DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Takano (US 2005/0243172).
Regarding Claim 1, Takano discloses a light emitting device [#23 of Fig 1], comprising: multiple light sources configured to emit light including a non-visible wavelength range [#23 of Fig 1; 0077-79]; and a housing defining at least a portion of a space in which the light sources are housed, wherein the housing includes a translucent portion that allows passage of the light including the non-visible wavelength range while blocking passage of light of a visible wavelength range [#24 of Fig 1; 0077; 0079-82].
Regarding Claim 2, Takano also discloses wherein the visible wavelength range includes a red wavelength range [#24 of Fig 1; 0077; 0079-82].
Regarding Claim 3, Takano also discloses wherein the translucent portion includes a part extending in a first direction orthogonal to an optical axis of each of the light sources [0077-84].
Regarding Claim 4, Takano also discloses wherein the housing has an asymmetrical shape relative to a second direction that is orthogonal to the optical axis and the first direction [0077-84].
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fujikawa (US 2003/0214733).
Regarding Claim 1, Fujikawa discloses a light emitting device [#2, #6A, #7 of Fig 1, 2; 0031-35], comprising: multiple light sources configured to emit light including a non-visible wavelength range [#2, #6A, #7 of Fig 1, 2; 0031-35]; and a housing defining at least a portion of a space in which the light sources are housed, wherein the housing includes a translucent portion that allows passage of the light including the non-visible wavelength range while blocking passage of light of a visible wavelength range [#2, #6A, #7 of Fig 1, 2; 0031-35].
Regarding Claim 2, Fujikawa also discloses wherein the visible wavelength range includes a red wavelength range [#2, #6A, #7 of Fig 1, 2; 0077; 0031-35].
Regarding Claim 3, Fujikawa also discloses wherein the translucent portion includes a part extending in a first direction orthogonal to an optical axis of each of the light sources [#2, #6A, #7 of Fig 1, 2; 0031-35].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takano (US 2005/0243172), in view of Kasaba (US 2018/0045826).
Regarding Claim 5, Takano teaches a device, comprising:; a light emitting device [[#23 of Fig 1; 0077-79], including: multiple light sources configured to emit light including a non-visible wavelength range [#23 of Fig 1; 0077-79]; and a housing defining at least a portion of a space in which the light sources are housed [#24 of Fig 1; 0077; 0079-82]; wherein the housing includes a translucent portion that allows passage of the light including the non-visible wavelength range while blocking passage of light of a visible wavelength range [#24 of Fig 1; 0077; 0079-82]. Takano does not explicitly teach – but Kasaba does teach a range image capturing device configured to capture an image of a subject based on the light reflected by the subject [#12, #15 of Fig 1, 2; 0035; 0037; 0041-43]; and a computing device configured to calculate a distance to the subject based on a time period from time when the light is emitted from the light emitting device to time when the light is incident on the image capturing device [#12, #15 of Fig 1, 2; 0035; 0037; 0041-43]. It would have been obvious to modify the device of Takano to include a range image capture device on a vehicle to suppress an increase in size of the right front illumination while providing a lidar for acquiring information outside the vehicle based on invisible light.
Regarding Claim 5, Takano teaches a device… comprising a light emitting device [#23 of Fig 1; 0077-79], including: multiple light sources configured to emit light including a non-visible wavelength range [#23 of Fig 1; 0077-79]; and a housing defining at least a portion of a space in which the light sources are housed [#24 of Fig 1; 0077; 0079-82]; an image capturing device configured to capture an image of a subject based on the light reflected by the subject; and a computing device configured to calculate a distance to the subject based on a time period from time when the light is emitted from the light emitting device to time when the light is incident on the image capturing device, wherein the housing includes a translucent portion that allows passage of the light including the non-visible wavelength range while blocking passage of light of a visible wavelength range [#24 of Fig 1; 0077; 0079-82]. Takano does not explicitly teach – but Kasaba does teach a range image capturing device configured to capture an image of a subject based on the light reflected by the subject [#12, #15 of Fig 1, 2; 0035; 0037; 0041-43]; and a computing device configured to calculate a distance to the subject based on a time period from time when the light is emitted from the light emitting device to time when the light is incident on the image capturing device [#12, #15 of Fig 1, 2; 0035; 0037; 0041-43] and wherein the monitoring device is configured to cause the light emitting device to emit the light toward a prescribed monitoring area [#12, #15 of Fig 1, 2; 0035; 0037; 0041-43]. It would have been obvious to modify the device of Takano to include a range image capture device on a vehicle to suppress an increase in size of the right front illumination while providing a lidar for acquiring information outside the vehicle based on invisible light.
