Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 10-2021-0103482, filed on 5 August 2021 AD.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 5 February 2024 AD and 21 August 2025 AD were filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 7 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7:
The word “base” needs to be changed to “based”.
Claim 9:
The word “include” needs to be changed to “includes”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 1, 11, and 13, the claims describe,
“at least one of a first unicast physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) or a first multicast PDSCH, based on a first quasi co-located (QCL) reference signal (RS);… …at least one of a second unicast PDSCH or a second multicast PDSCH, based on a second QCL RS;”
In other words, a first unicast PDSCH or a first multicast PDSCH and a second unicast PDSCH or a second multicast PDSCH must be present. The statement may be true if only a first unicast PDSCH or a first multicast PDSCH is present and a second unicast PDSCH or a second multicast PDSCH is present. However, in the wherein clause, the limitation requires all four PDSCHs including the first unicast PDSCH, the first multicast PDSCH, the second unicast PDSCH, and the second multicast PDSCH to be included in the HARQ-ACK information. The requirement of all four PDSCHs indicates all four PDSCH need to be present in the preceding limitations of the claims. Please rewrite the claims to be consistent in requiring all four PDSCHs to be present in the
“at least one of a first unicast physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) or a first multicast PDSCH, based on a first quasi co-located (QCL) reference signal (RS);… …at least one of a second unicast PDSCH or a second multicast PDSCH, based on a second QCL RS;”
limitations or rewrite the wherein clause to require the first unicast PDSCH or the first multicast PDSCH and the second unicast PDSCH or the second multicast PDSCH in the HARQ-ACK information as described in the above quote from claims 1, 11, and 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babaei (US 20220312318 A1) in view of Noh et al. (US 20200328849 A1) or Noh.
Claim 1
Babaei teaches,
A method for performing uplink transmission by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving at least one of a first unicast physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) or a first multicast PDSCH, based on a first quasi co-located (QCL) reference signal (RS);
receiving at least one of a second unicast PDSCH or a second multicast PDSCH, based on a second QCL RS; and
(See Babaei paragraph 0124, ...the following cases for simultaneous reception of unicast PDSCH and group-common PDSCH in a slot based on UE capability for RRC_CONNECTED UEs. In an example, TDM between multiple TDMed unicast PDSCHs and one group-common PDSCH may be used in a slot. In an example, TDM among multiple group-common PDSCHs in a slot may be used. In an example, TDM between multiple TDMed unicast PDSCHs and multiple TDMed group-common PDSCHs in a slot may be used.)
Shows the reception of multiple unicast PDSCHs and multiple group-common or multicast PDSCHs by a UE
(See Babaei paragraph 0100, ...the UE may be configured with a list of up to M TCI-State configurations, using Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) configuration parameters, to decode PDSCH according to a detected PDCCH with DCI intended for the UE and the given serving cell, where M may depends on the UE capability. Each TCI-State may contain parameters for configuring a QCL relationship between one or two downlink reference signals and the DM-RS ports of the PDSCH,...)
Shows each PDSCH containing a QCL relationship between one or two downlink reference signals and the DM-RS ports of the PDSCH
transmitting hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ)-acknowledgement (ACK) information through one or more physical uplink control channels (PUCCHs),
(See Babaei paragraph 0127, ...for ACK/NACK based HARQ-ACK feedback for multicast, from per UE perspective, UE may feedback ACK or NACK. From UEs within the group perspective, PUCCH resource configuration for ACK/NACK feedback may be shared or separate PUCCH resources.)
Shows transmitting HARQ-ACK from the UE by feeding back ACK on shared or separate PUCCH resources
wherein the HARQ-ACK information includes… …determined based on the first unicast PDSCH, the first multicast PDSCH, the second unicast PDSCH, and the second multicast PDSCH.
(See Babaei paragraph 0153, ...for ACK/NACK based feedback if used for multicast, construction of Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebook based on the union of the PDSCH TDRA sets of the unicast service and the multicast service...)
