the claimed, The method according to claim 1, wherein the curing of the water based resin is done exclusively by heating (Tian [0100]-[0101] only describes heating the primer, only the top coat is UV curable.)
Regarding claim 6, Tian meets the claimed, The method according to claim 1, further comprising a heat pressing step after curing the resin and/or the liquid (Tian [0116] discloses a mechanical embossing step at temperatures to soften the layers, [0032] discloses embossing occurs after curing.)
Regarding claim 8, Tian meets the claimed, The method according to claim 6, wherein the heat pressing step comprises an embossing of the surface layer (Tian [0116] discloses a mechanical embossing step at temperatures to soften the layers.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Tian (US 2004/0241416.)
Regarding claim 4, Tian meets the claimed, The method according to claim 1, and a second curing step whether or not by means of heating wherein a total cure is obtained (Tian [0100] describe a first partial curing step and then full curing is described in [0101].)
Tian does not explicitly meet the claimed, wherein the curing of the water based resin at least by heating comprises: a first curing step by means of heating, wherein the resin is cured to a degree of cure of at least 0.5; however, Tian [0100] describes that the heat is applied to the primer to evaporate the solvent prior to the application of the top coat. Tian [0100] discloses that the removal of the solvent affects the clarity of the sharpness of the gloss layers. Tian discloses that the evaporation of solvent, i.e., curing, is a result-effective variable affecting the clarity and sharpness of the glossy layers. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to modify the degree of cure of the first partial curing step in order to optimize the clarity of the gloss, see Tian [0100] and MPEP §2144.05(II)(B).
Regarding claim 5, Tian does not explicitly meet the claimed, The method according to claim 4, wherein a degree of cure of at least 0.7 is obtained by the first curing step by means of heating, however, Tian [0100] discloses that the evaporation of solvent, i.e., curing, is a result-effective variable affecting the clarity and sharpness of the glossy layers. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to modify the degree of cure of the first partial curing step in order to optimize the clarity of the gloss, see Tian [0100] and MPEP §2144.05(II)(B).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tian modified by Price (EP1595718.)
Regarding claim 7, Tian discloses an embossing roll but does not specifically disclose any of the claimed, The method according to claim 6, wherein the heat-pressing step is performed with a flat pressplate, a press belt, a multi daylight press, or by using a release paper or film.
Analogous in the field of gloss laminates, Price also discloses a method of manufacturing an embossed laminate using multiple coatings and meets the claimed, The method according to claim 6, wherein the heat-pressing step is performed with a flat pressplate, a press belt, a multi daylight press, or by using a release paper or film (Price [0077] describes using a press belt to add a structure to the surface of the final laminate product.)
The courts have held that substituting one known element for another according to known methods to yield predictable results would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date, see MPEP §2143. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to substitute the roller of Tian with the press belt of Price because it is a known method of embossing a similar article, see Price [0077].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 5,458,953: see col. 4 beginning at line 40 describing a floor covering having a base surface, a thermosetting base coat, and a UV curable top coat
/V.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/XIAO S ZHAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1744