DETAILED ACTION
This is response to Application 18/681,399 filed on February 5, 2024 in which claims 1-30 are presented for examination.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-11 and 26-30 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, 12, 13, 15-20 and 23- 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Murray et al. (US 2022/0272760 A1).
1. Regarding claims 1 and 20, Murray teaches an apparatus (Figure 1A Paragraph [0036] WTRU; aerial; drone) for wireless communication and a method at an aerial device, comprising:
memory; and
at least one processor coupled to the memory, the memory and the at least one
processor configured to:
receive a timing advance configuration from a base station for sidelink
communication with one or more user equipments (UEs), the timing advance
configuration indicating an initial timing advance for the sidelink communication with
the one or more UEs (Paragraph [0251] initial timing advance from base station); and
transmit a discovery message from the aerial device to the one or more
UEs at a transmission time based on the initial timing advance relative to a reference
time of a sidelink synchronization reference (Paragraphs [0260] to [0262] UE shares timing advance command information with other UE; over sidelink interface).
2. Regarding claim 13, Murray teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a base station (Figures 1A and 1D Paragraph [0036] gNode-B; aerial; drone), comprising:
memory; and
at least one processor coupled to the memory, the memory and the at least one
processor configured to:
transmit downlink communication for one or more user equipment (UEs)
to an aerial device for relay over a sidelink (Paragraph [0251] initial timing advance from base station; random access procedure); and
transmit, to the aerial device, an indication of a timing advance
configuration for sidelink communication with the one or more UEs, the timing advance
configuration indicating an initial timing advance for the sidelink communication (Paragraph [0251] initial timing advance from base station; random access procedure).
Regarding claims 4 and 23, Murray teaches wherein the reference time of the sidelink synchronization reference is a time of the base station, and to transmit the discovery message from the aerial device to the one or more UEs, the memory and the at least one processor are further configured to:
transmit the discovery message to the one or more UEs at the transmission time
based on the initial timing advance and an uplink timing advance for communication
with the base station (Paragraphs [0251] and [0260] to [0262] UE shares timing advance command information with other UE; over sidelink interface; adjustment to timing advance; maintain uplink synchronization).
Regarding claims 5 and 24, Murray teaches wherein the memory and the at least one processor are further configured to:
receive a sidelink transmission from the one or more UEs at a reception time
with a sidelink reception frame timing that is offset from the reference time based at
least on the initial timing advance (Paragraphs [0251] and [0260] to [0262] UE shares timing advance command information with other UE; over sidelink interface; adjustment to timing advance; uplink frame).
Regarding claims 6 and 25, Murray teaches wherein the memory and the at least one processor are
further configured to:
adjust the transmission time or the reception time based at least on a timing
advance update for the sidelink communication with the one or more UEs, the timing
advance update being based on a propagation delay between the aerial device and the
one or more UEs (Paragraphs [0251], [0260] to [0262], [0267] UE shares timing advance command information with other UE; over sidelink interface; adjustment to timing advance; propagation delay).
Regarding claim 12, Murray teaches, further comprising:
at least one antenna coupled to the at least one processor (Paragraphs [0095] to [0097] antenna configured to transmit and receive; processor coupled to transceiver coupled to transmit/receive element/antenna).
7. Regarding claim 15, Murray teaches, further comprising:
at least one antenna coupled to the at least one processor (Paragraph [0069] gNode-B use multiple antennas to transmit/receive wireless signals).
Regarding claim 16, Murray teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (Figure 1A Paragraph [0036] WTRU; aerial; drone), comprising:
memory; and
at least one processor coupled to the memory, the memory and the at least one
processor configured to:
transmit sidelink transmissions to multiple aerial devices based on a
common frame timing (Paragraphs [0260] to [0262] UE requests timing advance information from UEs in proximity; common signaling; over sidelink interface); and
receive relayed transmissions from the multiple aerial devices based on
the common frame timing (Paragraphs [0260] to [0262] UE requests timing advance information from UEs in proximity; common signaling; over sidelink interface).
9. Regarding claim 17, Murray teaches wherein the sidelink transmissions to the multiple aerial devices overlap at least partially in time (Paragraphs [0260] to [0262] UE requests timing advance information from UEs in proximity; common signaling; over sidelink interface).
10. Regarding claim 18, Murray teaches, wherein the common frame timing is based on a reference time without a timing advance for individual aerial devices (Paragraphs [0260] to [0262] UE requests timing advance information from UEs in proximity; common signaling; over sidelink interface).
11. Regarding claim 19, Murray teaches, further comprising:
at least one antenna coupled to the at least one processor (Paragraphs [0095] to [0097] antenna configured to transmit and receive; processor coupled to transceiver coupled to transmit/receive element/antenna).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 14, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray et al. (US 2022/0272760 A1) in view of Gupta et al. (US 2021/0168869 A1).
Regarding claims 2 and 21, Murray does not explicitly disclose wherein the timing advance configuration for the aerial device comprises a set of timing advance values each associated with a different altitude value.
Gupta teaches wherein the timing advance configuration for the aerial device comprises a set of timing advance values each associated with a different altitude value (Paragraphs [0082] to [0084] TA estimation at different heights).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the timing advance configuration for the aerial device comprises a set of timing advance values each associated with a different altitude value as taught by Gupta in the system of Murray for optimizing random access procedure using a default TA see Paragraph [0031] of Gupta.
13. Regarding claims 3, 14, and 22, Murray does not explicitly disclose wherein a value of the initial timing advance is based on a current altitude of the aerial device.
Gupta teaches wherein a value of the initial timing advance is based on a current altitude of the aerial device (Paragraphs [0082] to [0084] TA estimation using current altitude).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein a value of the initial timing advance is based on a current altitude of the aerial device as taught by Gupta in the system of Murray for optimizing random access procedure using a default TA see Paragraph [0031] of Gupta.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Hwang et al. (US 2022/0095279 A1) Paragraph [0271] priority rule when overlap
Hui et al. (US 2021/0314966 A1) Paragraph [0344] enhanced selection
/DIANE L LO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466