DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on February 5, 2024 and September 24, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 12, and 13-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 22, and 23-24 of copending Application No. 18/575,260 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the differing claim language “removing member” in the present application and “carriage” in the reference application are merely using different terminology for the same component described in the claims.
Claims 1, 12, and 13-14 are additionally provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 17, and 18-19 of copending Application No. 18/575,315. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the differing claim language “removing member” in the present application and “removing unit” in the reference application are merely using different terminology for the same component described in the claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Present Application 18/681,448
Reference Application 18/575,260
Reference Application 18/575,315
Claim 1 - An applicator for inserting a sensor for measuring biometric information into skin of a user, the applicator comprising:
an applicator body;
an insertion unit installed to the applicator body to move a sensor unit, which includes the sensor, a sensor unit housing to which the sensor is mounted, an adhesive layer provided at the sensor unit housing, from a first position spaced apart from the skin of the user to a second position where the sensor is inserted into the skin of the user;
a removing member to which a portion of the protective sheet is coupled and is rotatably installed to the applicator body to remove the protective sheet from the adhesive layer; and
an operation member installed to the applicator body to operate the removing member by being manipulated by the user.
Claim 1 - An applicator for inserting a sensor for measuring biometric information into skin of a user, the applicator comprising:
an applicator body having a bottom portion configured to be contactable with the skin of the user;
an insertion unit installed to the applicator body to move the sensor unit, which comprises the sensor, a sensor unit housing to which the sensor is mounted, an adhesive layer comprised inthe sensor unit housing, and a protective sheet covering the adhesive layer, from a first position where the sensor unit is spaced apart from the skin of the user to a second position where the sensor is inserted into the skin of the user;
a carriage to which a part of the protective sheet is coupled and which is installed to the applicator body to move in a direction away from the sensor unit housing for releasing the protective sheet from the adhesive layer; and
an operation member installed to the applicator body to operate the carriage by a
manipulation of a user.
Claim 1 - An applicator for inserting a sensor for measuring biometric information into skin of a user, the applicator comprising:
an applicator body configured to be contactable with the skin of the user;
an insertion unit installed to the applicator body to move a sensor unit, which comprises the sensor, a sensor unit housing to which the sensor is mounted, an adhesive layer comprised in the sensor unit housing, and a protective sheet covering the adhesive layer, from a first position where the sensor unit is spaced apart from the skin of the user to a second position where the sensor is inserted into the skin of the user;
a removing unit installed to the applicator body to separate the protective sheet from the adhesive layer before the sensor unit reaches the second position; and
an operating member installed to the applicator body such that the removing unit is operated by manipulation of the user.
Claim 12 - An applicator for inserting a sensor into skin of a user, the applicator comprising:
an applicator body to which a base unit including a base unit housing, and an adhesive portion provided at the base unit housing to be attached to the skin of the user is separably coupled;
an insertion unit installed to the applicator body to move the sensor unit, which includes the sensor and a sensor unit housing to which the sensor is mounted, an adhesive layer provided at the sensor unit housing to be attachable to the base unit housing, and a protective sheet covering the adhesive layer from a first position which is spaced apart from the base unit to a second position where the sensor unit is coupled with the base unit to insert the sensor into the skin of the user;
a removing member to which a portion of the protective sheet is coupled and is rotatably installed to the applicator body to remove the protective sheet from the adhesive layer; and
an operation member installed to the applicator body to operate the removing member by being manipulated by the user.
Claim 22 - An applicator for inserting a sensor into skin of a user, the applicator comprising:
an applicator body to which a base unit comprising a base unit housing and an adhesive portion provided on the base unit housing to be attached to the skin of the user is separatably coupled, the applicator body having a bottom portion configured to be contactable with the skin of the user;
an insertion unit installed to the applicator body to move the sensor unit, which comprises the sensor, a sensor unit housing to which the sensor is mounted, an adhesive layer comprised in the sensor unit housing to be adhered to the base unit housing, and a protective sheet covering the adhesive layer, from a first position where the sensor unit is spaced apart from the base unit to a second position where the sensor unit is coupled to the base unit such that the sensor is inserted into the skin of the user;
a carriage to which a part of the protective sheet is coupled and which is installed to the applicator body to move in a direction away from the bottom portion for releasing the protective sheet from the adhesive layer; and
an operation member installed to the applicator body to operate the carriage by a manipulation of a user.