Shows the determination of HARQ-ACK codebook based on unicast and multicast PDSCH
However, Babaei fails to explicitly teach,
…a first sub HARQ-ACK codebook and a second sub HARQ-ACK codebook…
Nevertheless, Noh, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…a first sub HARQ-ACK codebook and a second sub HARQ-ACK codebook…
(See Noh paragraph 0241, ...the terminal configures a HARQ-ACK codebook 14-70 with the HARQ-ACK feedback bits corresponding to the PDSCHs 14-55, 14-60, and 14-65 transmitted in the respective cells, TRPs, and or beams. In this case, the terminal may multiplex the HARQ-ACK codebooks corresponding to the TRPs into the single HARQ-ACK codebook 14-70 and transmit the PUCCH 14-85 and 14-90 carrying the HARQ-ACK codebook 14-70 to all of the TRPs on the PUCCH resources...)
Shows the HARQ-ACK information includes multiple HARQ-ACK codebooks corresponding to different PDSCHs
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the a user equipment or UE receiving at least one first unicast physical downlink shared channel or PDSCH or a first multicast PDSCH based on a quasi co-located or QCL reference signal or RS, receiving at least one second unicast PDSCH or multicast PDSCH based on a second QCL RS, transmitting hybrid automatic repeat request or HARQ acknowledgement or ACK information through at least one physical uplink control channels or PUCCHs with the HARQ-ACK being determined based on unicast and multicast PDSCH as disclosed by Babaei with the HARQ-ACK information including a first and second sub HARQ-ACK codebook as disclosed by Noh to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the number of transmission required by the UE to transmit HARQ-ACK information to the base station).
Claim 11
Babaei teaches,
A user equipment (UE) of performing uplink transmission in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising:
at least one transceiver for transmitting and receiving a wireless signal; and…
(See Babaei paragraph 0102, ...the transceiver 1520 may represent a wireless transceiver at the UE and may communicate bi-directionally with the wireless transceiver at the base station or vice versa.)
…receive at least one of a first unicast physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) or a first multicast PDSCH, based on a first quasi co-located (QCL) reference signal (RS);
receive at least one of a second unicast PDSCH or a second multicast PDSCH, based on a second QCL RS; and
(See Babaei paragraph 0124, ...the following cases for simultaneous reception of unicast PDSCH and group-common PDSCH in a slot based on UE capability for RRC_CONNECTED UEs. In an example, TDM between multiple TDMed unicast PDSCHs and one group-common PDSCH may be used in a slot. In an example, TDM among multiple group-common PDSCHs in a slot may be used. In an example, TDM between multiple TDMed unicast PDSCHs and multiple TDMed group-common PDSCHs in a slot may be used.)
Shows the reception of multiple unicast PDSCHs and multiple group-common or multicast PDSCHs by a UE
(See Babaei paragraph 0100, ...the UE may be configured with a list of up to M TCI-State configurations, using Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) configuration parameters, to decode PDSCH according to a detected PDCCH with DCI intended for the UE and the given serving cell, where M may depends on the UE capability. Each TCI-State may contain parameters for configuring a QCL relationship between one or two downlink reference signals and the DM-RS ports of the PDSCH,...)
Shows each PDSCH containing a QCL relationship between one or two downlink reference signals and the DM-RS ports of the PDSCH
transmit hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ)-acknowledgement (ACK) information through one or more physical uplink control channels (PUCCHs),
(See Babaei paragraph 0127, ...for ACK/NACK based HARQ-ACK feedback for multicast, from per UE perspective, UE may feedback ACK or NACK. From UEs within the group perspective, PUCCH resource configuration for ACK/NACK feedback may be shared or separate PUCCH resources.)
Shows transmitting HARQ-ACK from the UE by feeding back ACK on shared or separate PUCCH resources
wherein the HARQ-ACK information includes… …determined based on the first unicast PDSCH, the first multicast PDSCH, the second unicast PDSCH, and the second multicast PDSCH.
(See Babaei paragraph 0153, ...for ACK/NACK based feedback if used for multicast, construction of Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebook based on the union of the PDSCH TDRA sets of the unicast service and the multicast service...)
Shows the determination of HARQ-ACK codebook based on unicast and multicast PDSCH
However, Babaei fails to explicitly teach,
…at least one processor for controlling the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one processor configured to:…
…a first sub HARQ-ACK codebook and a second sub HARQ-ACK codebook…
Nevertheless, Noh, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…at least one processor for controlling the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one processor configured to:…
(See Noh paragraph 0351, The transceiver may receive a signal over a radio channel and proceed to send the signal to the processor 20-05 and transmit a signal output from the processor 20-05 over the radio channel.)
