DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 15 December 2025 and 18 August 2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for crystalline thermoelectric magnetic bodies, does not reasonably provide enablement for non-crystalline, i.e., amorphous, thermoelectric magnetic bodies. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make or use thermoelectric magnetic bodies in the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
In the invention according to claim 1, it is not specified that the magnetic body has
a crystal structure. On the other hand, the detailed description of the invention of the present application describes the result of obtaining the internal stress from the X-ray diffraction on the premise of the crystal structure using the sin2 Ψ method (¶[0059]-¶[0061]). The method determines the internal stress in a polycrystalline thin film from the dependence of the crystal lattice strain with respect to the angle Ψ of the thin film. But, transverse thermoelectric magnetic materials exhibiting the anomalous Nernst effect include non-crystalline, amorphous materials, e.g., Sm-Co-based alloy films.1 The specification does not describe such amorphous films nor is it clear that X-ray diffraction methods would obtain internal stress values for films without a crystalline lattice. Thus, the scope of the claim includes magnetic bodies not disclosed by the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-9 & 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by A.Melo et al. (“Anomalous Nernst effect in stressed magneto-strictive film grown onto flexible substrate”, Scientific Reports, pp.1-12, 05 April 2019). 2
Regarding claim 1, Melo teaches a thermoelectric conversion element comprising:
a (flexible) substrate (e.g., Kapton®); and
a magnetic body (e.g., thermoelectric CoFeB film) disposed on the substrate and having ferromagnetism or antiferromagnetism (i.e., film exhibits anomalous Nernst effect; abstract; Figs.1a-1b&5).
Furthermore, in various experiments Melo modifies the external stress applied to the film---e.g., σ = 0 MPa, 700 MPa and 1400 MPa---and measures the magnetic response and thermoelectric voltage (Figs.4-5&8). While Melo does not explicitly teach the CoFeB alloy film has an internal stress of -2000 MPa or more and 900 MPa or less, this can be inferred for at least the σ = 0 MPa example. This is because it is generally known that a thin film’s internal stress is normally revealed by measuring the strain it induces. Various methods of measuring the strain are known, including measuring the deflection or curvature of substrates to which the films are attached. 3 Since Melo’s flexible substrate remains flat when no external stress is applied (i.e., σ = 0 MPa), this infers the internal stress of the thermoelectric CoFeB film is 0. Per MPEP 2131.03, a specific example in the prior art which is within a claimed range anticipates the range.
Regarding claim 2, the substrate has flexibility (e.g., Kapton®, p.5 & p.10).
Regarding claim 3, Kapton® comprises polyimide 4 which is a high-performance “organic polymer” material.
Regarding claim 4, the substrate has a linear expansion coefficient of 1.0×10-5/°C or more. 5
Regarding claim 5, the substrate has a thickness of 200 μm (0.2 mm) or less (tsub = 0.15 mm).
Regarding claim 6, the magnetic body has a thickness of 1000 nm or less (tf = 300 nm; p.10).
Regarding claim 8, the magnetic body generates an electromotive force (thermoelectric voltage) VANE in a direction orthogonal to a thickness (z) direction of the substrate when a temperature gradient ΔT occurs in the thickness (z) direction of the substrate (i.e., via the anomalous Nernst effect; abstract; pp.1-3; Figs.1a-1b).
Regarding claim 9, the magnetic body is capable of generating an electromotive force (thermoelectric voltage) VANE by an magneto-thermoelectric effect (i.e., via the anomalous Nernst effect; abstract; pp.1-4).
Regarding claim 14, the claimed method of measurement does not further structurally distinguish the apparatus, but to the extent it is given any weight, the Examiner takes official notice that X-ray diffraction according to a sin2 Ψ method is a well-known method for determining residual/intrinsic stress of thin films. 6, 7
Regarding claims 15-18, as noted above, at least for the case were no external stress is applied (i.e., σ = 0 MPa) the internal stress of Melo’s thermoelectric CoFeB film is 0. Per MPEP 2131.03, a specific example in the prior art which is within a claimed range anticipates the range.
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-10 & 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2) as anticipated by Nakatsuji et al. (US Pat.Pub. 2022/0246820.
Regarding claim 1, Nakatsuji teaches a thermoelectric conversion element comprising:
a substrate 22; and
a magnetic body (thermoelectric conversion element exhibiting anomalous Nernst effect) 24 disposed on the substrate and having ferromagnetism or antiferromagnetism (e.g., Fe3X; abstract).
