DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 11-12, 16, 19, 38, 42-43 and 45-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oda et al. JP2015-017177A.
Regarding claims 1,11-12,19 and 46-50, Oda teaches (reference claim 1) a polyamide resin which is generated by polycondensing a polyamide oligomer containing a diamine unit which can be selected to be an alicyclic diamine unit represented by the following general formula (I-2) and a dicarboxylic acid unit selected from a linear aliphatic dicarboxylic acid unit represented by the following general formula (II-1) and an aromatic dicarboxylic acid unit represented by the following general formula (II-2), to adjust the crystallinity and moldability of the polyamide (para [0019]).
Oda discloses that alicyclic diamine unit represented by General Formula (I-2) include 1,3-bis(aminomethyl)cyclohexane, which can be used alone (para [0014]).
Oda notes that the aliphatic dicarboxylic acid unit can be selected to be adipic acid (para [0021]) and that terephthalic acid is a preferred aromatic dicarboxylic acid (para [0024]).
Oda adds that the dicarboxylic acid unit in the polyamide, the content ratio of the linear aliphatic dicarboxylic acid unit and the aromatic dicarboxylic acid unit (linear aliphatic dicarboxylic acid unit / aromatic dicarboxylic acid unit) is appropriately determined depending on the application. For tuning the glass-transition temperature (Tg) of the polyamide resins and to decrease the crystallinity of the polyamide resins, the molar ratio of the linear aliphatic dicarboxylic unit / the aromatic dicarboxylic unit is preferably 0/100-30/70 (para [0026]).
Oda provides two embodiments Production Example 3 (para [0079]), which is generated by monomers 1,3-bis(aminomethyl)cyclohexane and adipic acid; and Production Example 5 (with Mn 24,550 g/mol, Example 5, Table 2) which is created by condensation of 1,3-bis(aminomethyl)cyclohexane and terephthalic acid (para [0081]) with 1,3-bisaminomethylcyclohexane having a cis/trans ratio of 70/30, meeting the claimed requirement (instant claim 50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have substituted small amount 5 mol% of terephthalic acid in Oda’s Production Example 5 with adipic acid (where 5 mol% adipic acid lies within Oda’s recommended mol% of aliphatic dicarboxylic acid), while maintaining the same molecular weight (Mn, see Table 2, Ex 5), for the same application of creating a polyamide with decreased crystallinity. Such an obvious composition satisfies the claimed repeat units of 95 mol% RPA1 and 5 mol% RPA3.
Since, obvious composition of Oda with the required repeat units, proportions and molecular weight Mn consistent with the specification, is substantially identical to instant inventive E5, the thermal properties Tg, Tm and ∆Hf would necessarily follow (instant claims 46-49).
Applicant’s attention is directed to: Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding claim 16, Oda teaches that aromatic dicarboxylic terephthalic acid and isophthalic acid can be used together in a combination of two (paras [0024] and [0025]) and recommends smaller fraction of isophthalic acid when combined with terephthalic acid such that the ratio of (isophthalic acid unit / terephthalic acid unit) is in the range 0/100-30/70. Since the incorporation of isophthalic acid is known to decrease the crystallinity of a polyester due to its asymmetric structure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated 1 mol% of isophthalic acid (along with 5 mol% adipic acid) in obvious composition of Oda as discussed, when addressing claim 1, to tailor the crystallinity and thus flexibility of the final polyester. Such an obvious composition satisfies the claimed repeat units of 94 mol% RPA1, 1 mol% RPA2 and 5 mol% RPA3.
Regarding claims 38 and 45, Oda teaches antioxidant sodium hypophosphite for preventing coloration of the polyamide (para [0033]). Oda further discloses molded articles such as connector parts of automobiles, derived from the polyamide (para [0042]), meeting the claimed requirements.
Regarding claims 42 and 43, Oda discloses molded articles such as connector parts of automobiles, derived from the polyamide (para [0042]), meeting the claimed requirements.
Regarding claim 51, Oda discloses trans fraction of 50 mol% or more, resulting in cis/trans ratio of 50/50 or more, to lower crystallinity (para [0015), overlapping the claimed requirement.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 10/15/2026 have been fully considered, please see the response below.
Amended claim 43 overcomes the 112(d) rejection.
Applicant argues that Oda does not provide specific guidance on achieving the combination of properties of Tg, Tm and ∆Hf, and adds that it is not straightforward to ensure both high Tg and the required Tm values are achieved by the polyamide.
Applicant further argues that Oda does not teach the required cis/trans ratio of the 1,3-BAC moieties.
In response, it is highlighted that Oda teaches production example 5 (para [0081]) 1,3-bisaminomethylcyclohexane (1,3-BAC) having a cis/trans ratio of 70/30, and additionally recommends trans mol fractions of 50 mol%, resulting in cis/trans ratio of 50/50 or higher, to lower crystallinity (Oda para [0015]). Thus, applicant’s argument that Oda does not teach the required cis/trans ratio of the 1,3-BAC moieties is not convincing.
Oda additionally discusses managing Tg and crystallinity of the polyamide by tailoring the proportions of the dicarboxylic acids (para [0026]), as well as tuning polymer molecular weight (para [0037]). Oda teaches the same monomers and renders the repeat unit proportions obvious, and also provides the molecular weight Mn value (24,550 g/mol, Example 5, Table 2) which is within the recommended range of the instant specification (specification, para [0030]), and thus the obvious polyamide composition of Oda would be reasonably expected to possess the required thermal properties. The burden is shifted to the applicant to provide the reasoning as to why Oda’s obvious composition which satisfies the claimed repeat units of 95 mol% RPA1 and 5 mol% RPA3, with 1,3-bisaminomethylcyclohexane cis/trans ratio of 70/30, while maintaining the molecular weight of Mn 24,550 g/mol, would not achieve the required Tg, Tm and ∆Hf.
Applicant’s arguments are found to be unpersuasive, and in the absence of a showing of new or unexpected results, the instant polyamide is not distinguished over the obvious polyamide of Oda. Reference Oda continues to provide the support for maintaining the rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.M.D./
Examiner
Art Unit 1765
/JOHN M COONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765