Shows the processor controlling the transceiver
(See Noh paragraph 0353, The processor 20-05 may control overall operations of the terminal according to one of disclosed embodiments. The processor 20-05 may be implemented as a controller or one or more processors.)
Shows the processor controlling all the operations of the terminal
…a first sub HARQ-ACK codebook and a second sub HARQ-ACK codebook…
(See Noh paragraph 0241, ...the terminal configures a HARQ-ACK codebook 14-70 with the HARQ-ACK feedback bits corresponding to the PDSCHs 14-55, 14-60, and 14-65 transmitted in the respective cells, TRPs, and or beams. In this case, the terminal may multiplex the HARQ-ACK codebooks corresponding to the TRPs into the single HARQ-ACK codebook 14-70 and transmit the PUCCH 14-85 and 14-90 carrying the HARQ-ACK codebook 14-70 to all of the TRPs on the PUCCH resources...)
Shows the HARQ-ACK information includes multiple HARQ-ACK codebooks corresponding to different PDSCHs
The motivation to combine Babaei and Noh in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 13
Babaei teaches,
A base station of performing uplink reception in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising:…
(See Babaei paragraph 0010, The method may include receiving, by the user equipment (UE) from a base station (BS): one or more first configuration parameters for determining one or more robustness metrics and one or more triggers;)
Shows a base station receiving uplink reception from a user equipment in a wireless communication system
…transmit at least one of a first unicast physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) or a first multicast PDSCH, based on a first quasi co-located (QCL) reference signal (RS);
transmit at least one of a second unicast PDSCH or a second multicast PDSCH, based on a second QCL RS; and
(See Babaei paragraph 0124, ...the following cases for simultaneous reception of unicast PDSCH and group-common PDSCH in a slot based on UE capability for RRC_CONNECTED UEs. In an example, TDM between multiple TDMed unicast PDSCHs and one group-common PDSCH may be used in a slot. In an example, TDM among multiple group-common PDSCHs in a slot may be used. In an example, TDM between multiple TDMed unicast PDSCHs and multiple TDMed group-common PDSCHs in a slot may be used.)
Shows the reception of multiple unicast PDSCHs and multiple group-common or multicast PDSCHs by a UE
(See Babaei paragraph 0100, ...the UE may be configured with a list of up to M TCI-State configurations, using Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) configuration parameters, to decode PDSCH according to a detected PDCCH with DCI intended for the UE and the given serving cell, where M may depends on the UE capability. Each TCI-State may contain parameters for configuring a QCL relationship between one or two downlink reference signals and the DM-RS ports of the PDSCH,...)
Shows each PDSCH containing a QCL relationship between one or two downlink reference signals and the DM-RS ports of the PDSCH
(See Babei paragraph 0099, …the base station may determine a Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) state and may indicate the TCI state to the UE, wherein the UE may use the indicated TCI state for reception of downlink control information (e.g., via PDCCH) or data (e.g., via PDSCH).)
Shows the base station transmitting a Transmission Configuration Indication or TCI to the UE to receive PDSCH
(See Babei paragraph 0099, The TCI state may indicate a Quasi-Colocation (QCL) relationship between a downlink reference signal such as CSI-RS and the DM-RS associated with the downlink control or data channels (e.g., PDCCH or PDSCH, respectively).)
Shows the TCI indicates a QCL between reference signals associated with PDSCH
receive hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ)-acknowledgement (ACK) information through one or more physical uplink control channels (PUCCHs),
(See Babaei paragraph 0127, ...for ACK/NACK based HARQ-ACK feedback for multicast, from per UE perspective, UE may feedback ACK or NACK. From UEs within the group perspective, PUCCH resource configuration for ACK/NACK feedback may be shared or separate PUCCH resources.)
Shows transmitting HARQ-ACK from the UE by feeding back ACK on shared or separate PUCCH resources
(See Babaei paragraph 0181, …the uplink feedback transmission (e.g., HARQ feedback, CSI report, etc.) may be via a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) or may be multiplexed in physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH). In an example, the uplink feedback may be associated with MBS communications and may be used by the base station for MBS scheduling…)
Shows the uplink feedback transmission to the base station from the UE includes HARQ feedback through PUCCH
wherein the HARQ-ACK information includes… …determined based on the first unicast PDSCH, the first multicast PDSCH, the second unicast PDSCH, and the second multicast PDSCH.
