DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
The amended claim set of 05 Feb 2024 has been entered and reviewed
Claims 1-13 and 15 have been amended.
Claims 1-15 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-13, directed to a method for bleaching hair, in the reply filed on 10 Mar 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 14 and 15 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claims 1-13 are under consideration.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05 Feb 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, except where noted. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The same reference number is used with two different meanings. Page 11 line 8 refers to reference character “7” as a longitudinal axis and page 11 line 15-22 refer to “7” as a coating.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters “11, 12, 14 and 15” have been used to designate both method steps in figure 1 and device components in figures 3, 4, and 7.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “L” (eg. see page 12 line 10) and “W” (e.g. page 12 line 29).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “Y” in figure 3.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 4 are objected to because of the following informalities: claim 2 unnecessarily capitalizes “Claim” and claim 4 repeats the word “method.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The preamble of claim 1 recites “a cosmetic method for bleaching the hair.” Use of the definite article “the” implies a specific hair but hair has not been previously mentioned in the claim. It is unclear what hair “the hair” is intended to refer to. Claims 2-13 are included in this rejection as they depend directly, indirectly, or include all the limitations of independent claim 1.
Claim 1 recites “applying a bleaching composition” and “the hair impregnated with bleaching composition.” It is unclear if the verbs “applying” and “impregnated” refer to the same method step or to different steps. For example, “applying” is a broader term that encompasses any type of delivery of the composition to the hair. Impregnating implies a more thorough soaking and saturating of the hair which may potentially reach the internal structure of the hair. Thus, it is unclear if the impregnated hair refers to the hair with the applied bleaching composition or if it refers to a more detailed soaking step not recited. Claims 2-13 are included in this rejection as they depend directly, indirectly, or include all the limitations of independent claim 1.
Claim 1 recites “exposing the hair” which has improper antecedent basis. The bleach composition in the line before was applied to “at least one lock of hair” and it is unclear if “the hair” refers to the “at least one lock of hair” or to some other hair. Claims 2-13 are included in this rejection as they depend directly, indirectly, or include all the limitations of independent claim 1.
Claim 6 recites “persulfates” which lacks proper antecedent basis as claim 1 recites “one or more persulfates” and it is unclear if “persulfates” refers to just one or more that one persulfate. Amending the claim to “the one or more persulfates” would overcome this rejection.
Claim 9 recites that the bleaching composition comprises an additional oxidizing agent. This is indefinite as an oxidizing agent has not been identified in the claims previously and it is unclear if the “additional oxidizing agent” is intended to indicate the one or more persulfates as an oxidizing agent or if this is intended to refer to some other oxidizing agent not specified in the claims.
Claim 10 recites “the lock to be treated” which lacks proper antecedent basis as claim 1 recites “at least one lock of hair” and it is unclear if “the lock” refers to just one lock or multiple locks of hair. Amending the claim to “the at least one lock of hair to be treated” would overcome this rejection.
Claim 13 recites “the lock of hair” which lacks proper antecedent basis as claim 1 recites “at least one lock of hair” and it is unclear if “the lock of hair” refers to just one lock or multiple locks of hair. Amending the claim to “the at least one lock of hair” would overcome this rejection.
Claim 13 recites “carried out before the step b” but there has not been a step identified as step b and it is unclear what this refers to.
Regarding claims 2-13, the use of the phrases "better still,” “even better still, “most preferentially,” “in particular,” “such as in particular,” “ most preferentially,” and “preferably” renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6 and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Genain et al. (US 2013/0152959, published 20 Jun 2013).
