CTNF 18/681,471 CTNF 101467 Detailed Action Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 1. Claims 1, 3-4, & 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirata et al (JP 2021109750 A), hereinafter Hirata, in view of Maruta et al (JP 2020112441 A), hereinafter Maruta. 2. Regarding Claims 1 & 10: Hirata teaches a position estimation system and method, ([0012]: As shown in FIG. 1, in the inventory management system 1, for example, a wireless device 2, a clerk terminal 4 (an example of a mobile terminal) owned by a clerk SC, and a receiver 6 are provided in the store, and the store or the store A position identification device 7 is provided in the office of the store). Hirata teaches a position information obtainer that obtains position information, of each of one or more first communication devices located in the space from a positioning system that measures a position of the first communication device based on a state of communication between the first communication device and a plurality of second communication devices disposed in the space, ([0018]: The receiver 6 and the position identification device 7 are communicably connected to each other, and constitute a position identification system for identifying the position of the clerk terminal 4 in the store. The receiver 6 (locator) is installed on the ceiling of the store, for example, receives radio waves (beacon signals) emitted by the clerk terminal 4 of the clerk SC moving in the store, and measures the incident angle of the radio waves. The position specifying device 7 positions the clerk terminal 4 by the AOA (Angle of Arrival) method that specifies the position (position on the plane) of the clerk terminal 4 in the store based on the incident angle measured by the receiver 6. When a plurality of clerk terminals 4 are provided in the store, each clerk terminal 4 emits a beacon signal that can identify the source, and the position specifying device 7 positions each clerk terminal 4). Hirata further teaches, ([0019]: The position of the clerk terminal 4 can be estimated by one receiver 6, but it depends on the magnitude of the received signal strength (RSSI) of the beacon signal transmitted from the clerk terminal 4, the store area, and the radio wave environment of the store. It is preferable to provide many receivers 6. The positioning method of the clerk terminal 4 is not limited to the AOA method, and other methods such as the TOA (Time of Arrival) method may be used). Hirata goes on to teach, ([0063]: the position of each clerk terminal is sequentially positioned based on the beacon signal received from each clerk terminal by the receiver 6 as described above). Hirata teaches wherein the estimator: estimates coordinates of a target first communication device held by the person, the position information obtained, the target first communication device being included in the one or more first communication devices; and estimates coordinates of an object, other than the person in the space, based on a state of communication between a third communication device held by the object and the target first communication device, and the coordinates of the target first communication device estimated, ([0011]: In FIG. 1, the inventory management system 1 of the present embodiment is operated by a product management server 5 connected to a network based on a signal received from an IoT tag T (an example of a wireless tag) attached to each product in the store). Hirata further teaches, ([0063]: the reception signal strength (RSSI (Received Signal Strength Indicator) value) when the clerk terminal 4-1, 4-2, 4-3 receives the packet transmitted by the tag T and each terminal receives the packet. Let be SR1, SR2, SR3. In this position identification method, the distance between the tag T and each terminal is estimated based on the RSSI values SR1, SR2, SR3 at each terminal by using the attenuation characteristic of the radio wave according to the distance, and the tag T is estimated by the triangulation method. Positioning. According to this position identification method, the accuracy of tag position identification can be improved by using a plurality of clerk terminals). Hirata does not teach, an obtainer that obtains information which is one of image information of an image showing a space in which a person is located or temperature distribution information of the space; an estimator that estimates coordinates of the person in the space, based on the information obtained; and wherein the estimator: estimates coordinates of the person estimated and the position information obtained. However, Maruta teaches, ([0069]: <Operation example of acquiring position information> FIG. 10 is a diagram showing an example of an operation sequence when the server acquires the position information calculated by the photographing device connected to any beacon of the beacon mesh). Maruta further teaches, ([0071]: In SQ201, the photographing unit 54 of the photographing apparatus 50 photographs a space such as a factory or a warehouse in a predetermined direction and at a predetermined angle of view. The photographing unit 54 photographs so that the entire space is included. The photographing unit 54 stores the photographed image in the storage unit 53. The photographing unit 54 photographs the space at predetermined time intervals). Maruta continues to teach, ([0072]: The calculation unit 52 of the photographing device 50 extracts a person (head, etc.) from the image captured by the photographing unit 54, calculates the position of the person, and outputs the position information of the person. The calculation unit 52 stores the position information of a person in the storage unit 53. In addition, the calculation unit 52 calculates the position of a person existing in the image captured by the photographing unit 54 by using the estimation model stored in the storage unit 53). Maruta goes on to teach, ([0059]: <Operation example of terminal ID acquisition> FIG. 8 is a diagram showing an example of an operation sequence when the server acquires the terminal ID of a terminal existing in the vicinity of any beacon of the beacon mesh). