DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the amendment filed 6/18/26. As directed by the amendment, claims 1, 27, 31, 33 and 36 have been amended; claims 3, 6-26 and 28 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 2, 4, 5 and 27, 29- 41 are pending in this application.
Claim Objections
Claim 36 is objected to because of the following informalities: Regarding claim 23, the limitation “…a rear sections .…”, appears to be a typographic error. Appropriate correction is required.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke § 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke § 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
In the instant case there does not appear to be any means for language in the claims and/or language to be considered under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 AIA
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smith US 20160135512 B2 (herein after Smith).
Regarding claim 1, Smith discloses a garment (10) for lifting and compressing (Abstract, paragraph 0002) to enhance function of a gastrointestinal (GI) tract and support posture of a wearer (paragraphs 0001, 0028, 0032 and 0036, - the spandex, Lycra, and elastane capable of providing compressive support to the abdominal region and lower back area), said garment comprising: a front portion (20) configured to receive a ventral part of the wearer (as seen in annotated Figures 2 and 5), wherein the front portion comprises at least a central front section (as seen in annotated Figures 2 and 5), wherein the central front section comprising a first material (paragraph 0028) such that, when worn by the wearer, the garment simultaneously lifts and compresses at least a lower GI tract (paragraphs 0001, 0028, 0032 and 0036, - the spandex, Lycra, and elastane capable of providing compressive support to the abdominal region and lower back area) and a rear portion (30) configured to receive a dorsal part of the wearer (as seen in annotated Figures 2 and 5), such that, when worn by the wearer, the rear portion is positioned to compress and/or support the dorsal part of the wearer further and supports the lifting of the lower GI tract by the central front section (paragraphs 0001, 0028, 0032 and 0036, - the spandex, Lycra, and elastane capable of providing compressive support to the abdominal region and lower back area) wherein the front portion further comprises two lateral front sections (40, 50), each of the two lateral front sections having a first side which is respectively sewn (paragraph 0002 and 0025) to a different lateral side of the central front section (20) and having a second side which is respectively sewn to a different lateral side of the rear portion (paragraph 0002 and 0025), wherein each of the two lateral front sections is connected to the central front section and the rear portion (as seen in annotated Figure 2 and 5); wherein the central front section is configured to stretch over an abdominal region of the wearer (paragraph 0001) and to apply compression to a lower GI tract (paragraphs 0001, 0028, 0032 and 0036, - the spandex, Lycra, and elastane capable of providing compressive support to the abdominal region and lower back area) and wherein the rear portion is configured to pull an upper body backwards and/or the lower part of a back inward (paragraphs 0001, 0028, 0032 and 0036, - the spandex, Lycra, and elastane capable of providing compressive support to the abdominal region and lower back area).
Regarding claim 1, the applicant has written the claim to include functional language recitations and terminology. A recitation of the function of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. The applicant has used functional terminology to define structural elements, for example “….configured to stretch over an abdominal region of the wearer and to apply compression to a lower GI tract; and wherein the rear portion is configured to pull an upper body backwards and/or the lower part of a back inward….” These terms can be interpreted as functional language. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the function, then it meets the claim. Further, functional language recitations carry little patentable weight as the application is examined as an apparatus with its structural limitations, not its function or intended use.
Regarding claim 2, Smith discloses at least one panel (Abstract, paragraph 0003) comprising a second material (paragraph 0028), the at least one panel (Abstract, paragraph 0003) layered with at least the rear portion (30), the at least one panel (paragraph 0003) extending such that, when worn by the wearer, the at least one panel is/are positioned to compress and/or support at least the dorsal part of the wearer (paragraphs 0001, 0028, 0032 and 0036, - the spandex, Lycra, and elastane capable of providing compressive support to the abdominal region and lower back area).
Regarding claim 2, the applicant has written the claim to include functional language recitations and terminology. A recitation of the function of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. The applicant has used functional terminology to define structural elements, for example “… when worn by the wearer, the at least one panel is/are positioned to compress and/or support at least the dorsal part of the wearer…” These terms can be interpreted as functional language. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the function, then it meets the claim. Further, functional language recitations carry little patentable weight as the application is examined as an apparatus with its structural limitations, not its function or intended use.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 AIA
Claims 1, 2, 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith US 20160135512 B2 (herein after Smith) in view of Melarti US 20160192715 A1 (herein after Melarti).