However, Babaei fails to explicitly teach,
…a first sub HARQ-ACK codebook and a second sub HARQ-ACK codebook…
Nevertheless, Noh, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…a first sub HARQ-ACK codebook and a second sub HARQ-ACK codebook…
(See Noh paragraph 0241, ...the terminal configures a HARQ-ACK codebook 14-70 with the HARQ-ACK feedback bits corresponding to the PDSCHs 14-55, 14-60, and 14-65 transmitted in the respective cells, TRPs, and or beams. In this case, the terminal may multiplex the HARQ-ACK codebooks corresponding to the TRPs into the single HARQ-ACK codebook 14-70 and transmit the PUCCH 14-85 and 14-90 carrying the HARQ-ACK codebook 14-70 to all of the TRPs on the PUCCH resources...)
Shows the HARQ-ACK information includes multiple HARQ-ACK codebooks corresponding to different PDSCHs
…at least one transceiver for transmitting and receiving a wireless signal; and at least one processor for controlling the at least one transceiver,
(See Noh paragraph 0357, The transceiver may receive a signal over a radio channel and proceed to send the signal to the processor 21-05 and transmit a signal output from the processor 21-05 over the radio channel.)
Shows the processor controlling the transceiver
wherein the at least one processor configured to:…
(See Noh paragraph 0359, The processor 21-05 may control overall operations of the base station according to one of disclosed embodiments. The processor 21-05 may be implemented as a controller or one or more processors.)
Shows the processor controls all the operations of the base station
The motivation to combine Babaei and Noh in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claims 2, 4, 6, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babaei (US 20220312318 A1) in view of Noh et al. (US 20200328849 A1) or Noh in further view of Papasakellariou (US 20220183032 A1).
Claim 2
Babaei fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 2. However, Noh, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving configuration information
(See Noh paragraph 0244, ...the base station transmits an indication of a per-TRP HARQ-ACK codebook configuration to the terminal via higher layer signaling, the terminal may generate HARQ-ACK codebooks for each of the TRPs and transmit the HARQ-ACK codebooks on the PUCCH resources indicated by the DCIs transmitted by the TRPs.)
Shows the UE receiving configuration information for HARQ-ACK codebooks for each TRP with PUCCH resources indicated by the DCIs
The motivation to combine Babaei and Noh in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Papasakellariou, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
… …on a PUCCH to transmit the first sub HARQ-ACK codebook and a PUCCH to transmit the second sub HARQ-ACK codebook.
(See Papasakellariou paragraph 0093, When a UE receives both unicast PDSCH and groupcast PDSCH, the UE should determine how to provide corresponding HARQ-ACK information. A first option is for the UE to determine separate HARQ-ACK codebooks for unicast PDSCH receptions and for groupcast PDSCH receptions. The UE can then multiplex each of the HARQ-ACK codebooks in a separate corresponding PUCCH transmission or the UE can jointly or separately encode and multiplex the HARQ-ACK codebooks in a same PUCCH transmissions.)
Shows the HARQ-ACK codebook for unicast and the HARQ-ACK codebook for groupcast utilizing a different PUCCH transmission
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the a user equipment or UE receiving at least one first unicast physical downlink shared channel or PDSCH or a first multicast PDSCH based on a quasi co-located or QCL reference signal or RS, receiving at least one second unicast PDSCH or multicast PDSCH based on a second QCL RS, transmitting hybrid automatic repeat request or HARQ acknowledgement or ACK information through at least one physical uplink control channels or PUCCHs with the HARQ-ACK being determined based on unicast and multicast PDSCH as disclosed by Babaei with the first sub HARQ-ACK codebook utilizing one PUCCH and the second sub HARQ-ACK codebook utilizing a different PUCCH as disclosed by Papasakellariou to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the probability collisions between the two sub HARQ-ACK codebooks).
