DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 30-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Munier; Florent et al. US PGPUB 20240243876 A1, supported by provisional application 63/187,205, filed on 5/11/2021.
Regarding claim 30. Munier teaches A user equipment (UE), comprising: a memory; at least one transceiver; and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver, (Fig. 8, UE Processing Circuitry 202, transceiver 212 and memory 210) the at least one processor configured to:
receive, via the at least one transceiver, positioning reference signal (PRS) resources of a PRS instance; ([0100] In one proposed solution, a rule can be defined such that a UE can measure/process a DL PRS without configuration of measurement gaps when the DL PRS is received from a serving cell of the UE. In addition, another condition that may be applicable is that the UE can measure/process a DL PRS with configuration of measurement gaps when the bandwidth of the DL PRS is within the active BWP.
Supported by provisional application ‘205 [0094] )
receive, via the at least one transceiver, at least one symbol of a high priority downlink channel ([0101] When the DL PRS is received without configuration of measurement gaps, the following example solutions are considered to handle collision with PDSCH and CSI-RS) scheduled during a PRS processing window for the PRS instance, ([0129] In one embodiment, a priority indicator field can be introduced in the DL DCI (e.g. either DL DCI format 1_1 or DL DCI format 1_2) to indicate the priority of dynamically scheduled PDSCH with respect to a colliding DL PRS
supported by ‘205 [0125].)
wherein the high priority downlink channel is determined to have high priority based on the high priority downlink channel being associated with a high priority uplink channel; ([0129] In this case, the UE would receive/process the PDSCH and drop the instance of the colliding DL PRS.
Supported by ‘205 [0125]) and
refrain from processing the PRS resources of the PRS instance during the PRS processing window ([0129] In this case, the UE would receive/process the PDSCH and drop the instance of the colliding DL PRS.
Supported by ‘205 [0125])
based on one or more conditions related to prioritizing PRS processing, ([0131] a PDSCH carrying URLLC (ultra-reliable low latency communication) data may be higher priority than a positioning measurement on DL PRS. Supported by ‘205 [0127] )
wherein the one or more conditions indicate that the UE does not expect to process the PRS resources of the PRS instance during the PRS processing window based on the at least one symbol of the high priority downlink channel being scheduled during the PRS processing window. ([0129] If the priority indicator bit indicates a first value (e.g. “1”), then the reception of dynamically scheduled PDSCH is prioritized over the reception/processing of a colliding DL PRS. In this case, the UE would receive/process the PDSCH and drop the instance of the colliding DL PRS.
Supported by ‘205 [0125])
Regarding claim 31. Munier teaches The UE of claim 30, wherein: the high priority downlink channel comprises a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), the PDSCH is scheduled by a downlink grant that points to the high priority uplink channel, and the high priority uplink channel comprises an acknowledgment resource that is indicated as having high priority. ([0123] collisions between DL PRS and the following channels/signals may in some embodiments be avoided by scheduling: [0124] dynamically scheduled PDSCH (PDSCH with dynamic grant scheduled via a DL DCI scrambled with C-RNTI) [0125] PDCCH [0126] PT-RS [0127] Aperiodic CSI-RS
Supported by ‘205 [0119[-[0123])
Regarding claim 32. Munier teaches The UE of claim 30, wherein: the high priority downlink channel comprises a semi-persistent downlink channel. ([0133] If the PDSCH is a downlink semi-persistent transmission configured by the SPS-Config information element in 3GPP TS 38.331 v 16.4.1, then in one embodiment, a higher layer parameter (e.g. RRC parameter) can be configured per SPS-Config information element to indicate the priority of SPS (semi-persistently scheduled) PDSCH over a colliding DL PRS.
Supported by ‘205 [0129])
Regarding claim 33. Munier teaches The UE of claim 30, wherein: the high priority downlink channel comprises a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), the high priority uplink channel is allocated to carry a CSI report based on the CSI-RS, and the CSI report is indicated as having high priority. ([0123] In a scenario where gapless measurements of DL PRS is allowed when the DL PRS is transmitted by a TRP belonging to a serving cell of the UE, collisions between DL PRS and the following channels/signals may in some embodiments be avoided by scheduling: [0124] dynamically scheduled PDSCH (PDSCH with dynamic grant scheduled via a DL DCI scrambled with C-RNTI) [0125] PDCCH [0126] PT-RS [0127] Aperiodic CSI-RS
Supported by ‘205 [0119])
Regarding claim 34. Munier teaches The UE of claim 33, wherein the CSI-RS comprises aperiodic CSI-RS, semi-persistent CSI-RS, or periodic CSI-RS. ([0123] In a scenario where gapless measurements of DL PRS is allowed when the DL PRS is transmitted by a TRP belonging to a serving cell of the UE, collisions between DL PRS and the following channels/signals may in some embodiments be avoided by scheduling: [0124] dynamically scheduled PDSCH (PDSCH with dynamic grant scheduled via a DL DCI scrambled with C-RNTI) [0125] PDCCH [0126] PT-RS [0127] Aperiodic CSI-RS
Supported by ‘205 [0119])
Regarding claim 35. Munier teaches The UE of claim 30, wherein: the high priority downlink channel is on the same component carrier as the PRS resources of the PRS instance, or the high priority downlink channel is on a different component carrier from the PRS resources of the PRS instance. ([0112] In order to avoid collision between data and a PRS, the TRP transmitting the DL PRS must be under control of the scheduler (e.g. the TRP transmitting the DL PRS must be under a serving cell). This is the case for any of the UEs serving cell, i.e. any cells where the UE could expect data traffic via scheduling in single carrier, carrier aggregation, or multi-TRP operation.
