DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
2 This instant Office Action is in response to Amendment filed on 4/15/2026.
3. This Office Action is made Final.
4. Claims 21-23 were previously cancelled.
5. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant's arguments filed on 4/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
A. Applicant argues on page 2 of remarks, that “Venugopal at best discloses that the TCI configuration received by the UE from the base station includes an indication of a TCI state pool to use across different CCs of a configured CC list. At most, Venugopal teaches configuring a common TCI pool for multiple CCs, but fails to teach configuring a TCI state pool for each candidate reference carrier individually”
Examiner Response:
The Examiner first emphasizes for the record that the claims employ a broader in scope than the Applicant's disclosure in all aspects. Since the claims breadth allows multiple interpretations and meanings, which are broader than Applicant's disclosure the Examiner is required to interpret the claim limitations in terms of their broadest reasonable interpretations while determining patentability of the disclosed invention. See MPEP 2111.
As cited in the non-final office action, Section [0060] states The TCI configuration include an indication of a TCI state identifier of the common TCI pool; UE check the beam indication of the corresponding TCI state, the reference signal identifiers in corresponding to the TCI pool, and determine to use the reference signal identifiers in a per CC configuration of configured CCs; and Section [0065] The UE determine a set of reference signal identifiers per CC of the set of CCs associated with the TCI pool common; set of reference signal identifiers per CC of the set of CCs. In addition, Section [0016] states the UE may use the configured TCI state pool for each CC of a set of CCs; Section [0047] Beamforming referred to as directional transmission/ reception, is a signal processing technique used at a UE; UE determine based on the TCI configuration, a TCI pool for set of CCs and then the UE perform beamformed wireless communication via a directional beam based on the TCI pool for the TCI state type and the set of CCs.
Based on the above citations, it is evident that the TCI state pool corresponds to the reference signal identifiers per CC (i.e. reference CC) of the set of CCs (i.e. carrier list) and they are associated with TCI pool common. If a TCI state pool is configured for each CC (carriers) in the set it implicitly and explicitly means that it includes each reference carriers because the reference carriers are within that set. Additionally, the UE communicates with the base station via directional beam based on the TCI pool for the set of CCs.
Moreover, Applicant admits that Venugopal discloses the TCI configuration received by the UE from the base station includes an indication of a TCI state pool to use across different CCs of a configured CC list and configuring a common TCI pool for multiple CCs. The reference candidate carriers are the CCs associated with the reference signals identifiers as cited in Venugopal that the UE can use in the communication system. Hence, it is evident that the argued limitation is explicitly or implicit taught by Venugopal.
B. Applicant argues that as recited in claim 1, the prior art, Venugopal does not disclose “determining the beam direction for all carriers in the carrier list”
Examiner Response:
It is imperative to note that claim 1 recites “determining, based on the TCI state indicated by the common TCI state index, a beam direction for channel transmission and/or reference signal transmission on each carrier in the carrier list” As explicitly recited in the claim 1, a beam direction for channel transmission is determined based on TCI state or common TCI state index. Also, the claim recites the alternative language “and/or” between determining beam direction and the determining reference signal on each carrier which indicates that either one of the two options can be selected.
In other words, the claim 1 does not recite “determining the beam direction for all carriers in the carrier list” as argued. If the Applicant believes that the phrase is pertinent to the claimed subject matter then the Applicant should amend the claims to recite said argued limitation.
A particular embodiment may not be read into a claim when the claim language is broader than the embodiment; see: MPEP 2111.01(II) (citing Superguide Corp. v. DirecTV Enterprises, 69 USPQ2d 1865, 1868 (Fed. Cir. 2004)). Hence, the arguments are moot in light of the reasons above.
In summary, Venugopal anticipates the argued claim limitation implicitly and explicitly as evident in the prior art and Applicant’s admission. The argument is not commensurate in scope with the claim, and the argument is not considered to be persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Venugopal et al. US 20220224459 hereafter Venugopal.
