DETAILED ACTION
This is in reply to an application filed on 02/09/2024. Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9, 10, 12-18, and 32-36 are pending.
Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendment submitted on 02/09/2024 is acknowledged and considered accordingly.
Information Disclosure Statement PTO-1449
The Information Disclosure Statement submitted by applicant on 05/01/2026 and 02/05/2024 have all been considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Form PTO-1449 signed and attached hereto.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-15, 32, 34 and 36 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20160309507 A1 to Park et al., (hereinafter Park).
Claim 13. A method for transmission enhancement, performed by a network device, and comprising:
sending one of a predefined signal or configuration information to a terminal device.
(Park: See Fig. 3 and para[0063] the MTC terminal (i.e., a terminal device) does not receive the RAR message for the transmitted RA preamble PRACH from eNodeB within a determined time duration, but it receives a backoff indicator (BI) through DCI from eNodeB (i.e., sending a predefined signal or configuration information to a terminal device)
Claim 14. The method according to claim 13, wherein the method further comprises:
respectively configuring for the terminal device, through a signaling, at least one of signal characteristic information or transmission time-frequency resource position information of the predefined signal. (i.e., DCI)
(Park: See para[0058] the terminal transmits PRACH wherein the time resources for PRACH is determined in the PRACH configuration index in which the preamble is transmitted. See also Fig. 3, #S304, for N repetitions of DCI is received)
Claim 15. The method according to claim 13, wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of:
pilot information for the downlink control information; detection of a Downlink Control Information (DCI) type of the downlink control information; a number of detections; a resource position; or an aggregation level.
(Park: See para[0015]-[0016] DCI format of the DCI may include random access identifier (RAPID), a backoff indicator (BI), a timing advance (TA) and a user equipment identifier (UE identifier) (i.e., pilot information for the DCI))
Claim 32. A communication device, (i.e., UE/Terminal) comprising a processor and a memory, wherein a computer program is stored in the memory, and the processor executes the computer program stored in the memory to cause the communication device to execute the method according to claim 13.
(Park: See para[0020] and Fig. 11, #1120, a Terminal, with memory, and processor with program stored in memory)
Claim 34. A communication device, (i.e., UE/Terminal) comprising: a processor and an interface circuit; wherein the interface circuit is configured to receive code instructions and transmit the code instructions to the processor; and the processor is configured to run the code instructions to execute the method according to claim 13.
(Park: See para[0020] and Fig. 11, #1120, a Terminal, with memory, and processor with program stored in memory)
Claim 36. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium configured to store instructions which, when executed, enable the method according to claim 13 to be implemented.
(Park: See para[0020] and Fig. 11, #1120, a Terminal, with memory, and processor with program stored in memory)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9, 10, 12, 16-18, 33, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20160309507 A1 to Park et al., (hereinafter Park) and in view of US 20180317264 A1 to Agiwal et al., (hereinafter Agiwal).
Claim 1. A method for transmission enhancement, performed by a terminal device, and comprising:
determining, based on detected preset information, (i.e., detecting DCI) a transmission parameter (i.e., the backoff indicator (BI) that is included in the DCI) for the uplink transmission (i.e., used for PRACH transmission to BS (i.e., uplink)), wherein the preset information comprises a predefined signal (i.e., RAR) sent by a network device or downlink control information (i.e., DCI) sent by the network device; (i.e., BS/eNodeB) and performing the uplink transmission (i.e., retransmit the PRACH after waiting according to the backoff Indicator (BI)) based on the determined transmission parameter (i.e., based on BI).