Genain teaches a cosmetic hair treatment method comprising applying a mechanical tension to hair and exposing the hair under mechanical tension to microwaves ([0021-0023]). Genain teaches that the hair may be pretreated before application of the microwaves with a bleaching composition ([0212], [0247]), rendering obvious a method for bleaching hair. Genain teaches applying at least one fixing composition ([0082]), or oxidizing composition ([0190]), to the hair which may occur before the microwaving ([0084]) and where the composition may include at least one or more oxidizing agent such as persulphates and hydrogen peroxide ([0191]). Regarding claim 3, Genain teaches the oxidizing agent hydrogen peroxide as part of an aqueous composition ([0194]). The examiner notes that the limitation of at least 5% water is limited with “in particular” which is understood to be a preferable embodiment and not strictly required by the claim. Regarding claim 6, Genain teaches that the oxidizing agent is between 0.1% and 10% ([0193]). Regarding claim 2, Genain teaches that the microwaves are between 500 MHz and 300 GHz ([0029]). Regarding claim 10, Genain teaches an exposing the hair to microwaves in an enclosure that is impervious to microwaves ([0048]) and that microwaves are emitted from an antenna ([0044], [0066]). Regarding claim 11, Genain teaches variable power where the power of the microwaves is less than or equal to 500 W, preferably less than or equal to 200 W and greater than or equal to 10 W ([0031]) and that the enclosure may cover the hair over a length of greater than or equal to 5 cm ([0042]), rendering obvious the power density of the claim. Regarding claim 12, Genain teaches the duration of the microwave step may be between 1 s and 30 min, preferably between 1 s and 10 min ([0086]). Regarding claim 13, Genain teaches that the device for applying mechanical tension to the hair may comprise one or more rollers or other winding device ([0059]) and that applying the mechanical tension occurs before the microwave step ([0022-0025]).
Genain does not expressly teach bleaching the hair and applying the persulphates and hydrogen peroxide as part of the method of microwaving hair with sufficient specificity to rise to the level of anticipation.
However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a cosmetic hair treatment method of bleaching hair and to apply persulphates and hydrogen peroxide microwaves to the hair. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as applying persuplphates and hydrogen peroxide and microwaves are taught by Genain as suitable in a method for treating hair. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in treating hair with persulphates and hydrogen peroxide and microwaves as taught by Genain since the modification of the prior art represents nothing more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.
Accordingly, the instant claims are rendered prima facie obvious over the teachings of Genain.
Claims 3, 6 and 9 were rejected above and are rejected again below based on the teachings of the bleaching composition taught by Ascione.
Claims 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Genain et al. (US 2013/0152959, published 20 Jun 2013) as applied to claims 1-3, 6 and 9-13 and in view of Ascione et al. (WO 2012/159926, published 29 Nov 2012).
The teachings of Genain are described supra.
Genain does not teach the bleaching composition mixed from a plurality of compositions (claim 4), the specific persulfates of claim 5, the pH of the bleaching composition (claim 7) and the alkaline agents (claim 8). These deficiencies are made up for in the teachings of Ascione.
Ascione teaches a composition for bleaching keratin fibers such as hair comprising at least one persulfate, at least one ammonium salt and at least one alkaline agent (page 1 lines 4-6). Ascione teaches that the bleaching of the hair is performed by oxidation of the melanin pigment (page 1 lines 7-9). Regarding claims 3 and 4, Ascione teaches that the persulfate, ammonium salt, and alkaline agent is to be mixed directly at the time of use with an aqueous composition (page 2 lines 1-5). Regarding the at least 5% by weight of water as in claim 3 (currently understood to be an optional limitation), Ascione teaches an example where a tablet comprising the persulfate mixture was combined in a ratio of 1:1.5 with an aqueous hydrogen peroxide solution (page 22 lines 1-7), rendering obvious the at least 5% water. Regarding claims 5 and 6, Ascione teaches persulfates such as sodium and potassium persulfate between 10 and 80% by weight (page 4 lines 1-7). Regarding claim 8, Ascione teaches alkaline agents such as alkali metal or alkaline-earth metal carbonates (page 5 lines 5-8). Regarding claim 9, Ascione teaches including an oxidizing agent such as hydrogen peroxide (page 20 lines 18-21). Regarding claim 7, Ascione teaches that peroxygenated salts and hydrogen peroxide are relatively inefficient in acidic medium and it is often necessary to activate them at basic pH in order to obtain an adequate formation of active oxygen (page 1 lines 13-15).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in then art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a bleaching composition comprising sodium or potassium persulfate from 10-80%, alkali or alkaline earth metal carbonate and hydrogen peroxide as part of a bleaching composition with a basic pH and prepared by mixing a plurality of compositions in the method of bleaching hair rendered obvious over Genain. Applying bleaching compositions and microwaves is known from Genain and each of the features described above regarding the persulfates, carbonates, hydrogen peroxide, basic pH and mixing of compositions are known features of bleaching compositions as taught by Ascione. As it is known to use a bleaching composition in the method of Genain one of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success in incorporating these features of the bleaching compositions as they are known components and means of forming bleaching compositions from Ascione. Thus, each of these features merely represents incorporating known elements of hair bleaching compositions into a method that is known for use with bleaching compositions.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 7 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,771,193 in view of Genain et al. (US 2013/0152959, published 20 Jun 2013) as applied to claims 1-3, 6 and 9-13 and in view of Ascione et al. (WO 2012/159926, published 29 Nov 2012).