Regarding Claim 7, Takano does not explicitly teach – but Kasaba does teach being a mobility [#2 of Fig 1, 2; 0039-40; 0043]. It would have been obvious to modify the device of Takano to include a range image capture device on a vehicle to suppress an increase in size of the right front illumination while providing a lidar for acquiring information outside the vehicle based on invisible light.
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujikawa (US 2003/0214733), in view of Kasaba (US 2018/0045826).
Regarding Claim 5, Fujikawa teaches a device, comprising; a light emitting device [#2, #6A, #7 of Fig 1, 2; 0031-35including: multiple light sources configured to emit light including a non-visible wavelength range [#2, #6A, #7 of Fig 1, 2; 0031-35]; and a housing defining at least a portion of a space in which the light sources are housed [#2, #6A, #7 of Fig 1, 2; 0031-35]; wherein the housing includes a translucent portion that allows passage of the light including the non-visible wavelength range while blocking passage of light of a visible wavelength range [#24 of Fig 1; 0077; 0079-82]. Fujikawa does not explicitly teach – but Kasaba does teach a range image capturing device configured to capture an image of a subject based on the light reflected by the subject [#12, #15 of Fig 1, 2; 0035; 0037; 0041-43]; and a computing device configured to calculate a distance to the subject based on a time period from time when the light is emitted from the light emitting device to time when the light is incident on the image capturing device [#12, #15 of Fig 1, 2; 0035; 0037; 0041-43]. It would have been obvious to modify the device of Fujikawa to include a range image capture device on a vehicle to suppress an increase in size of the right front illumination while providing a lidar for acquiring information outside the vehicle based on invisible light.
Regarding Claim 6, Fujikawa teaches a device… comprising a light emitting device [#2, #6A, #7 of Fig 1, 2; 0031-35], including: multiple light sources configured to emit light including a non-visible wavelength range [#2, #6A, #7 of Fig 1, 2; 0031-35]; and a housing defining at least a portion of a space in which the light sources are housed [#2, #6A, #7 of Fig 1, 2; 0031-35]. Fujikawa does not explicitly teach – but Kasaba does teach an wherein the housing includes a translucent portion that allows passage of the light including the non-visible wavelength range while blocking passage of light of a visible wavelength range [#24 of Fig 1; 0077; 0079-82]. Fujikawa does not explicitly teach – but Kasaba does teach a range image capturing device configured to capture an image of a subject based on the light reflected by the subject [#12, #15 of Fig 1, 2; 0035; 0037; 0041-43]; and a computing device configured to calculate a distance to the subject based on a time period from time when the light is emitted from the light emitting device to time when the light is incident on the image capturing device [#12, #15 of Fig 1, 2; 0035; 0037; 0041-43] and wherein the monitoring device is configured to cause the light emitting device to emit the light toward a prescribed monitoring area [#12, #15 of Fig 1, 2; 0035; 0037; 0041-43]. It would have been obvious to modify the device of Fujikawa to include a range image capture device on a vehicle to suppress an increase in size of the right front illumination while providing a lidar for acquiring information outside the vehicle based on invisible light.
Regarding Claim 7, Fujikawa does not explicitly teach – but Kasaba does teach being a mobility [#2 of Fig 1, 2; 0039-40; 0043]. It would have been obvious to modify the device of Fujikawa to include a range image capture device on a vehicle to suppress an increase in size of the right front illumination while providing a lidar for acquiring information outside the vehicle based on invisible light.
Conclusion
JAMES R. HULKA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3645
/JAMES R HULKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645