(Park: See Fig. 3 and para[0063] if the MTC terminal (i.e., a terminal device) does not receive the RAR message for the transmitted RA preamble PRACH from eNodeB within a determined time duration, however it receives a backoff indicator (BI) through DCI (i.e., a transmission parameter (BI) based on detected preset information (DCI)), then MTC terminal may wait during a determined time according to the backoff Indicator (BI) and then retransmit the PRACH. (i.e., perform uplink transmission based on the determined transmission parameter))
Although Park teaches if the RAR message is not received for PRACH transmission, however, it does not specifically indicate that not receiving the RAR for the transmitted PRACH (i.e., an uplink transmission) is indication uplink transmission failure or problem as understood by:
determining that an uplink transmission fails; and
However, in a similar field, Agiwal, in para[0057] teaches if the UE fails to receive RAR message after transmitting PRACH preamble to BS (i.e., an uplink transmission) , then UE declares it as problem and failure for random access procedure (Agiwal: See para[0057])
Park teaches techniques related to random access procedures performed by machines type communication devices (MTC) such as if an MTC terminal (i.e., a terminal device) does not receive the RAR message for its transmitted RA preamble namely PRACH, from eNodeB within a determined time duration, but it receives a backoff indicator (BI) through DCI, then MTC terminal may wait during a determined time according to the backoff Indicator (BI) and then retransmit the PRACH. (Park: See para[0063])
Agiwal teaches if UE does not receive a RAR message for an uplink PRACH message it transmits, then UE declares such scenario as problem and failure for random access procedure. (Agiwal: See para[0057])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to have included a failure determination by UE if a RAR message to an uplink PRACH is not received by UE, as taught by Agiwal, in order to benefit from enhancement of having a UE that can declare a failure, when a RAR message for an uplink PRACH it transmits is not received. (Agiwal: See para[0063])
Claim 2. The method according to claim 1, wherein the determining, based on the detected preset information (i.e., backoff indication (BI) of DCI as the transmission parameter for uplink retransmission of PRACH) the transmission parameter for the uplink transmission comprises:
periodically detecting the predefined signal (Park: See Fig. 3, #S304, N repetitions of DCI are sent by BS and received by MTC terminal) sent by the network device (i.e., BS/eNodeB); determining that the predefined signal is detected; (Park: See Fig. 3, #S304, N repetitions of DCI are received (i.e., detected) by MTC terminal) and determining, based on a mapping relationship between a signal (i.e., PRACH) and an uplink transmission parameter (i.e., BI for PRACH retransmission), the transmission parameter (i.e., determining backoff indicator (BI) time for retransmission of PRACH) for the uplink transmission (i.e., PRACH retransmission) corresponding to the predefined signal. (i.e., DCI)
(Park: see para[0100] Terminal waits for the duration of backoff indicator (BI) received via DCI (i.e., the predefined signal) before retransmitting PRACH (i.e., uplink transmission))
Claim 3. The method according to claim 2, wherein the periodically detecting the predefined signal sent by the network device comprises:
periodically detecting, (i.e., N DCI repetitions received) according to at least one of signal characteristic information or transmission time-frequency resource position information of the predefined signal, the predefined signal (i.e., DCI) sent by the network device (i.e., BS/eNodeB) from a predefined signal set, (i.e., N repetitions of transmitted DCI to MTC) wherein the at least one of the signal characteristic information or the transmission time-frequency resource position information (i.e., configured RA resources) is learnt in advance;
(Park: See para[0058] the terminal transmits PRACH wherein the time resources for PRACH is determined in the PRACH configuration index in which the preamble is transmitted. See also Fig. 3, #S304, for N repetitions of DCI is transmitted/received)
and the at least one of the signal characteristic information or the transmission time-frequency resource position information are respectively is predefined; (i.e., configured RA resources) or the at least one of the signal characteristic information or the transmission time-frequency resource position information is configured to the terminal device by the network device through a signaling.