Claim 17 - An applicator for inserting a sensor into skin of a user, the applicator comprising:
an applicator body to which a base unit comprising a base unit housing and an adhesive portion provided on the base unit housing to be attached to the skin of the user is separatably coupled;
an insertion unit installed to the applicator body to move the sensor unit, which comprises the sensor, a sensor unit housing to which the sensor is mounted, an adhesive layer comprised in the sensor unit housing to be adhered to the base unit housing, and a protective sheet covering the adhesive layer, from a first position where the sensor unit is spaced apart from the base unit to a second position where the sensor unit is coupled to the base unit such that the sensor is inserted into the skin of the user;
a removing unit installed to the applicator body to separate the protective sheet from the adhesive layer before the sensor unit reaches the second position; and
an operating member installed to the applicator body such that the removing unit is operated by manipulation of the user.
Claim 13 - An applicator assembly comprising:
an applicator body;
a sensor unit including a sensor, a sensor unit housing to which the sensor is mounted, an adhesive layer provided at the sensor unit housing, and a protective sheet covering the adhesive layer;
an insertion unit installed to the applicator body to move the sensor unit from a first position spaced away from the skin of the user to a second position where the sensor is inserted into the skin of the user;
a removing member to which a portion of the protective sheet is coupled and is rotatably installed to the applicator body to remove the protective sheet from the adhesive layer; and
an operation member installed to the applicator body to operate the removing member by being manipulated by the user.
Claim 23 - An applicator assembly comprising:
a sensor unit comprising a sensor, a sensor unit housing to which the sensor is mounted, an adhesive layer comprised in the sensor unit housing, and a protective sheet covering the adhesive layer;
an applicator body having a bottom portion configured to be contactable with skin of an user;
an insertion unit installed to the applicator body to move the sensor unit from a first position where the sensor unit is spaced apart from the skin of the user to a second position where the sensor unit is inserted into the skin of the user;
a carriage to which a part of the protective sheet is coupled and which is installed to the applicator body to move in a direction away from the bottom portion for releasing the protective sheet from the adhesive layer; and
an operation member installed to the applicator body to operate the carriage by a manipulation of a user.
Claim 18 - An applicator assembly comprising:
a sensor unit comprising a sensor, a sensor unit housing to which the sensor is mounted,
an adhesive layer comprised in the sensor unit housing, and a protective sheet covering the adhesive layer;
an applicator body having a bottom portion configured to be contactable with skin of an user;
an insertion unit installed to the applicator body to move the sensor unit from a first position where the sensor unit is spaced apart from the skin of the user to a second position where the sensor unit is inserted into the skin of the user;
a removing unit installed to the applicator body to separate the protective sheet from the adhesive layer before the sensor unit reaches the second position; and
an operating member installed to the applicator body such that the removing unit is operated by manipulation of the user.
Claim 23 - The applicator assembly according to claim 13, comprising
a base unit including a base unit housing to which the sensor unit housing is coupled and an adhesive portion provided at the base unit housing to be attachable to the skin of the user, and spaced apart from the sensor unit and separably coupled to the applicator body,
wherein the sensor unit housing is configured to be attachable to the base unit housing by the adhesive layer at the second position.
Claim 24 - The applicator assembly according to claim 23,
further comprising a base unit comprising a base unit housing and an adhesive portion provided on the base unit housing to be attached to the skin of the user, wherein the base unit separatably coupled to the applicator body,
wherein the sensor unit housing is attached to the base unit housing by the adhesive layer at the second position.