As to Claim 1. (Original) Venugopal discloses a beam indication method, performed by a terminal [i.e. UE/User Equipment], wherein the method comprises [Sections 0004, 0015: The UE receive a TCI state identifier of the common TCI pool, and UE check a beam indication. A base station transmit, to the UE, a beam indication that informs the UE of particular downlink beamformed transmission]:
receiving a first configuration of each candidate reference carrier [i.e. Component Carriers-CCs or cells] in a carrier list [i.e. CC list; Section 0061: The configured CCs based on a configured CC list, which the UE receive from the base station], wherein the first configuration comprises a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state pool configured for each [Section 0016: The UE use the configured TCI state pool for each CC of a set of CC] candidate reference carrier [Figs. 2-3, Sections 0002, 0059, 0060: The following relates to transmission configuration indicator (TCI) pool across multiple component carriers-CCs (i.e. reference carriers). The UE receive, from the base station a TCI configuration in RRC signaling or DCI signaling; the TCI configuration include indication of a TCI state pool to use across different CCs of configured CC list. The TCI configuration include an indication of a TCI state identifier of the common TCI pool; UE check the beam indication of the corresponding TCI state, the reference signal identifiers in corresponding to the TCI pool, and determine to use the reference signal identifiers in a per CC configuration of configured CC];
determining a reference carrier from the candidate reference carrier [Fig. 14, Sections 0060-0061, 0065: The UE determine to use reference signal identifiers in a per CC configuration of configured CCs to receive/transmit beam-205 determination. The UE use particular CC to determine receive and transmit spatial filters. The UE determine a set of reference signal identifiers per CC of the set of CCs associated with the TCI pool common; set of reference signal identifiers per CC of the set of CCs, UE determine a reference CC of the set of CCs];
receiving a common TCI state index [Section 0060: The TCI configuration include an indication of a TCI state identifier (i.e. index) of the common TCI pool] from a base station, wherein the common TCI state index is used to indicate a TCI state in a TCI state pool corresponding to the reference carrier [Sections 0064-0065, 0141: The UE receive a message from the base station, an indication of a TCI state identifier (i.e. index) associated with the TCI pool common to the set of TCI state; the UE determine, a TCI pool for a TCI state and a set of CCs correspond to a configured CC list. The UE determine a set of reference signal identifiers per CC of the set of CCs based on the received indication of the TCI state identifier associated with the TCI pool common. The method of aspect 1, wherein the TCI pool for the TCI state type is common for the set of CCs];
and determining, based on the TCI state indicated by the common TCI state index, a beam direction for channel transmission and/or reference signal transmission on each carrier in the carrier list [Fig. 12-13, Sections 0047, 0060, 0165: The UE perform beamformed wireless communication (i.e. channel transmission/receiving) via a directional beam based on the TCI pool and the set of CCs (i.e. carriers). The UE check the beam indication of the corresponding TCI state and the reference signal identifiers in the TCI state pool, in order to receive or transmit (i.e. channel transmission/receiving) and determine to use reference signal identifiers in a per CC configuration of configured CCs. The set of CCs corresponds to a configured CC list].
As to Claim 2. (Original) Venugopal discloses the beam indication method according to claim 1 [Sections 0015: A base station transmit, to the UE, a beam indication that informs the UE of particular downlink beamformed transmission], wherein the determining the reference carrier [i.e. Component Carriers-CCs or cells] from the candidate reference carrier comprises [Fig. 14, Sections 0060, 0065: The UE determine to use reference signal identifiers in a per CC configuration of configured CCs to receive/transmit beam-205 determination. The UE determine a reference CC of the set of CCs]:
receiving a second configuration [i.e. Type A or Type D reference signal configuration or RRC Message; Section 0060: A type-A reference signal configuration for the UE to determine to use reference signal identifiers (i.e. index) on a reference CC; or an example of a type-D reference signal configuration] of each carrier in the carrier list other than the candidate reference carrier [Sections 0016, 0065, 0087: The multiple CCs may be a configured CC list. The UE determine a set of reference signals based on the set of reference signal identifiers per CC of the set of CCs. The configuration reception component configured means for receiving the indication in an RRC message, a DCI message, or a MAC-CE message for determining a set of reference signal identifiers per CC of the set of CCs];
wherein the second configuration comprises [Section 0060] a carrier index used for indicating the reference carrier; and determining the reference carrier from the candidate reference carrier according to the carrier index [Sections 0087, 0088: The configuration reception component configured means for receiving the indication in an RRC message for determining a set of reference signal identifiers (i.e. index) per CC of the set of CCs. The reference signal component configured as means for determining a set of reference signals based on the set of reference signal identifiers (i.e. index) per CC of the set of CCs].