Nakatsuji does not explicitly teach the magnetic body has an internal stress of -2000 MPa or more and 900 MPa or less.
But, Nakatsuji inherently reads on the claimed range for two reasons.
First, the meandering pattern of the thermoelectric elements (Figs.7-8) inherently minimizes the formation of internal stress. For instance, Stark (US Pat.Pub.2011/0094556) teaches a thermoelectric generator and method of fabrication which minimizes the formation of internal stresses in the thermoelectric legs 26 deposited on substrate 20 by using a meandering pattern (¶[0020]; ¶[0039]-¶[0040]; Fig.2). The meandering pattern provides a means for minimizing internal stresses in thin films formed on the substrate by providing a large number of changes in the lateral orientation of the legs within a relatively short distance along the substrate (¶[0020]). This allows for absorption of such stresses by the relatively short length of the thermoelectric legs as well as by the constantly changing lateral orientation of the thermoelectric legs (¶[0040]).
Second, it is reasonable to infer that a minimization of internal stress inherently provided by Nakatsuji’s meandering pattern corresponds to compressive and tensile stress values that fall into or overlap the claimed range since “minimal” stresses necessarily imply low absolute values of stress. Per MPEP 2131.03, prior art which teaches a range overlapping or touching the claimed range anticipates the range if it discloses the claimed range with sufficient specificity.
Regarding claim 2, Nakatsuji’s substrate, e.g., PET and polyimide, (¶[0144]) has inherent “flexibility”.
Regarding claim 3, Nakatsuji’s PET or polyimide substrate comprises at least an organic polymer (inherent to PET or polyimide).
Regarding claim 4, Nakatsuji’s PET or polyimide inherently has a linear expansion coefficient of 1.0 x 10-5/°C since it is the same material of Table 1.
Regarding claim 6, Nakatsuji’s body 24 has a thickness of 1000 nm or less (Table 1).
Regarding claims 8-10, Nakatsuji’s thermoelectric generator generates an electromotive force in a direction orthogonal to a thickness (z) direction of the substrate when a temperature gradient occurs in the thickness (x) direction of the substrate (Figs.2&26), is capable of generating an electromotive force by an magneto-thermoelectric (i.e., Nernst) effect (abstract), comprises a conductive path comprising the magnetic body, the conductive path forming a meander pattern (Fig.7).
Regarding claims 12-13, Nakatsuji’s magnetic body contains a substance having a composition represented by Fe3X, where X is a typical element or a transition element (abstract), and wherein the substrate comprises at least an organic polymer (i.e., PET or polyimide; ¶[0144]).
Regarding claim 14, the claimed method of measurement does not further structurally distinguish the apparatus, but to the extent it is given any weight, the Examiner takes official notice that X-ray diffraction according to a sin2 Ψ method is a well-known method for determining residual/intrinsic stress of thin films. 8, 9
Regarding claims 15-18, as noted above, it is reasonable to infer that a minimization of internal stress corresponds to compressive and tensile stress values that fall into or overlap the claimed range since “minimal” stresses necessarily imply low absolute values of stress. Per MPEP 2131.03, prior art which teaches a range overlapping or touching the claimed range anticipates the range if it discloses the claimed range with sufficient specificity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 & 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Melo further in view of Sakuraba et al. (JP 2014-072256). 10
Melo does not teach the magnetic body has a width of 500 μm or less (claim 7) or a conductive path comprising the magnetic body, the conductive path forming a meander pattern (claim 10).
But, Sakuraba teaches a thermoelectric generation device 10 having excellent thermoelectric conversion efficiency which can be manufactured comparatively easily and whose structure can be made fine comprising a substrate 11 and a magnetic body (thin wire made of ferromagnetic material exhibiting anomalous Nernst effect) 12a disposed on the substrate and having ferromagnetism or antiferromagnetism, a conductive path (including fine wire connection bodies 13) comprising the magnetic body, the conductive path forming a meander pattern (English translation, abstract; ¶[0017]-¶[0020]; ¶[0024]-¶[0029]; Figs.2a-2b). Also, the width of the magnetic body/thin wires 12a are reduced to several tens of nanometers to realize a large voltage in a small area (¶[0028]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to configure Melo’s thermoelectric conversion element with a magnetic body has a width of 500 μm and a conductive path comprising the magnetic body, the conductive path forming a meander pattern, since Sakuraba teaches this configuration would have provided excellent thermoelectric conversion efficiency, easy manufacture and a fine structure that realizes a large voltage in a small area.