Claim 19 - The applicator assembly according to claim 18,
further comprising a base unit comprising a base unit housing and an adhesive portion provided on the base unit housing to be attached to the skin of the user, wherein the base unit separatably coupled to the applicator body,
wherein the sensor unit housing is attached to the base unit housing by the adhesive layer at the second position.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
Claim 1 recites “inserting a sensor for measuring biometric information into the skin of a user” in lines 1-2, which encompasses a portion of a human body as part of the invention. In order to overcome this rejection, the claim language may be amended to recite “inserting a sensor configured for measuring biometric information into the skin of a user”. Additionally, claim 1, lines 11-12 recite “an operation member installed to the applicator body to operate the removing member by being manipulated by the user”, which encompasses a human user. In order to overcome this rejection, the claim language may be amended to recite “an operation member installed to the applicator body to operate the removing member configured to be manipulated by the user”. Claims 2-11 are rejected based on their dependence on claim 1.
Claim 9 recites “the sensor unit to be inserted into the skin of the user together with the sensor” in lines 6-7, which encompasses a portion of a human body as part of the invention. In order to overcome this rejection, the claim language may be amended to recite “the sensor unit configured to be inserted into the skin of the user together with the sensor”. Claim 10 is rejected based on its dependence on claim 9.
Claim 12 recites “An applicator for inserting a sensor into the skin of a user” in line 1, which encompasses a portion of the human body as part of the invention. In order to overcome this rejection, the claim language may be amended to recite “An applicator configured for inserting a sensor into the skin of a user”. Additionally, claim 12, line 3 recites “the base housing to be attached to the skin of the user”, which encompasses a human user. In order to overcome this rejection, the claim language may be amended to recite “the base housing configured to be attached to the skin of the user”. Additionally, claim 12, lines 9-10 recites “the base unit to insert the sensor into the skin of the user”, which encompasses a portion of a human body as part of the invention. In order to overcome this rejection, the claim language may be amended to recite “the base unit configured to insert the sensor into the skin of the user”.
Claim 13 recites “an insertion unit installed to the applicator body to move the sensor unit from a first position spaced away from the skin of the user to a second position where the sensor is inserted into the skin of the user” in lines 6-8, which encompasses a portion of the human body as part of the invention. In order to overcome this rejection, the claim language may be amended to recite “an insertion unit installed to the applicator body configured to move the sensor unit from a first position spaced away from the skin of the user to a second position where the sensor is configured to be inserted into the skin of the user”. Additionally, claim 13, line 3 recites “an operation member installed to the applicator body to operate the removing member by being manipulated by the user”, which encompasses a human user. In order to overcome this rejection, the claim language may be amended to recite “an operation member installed to the applicator body to operate the removing member configured to be manipulated by the user”. Claim 14 is rejected based on its dependence on claim 13.
Claim 14 recites “the base unit housing to be attachable to the skin of the user” in line 3, which encompasses a portion of the human body as part of the invention. In order to overcome this rejection, the claim language may be amended to recite “the base unit housing configured to be attachable to the skin of the user”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the skin of the user" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20200289748 A1 (Lanigan et al.).