(Park: See para[0046] each cell configures RA resource of the terminal, and the terminal attempts to perform random access (RA) using its configured RA resources)
Claim 5. The method according to claim 2, wherein the method further comprises:
determining that the uplink transmission is successful; and stopping detection of the predefined signal. (Park: See para[0069] and Fig. 3, #S305, after RA preamble PRACH is successful, no more DCI is received/used and instead PUSCH is transmitted including TC-RNTI)
Claim 6. The method according to claim 1, wherein the determining, based on the detected preset information, the transmission parameter for the uplink transmission comprises:
detecting the downlink control information (i.e., DCI) based on configuration information; and determining, based on the downlink control information (i.e., DCI), the transmission parameter (i.e., backoff indicator (BI)) for the uplink transmission (i.e., PRACH transmission)
(Park: See Fig. 3 and para[0063] if the MTC terminal (i.e., a terminal device) receives a backoff indicator (BI) through DCI (i.e., a transmission parameter (BI) based on detected preset information (DCI)), then MTC terminal may wait during a determined time according to the backoff Indicator (BI) and then retransmit the PRACH (i.e., the uplink transmission)
Claim 7. The method according to claim 6, wherein the configuration information (i.e., DCI) comprises at least one of:
pilot information for the downlink control information; detection of a Downlink Control Information (DCI) type of the downlink control information; a number of detections; a resource position; or an aggregation level; wherein the downlink control information (i.e., DCI) comprises indication information for the transmission parameter (i.e, backoff Indicator (BI)) or personal position information.
(Park: See Fig. 3 and para[0063] if the MTC terminal (i.e., a terminal device) receives a backoff indicator (BI) through DCI (i.e., a transmission parameter (BI) based on detected preset information (DCI)), then MTC terminal may wait during a determined time according to the backoff Indicator (BI) and then retransmit the PRACH (i.e., the uplink transmission)
Claim 9. The method according to claim 6, further comprising:
determining that the uplink transmission is successful; and stopping detection of the downlink control information.
(Park: See para[0069] and Fig. 3, #S305, after RA preamble PRACH is successful, no more DCI is received/used and instead PUSCH is transmitted including TC-RNTI)
Claim 10. The method according to claim 1, wherein the uplink transmission failure comprises at least any one of:
no response signal for the uplink transmission being received within a predefined time; no preconfigured downlink control information being received within the predefined time; no preconfigured first data being received within the predefined time; or no preconfigured pilot information being received within the predefined time; wherein no response signal for the uplink transmission being received within the predefined time comprises one of: no Random Access Response (RAR) signal for a Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) signal being received within the predefined time; or no feedback information for a preset transmission being received within the predefined time, wherein the preset transmission is that second data is sent by the terminal device.
(Park: See Fig. 3 and para[0063] the MTC terminal (i.e., a terminal device) does not receive the RAR message from eNodeB for the transmitted RA preamble PRACH, within a determined time duration (i.e., the predefined time))
Claim 12. The method according to claim 10, wherein: the predefined time is given in a protocol; or, the predefined time is notified by the network device to the terminal device through a signaling in advance, wherein the signaling comprises at least any one of a higher layer signaling, a medium access control layer signaling and a physical layer signaling.
(Park: See Fig. 3 and para[0063] the MTC terminal (i.e., a terminal device) does not receive the RAR message from eNodeB for the transmitted RA preamble PRACH, within a determined time duration (i.e., the predefined time). See para[0065] RAR message is generated via media access control (MAC) layer of the base station)
Claim 16. A communication device (i.e., UE/Terminal) comprising a processor and a memory, wherein a computer program is stored in the memory, and (Park: See Fig. 11, #1120, “Terminal” having processor and memory) the processor is configured to execute the computer program to:
determine, based on detected preset information, a transmission parameter for the uplink transmission, and perform the uplink transmission based on the determined transmission parameter, wherein the preset information comprises a predefined signal sent by a network device or downlink control information sent by the network device.
determine, based on detected preset information, (i.e., detecting DCI) a transmission parameter (i.e., the backoff indicator (BI) that is included in the DCI) for the uplink transmission (i.e., used for PRACH transmission to BS (i.e., uplink)), wherein the preset information comprises a predefined signal (i.e., RAR) sent by a network device (i.e., BS/eNodeB) or downlink control information (i.e., DCI) sent by the network device.
