Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7, 9-12, 14-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the voltage detection signal being configured to control” it does not appear the signal itself is what is intended to be configured, rather the switch circuit is configured to control an electrical connection between the power connecting end and the load connecting end based on the voltage detection signal. It is suggested Applicant amend the recitation of configuring a signal as suggested above to clearly identify the claimed device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 9, 11, 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suzhou Luck Power Electronics Technology Co Ltd. (CN 106505690B)
With respect to claim 1 Suzhou teaches a device for connection detection, comprising:
a power connecting end (see pack +/-), configured to be electrically connected with a power module;
a load connecting end (Clamp +/-), configured to be electrically connected with an external load (battery electrical load); a switch circuit (see JK1), electrically connected between (see for example connection illustrated in Fig. 8) the power connecting end and the load connecting end; a voltage control circuit (see current test circuits R503/D502 and R501/Q501/R502/D501), in electrical connection with the load connecting end and configured to output a voltage through the load connecting end (see voltage applied to the load connection through current controlled path); and
a voltage detecting circuit (see voltage divider sampling circuit R504/R505/R506/D503, see paragraph 0020), in electrical connection with the load connecting end and configured to detect a voltage (see controller input with AD_clamp to determine reverse voltage, low voltage ect, see step 1 of Suzhou) of the load connecting end and output a corresponding voltage detection signal (controller with AD_clamp and IN_clamp: inputting a divided voltage signal), the voltage detection signal being configured to control an ON/OFF state of the switch circuit (clamp state recognition unit input to controller wherein JK1 connects or disconnects Pack terminal from clamp).
With respect to claim 2 Suzhou teaches a control circuit (see controller Figs of Suzhou) in electrical connection with the switch circuit (JK1) and the voltage detecting circuit, wherein the control circuit is configured to control the state of the switch circuit according to the voltage detection signal (see connection of controller with AC_clamp and IN_clamp).
With respect to claim 3 Suzhou teaches the control circuit configured to control the state of the switch circuit according to the voltage detection signal is configured to: in response to the voltage detection signal outputted by the voltage detecting circuit being less than a preset voltage value (see comparison with a0 and a1-2), output a first switch-control-signal (EN_RL1-2) to the switch circuit to control the switch circuit to be turned-off (open JK1), to disconnect the electrical connection between the power module and the external load.
With respect to claim 9 Suzhou teaches the voltage control circuit comprises: a voltage input end (see side of Q501 connected to pack+), configured to be connected with a voltage source (battery pack of jumping device), wherein the voltage source is configured to provide the voltage; a voltage detecting end (see at clamp+), configured to be connected with the load connecting end; a second switch unit (Q501), configured to be connected with the voltage source and the voltage detecting end, wherein the voltage control circuit is able to conduct the voltage input end and the voltage detecting end through a closing of the second switch unit, such that the voltage source is able to output the voltage via the load connecting end.
With respect to claim 11 Suzhou teaches the voltage control circuit further comprises a unidirectional conduction unit (D501), the voltage input end is connected (see pack+ connection via Q501 and D501 to clamp+) with the voltage detecting end via the unidirectional conduction unit (D501)and the second switch unit, the unidirectional conduction unit is configured to realize unidirectional conduction of a path between the voltage source and the load connecting end; the unidirectional conduction unit comprises a first diode (see D501 represented as a diode).
With respect to claim 15 Suzhou teaches the power connecting end comprises a first power-connecting-end and a second power-connecting-end (see connection with pack+/-), and the load connecting end comprises a first load-connecting-end and a second load-connecting-end (see connection with clamp+/-); and the switch circuit (JK1)is connected between the first power-connecting-end and the first load- connecting-end (Fig. 7-8), the voltage control circuit and the voltage detecting circuit are each connected between (Fig. 7-8) the switch circuit and the first load-connecting-end.