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to modify Hirata with Maruta to include an obtainer that obtains information which is one of image information of an image showing a space in which a person is located or temperature distribution information of the space; an estimator that estimates coordinates of the person in the space, based on the information obtained; and wherein the estimator: estimates coordinates of the person estimated and the position information obtained since it is the same field of endeavor and results would have been predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling would have been motivated to modify Hirata with Maruta since, radio beacons provide absolute, long-range coordinate data while image information offers micro-level tracking and orientation. The combination of such systems provides exact positioning at the centimeter level, removing the spatial drift which is problematic for stand alone systems. In addition, such a combined system is robust with respect to obstructions since the radio beacons can take over tracking when the tracked object or person is blocked by an obstruction in the space. Such a combined system also provides rich behavioral and contextual data in addition to position tracking, allowing the combined system to recognize what is being tracked as well as recognizing physical actions or poses of the objects or people being tracked. 3. Regarding Claim 3: Hirata teaches, the estimator: estimates the coordinates of each of a plurality of target first communication devices held by mutually different persons, the plurality of target first communication devices each being the target first communication device; And estimates the coordinates of the object in the space, based on a state of communication between the third communication device and the plurality of target first communication devices, and the coordinates of each of the plurality of target first communication devices estimated, ([0018]: The receiver 6 and the position identification device 7 are communicably connected to each other, and constitute a position identification system for identifying the position of the clerk terminal 4 in the store. The receiver 6 (locator) is installed on the ceiling of the store, for example, receives radio waves (beacon signals) emitted by the clerk terminal 4 of the clerk SC moving in the store, and measures the incident angle of the radio waves. The position specifying device 7 positions the clerk terminal 4 by the AOA (Angle of Arrival) method that specifies the position (position on the plane) of the clerk terminal 4 in the store based on the incident angle measured by the receiver 6. When a plurality of clerk terminals 4 are provided in the store, each clerk terminal 4 emits a beacon signal that can identify the source, and the position specifying device 7 positions each clerk terminal 4). Hirata further teaches, ([0063]: The configuration of the inventory management system 1 of the present embodiment is the same as that of the first embodiment (see FIG. 2), but the tag position identification method is different. In the present embodiment, when a plurality of clerk terminals 4 are provided in the store, the position of the tag can be specified more accurately. A method of specifying the position of the tag using the plurality of clerk terminals 4 will be described with reference to FIG. FIG. 8 is a plan view of the inside of the store area, and it is assumed that the store clerk has, for example, three clerk terminals 4-1, 4-2, 4-3 in the store. At this time, the position of each clerk terminal is sequentially positioned based on the beacon signal received from each clerk terminal by the receiver 6 as described above. In FIG. 8, the reception signal strength (RSSI (Received Signal Strength Indicator) value) when the clerk terminal 4-1, 4-2, 4-3 receives the packet transmitted by the tag T and each terminal receives the packet. Let be SR1, SR2, SR3. In this position identification method, the distance between the tag T and each terminal is estimated based on the RSSI values SR1, SR2, SR3 at each terminal by using the attenuation characteristic of the radio wave according to the distance, and the tag T is estimated by the triangulation method). 4. Regarding Claim 4: Hirata does not teach, the obtainer obtains the image information of the image in a top view of the space, the estimator estimates the coordinates of the person, based on the image information obtained, and the coordinates are two-dimensional coordinates in the top view of the space. However, Maruta teaches, ([0013]: The beacon 10 is installed on a ceiling, a beam, a wall, a pillar, or the like in a space such as a warehouse or a factory. The photographing device 50 is installed on a ceiling, a beam, a wall, a pillar, or the like capable of photographing a person existing in the space). Maruta further teaches, ([0042]: The calculation unit 52 distinguishes between a person and a non-person in the image, but does not identify who the person is. Here, the calculation unit 52 calculates the position (coordinates in the image) of the person in the image taken by the photographing unit 54). Maruta continues to teach, ([0043]: The calculation unit 52 may use the foot of the perpendicular line drawn from the position of the person's head to the floor as the position of the person. Assuming that a person moves on the floor, the z coordinate is always 0, so the calculation unit 52 may represent the position of the person by the x coordinate and the y coordinate). Maruta goes on to teach, ([0044]: An estimation model to be estimated may be created in advance. At this time, the calculation unit 52 may use the estimation model to calculate the actual position of the human head included in the image captured by the imaging unit 54). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to modify Hirata with Maruta to include the obtainer obtains the image information of the image in a top view of the space, the estimator estimates the coordinates of the person, based on the image information obtained, and the coordinates are two-dimensional coordinates in the top view of the space since it is the same field of endeavor and results would have been predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling would have been motivated to modify Hirata with Maruta since, using an image of the top view of the space will typically provide a view with fewer obstructions. Such obstructions could limit the systems ability to identify tracked objects within the image. In addition, placing the imaging device in an orientation enabling a top view will allow the imaging device to more accurately determine the position of objects within the image since any grid distortion will be static and symmetric, allowing for a simple adjustment of position depending on the objects distance from the optical axis of the imaging device. 5. Regarding Claim 6: Hirata does not teach the positioning system measures the position of each of the one or more first communication devices, based on a received signal strength indicator of a beacon signal transmitted by each of the plurality of second communication devices, the received signal strength indicator being observed at the first communication device. However, Maruta teaches, ([0061]: In SQ102, the beacon 10D that has received the signal including the terminal ID from the terminal 30 measures the reception strength (RSSI: Received Signal Strength Indicator) of the signal. The reception intensity decreases as the distance between the beacon 10D and the terminal 30 increases. The reception intensity (energy) is, for example, proportional to the second power of the distance. The beacon 10D stores the terminal ID and the reception strength in association with each other in the storage unit 13. The beacon 10D may store the reception time in association with the terminal ID and the reception strength). Maruta further teaches, ([0062]: In SQ103, the beacon 10D transmits a signal including a terminal ID stored in the storage unit 13, a reception strength, and a beacon ID which is identification information for identifying the beacon 10D to the surrounding beacons 10 and the like. .. The beacon ID has, for example, each value of UUID (8Byte), Major (2Byte), and Minor (2Byte). The UUID is used as an identifier to identify an organization, building, project, or the like. Major is used as an identifier for identifying a group, floor, team, etc. within an organization or the like. Minor is used as an identifier for identifying individual beacons in a group or the like. The terminal ID is, for example, 2Byte. RSSI is, for example, 1Byte. The signal is transmitted to the control device 20. The signal may include identification information that identifies the signal. Further, the signal may include identification information for identifying the control device 20 which is the destination of the signal. Here, it is assumed that the signal is received by the beacon 10E). Maruta goes on to teach, ([0064]: On the other hand, when the beacon 10E also receives the signal including the terminal ID from the terminal 30, the beacon 10E measures the reception strength (RSSI) of the signal. The beacon 10E stores the terminal ID and the reception strength in association with each other in the storage unit 13. The beacon 10E may store the reception time in association with the terminal ID and the reception strength. Further, the beacon 10E transmits a signal including the terminal ID, the reception strength, and the beacon ID of the beacon 10E to the beacon 10 and the like in the surroundings). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to modify Hirata with Maruta to include the positioning system measures the position of each of the one or more first communication devices, based on a received signal strength indicator of a beacon signal transmitted by each of the plurality of second communication devices, the received signal strength indicator being observed at the first communication device since it is the same field of endeavor and results would have been predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling would have been motivated to modify Hirata with Maruta since, using a received signal strength indicator to measure a position of a communication device has minimal hardware requirements, low power consumption, and high a level of device compatibility with consumer electronic devices like smart phones. 6. Regarding Claim 7: Hirata does not teach, the positioning system measures the position of each of the one or more first communication devices, based on a received signal strength indicator of a beacon signal transmitted by the first communication device, the received signal strength indicator being observed at each of the plurality of second communication devices. However, Maruta teaches this, See Claim 6. 