Claims 7 & 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakatsuji further in view of Sakuraba.
Nakatsuji does not teach the magnetic body has a width of 500 μm or less.
But, Sakuraba teaches a thermoelectric generation device 10 having excellent thermoelectric conversion efficiency which can be manufactured comparatively easily and whose structure can be made fine comprising a substrate 11 and a magnetic body (thin wire made of ferromagnetic material exhibiting anomalous Nernst effect) 12a disposed on the substrate and having ferromagnetism or antiferromagnetism, a conductive path (including fine wire connection bodies 13) comprising the magnetic body, the conductive path forming a meander pattern (English translation, abstract; ¶[0017]-¶[0020]; ¶[0024]-¶[0029]; Figs.2a-2b). The width of the magnetic body/thin wires 12a are reduced to several tens of nanometers to realize a large voltage in a small area (¶[0028]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to configure the thermoelectric conversion element magnetic body of Nakatsuji with a width of 500 μm since Sakuraba teaches this configuration would have provided a fine structure that realizes a large voltage in a small area.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Melo further in view of Nakatsuji.
Melo does not teach a conductive path comprising the magnetic body, the conductive path forming a meander pattern.
But, Nakatsuji teaches a thin-film thermoelectric conversion device comprising a substrate 22A and a magnetic body (thermoelectric conversion elements having Nernst coefficients) 1A disposed on the substrate and having ferromagnetism or antiferromagnetism, a conductive path (including wiring 26) comprising the magnetic body 1A, the conductive path forming a meander pattern (Fig.8). When heat flows in direction z, the device exhibits the anomalous Nernst effect and power is generated (abstract; ¶[0008]; ¶[0089]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to configure Melo’s thermoelectric conversion element with a conductive path comprising the magnetic body, the conductive path forming a meander pattern, since Nakatsuji teaches this configuration would have been desirable in thin-film thermoelectric conversion devices to generate power from the anomalous Nernst effect.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Melo further in view of A.Sakai et al. (“ Iron-based binary ferromagnets for transverse thermoelectric conversion” Nature 581, 53–57, (2020)).
Regarding claim 12, Melo’s magnetic body is on an organic polymer substrate (Kapton), but the specific CoFeB thin film does not “contai[n] a substance having a composition represented by Fe3X, where X is a typical element or a transition element”.
But, Sakai teaches a transverse thermoelectric conversion element using the anomalous Nernst effect comprising a flexible substrate and a magnetic body disposed on the substrate having ferromagnetism or antiferromagnetism (e.g., iron-based cubic compounds Fe3X where X is Ga or Al; abstract, pp.52-54; Fig.1a). Iron-based cubic compounds exhibit a large spontaneous transverse thermoelectric effect and are suitable for designing low-cost, flexible thin-film form micro-thermoelectric generators (abstract; pp.53&56).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to modify Melo and use a magnetic body containing a substance having a composition represented by Fe3X, where X is a typical element or a transition element since Sakai teaches iron-based cubic compounds exhibit a large spontaneous transverse thermoelectric effect and would have been suitable for designing low-cost, flexible thin-film form micro-thermoelectric generators.
Regarding claim 13 Sakai teaches iron-based cubic compounds Fe3X where X is Ga or Al.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BURTON S MULLINS whose telephone number is (571)272-2029. The examiner can normally be reached 9-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/BURTON S MULLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834
1 Modak et al."Sm-Co-based amorphous alloy films for zero-field operation of transverse thermoelectric generation" Science and Technology of Advanced Materials, 23(1), Abstract.
2 Cited in 15 July 2025 IDS.
3 M.Ohring “The Materials Science of Thin Films”, Chapter 12, Mechanical Properties of Thin Films, p.735.
4 DuPont™ Kapton® HN Polyimide Film.
5 Ibid., Table 2.
6 P.Prevey (“X-Ray Diffraction Residual Stress Techniques”; Metals Handbook, 10 Metals Park: American Society for Metals, 1986, 380-392).
7 Malhotra et al. ("Analysis of thin film stress measurement techniques" Thin Solid Films, Vol.301, Issues 1–2, 1997, pp.45-54).
8 P.Prevey (“X-Ray Diffraction Residual Stress Techniques”; Metals Handbook, 10 Metals Park: American Society for Metals, 1986, 380-392).
9 Malhotra et al. ("Analysis of thin film stress measurement techniques" Thin Solid Films, Vol.301, Issues 1–2, 1997, pp.45-54).
10 Cited in 05 February 2014 IDS.