Supported by ‘205 [0107])
Regarding claim 36. Munier teaches The UE of claim 30, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit, via the at least one transceiver, a capability message to a network entity, the capability message including one or more capability parameters indicating the one or more conditions related to prioritizing PRS. ([0122] Further, a UE can signal a capability for processing DL PRS transmitted from a serving cell without configuration of measurement gap(s). If the UE signals this capability and if the UE is configured by the gNB, the UE can process DL PRS without configuration of measurement gap in its active DL BWP.
Supported by ‘205 [0112])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 39-42 and 44-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Munier, in view of QI; Yinan US PGPUB 20210167925 A1
Regarding claim 39. Munier teaches A user equipment (UE), comprising: a memory; at least one transceiver; and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver, (Fig. 8, UE Processing Circuitry 202, transceiver 212 and memory 210) the at least one processor configured to:
receive, via the at least one transceiver, positioning reference signal (PRS) resources of a PRS instance; ([0100] In one proposed solution, a rule can be defined such that a UE can measure/process a DL PRS without configuration of measurement gaps when the DL PRS is received from a serving cell of the UE. In addition, another condition that may be applicable is that the UE can measure/process a DL PRS with configuration of measurement gaps when the bandwidth of the DL PRS is within the active BWP.
Supported by provisional application ‘205 [0094] )
receive, via the at least one transceiver, PDCCH during a PRS processing window for the PRS instance,
wherein the PDCCH is determined to have high priority based on PDCCH being expected to include a grant for a downlink channel associated with a high priority uplink channel; ([0101] When the DL PRS is received without configuration of measurement gaps, the following example solutions are considered to handle collision with PDSCH and CSI-RS) scheduled during a PRS processing window for the PRS instance, ([0129] In one embodiment, a priority indicator field can be introduced in the DL DCI (e.g. either DL DCI format 1_1 or DL DCI format 1_2) to indicate the priority of dynamically scheduled PDSCH with respect to a colliding DL PRS
supported by ‘205 [0125].) and
refrain from processing the PRS resources of the PRS instance during the PRS processing window based on one or more conditions related to prioritizing PRS processing, wherein the one or more conditions indicate that the UE does not expect to process the PRS resources of the PRS instance during the PRS processing window based on PDCCH being scheduled during the PRS processing window.
. ([0129] If the priority indicator bit indicates a first value (e.g. “1”), then the reception of dynamically scheduled PDSCH is prioritized over the reception/processing of a colliding DL PRS. In this case, the UE would receive/process the PDSCH and drop the instance of the colliding DL PRS.
Supported by ‘205 [0125])
Munier does not teach PDCCH being at least one symbol of a control resource set (CORESET)
However, Qi teaches
PDCCH being at least one symbol of a control resource set (CORESET)
([0092] In order to avoid collision with CORESET/PDCCH, the following alternatives can be considered: [0093] 1: No PRS for the first N symbols that may be occupied by CORESET even though the CORESET may not occupy the whole bandwidth. Note that N is either fixed to equal the maximum number of symbols occupied by CORESET or it can be implicitly derived from RRC configuration by the UE and, thus, variable; )
In order to improve the accuracy of wireless positioning by avoiding collision between PRS and coreset/pdcch ([0010])
Munier and Qi are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Munier with the technique of collision avoidance in Qi in order to improve the accuracy of wireless positioning.
Regarding claim 40. Munier and Qi teach The UE of claim 39, Munier teaches wherein: the downlink channel comprises a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), and the high priority uplink channel comprises an acknowledgment resource that is indicated as having high priority. ([0123] collisions between DL PRS and the following channels/signals may in some embodiments be avoided by scheduling: [0124] dynamically scheduled PDSCH (PDSCH with dynamic grant scheduled via a DL DCI scrambled with C-RNTI) [0125] PDCCH [0126] PT-RS [0127] Aperiodic CSI-RS
Supported by ‘205 [0119[-[0123])
Regarding claim 41. Munier and Qi teach The UE of claim 39, Qi teaches wherein: the CORESET is on the same component carrier as the PRS resources of the PRS instance, or the CORESET is on a different component carrier from the PRS resources of the PRS instance. ([0029] In an embodiment, positioning reference signals are configured around a DC tone, based upon either Component Carrier, CC, centre or per Bandwidth Part, BWP.)
Regarding claim 42. Munier and Qi teach The UE of claim 39, Munier teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit, via the at least one transceiver, a capability message to a network entity, the capability message including one or more capability parameters indicating the one or more conditions related to prioritizing PRS. ([0122] Further, a UE can signal a capability for processing DL PRS transmitted from a serving cell without configuration of measurement gap(s). If the UE signals this capability and if the UE is configured by the gNB, the UE can process DL PRS without configuration of measurement gap in its active DL BWP.
Supported by ‘205 [0112])
Regarding claim 44. Munier and Qi teaches The UE of claim 39, wherein the PRS instance comprises one or more repetitions of: all PRS resources of a positioning frequency layer, all PRS resources of a PRS resource set, or one or more PRS resources.
Regarding claim 45. Munier and Qi teaches The UE of claim 39, Munier teaches wherein: the downlink channel comprises a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), and the high priority uplink channel comprises a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) resource that is indicated as having high priority and is allocated to include a CSI report derived based on the CSI-RS. (([0101] When the DL PRS is received without configuration of measurement gaps, the following example solutions are considered to handle collision with PDSCH and CSI-RS))
([0100] In one proposed solution, a rule can be defined such that a UE can measure/process a DL PRS without configuration of measurement gaps when the DL PRS is received from a serving cell of the UE. In addition, another condition that may be applicable is that the UE can measure/process a DL PRS with configuration of measurement gaps when the bandwidth of the DL PRS is within the active BWP.
Supported by provisional application ‘205 [0094] )
Conclusion
/ZHAOHUI YANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/Thomas R Cairns/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468