As to Claim 3. (Original) Venugopal discloses the beam indication method according to claim 1, further comprising [Sections 0015: A base station transmit, to the UE, a beam indication that informs the UE of particular downlink beamformed transmission]:
receiving a plurality of carrier [i.e. Component Carriers-CCs or cells] lists [Sections 0016, 0024: The multiple CCs may be a configured CC list. A UE configured with multiple downlink CCs and one or more uplink CCs] indicated by a first signaling [i.e. RRC, DCI, MAC] from the base station, wherein one of the carrier lists is configured with one reference carrier [Sections 0059-0060, 0064: UE receive from base station, RRC signaling or DCI, the specific different CCs may be a configured (per) CC list and TCI state type include at least a joint uplink and downlink TCI indicated in the received TCI configuration. Either case the reference signals on a configured CC may be applied separately or jointly for different reference signals. The set of CCs correspond to a configured CC list. The TCI state may identify the configured CC list. Note: The UE is configured with plurality/multiple carrier lists such as at least one downlink CC/carrier list, and one or more uplink CC/carrier lists (as disclosed in 0016, 0024)].
As to Claim 4. (Original) Venugopal discloses the beam indication method according to claim 1 [Sections 0015: A base station transmit, to the UE, a beam indication that informs the UE of particular downlink beamformed transmission], wherein the determining the reference carrier [i.e. Component Carriers-CCs or cells] from the candidate reference carrier comprises [Fig. 14, Sections 0060, 0065: The UE determine to use reference signal identifiers in a per CC configuration of configured CCs to receive/transmit beam-205 determination. The UE determine a reference CC of the set of CCs]:
receiving a second signaling transmitted by the base station and used to activate a TCI state, wherein the second signaling carries an index indication, and determining the reference carrier from the candidate reference carrier according to the index indication; or receiving a third signaling transmitted by the base station and used to indicate a TCI state in activated TCI states, wherein the third signaling carries an index indication, and determining the reference carrier from the candidate reference carrier according to the index indication [NOTE: The limitations recited above is separated by the phrase “or” which suggest a choice can be selected; Sections 0061, 0088: The UE receive, a DCI field of a DCI message a TCI state identifier (index) activation/update message that carry cell identifier (index) or BWP identifier where the indication is applied and on the respective CC. The reference signal component configured as means for determining a set of reference signals based on the set of reference signal identifiers (i.e. index) per CC of the set of CCs].
As to Claim 5. (Original) Venugopal discloses the beam indication method according to claim 1 [Sections 0015: A base station transmit, to the UE, a beam indication that informs the UE of particular downlink beamformed transmission], wherein the determining the reference carrier [i.e. Component Carriers-CCs or cells] from the candidate reference carrier comprises [Fig. 14, Sections 0060, 0065: The UE determine to use reference signal identifiers in a per CC configuration of configured CCs to receive/transmit beam-205 determination. The UE determine a reference CC of the set of CCs]:
reporting an index indication to the base station; and determining the reference carrier from the candidate reference carrier according to the index indication [Sections 0046, 0050, 0088: The UEs use MIMO communications in which each of the multiple signals carry bits and different antenna ports used for channel reporting. The UE report to the base station an indication of the signal received. The reference signal component configured as means for determining a set of reference signals based on the set of reference signal identifiers (i.e. index) per CC of the set of CCs].
As to Claim 6. (Original) Venugopal discloses a beam indication method, performed by a base station, wherein the method comprises [Sections 0015: A base station transmit, to the UE, a beam indication that informs the UE of particular downlink beamformed transmission]:
transmitting a first configuration of each candidate reference carrier [i.e. Component Carriers-CCs or cells] in a corresponding carrier list to a terminal [i.e. CC list; Section 0061: The configured CCs based on a configured CC list, which the UE (i.e. terminal) receive from the base station], wherein the first configuration comprises a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state pool configured for each candidate reference carrier [Figs. 2-3, Sections 0002, 0059, 0060: The following relates to transmission configuration indicator (TCI) pool across multiple component carriers-CCs (i.e. reference carriers). The UE receive, from the base station a TCI configuration in RRC signaling or DCI signaling; the TCI configuration include indication of a TCI state pool to use across different CCs of configured CC list. The UE determine to use reference signal identifiers in a per CC configuration of configured CCs];
determining a reference carrier from the candidate reference carrier [Fig. 14, Sections 0060-0061, 0065: The UE determine to use reference signal identifiers in a per CC configuration of configured CCs to receive/transmit beam-205 determination. The UE use particular CC to determine receive and transmit spatial filters. The UE determine a reference CC of the set of CCs];
transmitting a common TCI state index [Section 0060: The TCI configuration include an indication of a TCI state identifier (i.e. index) of the common TCI pool] to the terminal, wherein the common TCI state index is used to indicate a TCI state in a TCI state pool corresponding to the reference carrier [Sections 0064-0065, 0141: The UE receive a message from the base station, an indication of a TCI state identifier (i.e. index) associated with the TCI pool common to the set of TCI state; the UE determine, a TCI pool for a TCI state and a set of CCs correspond to a configured CC list. The UE determine a set of reference signal identifiers per CC of the set of CCs based on the received indication of the TCI state identifier associated with the TCI pool common. The method of aspect 1, wherein the TCI pool for the TCI state type is common for the set of CCs];
and determining, based on the TCI state indicated by the common TCI state index, a beam direction for channel transmission and/or reference signal transmission on each carrier in the carrier list [Fig. 12-13, Sections 0047, 0060, 0165: The UE perform beamformed wireless communication (i.e. channel transmission/receiving) via a directional beam based on the TCI pool and the set of CCs (i.e. carriers). The UE check the beam indication of the corresponding TCI state and the reference signal identifiers in the TCI state pool, in order to receive or transmit (i.e. channel transmission/receiving) and determine to use reference signal identifiers in a per CC configuration of configured CCs. The set of CCs corresponds to a configured CC list].