Regarding claim 1, Smith discloses a garment (10), said garment comprising a front portion (20) configured to receive a ventral part of a wearer (as seen in annotated Figures 2 and 5), wherein the front portion comprises at least a central front section (20), and a rear portion configured to receive a dorsal part of the wearer (30), wherein the front portion further comprises two lateral front sections (40, 50), each of the two lateral front sections (40, 50) having a first side (as seen in annotated Figures 2 and 5) which is respectively sewn to a different lateral side of the central front section (paragraph 0002, 0025) and having a second side which is respectively sewn (paragraph 0002, 0025) to a different lateral side of the rear portion (30, as seen in annotated Figures 2 and 5), wherein each of the two lateral front sections is connected to the central front section (20) and the rear portion (as seen in annotated Figures 2 and 5), wherein the central front section comprising a first material (paragraph 0022, 0028, 0033, 0041), wherein the central front section is configured to stretch over an abdominal region of the wearer (paragraph 0001 and 0036), and wherein the rear portion is configured to pull an upper body (Abstract, paragraphs 0003, 0040 and 0041), and the rear portion is positioned to compress and/or support the dorsal part of the wearer (paragraphs 0036 and 0037).
[AltContent: textbox (Garment)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Two lateral front sections.)]
Smith doesn’t explicitly states that the central front section is configured to apply compression to a lower GI tract in the abdominal region of the wearer andsimultaneously lifts and compresses, and support posture of a wearer any garment providing compression around the torso would also support posture, when worn by the wearer, the garment simultaneously lifts and compresses; when worn by the wearer, the rear portion further and supports the lifting of the lower GI tract by the central front section; the garment compresses at least a lower GI tract and enhances function of a gastrointestinal (GI) tract.
Melarti discloses the central front section is configured to apply compression to a lower GI tract in the abdominal region of the wearer (15,paragraph 0035) and simultaneously lifts (paragraph 0035) and compresses (paragraph 0035), and support posture of a wearer (paragraph 0013 and 0041, any garment providing compression around the torso would also support posture (paragraph 0013), when worn by the wearer, the garment simultaneously lifts and compresses (paragraph 0035); when worn by the wearer (paragraph 0013 and 0041), the rear portion further and supports the lifting of the lower GI tract (paragraph 0035 abdominal region) by the central front section (as seen in annotated Figure 1); the garment compresses at least a lower GI tract (paragraph 0035) and enhances function of a gastrointestinal (GI) tract (paragraph 0035).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Central front section.)]
Smith and Melarti are analogous art to the claimed invention in that they relate to compression garments.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the invention to have modified the garment of Smith by constructing the central front section of the garment to apply compression to a lower GI tract in the abdominal region of the wearer and simultaneously lift, compress, and support the posture of a wearer and the rear portion further supporting and lifting the lower GI tract; the garment compressing at least a lower GI tract to enhance the function of the gastrointestinal (GI) tract as taught by Melarti in order to support the lower abdomen and provide relief and prevent symptoms of gastrointestinal ailments by compressing and supporting the belly to desirably alleviate discomfort. The modification of the garment of Smith would be a simple modification to easily and comfortably support the lower abdomen while minimizing the gastrointestinal symptoms.
Regarding claim 2, the modified garment of the combined references discloses at least one panel (paragraph 0051 of Melarti) comprising a second material (paragraph 0045 of Melarti), the at least one panel layered with at least the rear portion (paragraph 0013, 0038 and 0041 of Melarti), the at least one panel extending such that, when worn by the wearer, the at least one panel is/are positioned to compress and/or support at least the dorsal part of the wearer (paragraph 0013, 0038 and 0041 of Melarti).
Regarding claim 5, the modified garment of the combined references discloses wherein the rear portion comprises at least two rear sections (52 of Melarti) provided in the first material (paragraph 0042 of Melarti).