With respect to claim 16 Suzhou teaches the first power-connecting-end (pack+) is configured to be connected to a positive electrode of the power module, and the second power-connecting-end (pack-) is configured to be connected to a negative electrode of the power module; and the first load-connecting-end (clamp+) is configured to be connected to a positive electrode of the external load, and the second load-connecting-end (clamp-) is configured to be connected to a negative electrode of the external load.
With respect to claim 17 Suzhou teaches the connection-state alarm circuit (see buzzer and buzzer activating circuitry) in electrical connection with the control circuit, the connection-state alarm circuit is configured to signal an alarm to indicate that the external load is in an abnormal connection state, when the control circuit detects that the voltage detection signal outputted by the voltage detecting circuit is smaller than a preset voltage value (during AC_clamp less than zero vdc).
With respect to claim 18 Suzhou teaches the control circuit is configured to output a first indication-control-signal (signal to buzzer to emit sound abnormal alarm status) to the connection-state alarm circuit, when the control circuit detects that the voltage detection signal outputted by the voltage detecting circuit is smaller than the preset voltage value (present during a reverse connection), the connection- state alarm circuit is configured to signal the alarm according to the first indication-control- signal, to indicate that the external load is in the abnormal connection state (for example reverse); and the control circuit is configured to output a second indication-control-signal to the connection-state alarm circuit (see normal operation prompts), when the control circuit detects that the voltage detection signal outputted by the voltage detecting circuit is greater than or equal to the preset voltage value, the connection-state alarm circuit is configured to signal an indication according to the second indication-control-signal, to indicate a corresponding work state.
With respect to claim 19 Suzhou teaches a load-reverse-connection control circuit (formed with U501/R509 see reverse polarity) in electrical connection with the load connecting end, the load-reverse-connection control circuit is configured to detect a connection state of the external load via the load connecting end (clamp +/-), and output a reverse-connection control signal (IN_Clamp) upon detecting that the external load is in reverse connection with the load connecting end, the reverse-connection control signal is for triggering an alarm or controlling the ON/OFF state of the switch circuit (JK1).
With respect to claim 20 Suzhou teaches the switch circuit comprises a first switch unit (JK1) and a switch control unit (Q601-2, R601-2), the first switch unit is electrically connected between the power connecting end and the load connecting end, is configured to conduct or disconnect the electrical connection between the power module and the external load; and the switch control unit is in electrical connection with the first switch unit and the control circuit (see connection with EN_R1-2), the switch control unit is configured to receive a switch control signal outputted by the control circuit and control the first switch unit according to the switch control signal (see controlling signals Q601-602 to control operation of JK1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-7, 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzhou Luck Power Electronics Technology Co Ltd. (CN 106505690B) in view of Shenzhen Carku Technology Co. Ltd. (CN 112366787)
With respect to claim 4 Suzhou teaches a triggering circuit (see for example EN_current_s) however does not detail the circuitry a trigger operation, the trigger signal is for controlling the voltage control circuit to output the voltage via the load connecting end. Shenzhen Carku teaches the use of a triggering circuit (82) is configured to output a trigger signal in response to a trigger operation (pressing operation), the trigger signal is for controlling the voltage control circuit to output the voltage via the load connecting end. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Suzhou to include the use of a trigger circuit for the benefit controlling the trigger operation at a desired time.
With respect to claim 5 Suzhou teaches a control circuit, wherein the control circuit is connected to the output triggering circuit (see for example EN_current_s), the voltage detecting circuit, and the switch circuit, the control circuit is configured to control an ON/OFF state of the switch circuit. Shenzhen Carku teaches the use of a triggering circuit (82) and according to the trigger signal and the voltage detection signal controlling a switching circuit. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Suzhou to include the use of a trigger circuit for the benefit controlling the trigger operation at a desired time.