Claim 4
Babaei fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 4. However, Papasakellariou, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein: the first sub HARQ-ACK codebook includes HARQ-ACK information for at least one of the first unicast PDSCH or the first multicast PDSCH;
the second sub HARQ-ACK codebook includes HARQ-ACK information for at least one of the second unicast PDSCH or the second multicast PDSCH; and
HARQ-ACK codebook including the first sub HARQ-ACK codebook and the second sub HARQ-ACK codebook is transmitted through one PUCCH.
(See Papasakellariou paragraph 0094, ...a Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebook for unicast PDSCH receptions and a Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebook for groupcast PDSCH receptions are to be multiplexed in a same PUCCH...)
Shows the Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebook for unicast PDSCH and Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebook for groupcast or multicast and multiplexed in the same PUCCH
The motivation to combine Babaei, Noh, and Papasakellariou in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 2.
Claim 6
Babaei fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 6. However, Papasakellariou, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 5, wherein: the first sub HARQ-ACK codebook includes HARQ-ACK information for at least one of the first unicast PDSCH or the first multicast PDSCH; and
wherein the second sub HARQ-ACK codebook includes HARQ-ACK information for at least one of the second unicast PDSCH or the second multicast PDSCH.
(See Papasakellariou paragraph 0093, When a UE receives both unicast PDSCH and groupcast PDSCH, the UE should determine how to provide corresponding HARQ-ACK information. A first option is for the UE to determine separate HARQ-ACK codebooks for unicast PDSCH receptions and for groupcast PDSCH receptions. The UE can then multiplex each of the HARQ-ACK codebooks in a separate corresponding PUCCH transmission...)
Shows the first sub HARQ-ACK codebook contains information for the first unicast PDSCH and the second sub HARQ-ACK codebook contains information for the second multicast PDSCH
The motivation to combine Babaei, Noh, and Papasakellariou in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 2.
Claim 10
Babaei fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 10. However, Papasakellariou, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein: each of the first sub HARQ-ACK codebook and the second sub HARQ-ACK codebook is determined based on independent coding scheme.
(See Papasakellariou paragraph 0126, A UE (such as the UE 116) includes HARQ-ACK information in a first Type-2 codebook for unicast PDSCH receptions, as for PDSCH receptions scheduled by a DCI format with CRC scrambled by a C-RNTI, when the CRC of the DCI format activating the SPS PDSCH receptions is scrambled by a C-RNTI. Otherwise, when the CRC of the DCI format activating the SPS PDSCH receptions is scrambled by a G-RNTI, the UE includes HARQ-ACK information in a second Type-2 codebook for groupcast PDSCH receptions, as for PDSCH receptions scheduled by a DCI format with CRC scrambled by a G-RNTI.)
Shows the unicast HARQ-ACK codebook scrambled or coded by a C-RNTI and a groupcast HARQ-ACK codebook scrambled or coded by a G-RNTI
(See Papasakellariou paragraph 0093, When a UE receives both unicast PDSCH and groupcast PDSCH, the UE should determine how to provide corresponding HARQ-ACK information. A first option is for the UE to determine separate HARQ-ACK codebooks for unicast PDSCH receptions and for groupcast PDSCH receptions. The UE can then multiplex each of the HARQ-ACK codebooks in a separate corresponding PUCCH transmission or the UE can jointly or separately encode and multiplex the HARQ-ACK codebooks in a same PUCCH transmissions.)
Shows the unicast and groupcast PDSCH HARQ-ACK codebooks combined and multiplexed
The motivation to combine Babaei, Noh, and Papasakellariou in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 2.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babaei (US 20220312318 A1) in view of Noh et al. (US 20200328849 A1) or Noh in further view of Yoshioka et al. (US 20220407646 A1) or Yoshioka.
Claim 3
Babaei teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein: the first multicast PDSCH and the second multicast PDSCH…
(See Babaei paragraph 0124, ...the following cases for simultaneous reception of unicast PDSCH and group-common PDSCH in a slot based on UE capability for RRC_CONNECTED UEs. In an example, TDM between multiple TDMed unicast PDSCHs and one group-common PDSCH may be used in a slot. In an example, TDM among multiple group-common PDSCHs in a slot may be used. In an example, TDM between multiple TDMed unicast PDSCHs and multiple TDMed group-common PDSCHs in a slot may be used.)
Shows the reception of multiple unicast PDSCHs and multiple group-common or multicast PDSCHs by a UE
However, Babaei fails to explicitly teach,
…are received based on a same group radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI).