Regarding claim 1, Lanigan teaches an applicator for inserting a sensor for measuring biometric information into skin of a user ([0196] “certain inserter assemblies 100 may be operated to place physiological monitors into working relationship with a patient's body. In certain examples, an analyte sensor may be placed onto a patient with an inserter assembly 100.”), the applicator comprising:
an applicator body ([0196] “FIG. 1A depicts an exploded view of an embodiment of an example inserter assembly 100.”);
an insertion unit ([0006] “an infusion set base in retaining engagement with the body”) installed to the applicator body to move a sensor unit, which includes the sensor, a sensor unit housing to which the sensor is mounted ([0312] “install a next infusion set 102 (or analyte sensor in certain examples) … infusion sets 102 may be provided in separate set cartridges 1002. Similarly, where the inserter assembly 100 is configured to apply a sensor to the patient, sensors may be provided in sensor cartridges”); [0045]), an adhesive layer provided at the sensor unit housing [[0006] “The infusion set base may have an adhesive included on a bottom face thereof”), and a protective sheet covering an adhesive layer ([0024] “removing an adhesive backing from the infusion set base”; [0031] “The adhesive being covered by a liner or backing.”), from a first position spaced apart from the skin of the user to a second position where the sensor is inserted into the skin of the user ([0036] “The insertion bias member may propel the insertion driver from the first position to the extended position when released from the stressed state.”; [0360] “free the spring 1108 to transition to its unstressed state and displace the insertion driver 1062 toward the skin 356.”; [0041]);
a removing member to which a portion of the protective sheet is coupled and is rotatably installed to the applicator body to remove the protective sheet from the adhesive layer ([0033] “the housing may include an indention within which pull tabs of an adhesive backing covering adhesive on the infusion set base are disposed”; [0035] “The housing may include an indention in which pull tabs of the adhesive backing are disposed. In some embodiments, the housing may include a set of stop surfaces configured to interact with lock members of the inserter assembly to lock the housing from rotational displacement once the inserter assembly and housing are coupled. In some embodiments, the container may be configured to displace the lock members when pressed against the inserter assembly to unlock rotational displacement of the housing. In some embodiments, the spring loaded tab may be configured to displace to the deflected state upon coupling of the cartridge to the inserter assembly”; [0209]; [0247] “As the example adhesive backing 111 is attached to the lock member 146, extraction of the lock member 146 may complete disassociation of the adhesive backing 111 from the inserter assembly 100.”); and
an operation member installed to the applicator body to operate the removing member by being manipulated by the user ([0035] “The housing may include an indention in which pull tabs of the adhesive backing are disposed. In some embodiments, the housing may include a set of stop surfaces configured to interact with lock members of the inserter assembly to lock the housing from rotational displacement once the inserter assembly and housing are coupled”; [0247] “The adhesive backing 111 may include a gripping region 224 which may be in the form of a flange, tab, or other projection of backing material which extends beyond the footprint of the inserter assembly 100”).
Regarding claim 2, Lanigan teaches the applicator according to claim 1,
wherein the removing member is configured to be rotatable around a central rotation axis perpendicular to a movable direction of the sensor unit ([0035] “the container may be configured to displace the lock members when pressed against the inserter assembly to unlock rotational displacement of the housing”).
Regarding claim 3, Lanigan teaches the applicator according to claim 1,
wherein the removing member is coupled to the protective sheet by an adhesive member ([0247] “As the example adhesive backing 111 is attached to the lock member 146, extraction of the lock member 146 may complete disassociation of the adhesive backing 111 from the inserter assembly 100.”.
Regarding claim 4, Lanigan teaches the applicator according to claim 1, comprising
a removing member driver configured to provide rotary force to the removing member ([0044] “inserter assembly may further comprise at least one spring biased lock member displaceable from a withdrawn position to an extended position”),
wherein the operation member is configured to operate the removing member driver such that the removing member is rotated by the removing member driver ([0035] “The housing may include an indention in which pull tabs of the adhesive backing are disposed. In some embodiments, the housing may include a set of stop surfaces configured to interact with lock members of the inserter assembly to lock the housing from rotational displacement once the inserter assembly and housing are coupled”; [0208] “Example lock members 146 may mechanically prevent displacement of one or more component of the inserter assembly 100 which initiates the actuation action of the inserter assembly 100. In the example embodiment, the lock member 146 includes a flange 152 which may be grasped by a user during removal of the lock member 146.”).
Regarding claim 5, Lanigan teaches the applicator according to claim 4,
wherein the removing member driver is coupled with the removing member and configured to apply elastic force to the removing member ([0044] “inserter assembly may further comprise at least one spring biased lock member displaceable from a withdrawn position to an extended position”).
Regarding claim 6, Lanigan teaches the applicator according to claim 5, comprising
a stopper member installed to the applicator body to restrain movement of the removing member by being contacted with the removing member to maintain a position in which the removing member is coupled with the protective sheet in a state that a removing elastic member is elastically deformed ([0340] “This may inhibit rotation of the interior housing 1008 of the cartridge 1002 relative to the inserter assembly 1000 as the edge walls 1084 may act as stop surfaces which present a mechanical interference blocking displacement of the lock members 1112A, B”),
wherein the operation member is operated to release restraining force of the removing member caused by the stopper member ([0035] “The housing may include an indention in which pull tabs of the adhesive backing are disposed. In some embodiments, the housing may include a set of stop surfaces configured to interact with lock members of the inserter assembly to lock the housing from rotational displacement once the inserter assembly and housing are coupled.”).