As to Claim 7. (Original) The beam indication method according to claim 6, wherein the determining the reference carrier from the candidate reference carrier comprises: transmitting, to the terminal, a second configuration of each carrier in the corresponding carrier list other than the candidate reference carrier, wherein the second configuration comprises a carrier index used for indicating the reference carrier; and determining the reference carrier from the candidate reference carrier according to the carrier index [See Claim 2 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 8. (Original) The beam indication method according to claim 6, further comprising: indicating, to the terminal, a plurality of carrier lists through a first signaling, wherein one of the carrier lists is configured with one reference carrier [See Claim 3 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 9. (Original) The beam indication method according to claim 6, wherein the determining the reference carrier from the candidate reference carrier comprises: transmitting, to the terminal, a second signaling used to activate a TCI state, wherein the second signaling carries an index indication, and determining the reference carrier from the candidate reference carrier according to the index indication; or transmitting, to the terminal, a third signaling used to indicate a TCI state in activated TCI states, wherein the third signaling carries an index indication, and determining the reference carrier from the candidate reference carrier according to the index indication [See Claim 4 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 10. (Original) The beam indication method according to claim 6, wherein the determining the reference carrier from the candidate reference carrier comprises: receiving an index indication reported by the terminal; and determining the reference carrier from the candidate reference carrier according to the index indication [See Claim 5 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 11. (Original) Venugopal discloses a terminal [i.e. UE/User Equipment], comprising a memory [Memory-730], a transceiver [Transceiver-715] and a processor [Processor-740], wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program; the transceiver is configured to transmit and receive data under control of the processor; and the processor is configured to read the computer program in the memory to perform the following operations [Fig. 7, Sections 0090, 0093, 0094: A device-705 is UE-115 that includes a transceiver, a memory, and a processor 740. The memory store computer-readable, computer-executable code including instructions that, when executed by the processor, code may be stored in a non-transitory computer-readable medium such as system memory. The processor configured to operate a memory array using a memory controller integrated into the processor]:
receiving a first configuration of each candidate reference carrier [i.e. Component Carriers-CCs or cells] in a carrier list [i.e. CC list; Section 0061: The configured CCs based on a configured CC list, which the UE receive from the base station], wherein the first configuration comprises a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state pool configured for each [Section 0016: The UE may use the configured TCI state pool for each CC of a set of CC] candidate reference carrier [Figs. 2-3, Sections 0002, 0059, 0060: The following relates to transmission configuration indicator (TCI) pool across multiple component carriers-CCs (i.e. reference carriers). The UE receive, from the base station a TCI configuration in RRC signaling or DCI signaling; the TCI configuration include indication of a TCI state pool to use across different CCs of configured CC list. The TCI configuration include an indication of a TCI state identifier of the common TCI pool; UE check the beam indication of the corresponding TCI state, the reference signal identifiers in corresponding to the TCI pool, and determine to use the reference signal identifiers in a per CC configuration of configured CC];
determining a reference carrier from the candidate reference carrier [Fig. 14, Sections 0060-0061, 0065: The UE determine to use reference signal identifiers in a per CC configuration of configured CCs to receive/transmit beam-205 determination. The UE use particular CC to determine receive and transmit spatial filters. The UE determine a set of reference signal identifiers per CC of the set of CCs associated with the TCI pool common; set of reference signal identifiers per CC of the set of CCs, UE determine a reference CC of the set of CCs];
receiving a common TCI state index [Section 0060: The TCI configuration include an indication of a TCI state identifier (i.e. index) of the common TCI pool] from a base station, wherein the common TCI state index is used to indicate a TCI state in a TCI state pool corresponding to the reference carrier [Sections 0064-0065, 0141: The UE receive a message from the base station, an indication of a TCI state identifier (i.e. index) associated with the TCI pool common to the set of TCI state; the UE determine, a TCI pool for a TCI state and a set of CCs correspond to a configured CC list. The UE determine a set of reference signal identifiers per CC of the set of CCs based on the received indication of the TCI state identifier associated with the TCI pool common. The method of aspect 1, wherein the TCI pool for the TCI state type is common for the set of CCs];
and determining, based on the TCI state indicated by the common TCI state index, a beam direction for channel transmission and/or reference signal transmission on each carrier in the carrier list [Fig. 12-13, Sections 0047, 0060, 0165: The UE perform beamformed wireless communication (i.e. channel transmission/receiving) via a directional beam based on the TCI pool and the set of CCs (i.e. carriers). The UE check the beam indication of the corresponding TCI state and the reference signal identifiers in the TCI state pool, in order to receive or transmit (i.e. channel transmission/receiving) and determine to use reference signal identifiers in a per CC configuration of configured CCs. The set of CCs corresponds to a configured CC list].