Nevertheless, Noh, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…are received based on a same group radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI).
(See Yoshioka paragraph 0093, The UE may receive the multicast PDSCH scheduled with use of a specific type of RNTI (e.g., a G-RNTI).)
Shows the UE may receive multicast PDSCH scheduled with G-RNTI
(See Yoshioka paragraph 0054, A value of the G-RNTI may be the same between UEs belonging to an identical group (e.g., the above-described (1) to (3)).)
Shows a G-RNTI may be the same between UEs of the same group
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the a user equipment or UE receiving at least one first unicast physical downlink shared channel or PDSCH or a first multicast PDSCH based on a quasi co-located or QCL reference signal or RS, receiving at least one second unicast PDSCH or multicast PDSCH based on a second QCL RS, transmitting hybrid automatic repeat request or HARQ acknowledgement or ACK information through at least one physical uplink control channels or PUCCHs with the HARQ-ACK being determined based on unicast and multicast PDSCH as disclosed by Babaei with the UE receiving a first and second multicast PDSCH based on the same group radio network temporary identifier or G-RNTI as disclosed by Yoshioka to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the amount of decoding required by the UE to correctly identify multicast PDSCHs in the same group).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babaei (US 20220312318 A1) in view of Noh et al. (US 20200328849 A1) or Noh in further view of Zhang et al. (US 20220116171 A1) or Zhang and Lu.
Claim 5
Babaei fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 5. However, Zhang and Lu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein: the first sub HARQ-ACK codebook is transmitted through a PUCCH related to the first QCL RS; and
the second sub HARQ-ACK codebook is transmitted through another PUCCH related to the second QCL RS.
(See Zhang and Lu paragraph 0055, ...a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) is used for configuring information about a quasi co-location reference signal of a downlink reference signal and may also be referred to as an indication field of the quasi co-location reference signal or configuration information of the quasi co-location reference signal)
Shows a transmission configuration indicator or TCI consists of an indication field of a quasi co-location reference signal or QCL RS
(See Zhang and Lu paragraph 0581, if the TCI/TCI group of the PDCCH/PDSCH is TCI1/TCI group 1, the PUCCH resource set is a set 1 so that a HARQ-ACK of the PDCCH/PDSCH is fed back by using one PUCCH resource selected from the PUCCH resource set 1, and if the TCI/TCI group of the PDCCH/PDSCH is TCI2/TCI group 2, the PUCCH resource set is a set 2 so that the HARQ-ACK of the PDCCH/PDSCH is fed back by using one PUCCH resource selected from the PUCCH resource set 2.)
Shows a first PUCCH resource for TCI group 1 and a second PUCCH resource for TCI group 2
Shows the first PUCCH resources associated with a first QCL RS and a second PUCCH resource associated with a second QCL RS
(See Zhang and Lu paragraph 0517, ...different PUCCH resource sets correspond to different HARQ-ACK feedback codebooks; HARQ-ACKs of downlink channels corresponding to different PUCCH resource sets are fed back in different HARQ-ACK feedback codebooks;)
Shows HARQ-ACK of downlink channels correspond to difference PUCCH resource sets fed back in different feedback codebooks
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the a user equipment or UE receiving at least one first unicast physical downlink shared channel or PDSCH or a first multicast PDSCH based on a quasi co-located or QCL reference signal or RS, receiving at least one second unicast PDSCH or multicast PDSCH based on a second QCL RS, transmitting hybrid automatic repeat request or HARQ acknowledgement or ACK information through at least one physical uplink control channels or PUCCHs with the HARQ-ACK being determined based on unicast and multicast PDSCH as disclosed by Babaei with the first sub HARQ-ACK codebook transmitted through a PUCCH related to a first QCL RS and the second sub HARQ-ACK codebook transmitted through a different PUCCH related to the second QCL RS as disclosed by Zhang and Lu to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to increase the accuracy of the measurement of power required by the UE to transmit the two sub HARQ-ACK codebooks with the first and second QCL RSs).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babaei (US 20220312318 A1) in view of Noh et al. (US 20200328849 A1) or Noh in further view of Papasakellariou (US 20220279454 A1) or Papasakellariou US 20220279454 A1.