Regarding claim 7, Lanigan teaches the applicator according to claim 6,
wherein the stopper member is installed to be movable in a direction of intersecting with a movable direction of the sensor unit ([0331] “As shown in FIGS. 70A-70B, the exterior housing 116 may also include stop protrusions 1094 on the interior face of the exterior housing 116. The stop protrusions 1094 may be nubs, pins, rails or any suitable feature”).
Regarding claim 8, Lanigan teaches the applicator according to claim 7, comprising
an elastic member configured to apply elastic force to the stopper member such that the stopper member is movable in a direction of releasing the restraining force of the removing member ([0012] “The inserter assembly may further comprise a sharp retractor having a cavity at least partially containing the sharp holder and having a stop therein configured to engage the ledge. The sharp retractor may additionally have a catch configured to engage the ledge and hold an insertion spring in a biased state”); and
a stopper member fixing portion provided at the stopper member or the applicator body to interlock the stopper member and the applicator body to maintain a position in which the stopper member restrains movement of the removing member in a state that the elastic member is elastically deformed ([0012] “The inserter assembly may further comprise an infusion set base releasably coupled to the sharp retractor and holding a retraction spring in a biased state while releasably coupled to the sharp retractor.”),
wherein the operation member is operated to release fixing force of the stopper member caused by the stopper member fixing portion ([0260] “Spring 138 is held in compression between the interior housing 120 and the sharp retractor 134. Upon release, spring 138 drives the sharp retractor 134 and sharp holder 130 from a post insertion state to a retracted state”).
Regarding claim 9, Lanigan teaches the applicator according to claim 6,
wherein the insertion unit comprises
a shuttle installed to be movable from the first position to the second position together with the sensor unit ([0009] “the infusion set base may be arranged to be decoupled from the body as the sharp holder is propelled toward the skin”),
a needle coupled with the shuttle to be movable from the first position to the second position together with the shuttle, and separably coupled to the sensor unit to be inserted into the skin of the user together with the sensor ([0206] “The sharp holder 130 may retain an insertion sharp 132 thereon”; [0316] “When the set cartridge 1002 is assembled, the insertion sharp 132 may extend through the cannula sub assembly 114 and the cannula sub assembly 114 may be disposed against the sharp holder 130. In sensor cartridge embodiments, the cannula sub assembly 114 and infusion set base 106 may be replaced by a sensor assembly.”), and
a shuttle driver configured to provide moving force to the shuttle in a direction of moving the first position to the second position ([0283] “As shown, the restoring action of the spring 136 may drive the sharp holder 130, insertion sharp 132, and cannula subassembly 114 toward the skin 356 along an insertion path”), and
wherein movement of the shuttle is restrained by the stopper member at the first position, and the shuttle is movable to the second position by the shuttle driver by releasing restraining force of the stopper member according to movement of the stopper member ([0334] “As shown in FIGS. 70A-70B, the exterior housing 116 may also include stop protrusions 1094 on the interior face of the exterior housing 116. The stop protrusions 1094 may be nubs, pins, rails or any suitable feature”).
Regarding claim 10, Lanigan teaches the applicator according to claim 9,
wherein the stopper member is configured to release restraining force applied to the removing member first, and after completing a separation operation of the protective film by the removing member, release restraining force applied to the shuttle ([0011-0012] “the sharp holder may include at least one ledge and the sharp retractor includes a least one stop. There may be a dwell distance between the at least one ledge and the stop when the retractor bias member is released from the retraction energy storing state.”).