The claims of the ‘193 patent recites a cosmetic process for treating hair with a device using microwave emission antenna where the hair has mechanical stress applied in a microwave proof chamber and the stress is carried out with a curler.
The claims do not recite applying a bleaching composition with the features of the instant claims and the specific microwave frequencies, power and application time. These deficiencies are made up for in the teachings of Genain and Ascione.
The teachings of Genain and Ascione are described supra.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied a bleaching composition as part of the microwave hair treatment process where the composition comprises 10-80% sodium or potassium persulfates, hydrogen peroxide, alkali metal or alkaline earth metal carbonates and is at a basic pH and is formed by mixing the persulfates with an aqueous composition and where the microwaves are applied between 1s-30min from 500 MHz and 300 GHz at a power of less than or equal to 200 W and greater than or equal to 10 W over a length of at least 5 cm. Applying bleaching compositions to hair prior to microwave treatment is known from Genain and a specific bleaching composition is known from Ascione. The microwave parameters and bleaching composition parameters described above are known from Genain and Ascione respectively. Thus it is obvious to apply a bleaching composition with microwave treatments based on the prior art and it would be obvious to use these parameters with the reference claims which recite applying microwaves to hair as each of the microwave and bleaching parameters merely represent known elements for treating hair with microwaves.
Claims 1-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 9,775,419 in view of Genain et al. (US 2013/0152959, published 20 Jun 2013) as applied to claims 1-3, 6 and 9-13 and in view of Ascione et al. (WO 2012/159926, published 29 Nov 2012).
The claims of the ‘419 patent recite a cosmetic hair treatment method comprising applying mechanical tension to hair and exposing the hair to microwaves from 500 MHz to 10GHz between 1s and 30 min and with a power less than 500 W and application is in an enclosure impervious to microwaves.
The claims do not recite applying a bleaching composition with the features of the instant claims and the mechanical tension applied with curlers and the power density. These deficiencies are made up for in the teachings of Genain and Ascione.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied a bleaching composition as part of the microwave hair treatment process where the composition comprises 10-80% sodium or potassium persulfates, hydrogen peroxide, alkali metal or alkaline earth metal carbonates and is at a basic pH and is formed by mixing the persulfates with an aqueous composition and where the microwaves are applied over a length of at least 5 cm and where the hair is under tension from rollers. Applying bleaching compositions to hair prior to microwave treatment is known from Genain and a specific bleaching composition is known from Ascione. The microwave parameters and bleaching composition parameters described above are known from Genain and Ascione respectively. Thus it is obvious to apply a bleaching composition with microwave treatments based on the prior art and it would be obvious to use these parameters with the reference claims which recite applying microwaves to hair as each of the microwave and bleaching parameters merely represent known elements for treating hair with microwaves.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Correspondence
/E.C.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1619
/ANNA R FALKOWITZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1600