Claim 7
Babaei fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 7. However, Papasakellariou US 20220279454 A1, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 5, wherein: HARQ-ACK information for the first multicast PDSCH and the second multicast PDSCH is included in either the first sub HARQ-ACK codebook or the second HARQ-ACK codebook, base on a configuration by a base station.
(See Papapasakellariou US 20220279454 A1 paragraph 0194, In step 1110, a UE (such as the UE 116) receives information to provide a Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebook for multicast PDSCH receptions (associated with G-RNTIs) and a Type-2 HARQ-ACK codebook for unicast PDSCH receptions (associated with a C-RNTI).)
Shows the UE receiving information to provide a Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebook for multicast PDSCH receptions
(See Papapasakellariou US 20220279454 A1 paragraph 00194, In step 1130, the UE determines a first number of received TBs having associated HARQ-ACK information associated with the Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebook...)
Shows the UE determining the number of received transport blocks or TBs assocaited with the Type-1 HARQ-ACK codebook
(See Papapasakellariou US 20220279454 A1 paragraph 0195, When the UE is configured by higher layers to provide HARQ-ACK for the G-RNTI g.sub.x, the slot timing values K.sub.1 and the row indexes of a TDRA table associated with G-RNTI g.sub.x are included in the determination of M.sub.c,G and the UE provides HARQ-ACK information for a TB reception outcome even when a DCI format scheduling the TB reception indicates disabling of a HARQ-ACK report for the TB.)
Shows the UE configured by higher layers to provide HARQ-ACK for G-RNTI associated with multicast PDSCH
(See Papapasakellariou US 20220279454 A1 paragraph 0090, A serving gNB (such as BS 102) can provide, by higher layer signaling to a UE (such as the UE 116), a number of PUCCH resource sets for the UE to determine a PUCCH resource and a PUCCH resource from the PUCCH resource set for transmission of HARQ-ACK information...)
Shows a base station providing a UE configuration through higher layer signaling
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the a user equipment or UE receiving at least one first unicast physical downlink shared channel or PDSCH or a first multicast PDSCH based on a quasi co-located or QCL reference signal or RS, receiving at least one second unicast PDSCH or multicast PDSCH based on a second QCL RS, transmitting hybrid automatic repeat request or HARQ acknowledgement or ACK information through at least one physical uplink control channels or PUCCHs with the HARQ-ACK being determined based on unicast and multicast PDSCH as disclosed by Babaei with the HARQ-ACK information for the first and second multicast PDSCH included in either the first or second sub HARQ-ACK codebook based on configuration from a base station as disclosed by Papapasakellariou US 20220279454 A1 to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to increase the probability of the base station receiving the two sub HARQ-ACK codebooks from the UE).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babaei (US 20220312318 A1) in view of Noh et al. (US 20200328849 A1) or Noh in further view of Lei (US 20240187142 A1).
Claim 8
Babaei fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 8. However, Lei, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 7, wherein: based on the configuration by the base station, HARQ-ACK information for the first unicast PDSCH is included in the first sub HARQ- ACK codebook; and
HARQ-ACK information for the second unicast PDSCH is included in the second sub HARQ-ACK codebook.
(See Lei paragraph 0008, Some embodiments of the present disclosure provide a method for wireless communication performed by a base station (BS). The method may include: transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), configuration information for a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) configuration;)
Shows the base station transmitting SPS PDSCH configuration to a UE
(See Lei paragraph 0129, [0129] (1-3) among HARQ-ACK information bits for the second set of unicast SPS PDSCHs, arranging HARQ-ACK information bits for unicast SPS PDSCHs associated with the same SPS PDSCH configuration according to their respective reception times by the UE;)
Shows a second sub-codebook comprising HARQ-ACK information for the second set of unicast PDSCHs
(See Lei paragraph 0135, In the second sub-codebook, HARQ-ACK information bits may be arranged according to operation (1-3), operation (1-4), or a combination thereof.)