7. Regarding Claim 8: Hirata teaches the object is an object other than a person, ([0011]: (1-1) System Configuration of Inventory Management System First, the system configuration of the inventory management system 1 of the present embodiment will be described with reference to FIG. FIG. 1 is a diagram schematically showing a system configuration of the inventory management system 1 of the present embodiment. In FIG. 1, the inventory management system 1 of the present embodiment is operated by a product management server 5 connected to a network based on a signal received from an IoT tag T (an example of a wireless tag) attached to each product in the store. It is a cloud-type system where inventory management is performed. The product management server 5 can manage the inventory of a plurality of stores, but FIG. 1 shows only one store). 8. Regarding Claim 9: Hirata teaches the object is a person, ([0012]: As shown in FIG. 1, in the inventory management system 1, for example, a wireless device 2, a clerk terminal 4 (an example of a mobile terminal) owned by a clerk SC, and a receiver 6 are provided in the store, and the store or the store A position identification device 7 is provided in the office of the store. The position specifying device 7 can communicate with the product management server 5 via a network NW such as the Internet. Examples of the clerk terminal 4 are not limited to, for example, a laptop personal computer, a tablet terminal, and a smartphone. The clerk terminal 4 can communicate with the product management server 5 via a wireless communication network or an in-store LAN (Local Area Network) (not shown) and a network NW. In FIG. 1, only one clerk terminal 4 is shown, but when there are a plurality of clerk in the store, a plurality of clerk terminals 4 may be provided). 9. Regarding Claim 11: Hirata does not explicitly teach a non-transitory, computer-readable recording medium having recorded thereon a program for causing a computer to execute the position estimation method. However, Maruta teaches, ([0009]: The aspect of disclosure may be realized by executing the program by an information processing device. That is, the structure of the disclosure can be specified as a program for causing the information processing apparatus to execute the process executed by each means in the above-described embodiment, or as a computer-readable recording medium on which the program is recorded. Further, the structure of the disclosure may be specified by a method in which the information processing apparatus executes the processing executed by each of the above means. The configuration of the disclosure may be specified as a system including an information processing device that performs processing executed by each of the above means). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to modify Hirata with Maruta to include a non-transitory, computer-readable recording medium having recorded thereon a program for causing a computer to execute the position estimation method, since it is the same field of endeavor and results would have been predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling would have been motivated to modify Hirata with Maruta since, using a computer and software enables real-time calculation, a higher level of precision and accuracy, automated data logging, visual mapping, and immediate alerts to any potential issues. 10. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirata et al (JP 2021109750 A), hereinafter Hirata, in view of Maruta et al (JP 2020112441 A), hereinafter Maruta, and further in view of Akimoto et al (JP 2007316028 A), hereinafter Akimoto. 11. Regarding Claim 2: Hirata as modified by Maruta does not teach, the estimator estimates the coordinates of the object, based on a change in the state of communication between the third communication device and the target first communication device, the change being a change in response to a temporal change in the coordinates of the target first communication device. However, Akimoto teaches, ([0031]: (Position Identification Method of Mobile Communication Device 20) The mobile communication device 10 determines the mobile communication device 20 based on the distance between the current position of the device itself obtained by the position detection unit 11 and the mobile communication device 20 obtained by the distance measurement unit 13. Is identified as follows. This process is performed by the control unit 14 of the mobile communication device 10, and the location information of the identified mobile communication device 20 is notified from the wireless communication unit 12 to the mobile communication device 20. Further, the identification of the position of the mobile communication device 20 in the mobile communication device 10 is based on the premise that the movement amount of the mobile communication device 20 is smaller (or stationary) than the movement amount of the mobile communication device 10). Akimoto further teaches, ([0032]: FIG. 7 shows a first position identification method. In the figure, the mobile communication device 10 obtains a distance L1 between its current position P1 and the mobile communication device 20 at the position (1). At this time, it can be seen that the mobile communication device 20 is located on the circumference of the radius L1 with respect to the current position P1 of the mobile communication device 10. Next, the mobile communication device 10 moves to the position (2), and similarly obtains the distance L2 between the current position P2 of the own device and the mobile communication device 20. At this time, it can be seen that the mobile communication device 20 is located at one of the intersections C1 and C2 of the circumference of the radius L1 centered on P1 and the circumference of the radius L2 centered on P2). Akimoto continues to teach, ([0033]: Next, for example, the antenna directivity is set from the mobile communication device 10 to the positions C1 and C20, the control signal is transmitted to the mobile communication device 20 by alternately changing the directivity direction, and the response signal is moved the position of the communication device 20 is identified). Akimoto goes on to teach, ([0034]: Further, as shown in FIG. 8, when the mobile communication device 10 moves non-linearly, the distance measurement between the mobile communication devices 10 and 20 is performed three times or more at (1), (2), (3). By doing so, one position of the mobile communication device 20 can be identified). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to modify Hirata as modified by Maruta with Akimoto to include a non-transitory, computer-readable recording medium having recorded thereon a program for causing a computer to execute the position estimation method, since it is the same field of endeavor and results would have been predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling would have been motivated to modify Hirata as modified by Maruta with Akimoto since, such a configuration would reduce hardware requirements and filter out noise to increase accuracy, in addition to improving tracking precision. 12. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirata et al (JP 2021109750 A), hereinafter Hirata, in view of Maruta et al (JP 2020112441 A), hereinafter Maruta, and further in view of Noguchi et al (JP 2018204922 A), hereinafter Noguchi. 13. Regarding Claim 5: Hirata as modified by Maruta teaches the coordinates are two-dimensional coordinates in the top view of the space. See Claim 4. Hirata as modified by Maruta does not teach, the obtainer obtains the temperature distribution information indicating a temperature distribution of the space in a top view of the space, the estimator estimates the coordinates of the person, based on the temperature distribution information obtained. However, Noguchi teaches, ([0003]: One example of an infrared sensor for detecting a thermal image is a thermopile array sensor. When a thermopile array sensor is installed on the ceiling to detect a thermal image and the temperature distribution on the partition floor is measured, a human being as a heating element is detected at a higher temperature than the floor surface. In this case, by using a thermopile array sensor with high resolution, it is also possible to acquire position information of people in units of about 10 cm. By continuing to measure the temperature distribution on the partition floor by detecting the thermal image at a constant frame rate, it is possible to track the movement of a person, and it is possible to detect the position information of the person in the section in real time). Noguchi further teaches, ([0022]: FIG. 3 shows a configuration example of human detection information. For the person detection information, person identification information, X coordinate, and Y coordinate are registered for each person ID for identifying a person. The X and Y coordinates are the coordinate values in the XY coordinate system with reference to the origin O preset in the section D. For example, the name "Asbir Taro" is registered as the person identification information in the person "P 11", and "X 11" and "Y 11" are registered as the person positions of this person. As a result, it can be seen that the person "Asbir Taro" exists at the person positions "X 11" and "Y 11"). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to modify Hirata as modified by Maruta with Noguchi to include the obtainer obtains the temperature distribution information indicating a temperature distribution of the space in a top view of the space, the estimator estimates the coordinates of the person, based on the temperature distribution information obtained, since it is the same field of endeavor and results would have been predictable. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling would have been motivated to modify Hirata as modified by Maruta with Noguchi since, such thermal data provides enhanced privacy protection, while a top down view provides high computational efficiency, simplified integration, and reduction of obstructions to the field of view. Conclusion 07-96 The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. JP 2019174164 A: Discloses an infrared camera or thermographic unit with a top view, being generally above the space being monitored. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JAMES W NAPIER whose telephone number is (571)272-7451. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 7:30 am - 5:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Helal Algahaim can be reached at (571) 270-5227. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /J.W.N./Examiner, Art Unit 3645 /HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/681,471 Page 2 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/681,471 Page 3 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/681,471 Page 4 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/681,471 Page 5 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/681,471 Page 6 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/681,471 Page 7 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/681,471 Page 8 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/681,471 Page 9 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/681,471 Page 10 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/681,471 Page 11 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/681,471 Page 12 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/681,471 Page 13 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/681,471 Page 14 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/681,471 Page 15 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/681,471 Page 16 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/681,471 Page 17 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/681,471 Page 18 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/681,471 Page 19 Art Unit: 3645 Application/Control Number: 18/681,471 Page 20 Art Unit: 3645