Regarding claim 11, Lanigan teaches the applicator according to claim 1,
wherein the removing member is configured to complete a separation operation of the protective sheet before the sensor unit is moved from the first position ([0035] “The housing may include an indention in which pull tabs of the adhesive backing are disposed. In some embodiments, the housing may include a set of stop surfaces configured to interact with lock members of the inserter assembly to lock the housing from rotational displacement once the inserter assembly and housing are coupled. In some embodiments, the container may be configured to displace the lock members when pressed against the inserter assembly to unlock rotational displacement of the housing. In some embodiments, the spring loaded tab may be configured to displace to the deflected state upon coupling of the cartridge to the inserter assembly”; [0036] “a sensor cartridge”; [0209]; [0247] “As the example adhesive backing 111 is attached to the lock member 146, extraction of the lock member 146 may complete disassociation of the adhesive backing 111 from the inserter assembly 100.”).
Regarding claim 12, Lanigan teaches an applicator for inserting a sensor into skin of a user ([0196] “certain inserter assemblies 100 may be operated to place physiological monitors into working relationship with a patient's body. In certain examples, an analyte sensor may be placed onto a patient with an inserter assembly 100.”), the applicator comprising:
an applicator body to which a base unit including a base unit housing ([0196] “FIG. 1A depicts an exploded view of an embodiment of an example inserter assembly 100.”; [0206] “A retainer base 140 may a serve to couple to a bottom portion of the inserter assembly 100 to hold the various components in place within the inserter assembly 100. In the example, the retainer base 140 includes retaining interfaces 142 which may snap into cantilevered retainer arms 144 included on the exterior housing 116.”), and an adhesive portion provided at the base unit housing to be attached to the skin of the user is separably coupled ([0215] “In various embodiments, however, fenestrations similar to fenestrations 148, 150 in FIGS. 1A-1C in the exterior housing 116 and interior housing 120 may be included to accommodate a lock member 146. In these embodiments, the adhesive backing 111 could be bonded onto the lock member 146. In the example embodiment, however, the adhesive backing 111 includes two pull tabs 410 (though any suitable number may be included). These pull tabs 410 may be grasped by a user to facilitate removal of the adhesive backing 111.”);
an insertion unit installed to the applicator body to move the sensor unit, which includes the sensor and a sensor unit housing to which the sensor is mounted, an adhesive layer provided at the sensor unit housing to be attachable to the base unit housing, and a protective sheet covering the adhesive layer from a first position which is spaced apart from the base unit to a second position where the sensor unit is coupled with the base unit to insert the sensor into the skin of the user ([0030] “The cartridge may further comprise an infusion set base retainer having an infusion set base retained thereon.”; [0031] “In some embodiments, the infusion set base may include adhesive on a face thereof. The adhesive being covered by a liner or backing”);
a removing member to which a portion of the protective sheet is coupled and is rotatably installed to the applicator body to remove the protective sheet from the adhesive layer ([0033] “the housing may include an indention within which pull tabs of an adhesive backing covering adhesive on the infusion set base are disposed”; [0035] “The housing may include an indention in which pull tabs of the adhesive backing are disposed. In some embodiments, the housing may include a set of stop surfaces configured to interact with lock members of the inserter assembly to lock the housing from rotational displacement once the inserter assembly and housing are coupled. In some embodiments, the container may be configured to displace the lock members when pressed against the inserter assembly to unlock rotational displacement of the housing. In some embodiments, the spring loaded tab may be configured to displace to the deflected state upon coupling of the cartridge to the inserter assembly”; [0209]; [0247] “As the example adhesive backing 111 is attached to the lock member 146, extraction of the lock member 146 may complete disassociation of the adhesive backing 111 from the inserter assembly 100.”); and
an operation member installed to the applicator body to operate the removing member by being manipulated by the user ([0035] “The housing may include an indention in which pull tabs of the adhesive backing are disposed. In some embodiments, the housing may include a set of stop surfaces configured to interact with lock members of the inserter assembly to lock the housing from rotational displacement once the inserter assembly and housing are coupled”; [0247] “The adhesive backing 111 may include a gripping region 224 which may be in the form of a flange, tab, or other projection of backing material which extends beyond the footprint of the inserter assembly 100”).