Shows the second sub-codebook HARQ-ACK information may be arranged according to operation 1-3, operation 1-4, or a combination
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the a user equipment or UE receiving at least one first unicast physical downlink shared channel or PDSCH or a first multicast PDSCH based on a quasi co-located or QCL reference signal or RS, receiving at least one second unicast PDSCH or multicast PDSCH based on a second QCL RS, transmitting hybrid automatic repeat request or HARQ acknowledgement or ACK information through at least one physical uplink control channels or PUCCHs with the HARQ-ACK being determined based on unicast and multicast PDSCH as disclosed by Babaei with the HARQ-ACK information for the fist unicast PDSCH included in the first sub HARQ-ACK codebook and the HARQ-ACK information for the second unicast PDSCH included in the second sub HARQ-ACK codebook as disclosed by Lei to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the amount of energy required by the base station to receive the HARQ-ACK information from the UE).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babaei (US 20220312318 A1) in view of Noh et al. (US 20200328849 A1) or Noh in further view of Li (US 20240023108 A1).
Claim 9
Babaei fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 9. However, Li, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 5, wherein: based on a configuration by a base station, the first sub HARQ-ACK codebook include HARQ-ACK information for the first unicast PDSCH and the second unicast PDSCH; and
the second sub HARQ-ACK codebook include HARQ-ACK information for the first multicast PDSCH and the second multicast PDSCH.
(See Li paragraph 0100, In a case that the multiple target SPS PDSCHs include both SPS group-common PDSCH and SPS unicast PDSCH, constructing a first HARQ-ACK codebook corresponding to the SPS group-common PDSCH and a second HARQ-ACK codebook corresponding to the SPS unicast PDSCH, and concatenating the first HARQ-ACK codebook and the second HARQ-ACK codebook to obtain the first target codebook.)
Shows constructing a HARQ-ACK codebook with a first HARQ-ACK codebook with SPS group-common or multicast PDSCH and a second HARQ-ACK codebook with SPS unicast PDSCH
(See Li paragraph 0103, ...in a case that HARQ-ACK corresponding to a dynamically scheduled PDSCH needs to be reported in one same time unit as HARQ-ACK corresponding to one or more SPS group-common PDSCHs or one or more SPS unicast PDSCHs, the terminal can first construct the first HARQ-ACK codebook corresponding to the SPS PDSCH according to the foregoing method 1 and/or method 2, and concatenate this first HARQ-ACK codebook after the second HARQ-ACK codebook corresponding to the dynamically scheduled PDSCH.)
Shows the HARQ-ACK may correspond to multiple group common PDSCHs and multiple unicast PDSCHs
(See Li paragraphs 0111 and 0115, [0111] ...the first HARQ-ACK codebook and the second HARQ-ACK codebook can be concatenated according to the following (3c) or (3d) or (3e) or (3f):... [0115] (3f) group-common DG HARQ-ACK+SPS group-common HARQ-ACK+unicast DG HARQ-ACK+SP S unicast HARQ-ACK;)
Shows the first HARQ-ACK codebook with group-common DG HARQ-ACK+SPS group-common HARQ-ACK and the second HARQ-ACK codebook with unicast DG HARQ-ACK+SP S unicast HARQ-ACK and both concatenated together
(See Li paragraph 0047, The first PUCCH resource is a PUCCH resource configured for the target SPS PDSCH. In other words, the first PUCCH resource is dedicated to transmitting the feedback information corresponding to the target SPS PDSCH. In this embodiment, the first PUCCH resource can be defined by protocol or configured by a network-side device (such as a base station).)
Shows the base station configures the PUCCH resource for transmitting the feedback for the target SPS PDSCH
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the a user equipment or UE receiving at least one first unicast physical downlink shared channel or PDSCH or a first multicast PDSCH based on a quasi co-located or QCL reference signal or RS, receiving at least one second unicast PDSCH or multicast PDSCH based on a second QCL RS, transmitting hybrid automatic repeat request or HARQ acknowledgement or ACK information through at least one physical uplink control channels or PUCCHs with the HARQ-ACK being determined based on unicast and multicast PDSCH as disclosed by Babaei with the first sub HARQ-ACK codebook including the first and second unicast PDSCH and the second sub HARQ-ACK codebook including HARQ-ACK information for the first and second multicast PDSCH as disclosed by Li to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to increase the accuracy of the UE correctly transmitting HARQ-ACK information to the base station).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Islam et al. (US 20220150950 A1) or Islam teaches a user equipment prioritizing signals based on configuration received from a base station.
/SAMUEL ROBERGE BETTENDORF/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414