(Park: See Fig. 3 and para[0063] if the MTC terminal (i.e., a terminal device) does not receive the RAR message for the transmitted RA preamble PRACH from eNodeB within a determined time duration, however it receives a backoff indicator (BI) through DCI (i.e., a transmission parameter (BI) based on detected preset information (DCI)), then MTC terminal may wait during a determined time according to the backoff Indicator (BI) and then retransmit the PRACH. (i.e., perform uplink transmission based on the determined transmission parameter))
Although Park teaches if the RAR message is not received for PRACH transmission, however, it does not specifically indicate that not receiving the RAR for the transmitted PRACH (i.e., an uplink transmission) is indication uplink transmission failure or problem as understood by:
determine that an uplink transmission fails; and
However, in a similar field, Agiwal, in para[0057] teaches if the UE fails to receive RAR message after transmitting PRACH preamble to BS (i.e., an uplink transmission) , then UE declares it as problem and failure for random access procedure (Agiwal: See para[0057])
Park teaches techniques related to random access procedures performed by machines type communication devices (MTC) such as if an MTC terminal (i.e., a terminal device) does not receive the RAR message for its transmitted RA preamble namely PRACH, from eNodeB within a determined time duration, but it receives a backoff indicator (BI) through DCI, then MTC terminal may wait during a determined time according to the backoff Indicator (BI) and then retransmit the PRACH. (Park: See para[0063])
Agiwal teaches if UE does not receive a RAR message for an uplink PRACH message it transmits, then UE declares such scenario as problem and failure for random access procedure. (Agiwal: See para[0057])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to have included a failure determination by UE if a RAR message to an uplink PRACH is not received by UE, as taught by Agiwal, in order to benefit from enhancement of having a UE that can declare a failure, when a RAR message for an uplink PRACH it transmits is not received. (Agiwal: See para[0063])
Claim 17. The communication device according to claim 16, wherein the processor is configured to:
periodically detect the predefined signal (Park: See Fig. 3, #S304, N repetitions of DCI sent by BS and received by MTC terminal) sent by the network device; determine that the predefined signal is detected; (Park: See Fig. 3, #S304, N repetitions of DCI are received by MTC terminal) and determine, based on a mapping relationship between a signal (i.e., PRACH) and an uplink transmission parameter, (i.e., determining backoff indicator (BI) time for retransmission of PRACH) the transmission parameter for the uplink transmission corresponding to the predefined signal. (i.e., DCI)
(Park: see para[0100] Terminal waits for the duration of backoff indicator (BI) received via DCI (i.e., the predefined signal) before retransmitting PRACH (i.e., uplink transmission))
Claim 18. The communication device according to claim 17, wherein the processor is configured to:
periodically detect, (i.e., N DCI repetitions received) according to at least one of signal characteristic information or transmission time-frequency resource position information of the predefined signal, the predefined signal (i.e., DCI) sent by the network device (i.e., BS/eNodeB) from a predefined signal set, (i.e., N repetitions of transmitted DCI to MTC) wherein the at least one of the signal characteristic information or the transmission time-frequency resource position information (i.e., configured RA resources) is learnt in advance;
(Park: See para[0058] the terminal transmits PRACH wherein the time resources for PRACH is determined in the PRACH configuration index in which the preamble is transmitted. See also Fig. 3, #S304, for N repetitions of DCI is transmitted/received)
and the at least one of the signal characteristic information or the transmission time-frequency resource position information is predefined; (i.e., configured RA resources) or the at least one of the signal characteristic information or the transmission time-frequency resource position information is configured to the terminal device by the network device through a signaling.
(Park: See para[0046] each cell configures RA resource of the terminal, and the terminal attempts to perform random access (RA) using its configured RA resources)
Claim 33. A communication device, (i.e., UE/Terminal) comprising: a processor and an interface circuit; wherein: the interface circuit is configured to receive code instructions and transmit the code instructions to the processor; and the processor is configured to run the code instructions to execute the method according to claim 1. (Park: See para[0020] and Fig. 11, #1120, a Terminal, with memory, and processor with program stored in memory)
Claim 35. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium configured to store instructions which, when executed, enable the method according to claim 1 to be implemented. (Park: See para[0020] and Fig. 11, #1120, a Terminal, with memory, and processor with program stored in memory)
Conclusion
8. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MAJID ESMAEILIAN whose telephone number is (571)270-7830. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Chirag G. Shah can be reached on 571-272-3144. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/M. E./
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
/GREGORY B SEFCHECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477