As to Claim 12. (Original) The terminal according to claim 11, wherein the determining the reference carrier from the candidate reference carrier comprises: receiving a second configuration of each carrier in the carrier list other than the candidate reference carrier, wherein the second configuration comprises a carrier index used for indicating the reference carrier; and determining the reference carrier from the candidate reference carrier according to the carrier index [See Claim 2 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 13. (Original) The terminal according to claim 11, wherein the processor is further configured to read the computer program to perform following: receiving a plurality of carrier lists indicated by a first signaling from the base station, wherein one of the carrier lists is configured with one reference carrier [See Claim 3 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 14. (Original) The terminal according to claim 11, wherein the determining the reference carrier from the candidate reference carrier comprises: receiving a second signaling transmitted by the base station and used to activate a TCI state, wherein the second signaling carries an index indication, and determining the reference carrier from the candidate reference carrier according to the index indication; or receiving a third signaling transmitted by the base station and used to indicate a TCI state in activated TCI states, wherein the third signaling carries an index indication, and determining the reference carrier from the candidate reference carrier according to the index indication [See Claim 4 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 15. (Original) The terminal according to claim 11, wherein the determining the reference carrier from the candidate reference carrier comprises: reporting an index indication to the base station; and determining the reference carrier from the candidate reference carrier
according to the index indication [See Claim 5 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 16. (Currently amended) Venugopal discloses a base station, comprising a memory, a transceiver and a processor, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program; the transceiver is configured to transmit and receive data under control of the processor;
and the processor is configured to read the computer program in the memory to perform the beam indication method [Fig. 8, Sections 0097, 0099, 0101: FIG. 8 shows device-805 that include a receiver/transmitter that include a processor. The transmitter may be co-located with a receiver in a transceiver module and utilize antenna set of multiple antennas. A processor and memory coupled with the processor configured to perform one or more of the functions described by executing, by the processor, instructions stored in the memory] according to claim 6 [See Claim 6 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 17. (Original) The base station according to claim 16, wherein the determining the reference carrier from the candidate reference carrier comprises: transmitting, to the terminal, a second configuration of each carrier in the corresponding carrier list other than the candidate reference carrier, wherein the second configuration comprises a carrier index used for indicating the reference carrier; and determining the reference carrier from the candidate reference carrier according to the carrier index [See Claim 2 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 18. (Original) The base station according to claim 16, wherein the processor is further configured to read the computer program to perform following: indicating, to the terminal, a plurality of carrier lists through a first signaling, wherein one of the carrier lists is configured with one reference carrier [See Claim 3 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 19. (Original) The base station according to claim 16, wherein the determining the reference carrier from the candidate reference carrier comprises: transmitting, to the terminal, a second signaling used to activate a TCI state, wherein the second signaling carries an index indication, and determining the reference carrier from the candidate reference carrier according to the index indication; Or transmitting, to the terminal, a third signaling used to indicate a TCI state in activated TCI states, wherein the third signaling carries an index indication, and determining the reference carrier from the candidate reference carrier according to the index indication [See Claim 4 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 20. (Original) The base station according to claim 16, wherein the determining the reference carrier from the candidate reference carrier comprises: receiving an index indication reported by the terminal; and determining the reference carrier from the candidate reference carrier according to the index indication [See Claim 5 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Zhou et al. US 20230300604. Furthermore, each additional prior arts cited on PTO-892 but not applied in rejection contains a disclosed description related to the claimed subject matter found either in the Figures, description summary and/or disclosure.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
June 24, 2026
/JAEL M ULYSSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477