Detailed Action
Preliminary Amendment
1. Entry of applicant’s preliminary amendment dated 2-5-24 into the application file is acknowledged.
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
3. Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains drawing figure reference numerals. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Drawings
4. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the movable portion enclosing the bristles as detailed in claim 15 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claims 10 and 22, applicant has not invoked 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means plus function analysis with respect to the claimed means of corresponding dimples and bumps in that applicant claims specific structure for this claimed feature being the dimples and bumps claimed.
Regarding claims 11 and 23, applicant has invoked 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means plus function analysis with respect to the claimed releasable catch mechanism and as seen in applicant’s originally filed disclosure the releasable catch mechanism is detailed as such a catch mechanism may comprise one or more resilient tabs on the outer ferrule or moveable portion and corresponding slots on the inner ferrule. Any suitable catch mechanism can be used that allows the moveable portion to be moved as required and that retains it in the desired set position or positions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 7-8, 18 and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. The claim limitations of the proximal ends of the front plate and the rear plate are moved apart to rotate the distal ends of the plates together in claim 5 are not described in applicant’s originally filed specification to enable one skilled in the art to make and/or use the invention in that applicant’s originally filed disclosure details the plates move along the grooves via associated tabs in the grooves and the grooves are linear grooves and the orientation of these grooves being the convergence of the grooves as seen in applicant’s drawing figures brings the distal ends of the plates together and this would not provide for a rotation of the distal ends of the plates given the linear orientations of the grooves.
Further, the claim limitations of the front and rear plate are connected by a hinge portion and are arranged to rotate from a position where the plates are parallel to one another to a position where the distal ends of the plates are moved closer to each other in claims 8 and 20 are not described in applicant’s originally filed specification to enable one skilled in the art to make and/or use the invention in that applicant’s originally filed disclosure details the plates move along the grooves via associated tabs in the grooves and the grooves are linear grooves and the orientation of these grooves being the convergence of the grooves as seen in applicant’s drawing figures brings the distal ends of the plates together and this would not provide for a rotation of the distal ends of the plates given the linear orientations of the grooves.
Claims 11, 14, 20 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 11 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In claims 11 and 23, applicant has invoked 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means plus function analysis with respect to the claimed releasable catch mechanism and as seen in applicant’s originally filed disclosure the releasable catch mechanism is detailed as such a catch mechanism may comprise one or more resilient tabs on the outer ferrule or moveable portion and corresponding slots on the inner ferrule. Any suitable catch mechanism can be used that allows the moveable portion to be moved as required and that retains it in the desired set position or positions, and the phrase any suitable catch mechanism can be used renders the claims indefinite in that it is unclear to what catch mechanisms are being contemplated by the claims.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is unclear to how many slots are being claimed in that claim 14 requires at least two slots but parent claim 13 only requires one or more slots.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is unclear to whether the rotation detailed in claim 20 is the same or different than the rotation detailed in parent claim 5 and it is unclear to whether the hinge detailed in claim 20 provides for the rotation detailed in parent claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7-9, 11-12, 16-17, 20-21 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 4,237,579 to Salmon.
Referring to claim 1, Salmon discloses a paintbrush having adjustable control of bristle length, the paintbrush comprising, a handle – at 22, a plurality of bristles – at 28, an inner ferrule – at portion of 9 containing item 10 between items 22 and 28 as seen in figure 4, for mounting the bristles – at 28, to the handle – at 22 – see figure 4, the inner ferrule having a proximal end adjacent the handle – at 22 – see figure 4, and a distal end adjacent the bristles – at 28 – see figure 4, characterized in that the paintbrush further comprises an outer ferrule – at 11,12, mounted on the inner ferrule – see via 10 and 14-19 in figures 4-5, wherein the outer ferrule comprises at least one moveable portion – at 11,12, having proximal and distal ends – see figures 4-5, the at least one moveable portion comprising two independent plates – at 11 and 12, a front plate – at 11, and a rear plate – at 12 – see figures 4-5, the at least one moveable portion is arranged to surround the bristles – at 28 – see figures 4-5, and the at least one moveable portion – at 11,12, has a retracted position wherein it is positioned over the inner ferrule with the distal end of the at least one moveable portion positioned adjacent the distal end of the inner ferrule – see movable via items 14-19 into the position of figure 6, and wherein the at least one moveable portion – at 11,12, can be moved from the retracted position along the bristles – at 28, to an extended position wherein the at least one moveable portion – at 11,12, surrounds the bristles – at 28, along at least a portion of the length of the bristles – at 28 – see movable via items 14-19 into the position of figure 7, the extended position being selected to provide a desired amount of bristle – at 28, length beyond the distal end of the moveable portion – at 11,12, or to extend beyond the length of the bristles – at 28 – see desired amount of bristle length beyond the distal end of the moveable portion – at 11,12 in figures 4-7.