Regarding claim 13, Lanigan teaches an applicator assembly comprising:
an applicator body ([0196] “FIG. 1A depicts an exploded view of an embodiment of an example inserter assembly 100.”);
a sensor unit including a sensor, a sensor unit housing to which the sensor is mounted, an adhesive layer provided at the sensor unit housing, and a protective sheet covering the adhesive layer ([0312] “install a next infusion set 102 (or analyte sensor in certain examples) … infusion sets 102 may be provided in separate set cartridges 1002. Similarly, where the inserter assembly 100 is configured to apply a sensor to the patient, sensors may be provided in sensor cartridges”; [0024] “removing an adhesive backing from the infusion set base”; [0031] “The adhesive being covered by a liner or backing.”);
an insertion unit installed to the applicator body to move the sensor unit from a first position spaced away from the skin of the user to a second position where the sensor is inserted into the skin of the user ([0006] “an infusion set base in retaining engagement with the body”; [0036] “The insertion bias member may propel the insertion driver from the first position to the extended position when released from the stressed state.”; [0360] “free the spring 1108 to transition to its unstressed state and displace the insertion driver 1062 toward the skin 356.”; [0041]);
a removing member to which a portion of the protective sheet is coupled and is rotatably installed to the applicator body to remove the protective sheet from the adhesive layer ([0033] “the housing may include an indention within which pull tabs of an adhesive backing covering adhesive on the infusion set base are disposed”; [0035] “The housing may include an indention in which pull tabs of the adhesive backing are disposed. In some embodiments, the housing may include a set of stop surfaces configured to interact with lock members of the inserter assembly to lock the housing from rotational displacement once the inserter assembly and housing are coupled. In some embodiments, the container may be configured to displace the lock members when pressed against the inserter assembly to unlock rotational displacement of the housing. In some embodiments, the spring loaded tab may be configured to displace to the deflected state upon coupling of the cartridge to the inserter assembly”; [0209]; [0247] “As the example adhesive backing 111 is attached to the lock member 146, extraction of the lock member 146 may complete disassociation of the adhesive backing 111 from the inserter assembly 100.”); and
an operation member installed to the applicator body to operate the removing member by being manipulated by the user ([0035] “The housing may include an indention in which pull tabs of the adhesive backing are disposed. In some embodiments, the housing may include a set of stop surfaces configured to interact with lock members of the inserter assembly to lock the housing from rotational displacement once the inserter assembly and housing are coupled”; [0247] “The adhesive backing 111 may include a gripping region 224 which may be in the form of a flange, tab, or other projection of backing material which extends beyond the footprint of the inserter assembly 100”).
Regarding claim 14, Lanigan teaches the applicator assembly according to claim 13, comprising
a base unit including a base unit housing to which the sensor unit housing is coupled and an adhesive portion provided at the base unit housing to be attachable to the skin of the user, and spaced apart from the sensor unit and separably coupled to the applicator body ([0196] “FIG. 1A depicts an exploded view of an embodiment of an example inserter assembly 100.”; [0206] “A retainer base 140 may a serve to couple to a bottom portion of the inserter assembly 100 to hold the various components in place within the inserter assembly 100. In the example, the retainer base 140 includes retaining interfaces 142 which may snap into cantilevered retainer arms 144 included on the exterior housing 116.”; [0215] “In various embodiments, however, fenestrations similar to fenestrations 148, 150 in FIGS. 1A-1C in the exterior housing 116 and interior housing 120 may be included to accommodate a lock member 146. In these embodiments, the adhesive backing 111 could be bonded onto the lock member 146. In the example embodiment, however, the adhesive backing 111 includes two pull tabs 410 (though any suitable number may be included). These pull tabs 410 may be grasped by a user to facilitate removal of the adhesive backing 111.”),
wherein the sensor unit housing is configured to be attachable to the base unit housing by the adhesive layer at the second position ([0030] “The cartridge may further comprise an infusion set base retainer having an infusion set base retained thereon.”; [0031] “In some embodiments, the infusion set base may include adhesive on a face thereof. The adhesive being covered by a liner or backing”).
Conclusion
/EVELYN GRACE PARK/Examiner, Art Unit 3791 /TSE W CHEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791