With respect to claim 6 Suzhou teaches the control circuit is configured to output a second switch-control-signal (see EN_RL_1 and EN_RL_2) to control the switch circuit (JK1) to conduct the electrical connection between the power module and the external load. Shenzhen Carku teaches (see RELAY_EN2) when the trigger signal (key pressed) is received and the voltage detection signal outputted by the voltage detecting circuit is greater than or equal to a preset voltage value. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Suzhou to include the use of a trigger circuit for the benefit controlling the trigger operation at a desired time.
With respect to claim 7 Suzhou teaches the control circuit is further configured to output an ON-control signal (EN_Curr_S) according to the trigger signal, the voltage control circuit is configured to output the voltage via the load connecting end (see clamp connection) according to the ON-control signal (see test output at R503/D502).
With respect to claims 22 and 23 Suzhou teaches the jump start apparatus as detailed above in claim 1 however does not teach the use of a case or circuitry arranged therein. Shenzhen Carku teaches the known use of a case (see housing 201) and power module (202) and circuitry arranged therein. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Suzhou use of a case and module and circuitry with the case for the benefit protection and safety of the jump start circuitry.
Claims 1-3 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei et al. (US 20200295592) in view of Baxter et al. (US 2010/0283623)
With respect to claims 1-3 and 15 Lei teaches a device (see for example paragraph 0029) for connection detection, comprising:
a power connecting end (see connection with 11), configured to be electrically connected with a power module (11);
a load connecting end (see connection ends 12), configured to be electrically connected with an external load (battery electrical load connected via 21/22);
a switch circuit (14), electrically connected between (see Fig. 2) the power connecting end and the load connecting end; and
a voltage detecting circuit (13), in electrical connection with the load connecting end and configured to detect a voltage (paragraph 0030) of the load connecting end and output a corresponding voltage detection signal (see for example paragraph 0057-89), the voltage detection signal being configured to control an ON/OFF state of the switch circuit (see connection with switch module 14 to control operation Fig. 2-3). Lei does not teach the voltage control circuit, in electrical connection with the load connecting end and configured to output a voltage through the load connecting end. Baxter teaches the similar apparatus for connecting with a battery (paragraph 0005/0021) known use of a voltage control circuit (see test circuit 42 and detection circuit 48), in electrical connection with the load (battery to be charged) connecting end and configured to output a voltage through the load connecting end (see resulting voltage during controlled current testing, see paragraph 0042-44). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Lei to include the known use of a voltage control circuit with active test current for accurately measuring a deeply discharged battery (paragraph 0025-26, 40-44).
Claims 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei et al. (US 20200295592) in view of Baxter et al. (US 2010/0283623) in view of Shenzhen Carku Technology Co. Ltd. (CN 112366787)
With respect to claims 22 and 23 Lei as modified by Baxter teaches the jump start apparatus as detailed above in claim 1 however does not teach the use of a case or circuitry arranged therein. Shenzhen Carku teaches the known use of a case (see housing 201) and power module (202) and circuitry arranged therein. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Lei use of a case and module and circuitry with the case for the benefit protection and safety of the jump start circuitry.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 12 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and overcoming the above identified 112(b) issues.
With respect to claim 10 Suzhou teaches the control circuit and switch circuits however does the teach, wherein a control end of the first transistor is in electrical connection with a signal input end of the voltage control circuit, a first end of the first transistor is in electrical connection with a first grounded end, a second end of the first transistor is in electrical connection with a control end of the second transistor, a first end of the second transistor is in electrical connection with the voltage input end, and the first resistor is electrically connected between the control end of the second transistor and the first end of the second transistor. At least this further limitation is not taught or rendered obvious by the prior art of record.
With respect to claim 12 the voltage detecting circuit however does not teach a voltage division module, the voltage division module is configured to divide the voltage of the load connecting end to obtain the voltage detection signal; a clamping module, the clamping module is in electrical connection with a voltage source, a second grounded end, and an output end of the voltage division module, an output end of the clamping module is coupled with the voltage detection signal. At least this further limitation is not taught or rendered obvious by the prior art of record.
Conclusion
MICHAEL FIN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/MICHAEL R. FIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836