Referring to claim 5, Salmon further discloses the proximal ends – at 21 and 24, of the front plate and the rear plate – at 11,12, are moved apart to rotate the distal ends of the plates – at 13,23, together to compress bristles – at 28, at the distal ends of the plates – at 11,12, as the at least one moveable portion is moved towards an extended position – see figures 4-7 where upon loosening of item 16 on item 14 items 21,24 are capable of moving apart so that rotation of items 13,23 about item 14 can be made to move items 13,23 closer together and in contact with the bristles – at 28.
Referring to claim 7, Salmon further discloses the inner ferrule – at portion of 9 containing item 10 between items 22 and 28 as seen in figure 4, comprises a wedge – see outer surface containing item 10 as seen in figure 4, the wedge shaped to assist in forcing the distal ends – at 21,23, of the plates – at 11,12, together as the plates – at 11,12, are moved to an extended position – see figure 4-7 where the outer surface of 9 proximate 10 allows for the proximal ends of the plates – at 11,12 at 21,24 to be spaced apart allowing the distal ends – at 21,23 to be located close together as seen in figure 4.
Referring to claims 8 and 20, Salmon further discloses the front plate – at 11, and the rear plate – at 12, are connected by a hinge portion – at 14, and are arranged to rotate from a position where the plates – at 11,12, are parallel to one another – see figures 4-6, to a position where the distal ends of the plates – at 21,23, are moved closer to each other – see for example figures 5 and 7 where upon loosening of item 16 on item 14 items 21,24 are capable of moving apart so that rotation of items 13,23 about item 14 can be made to move items 13,23 closer together and in contact with the bristles – at 28.
Referring to claims 9 and 21, Salmon further discloses the front plate – at 11, and the rear plate – at 12, are different lengths – see figure 5.
Referring to claims 11 and 23, Salmon further discloses a releasable catch mechanism – at 14-19, mounted on one or both of the inner ferrule and the at least one movable portion – see on both in figures 4-5, the catch mechanism – at 14-19, being released to allow at least one moveable portion – at 11,12, to move – see released via item 16 in figures 4-5. Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means plus function analysis with respect to the claimed releasable catch mechanism items 14-19 of Salmon comprise tabs – at 14-17 and slots – at 18-19 as disclosed by applicant.
Referring to claim 12, Salmon further discloses the catch mechanism is operable at set positions to retain the at least one moveable portion – at 11,12, in preselected positions over the bristles – at 28 – see figures 4-7 with set positions along items 18-19.
Referring to claim 16, Salmon further discloses the at least one moveable portion – at 11,12, is arranged to compress the bristles – at 28, as the at least one moveable portion – at 11,12, is moved towards the end of the bristles – at 28 – see via items 13 and 23 in figures 4-7.
Referring to claim 17, Salmon further discloses the bristles – at 28, have a left side and a right side – see figures 4-5, and the at least one moveable portion – at 11,12, is longer at one of the left or right sides than the other of the sides – see longer – at 11 in figures 4-5, such that the distal end – at 21,23, of the at least one moveable portion – at 11,12, is positioned diagonally with respect to the distal end of the inner ferrule – at 9 containing 10 – see diagonal at items 13,21,23,24,26,27 in figures 4-5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salmon as applied to claims 1 or 5 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 987,277 to Wright.