Claims 4, 27, 29-30, 32-36 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Smith US 20160135512 B2 (herein after Smith) in view of Melarti US 20160192715 A1 (herein after Melarti) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Ledyard US 7395557 B1 (herein after Ledyard).
Regarding claim 4, the modified garment of the combined references discloses all the limitations of claim 4 however the combined references do not disclose a central elastic spine incorporated into the rear portion, such that, when worn by the wearer, the central elastic spine is positioned to provide spinal support.
Ledyard teaches a central elastic spine (15, Col. 4, lines 14-22) incorporated into the rear portion (as seen in Figure 2), such that, when worn by the wearer, the central elastic spine (Col. 4, lines 14-22) is positioned to provide spinal support (Col. 4, lines 14-22).
Ledyard is analogous art to the claimed invention in that they relate to compression and support garments.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the invention to have modified the garment of Smith and Melarti by constructing the central elastic spine being incorporated into the rear portion, such that, when worn by the wearer, the central elastic spine is positioned to provide spinal support as taught by Ledyard in order to prevent stretching and provide better support and control to the garment. The modification would be a simple modification to provide resistance to stretching, and ensures the required support to the back is maintained while supporting the weight of the abdomen thus making the garment more comfortable to wear and more effective.
Regarding claims 4, the applicant has written the claim to include functional language recitations and terminology. A recitation of the function of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. The applicant has used functional terminology to define structural elements, for example “….such that, when worn by the wearer, the central elastic spine is positioned to provide spinal support ….” These terms can be interpreted as functional language. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the function, then it meets the claim. Further, functional language recitations carry little patentable weight as the application is examined as an apparatus with its structural limitations, not its function or intended use.
Regarding claim 27, Smith discloses a garment (10) comprising: a front portion (20) and a rear portion (30), wherein the front portion (20) comprises a central front section comprising a first material (paragraph 0022, 0028, 0033, 0041).
Smith is silent to the central front section being configured to provide lifting and compressive support when the garment is worn, the garment provides compressive support to a gastrointestinal region.
Melarti discloses the central front section being configured to provide lifting (15, paragraph 0035) and compressive support (paragraph 0035) when the garment is worn (paragraph 0035), the garment provides compressive support to a gastrointestinal region (paragraph 0013 and 0035).
Smith and Melarti are analogous art to the claimed invention in that they relate to compression garments.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the invention to have modified the garment of Smith by constructing the central front section/portion of the garment being reinforced and able to provide lifting and compressive support when the garment is worn as taught by Merlati in order to provide compressive support to the gastrointestinal region and support the lower abdomen to provide relief and prevent symptoms of gastrointestinal ailments by compressing and supporting the belly to desirably alleviate discomfort. The modification of the garment of Smith would be a simple modification to easily and comfortably support the lower abdomen while minimizing the gastrointestinal symptoms.
Smith and Melarti are silent to wherein the garment further comprising a set of lower panels comprising a second material having a stiffness greater than the stiffness of the first material, the set of lower panels being arranged in a lower region of the garment so as to apply compression and additional lifting to the gastrointestinal region when the garment is worn.
Ledyard discloses and wherein the garment further comprises a set of lower panels (25, as seen in annotated Figures 1 and 2) comprising a second material (Claim 5 - nylon) having a stiffness greater than the stiffness of the first material (Claim 5 – nylon being stiffer than spandex), the set of lower panels (25) being arranged in a lower region of the garment (as seen in annotated Figures 1 and 2) so as to apply compression and additional lifting/support (Col 3. Lines 23-45 - lifting as defined by Merriam Websters being: to improve a drooping or sagging; hoist) to the gastrointestinal region when the garment is worn (Col 3. Lines 23-45).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Lower panels)]
Ledyard is analogous art to the claimed invention in that they relate to compression and support garments.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the invention to have modified the garment of Smith and Melarti by constructing the set of lower panels comprising a second material having a stiffness greater than the stiffness of the first material, the set of lower panels being arranged in a lower region of the garment so as to apply compression and additional lifting to the gastrointestinal region when the garment is worn as taught by Ledyard in order to prevent stretching and provide better support and control to the garment. The modification would be a simple modification to provide resistance to stretching, and ensures the required support under the abdomen is maintained thus making the garment more comfortable to wear and effective.