Referring to claims 6 and 18, Salmon discloses top and bottom plates – at 11 and 12 but does not disclose the inner ferrule comprises at least one pair of grooves, the grooves converging towards the distal end of the inner ferrule, and the front plate comprises at least one tab that engages with one of the pair of grooves and the rear plate comprises at least one tab that engages with the other of the pair of grooves. Wright does disclose the inner ferrule – at 1 proximate 2, comprises at least one pair of grooves – at 4 – see figures 1-5 and lines 47-51, the grooves – at 4, converging towards the distal end of the inner ferrule – at 1 proximate 2 – see at 4 in figures 1-2 which extend/converge from the handle to the distal end at connection of 1,2, and the front portion – top of 3, comprises at least one tab – at 5, that engages with one of the pair of grooves – at 4 – see figures 1-5, and the rear portion – at bottom of 3, comprises at least one tab – other of items 5, that engages with the other of the pair of grooves – at 4 – see figures 1-5. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Salmon and add the grooves and tabs of Wright, so as to yield the predictable result of reliably moving and securing the inner and outer ferrules with respect to each other during use.
Referring to claim 19, Salmon as modified by Wright further discloses the inner ferrule – at portion of 9 containing item 10 between items 22 and 28 as seen in figure 4 of Salmon, comprises a wedge – see outer surface containing item 10 as seen in figure 4 of Salmon, the wedge shaped to assist in forcing the distal ends – at 21,23, of the plates – at 11,12, together as the plates – at 11,12, are moved to an extended position – see figure 4-7 of Salmon where the outer surface of 9 proximate 10 allows for the proximal ends of the plates – at 11,12 at 21,24 to be spaced apart allowing the distal ends – at 21,23 to be located close together as seen in figure 4 of Salmon.
Claim(s) 10, 15 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salmon as applied to claims 1 or 5 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 4,847,939 to Derencsenyi et al.
Referring to claims 10 and 22, Salmon does not disclose the at least one moveable portion is retained in set positions by means of corresponding dimples and bumps on an outer surface of the inner ferrule and an inner surface of the at least one moveable portion. Derencsenyi et al. does disclose the at least one moveable portion – at 10, is retained in set positions by means of corresponding dimples and bumps – at 12 and between 12, on an inner surface – at 3,3’, of the at least one moveable portion – at 10 – see figure 7. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Salmon and add the dimples and bumps of Derencsenyi et al., so as to yield the predictable result of removably securing the movable portion to the inner ferrule as desired. Salmon as modified by Derencsenyi et al. does not disclose the dimples and bumps are on an outer surface of the inner ferrule. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Salmon as modified by Derencsenyi et al. and have the dimples and bumps on the outer surface of the inner ferrule as claimed, so as to yield the predictable result of removably securing the movable portion to the inner ferrule as desired.
Referring to claim 15, Salmon does not disclose the at least one moveable portion can be moved to an extended position that completely encloses the bristles. Derencsenyi et al. does disclose the at least one moveable portion – at 10, can be moved to an extended position that completely encloses the bristles – see figure 5. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Salmon and add the movable portion enclosing the bristles as disclosed by Derencsenyi et al., so as to yield the predictable result of better protecting the bristles as desired.
Claim(s) 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salmon as applied to claim 11 above.
Referring to claim 13, Salmon further discloses the catch mechanism comprises at least one tab –
at 14,16,17, on the at least one moveable portion – at 11,12, - see figures 4-5, and at least one
corresponding slot – at 10, on the inner ferrule – see figures 4-5. Salmon does not disclose the at
least one tab is resilient. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
to take the device of Salmon have the at least one tab be resilient as claimed, so as to yield the
predictable result of allowing the tab to be easily moved into different positions as desired to
assemble the components of the device together.
Referring to claim 14, Salmon further discloses the slots – at 18,19, are arranged at set positions to retain the at least one moveable portion – at 11,12, in preselected positions relative to the length of the bristles – at 28 – see figures 4-7.
Conclusion
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following patents are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to paint brushes in general:
U.S. Pat. No. 136,288 to Wagner – shows paint brush
U.S. Pat. No. 2,787,016 to Carpenter – shows paint brush
U.S. Pat. No. 4,062,084 to Dubois – shows paint brush
U.S. Pat. No. 4,339,837 to Reeberg – shows paint brush
U.S. Pub. No. 2011/0239392 to Levy et al. – shows paint brush
U.S. Pat. No. 10,986,915 to Meyer et al. – shows paint brush
U.S. Pat. No. 11,904,627 to Davis – shows paint brush
/DAVID J PARSLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3643