Regarding claims 27, the applicant has written the claim to include functional language recitations and terminology. A recitation of the function of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. The applicant has used functional terminology to define structural elements, for example “….to provide lifting and compressive support to a gastrointestinal region when the garment is worn…”;“…so as to apply compression and additional lifting to the gastrointestinal region when the garment is worn….” These terms can be interpreted as functional language. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the function, then it meets the claim. Further, functional language recitations carry little patentable weight as the application is examined as an apparatus with its structural limitations, not its function or intended use.
Regarding claim 29, the modified garment of the combined references discloses wherein the set of lower panels (25 of Ledyard) lie at or adjacent a lower hem (12 of Ledyard) of the garment (as seen in annotated Figures 1 and 2 of Ledyard).
Regarding claim 30, the modified garment of the combined references discloses wherein the set of lower panels (25 of Ledyard) extend around to the front portion (as seen in annotated Figures 1 and 2 of Ledyard) but do not extend across the central front section (11 of Ledyard).
Regarding claim 32, the modified garment of the combined references discloses all the limitations of claim 32 but they do not disclose wherein the rear portion comprises a central elastic spine.
Ledyard discloses wherein the rear portion (as seen in annotated Figure 2 of Ledyard) comprises a central elastic spine (15 of Ledyard).
Ledyard is analogous art to the claimed invention in that they relate to compression and support garments.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the invention to have modified the garment of Smith and Merlati by constructing the rear portion comprising a central elastic spine as taught by Ledyard, in order to provide additional support to the back of the wearer and provide movement. The modification would be a simple modification to allow the garment to be more comfortable to wear, allowing for bending to be unrestricted and prevent the garment from pulling up during wear.Regarding claim 33, the modified garment of the combined references discloses all the limitations of claim 33 but does not disclose wherein the central elastic spine is formed from a third material having a stiffness greater than the stiffness of the first material , and wherein the central elastic spine comprises a 2-way stretch configured to provide lateral spinal support and to accommodate forward bending of the garment when worn.
Ledyard discloses wherein the central elastic spine (15 of Ledyard) is formed from a third material (15, Col. 4, lines 14-22 of Ledyard) having a stiffness greater than the stiffness of the first material (Col. 4, lines 14-22 of Ledyard), and wherein the central elastic spine (15 of Ledyard) comprises a 2-way stretch (Col. 4, lines 14-22) of Ledyard configured to provide lateral spinal support (Col. 4, lines 14-22 of Ledyard) and to accommodate forward bending of the garment when worn (Col. 4, lines 14-22 of Ledyard).
Ledyard is analogous art to the claimed invention in that they relate to compression and support garments.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the invention to have modified the garment of Smith and Merlati by constructing the garment having a central elastic spine formed from a third material with a stiffness that is greater than the stiffness of the first material, and wherein the central elastic spine has a 2-way stretch as taught by Ledyard, in order to provide lateral spinal support and to accommodate forward bending of the garment. The modification would be a simple modification to allow for comfortable bending while wearing the garment.
Regarding claim 33, the applicant has written the claim to include functional language recitations and terminology. A recitation of the function of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. The applicant has used functional terminology to define structural elements, for example “….configured to provide lateral spinal support and to accommodate forward bending of the garment when worn …” These terms can be interpreted as functional language. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the function, then it meets the claim. Further, functional language recitations carry little patentable weight as the application is examined as an apparatus with its structural limitations, not its function or intended use. Regarding claim 34, the modified garment of the combined references discloses all the limitations of claim 34, but do not disclose the rear portion further comprises an upper set of panels extending downwardly from the central elastic spine and positioned in an upper region of the garment
Ledyard discloses the rear portion further comprises an upper set of panels (as seen in annotated Figure 2 of Ledyard) extending downwardly from the central elastic spine and positioned in an upper region of the garment (as seen in annotated Figure 2 of Ledyard).
Ledyard is analogous art to the claimed invention in that they relate to compression and support garments.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the invention to have modified the garment of Smith and Merlati by constructing the rear portion having an upper set of panels extending downwardly from the central elastic spine and positioned in an upper region of the garment as taught by Ledyard, in order to provide controlled stretch in the rear portion. The modification would be a simple modification to provide a support where needed during wear but also enough ease to make the garments comfortable to wear and allow for bending and movement.
Regarding claim 35, the modified garment of the combined references discloses all the limitations of claim 35, but does not disclose wherein the rear portion further comprises two rear sections. extending laterally away from the central elastic spine
Ledyard teaches wherein the rear portion further comprises two rear sections (25 of Ledyard) extending laterally away from the central elastic spine (15 of Ledyard).
Ledyard is analogous art to the claimed invention in that they relate to compression and support garments.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the invention to have modified the garment of Smith and Merlati by constructing the rear portion including two rear sections. extending laterally away from the central elastic spine as taught by Ledyard, in order to provide controlled stretch in the rear portion. The modification would be a simple modification to provide a support where needed during wear but also enough ease to make the garments comfortable to wear and allow for bending and movement.
Regarding claim 36, the modified garment of the combined references discloses all the limitations of claim 36 but does not disclose wherein the central front section of the front portion and a rear section of the rear portion are formed from a continuous piece of fabric extending over shoulder regions of the garment
Melarti teaches wherein the central front section of the front portion (as seen in annotated Figures 1 and 2 of Melarti) and a rear section of the rear portion are formed from a continuous piece of fabric (as seen in annotated Figures 1 and 2 of Melarti) extending over shoulder regions of the garment (as seen in annotated Figures 1 and 2 of Melarti).
Merlati is analogous art to the claimed invention in that they relate to compression and support garments.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the invention to have modified the garment of Smith and Merlati by constructing the central front section of the front portion and a rear section of the rear portion being formed from a continuous piece of fabric extending over shoulder regions of the garment as taught by Melarti, in order to minimize shoulder seams. The modification would be a simple modification to make the garment more comfortable to wear.
Regarding claim 39, the modified garment of the combined references discloses all the limitations of claim 39 and further teaches an underlay panel (Col 10, lines 1-6 of Melarti) extending across a midway region of the central front section (as seen in annotated Figure 1 of Melarti) and positioned to apply additional compression to an upper gastrointestinal region (as seen in annotated Figure 1 of Melarti).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the invention to have further modified the garment of Smith and Merlati by including an underlay panel extending across a midway region of the central front section and positioned to apply additional compression to an upper gastrointestinal region as taught by Merlati, in order to comfortably apply compression. The modification would be a simple modification to ensure the garment would be comfortable to wear while providing compression and support.
Regarding claims 39, the applicant has written the claim to include functional language recitations and terminology. A recitation of the function of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. The applicant has used functional terminology to define structural elements, for example “….positioned to apply additional compression to an upper gastrointestinal region …” These terms can be interpreted as functional language. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the function, then it meets the claim. Further, functional language recitations carry little patentable weight as the application is examined as an apparatus with its structural limitations, not its function or intended use.
Claims 37 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith US 20160135512 B2 (herein after Smith) in view of Melarti US 20160192715 A1 (herein after Melarti) and Ledyard US 7395557 B1 (herein after Ledyard) as applied to claim 27 and further in view of Moran US 20140148741 A1 (herein after Moran).
Regarding claim 37, the modified garment of the combined references discloses all the limitations of claim 37, however they do not disclose wherein the garment comprises armholes, each armhole being cut further inward at a rear portion of the garment than at a front portion of the garment.
Moran discloses wherein the garment comprises armholes (as seen in annotated Figure 3 of Moran), each armhole being cut further inward at a rear portion of the garment than at a front portion of the garment (as seen in annotated Figure 3 of Moran).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Each armhole being cut further inward at a rear portion of the garment than at a front portion of the garment.)][AltContent: oval]
Moran is analogous art to the claimed invention in that they relate to compressive garments.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the invention to have modified the garment of Smith, Melarti and Ledyard by constructing the garment having armholes, each armhole being cut further inward at a rear portion of the garment than at the front portion of the garment as taught by Moran, in order to provide unrestricted movement. The modification would be a simple modification to allow for unrestricted movement of the arms and shoulders.
Regarding claim 41, the modified garment of the combined references discloses wherein the second material comprises a power mesh fabric (paragraph 0063 of Moran).
Claims 31 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith US 20160135512 B2 (herein after Smith) in view of Melarti US 20160192715 A1 (herein after Melarti) and Ledyard US 7395557 B1 (herein after Ledyard) as applied to claim 27 and further in view of Fischer US 20190246717 A1 (herein after Fischer).
Regarding claim 31, the garment of the combined references discloses all the limitations of claim 31 but does not disclose an adjustable belt extending across the central front section and around a lower gastrointestinal region, wherein the adjustable belt is made of four layers of power mesh.
Fischer discloses an adjustable belt (104, paragraph 0028- Fischer teaching the inner panel belt can include up to 5 layers to adjust the stretch and compression of the belt/inner panel, and the panel can also be sewn to the side sections or include a rea portion as well to provide the desired and different compression and support to different parts of the body) extending across the central front section (as seen in Figure 2A, 2B and 2C) and around a lower gastrointestinal region, wherein the adjustable belt is made of four layers of power mesh (paragraph 0027 multiple layers of material used in the panels, and paragraph 0032 the material being used for the compression panels being power mesh).
Fischer is analogous art to the claimed invention in that it relates to compression garments.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the invention to have modified the garment of Smith, Melarti and Ledyard by to include an adjustable belt made of four layers of power mesh as taught by Fischer in order to provide additional support to the abdominal area. The modification would be a simple modification to provide extra support and restricted stretch as desired.
Regarding claim 38, the modified garment of the combined references discloses all the limitations of claim 38, and further discloses wherein the rear portion (as seen in annotated Figure 2 of Ledyard) comprises a central elastic spine (15 of Ledyard) and the set of lower panels (25 of Ledyard) lie at or adjacent a lower hem of the garment (12 of Ledyard); however they do not disclose a set of internal panels positioned adjacent the lower hem, the set of internal panels extending laterally from the central elastic spine and extending longitudinally to lower edges of the armholes, the set of internal panels comprising the second material.
Fischer discloses a set of internal panels (400) positioned adjacent the lower hem (as seen in Figures 3A, 3B and 4), the set of internal panels (400) extending laterally from the central elastic spine and extending longitudinally to lower edges of the armholes (as seen in Figures 3A, 3B and 4), the set of internal panels comprising the second material (paragraph 0032).
Fischer is analogous art to the claimed invention in that it relates to compressive garments.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the invention to have modified the garment of Smith, Melarti and Ledyard by constructing a set of internal panels positioned adjacent the lower hem, the set of internal panels extending laterally from the central elastic spine and extending longitudinally to lower edges of the armholes as taught by Fischer, in order to allow the garment to have differing properties in different parts of the garment. The modification would be a simple modification to allow for more stretch resistance across the abdominal region.
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith US 20160135512 B2 (herein after Smith) in view of Melarti US 20160192715 A1 (herein after Melarti) and Ledyard US 7395557 B1 (herein after Ledyard) as applied to claim 27 and further in view of McEwan US 20150005855 A1 (herein after McEwan).
Regarding claim 40, the garment of the combined references discloses all the limitations of claim 40 except they do not disclose wherein the first material comprises a liquid titanium fabric.
McEwan teaches wherein the first material comprises a liquid titanium fabric (Abstract, paragraph 0031).
McEwan are analogous art to the claimed invention in that they relate to devices having healing capabilities.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the invention to have modified the materials used for the garment of Smith, Melarti, and Ledyard by constructing the first material comprising a liquid titanium fabric as taught by McEwan in order to create a garment that is capable of imparting healing properties such as the ability to conduct infrared rays. The modification would be a simple modification to create a garment that can provide healing and recovery capabilities to sportsmen and patients.
ARGUMENTS
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not convincing. Applicant’s arguments are directed towards structural elements included in the amended claims and thus do not apply to the combinations of references used to teach the limitations of the amended claims in the current rejection and/or the manner in which prior art has been applied in the current rejection. In view of Applicant's amendments, the search has been updated, and a rejection on the amended claims is applied above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Catherine M. Ferreira/
Examiner, Art Unit 3732
/ALISSA J TOMPKINS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3732